Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Yipit

Yipit reviews

18 reviews
Daily Deals, Deal, Discount Shopping

18 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
4

All Reviews

ronnier18
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/4/17

Recently i had a backup in the sewer line and needed to get someone out quickly. i called roto rooter because my family had been using roto rooter since the 1950's. It was a reputable company, always ready to help. so when I had the backup, I called. They came out. They fixed it quickly and for a fair price. That was about 3 months ago. However more recently, I needed a very simple thing done that any honest and qualified plumber could do in very little time....connecting a 3/8" under counter sink faucet line to a 1/2" angle stop. I had done he prep work....installed the faucet set up in a single hole marble top. All the technician would have to do was make a connection via an adapter between two hoses. The technician looked at the situation and said $350. I was stunned. For the simple connection between the two lines? He said about $275-$300 for labor and about $50 to $60 for parts. I told him that didn't make sense and told him he could tell Roto Rooter no thank you. He then said maybe $200 and $60 parts. I was under pressure because I had renters coming the next morning, so I said $180 under duress. I admit it was my fault for not just telling him to get lost but I had to be ready for the renter. He got two $15 hoses out of his truck and a tiny adapter, fixed it in about 5 minutes and left. I called Roto Rooter the next day and they said tough luck....that they charged normally $350 an hour for plumbers and that I got a good deal. After I hung up from the discussion with this particular supervisor .... I again called Roto Rooter and asked for plumber's hourly rate and they said (unlike any contractor I have ever had do a job), that they would not give hourly rates over the phone but would have to come out and give a free estimate. You be the judge, I call it "bait and switch", you call it what you like. But I tell you, never never never would I call Roto Rooter again. They just are not the company I have known over 35 years in the construction business. This group was out of Anaheim according to the technician. So I would suggest thinking twice before call these people.

Advertisement
jerryj40
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/31/16

I don't know where these people got my email address, but they have been sending me spam emails every day. Imagine if I actually used their service!

Tip for consumers: Get ready for a load of spam!

Service
Quality
megana13
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/5/16

I got sent an email for their cashback thing. Decided to try it. Well their site froze as I tried to deny access to my gmail. Next thing I know I'm finding out that this email went out to not only my contacts but the contact in the other category. Even when you authorize access to email I've never had another company not allow you to select who the email goes to. And now they're avoiding my emails asking for a list of who they sent it to so I can apologize. They read my facebook message instantly and still no response 12 hours later. I also sent two email and two tweets.

jolenes8
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/1/16

Deals that are shown are past deals and will not apply to your current search! I was so disappointed and will NEVER use this site. I was lied to from the start and consider this unethical practices. Not giving them my patronage.

elc9
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/1/16

They show the deal, but immediately ask you for email to create an account. But after you create the account the deal disappears. Seems they are just trying to build the database. It's deceiving.

bettem2
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/23/16

Call the Captain's Table at Fisherman's Village in Punta Gorda more than 20 times over a two-day period. I suggested on the recording I hit number 1 to make a reservation for 19 people. Every time I called I would listen to music for several minutes and then get the same recording saying no one is available to take my call at this time. This, as you can imagine, became extremely frustrating. Also wanted to find out what days & times the piano player wad there.

Finally, as mentioned, after more than 20 phone calls I finally gave up and we went elsewhere.

This is unacceptable for a restaurant of this caliber & I sincerely hope management will address this problem!

nataliam14
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
2/29/16

I came across the yipit cash back plugin, and was a little worried about downloading it after seeing all these reviews, but figured why not. I can't review the email service since I have already unsubscribed, but the cash back program is actually pretty great. I've already gotten paid and it worked smoothly.

daynam2
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/29/16

I downloaded the chrome app and now I get cash back on most of my online shopping. It is super easy and I get paid automatically through my paypal account. I recommend!

Value
Quality
davidt172
10 reviews
10 helpful votes
2/25/16

I've been using Yipit for a long time and have saved a lot of money on daily deals and other discounts they've found for me. They send a lot of emails but I find most of them pretty useful and ignore the others. Their new cash back service is really great. It pops up on shopping websites and gives you a refund on any purchases you make. I've been paid twice already for just clicking a button. Yes please!

Service
Value
Quality
reidv2
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/25/16

Don't know where they got my e-mail from. They suddenly began emailing me about a week ago. I haven't signed up for anything recently so clearly they bought a large data dump of e-mails to mass spam.
Sent them a "nice" e-mail telling them where they can stick their e-mails.

clicked unsubscribed but due to the lack of confirmations I highly doubt it worked.

shirleys52
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
10/24/15

Was online with Burns Chevrolet we saw a 2015 Chevy Cruze listed at $1315.00. Did live chat and price was confirmed that it was the listed price and said they would check pricing and availability? Once it is listed at that price and you go to dealership with copies in hand then they should honor that listed price! Burns changed the price (after we spoke with live chat) and refuses to honor the price we were quoted by live chat. Last vehicle I purchased was from Burns~all future purchases will be with another dealership. I lost all respect with Burns Chevrolet today and contacted Chevrolet about their questionable listing~what they were doing was baiting people to get them to come in and look at the cars so they could make a sale....this wasn't a mistake on their part and they should have honored the listed price!

mikel213
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/19/15

Our Business does not give yipit permission to give coupons or discounts of any type !! Please remove us off your site !! F & I Detailing

gloriam15
1 review
7 helpful votes
6/14/15

Trying to figure out how to stop getting these emails. Tried unsubscribing more than once.

chrc
1 review
9 helpful votes
12/16/14

Yipit is a scam. Takes your info and then the coupon you searched for is no longer active/current. Do not sign up.

heatherw20
1 review
9 helpful votes
11/7/14

They scammed me. It looked like they had an active 50% of coupon for the park I wanted to go to, but after I gave my email address and tried to get the coupon, it was old and expired. I'm wondering how many other companies they are going to sell my email address too. Guess I need a spam email address now thanks to scammer like Yipit.

julianw22
1 review
7 helpful votes
8/28/14

I was looking for Segway-rental deals in Oakland, CA.
Yipit lured me with many offers, then forced me to sign up.
AS SOON AS I SIGNED UP with Yipit, the DEAL (still open in another browser tab) LARGELY EVAPORATED: most of them magically transformed into "PAST Segway of Oakland Coupons".

Stay away from this scam bait-and-switch Yipit site!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from this scam bait-and-switch Yipit site!

patr303
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/22/14

sent an email 'deal', however, the 'deal' was NOT what was listed in the email. it was 2x the price. can't recommend a site that uses switch & bait. offered a deal for $15, clicked it on & it was $30. wrote to company & got back a fast reply- "your offer was sold out". i had responded to the offer as soon as it came onto my email.

Tip for consumers: a scam

Service
Value
Quality
asha
18 reviews
135 helpful votes
9/28/10

Yipit.com is a social commerce aggregator that lets other daily deals get filtered through it based on users' preferences. For example, let's say you signed up for Living Social or Groupon because you love to get spa deals (who doesn't love a good facial?... wait, what?).

Problem is, now Groupon is flooding your inbox with a bunch of sky-diving, Segway-cliff-jumping deals (too soon?) that don't interest you whatsoever. This is where Yipit comes in. Yipit personalizes your preferences as an end user and feeds you daily deals based on your preferences from a variety of daily deal type sites. So if you like restaurant deals, you're only going to see one restaurant deal a day come in. If you like, ahem, facials-- yeah, you get the picture.

You can also select multiple categories in the event that you're interested in more than one type of deal, the customizability (not a real word, I know) of the site is what makes it so great. Big fan of Yipit, even though it's Arabic for "donkey carcass."

2 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Yipit staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
on 3/21/16
Answer
Be the first to answer
on 2/5/16
Answer
Be the first to answer
Questions? Get answers from the Yipit staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Yipit?
Post Review