Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Yipit

Yipit reviews

17 reviews

17 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

3 stars
2 stars

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
4

All Reviews

jerryj40
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/31/16

I don't know where these people got my email address, but they have been sending me spam emails every day. Imagine if I actually used their service!

Tip for consumers: Get ready for a load of spam!

Service
Quality
Advertisement
megana13
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/5/16

I got sent an email for their cashback thing. Decided to try it. Well their site froze as I tried to deny access to my gmail. Next thing I know I'm finding out that this email went out to not only my contacts but the contact in the other category. Even when you authorize access to email I've never had another company not allow you to select who the email goes to. And now they're avoiding my emails asking for a list of who they sent it to so I can apologize. They read my facebook message instantly and still no response 12 hours later. I also sent two email and two tweets.

jolenes8
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/1/16

Deals that are shown are past deals and will not apply to your current search! I was so disappointed and will NEVER use this site. I was lied to from the start and consider this unethical practices. Not giving them my patronage.

elc9
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/1/16

They show the deal, but immediately ask you for email to create an account. But after you create the account the deal disappears. Seems they are just trying to build the database. It's deceiving.

bettem2
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/23/16

Call the Captain's Table at Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda more than 20 times over a two-day period. I suggested on the recording I hit number 1 to make a reservation for 19 people. Every time I called I would listen to music for several minutes and then get the same recording saying no one is available to take my call at this time. This, as you can imagine, became extremely frustrating. Also wanted to find out what days & times the piano player wad there.

Finally, as mentioned, after more than 20 phone calls I finally gave up and we went elsewhere.

This is unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber & I sincerely hope management will address this problem!

nataliam14
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/29/16

I came across the yipit cash back plugin, and was a little worried about downloading it after seeing all these reviews, but figured why not. I can't review the email service since I have already unsubscribed, but the cash back program is actually pretty great. I've already gotten paid and it worked smoothly.

daynam2
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/29/16

I downloaded the chrome app and now I get cash back on most of my online shopping. It is super easy and I get paid automatically through my paypal account. I recommend!

Value
Quality
davidt172
10 reviews
9 helpful votes
2/25/16

I've been using Yipit for a long time and have saved a lot of money on daily deals and other discounts they've found for me. They send a lot of emails but I find most of them pretty useful and ignore the others. Their new cash back service is really great. It pops up on shopping websites and gives you a refund on any purchases you make. I've been paid twice already for just clicking a button. Yes please!

Service
Value
Quality
reidv2
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/25/16

Don't know where they got my e-mail from. They suddenly began emailing me about a week ago. I haven't signed up for anything recently so clearly they bought a large data dump of e-mails to mass spam.
Sent them a "nice" e-mail telling them where they can stick their e-mails.

clicked unsubscribed but due to the lack of confirmations I highly doubt it worked.

shirleys52
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/24/15

Was online with Burns Chevrolet we saw a 2015 Chevy Cruze listed at $1315.00. Did live chat and price was confirmed that it was the listed price and said they would check pricing and availability? Once it is listed at that price and you go to dealership with copies in hand then they should honor that listed price! Burns changed the price (after we spoke with live chat) and refuses to honor the price we were quoted by live chat. Last vehicle I purchased was from Burns~all future purchases will be with another dealership. I lost all respect with Burns Chevrolet today and contacted Chevrolet about their questionable listing~what they were doing was baiting people to get them to come in and look at the cars so they could make a sale....this wasn't a mistake on their part and they should have honored the listed price!

mikel213
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/19/15

Our Business does not give yipit permission to give coupons or discounts of any type !! Please remove us off your site !! F & I Detailing

gloriam15
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/14/15

Trying to figure out how to stop getting these emails. Tried unsubscribing more than once.

chrc
1 review
9 helpful votes
12/16/14

Yipit is a scam. Takes your info and then the coupon you searched for is no longer active/current. Do not sign up.

heatherw20
1 review
9 helpful votes
11/7/14

They scammed me. It looked like they had an active 50% of coupon for the park I wanted to go to, but after I gave my email address and tried to get the coupon, it was old and expired. I'm wondering how many other companies they are going to sell my email address too. Guess I need a spam email address now thanks to scammer like Yipit.

julianw22
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/28/14

I was looking for Segway-rental deals in Oakland, CA.
Yipit lured me with many offers, then forced me to sign up.
AS SOON AS I SIGNED UP with Yipit, the DEAL (still open in another browser tab) LARGELY EVAPORATED: most of them magically transformed into "PAST Segway of Oakland Coupons".

Stay away from this scam bait-and-switch Yipit site!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from this scam bait-and-switch Yipit site!

patr303
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/22/14

sent an email 'deal', however, the 'deal' was NOT what was listed in the email. it was 2x the price. can't recommend a site that uses switch & bait. offered a deal for $15, clicked it on & it was $30. wrote to company & got back a fast reply- "your offer was sold out". i had responded to the offer as soon as it came onto my email.

Tip for consumers: a scam

Service
Value
Quality
asha
18 reviews
135 helpful votes
9/28/10

Yipit.com is a social commerce aggregator that lets other daily deals get filtered through it based on users' preferences. For example, let's say you signed up for Living Social or Groupon because you love to get spa deals (who doesn't love a good facial?... wait, what?).

Problem is, now Groupon is flooding your inbox with a bunch of sky-diving, Segway-cliff-jumping deals (too soon?) that don't interest you whatsoever. This is where Yipit comes in. Yipit personalizes your preferences as an end user and feeds you daily deals based on your preferences from a variety of daily deal type sites. So if you like restaurant deals, you're only going to see one restaurant deal a day come in. If you like, ahem, facials-- yeah, you get the picture.

You can also select multiple categories in the event that you're interested in more than one type of deal, the customizability (not a real word, I know) of the site is what makes it so great. Big fan of Yipit, even though it's Arabic for "donkey carcass."

2 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Yipit staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
philj27
Phil J.
on 3/21/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
helenr51
Helen R.
on 2/5/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Yipit staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Yipit?
Post Review