Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Swagbucks

Swagbucks reviews

246 reviews
31%
Categories: Free Stuff, Gift Cards
P.O. Box 578
Manhattan Beach, CA 90267
Tel: 1-877-748-2714
support@swagbucks.com

246 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
19
Value
21
Shipping
13
Returns
10
Quality
19

All Reviews

carols191
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/23/17

SIGN UP WITH THIS LINK TO GET 1000 FREE SWAGBUCKS: https://goo.gl/bFhIFJ

If you've got 10-20 minutes free time per day, swagbucks is the perfect way to spend it. You can easily make $5-10 dollars a day just by answering surveys and watching ads, it's pretty simple really, all the people giving it 1 star are looking for something for nothing, but if you really put in the work you can make decent money on swagbucks, 10/10.

Advertisement
annh95
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/20/17

Don't waste your time, they don't give you swagbucks for your sign up or purchase ! SCAM SCAM SCAM!
I was expected the response more than 2 months and my problem is not solved

annetteg30
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/19/17

I have had to beg for the swagbucks I earn for almost every offer I have done lately. They currently owe me 3500 swagbucks for the Uber offer. It has been almost a month since I was supposed to receive them. They have the worst customer service--you can get them on the phone and their responses to emails are the same crap over and over again. Their excuse is they're having problems with their partner.

Tip for consumers: Don't do any offers that cost you money because it's highly likely you will never get the swagbucks they owe you. And don't do the Uber offer.

rs147
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/19/17

DO NOT WASTE YOU KEY STROKES HERE. IT IS THE BIGEST WASTE OF TIM E I HAVE EVER BEEN INVOLVED WITH. TWO DAYS AND I AM COMPLETELY FED UP WITH DOING THE WHOLE SURVEY AND THEN NOT GETTING ANY CREDIT FOR IT.

t-kellya
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
4/14/17

Used to be an okay place. It took me a couple of years, but I now have around $138.
But that seems to be about as far as I'm going to get. That's because the surveys no longer pay out. It's a scam now. You're answering their questions and suddenly you're disqualified (without explanation), and you don't get any points.
It's a complete waste of time now. At this point, I'm hoping I can redeem my points for what their worth. SMH.

ejf2
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/14/17

I t will take forever to get the 2200 or 2500 SB points to qualify for a $25.00 gist card at amazon or Walmart. That's because you can spend 20 minutes of your time only to be told that you do not qualify for the survey. Than you get 0 points! Absurd!

assa25
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/12/17

EVERY SINGLE $#*!ING TIME I TRY TO DO A GODDAMN SURVEY, I GET $#*!ING DISQUALIFIED. $#*! THIS GAY SCAMMY ASS WEBSITE!
AVOID IT AND GO TO REWARDS1

wingso
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/9/17

I have literally made thousands of dollars through Swagging. We are about to buy our new lawn tractor from Lowes this Spring using only gift certificates earned at SwagBucks. Yes, you do have to have some intelligence to understand the site and figure out the best ways to earn, but most folks figure it out in only a few days. Unfortunately there are some who just don't have the resources to get it, and they never will so instead they come here and try to blame it on the site instead. If you want to earn some extra buying power online for FREE go join SwagBucks today. There are special offers and surveys that are offered by third parties and not directly from SwagBucks that sometimes don't credit or you have to contact to get your credit but their support contacts are always readily available, as you can tell from other reviews those reviewers didn't understand that. And while the surveys are a great way to add up SwagBucks in a hurry you have to understand that with over 10 million SwagBucks members and 2-3 million active at any given time some surveys are going to get full while you are still doing them, oh well, that's life. You get over it and move on to the next one. Also multiple other websites that are click to earn are offering those same surveys at the same time that you are doing them on SwagBucks so there is that to consider as well. They have an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, over 2,267,0000 Facebook fans and have paid out over $183,587,968 in cash and free gift cards since the company began in 2005. So No, It's definitely NOT a scam. Try it, you'll see. And don't listen to the Drop-Outs...

kb135
1 review
10 helpful votes
4/4/17

Waste of time. You fill out half of a survey, then get disqualified. So they get your info and your time and then give nothing in return. Maybe sometimes 1 Swagbuck, or essentially, 1 cent.

foxr
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
4/4/17

scam, No not waste your time.
ask too many personal questions and the surveys are long and and then you find out that your not eligible for the the buck or the survey has ended after you spent the time.

lynnef13
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/3/17

Signed up . Quite often start survey and they get lots of info on you before disqualifying you as not eligible for that survey as they need different cohort !
One link from Swagbucks offered Swagbucks to register for Vacation site info.
I have Norton security installed and this site was flagged up immediately as "dangerous site"
Alarm bells ringing and I have received various unsolicited cold calls and Mail shots ! A bit of a coincidence ?
Seems like a risky business to make peanuts ,

ceases
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/2/17

i made an account, and as i tried to log in, it deactivated as soon as i logged in!! thats a no no fake and scams

patriciac171
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/29/17

I've used this site for a year plus. Legit $$ even though slow payout (as early as 300 SB for $3 amazon.) But today I got a virus from a Discover offer and reaching support is a g.d. nightmare. Sure, I submitted a ticket with expected 72 hour response time. The phone number is impossible to find and has no option to speak to a person. How many people are gonna get this virus and give remote access (yes, I'm an idiot)!?!?

ritaf22
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/28/17

When I first started Swagbucks, I was wowed. I was earning about 400 swagbucks (around $4) a day. I got so many gift cards. I've made a few hundred dollars on the site. After the first few months though, it seems like things dry up. The people who give out surveys gather information about you and know who you are, regardless of what you answer, so you get disqualified from a lot of surveys because they don't want repeat survey takers.

Most of the stuff in Discover is a scam. Like for instance, if you go to Peanut Labs and look at most of their offers. You can find things like "earn 140 swagbucks and get a free Starbucks card if you fill out the questions." You will never earn that Starbucks gift card OR the points.The website it links you to will ask you question after question and then inevitably take you to a point where you can't proceed. If you've ever seen one of those "congratulations, you've won!" ads and clicked on them, this is along the same line. You can complain to Swagbucks and more than likely they'll give you the swagbucks, but not the gift card.

Swagbucks is a mixed bag. You can make a nice amount of spending money, but it takes time, and you will have to fight them for swagbucks you earned that you didn't receive.

sarahw182
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/28/17

Huge waste of time, let me count thy ways..How much I hate this site..1)Its very very difficult to earn points, unless you have expendable income and shop through them, you'll earn very little. I've earned a whopping 25 dollars in six months with them. 2) surveys are hardly ever posted, when they are they fill up quickly and I dont qualify 99 percent of the time. Sometimes I find this out after answering questions for 10 mins.3) Sure, you could watch videos, enjoy the constant freezing and crashing from their playlists, oh and viruses on your computer as well. This site sucks, at least their mobile app is decent. Their search engine is garbage as well but thats pretty much the only hope I had to earn points, I got maybe one out of every ten searches.

anitag31
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/26/17

I've spent two or three, no make that four or five, times as much time filling out the same questions over and over to "qualify" for taking an actual survey than I have actually taking a survey. So, if a survey says you'll earn 20 SB for a 15 minute survey, which actually takes more like 20-25 minutes or more once you finish "qualifying" for the survey, You are earning less than a penny a minute. Wow! A whopping $.60 an hour. That's 60 CENTS an hour. Totally disappointed.

jasons260
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/24/17

Try to get the money youve earned from Swagbucks and youll soon find its not simple. They insist your paypal account is verified, fair enough. Problem is, you go through the process of verifying your paypal account only to find they want further verification mobile phone or mail. Of course the mobile option doesnt work (at least not for a U.K. use on contract), so you have to wait for a postcard to arrive (yeah, good luck with that). Why not send an email, or a message within the messaging service on the site? Probably coz they dont want to pay out, and the more they frustrate you, the more chance you give up your hard earned pennies and move on.Totally frustrating and not worth the effort for such little (impossible to collect) rewards.

katies28
20 reviews
23 helpful votes
3/8/17

I've earned one or two 5-10 dollar gift cards on this website over the few years I've been a member. If you really want to make money on here, you need lots of free time. Some of these surveys require a person to be 18 or a member of something or an owner of a certain product. It takes a long time to find a survey that a person actually qualifies for, and sometimes they don't even give very many points for those. Most of the points I get are from the daily poll or the Swag codes that are occasionally found on FaceBook or email. If you get a gift card code, they work, but they are just hard to get in general. Basically, they are what they say they are, but there are easier and more effective ways to make money.

annej33
1 review
14 helpful votes
3/5/17

Swagbucks used to be good but lately it's gone down the toilet. Surveys scam you by letting you finish but then claiming you don't qualify so they can get out of paying. Then if you submit a ticket for that there's a good chance they'll just copy and paste the disqualification policy into their reply and take no further action. Recently this happened and I reported it on the Facebook page as well, and they banned me for it. So you can't get credit, and you can't warn anyone else about a scam survey.
Most of the time, special offers don't credit either. Lifescript and 60 Second Insurance are notorious for this. (Insurance Branch is usually legitimate, although recently the links to it have been going to an irrelevant website instead.)
Earlier this year they also took away the autorun nCraves, so if you want to make a few pennies an hour with nCrave you have to keep the mouse on the page and watch the same boring old content over and over, not doing anything else with your day or your life. I've also read several claims of pornography and malware associated with nCrave. Since the autoruns were taken away I've boycotted that part of the site.
Sometimes, when I have no other earning options, I'll resort to Swabucks Watch, which used to be called SBTV (Swagbucks TV). It was never a good deal but now it's worse, because you have to watch 20 videos just for three SB (3 pennies), and it makes my computer hot, slow, and eventually unresponsive. I try to avoid it.
I don't know how long I'll stick with Swagbucks but I wouldn't recommend anyone else even bother to start because they're only going to end up frustrated.

brookeb38
1 review
9 helpful votes
2/28/17

I found this website through Facebook and so far I have been very disappointed. Every time I take a survey I get half way through it and then it tells me I don't qualify. I have spent so much time trying to take surveys and it has been such a waste of time. I haven't tried the shopping part of it yet but looking at other reviews I don't think I'm going to waste my time.

lisag190
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/28/17

I have been a member for over a year. I was getting credits pretty reasonably with watch and surveys, but it takes way too much time for very little payout. They change amounts, make things slow down the viewing, don't give credit about a third of the time. I have tried several times to complete a full SWAGO board and always there is one square that something has caused issues with. The mobile surveys are hard to get one to complete and when I do, they don't credit. Always have issues with purchases from Walmart not crediting, many stores such as Amazon are too few things you can get credit for. Then when you do cash in for gift card, it takes 2 weeks to get it.

pauld206
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/24/17

Using trialpay provided access to enter my phones details I have not received an unlock code. So disappointing!!!!

I have tried to contact the company providing the unlock code but haven't received any response. I then tried contacting trialpay who have pretty much told me it isn't their problem!!!!

How a company which has made money from the transaction can wash their hands in this way is unbelievable. I would give them 0 stars except that this isn't allowed and at least they answered their emails. I cant even unsuscribe!!!!!

judym100
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/23/17

It may seem okay at first when you join but it will get much worse, I guarantee it! They will chew you up for a bit while you are racking up credits and then they will spit you out faster then you can say 'SCAM" once you build up your credits. I have only been a member less than a month and it is hard enough to build up SBs (credits) but once you start getting close to your 2500 points in your first 30 days in order to get a free $5 worth, they will screw you over.

I am currently at around 2400 lifetime SBs (credits) and I only have 1 week to get to 2500 to get my free $5. But I am also at around 390 SBs to get another $5 that I rightfully earned. Ironically things started going weird this past week. Right now I can't get even into the site. The screen is all distorted and I can't do a thing on the site.

But I started noticing that MOST surveys were suddenly not crediting after completion after I spent 20 - 30 mins answering all of their survey questions and giving my opinions. (not qualifying questions, OPINIONS).

Then, I started getting virus screens while watching their videos which would lock up my screen and I had to reboot over and over to try to get out of that virus screen. Then I had to spend 3 - 4 hours each time running full scans to contain/quarantine/get rid of the Zeus virus.

I have a feeling that I am never going to see this last potential $10 that I am trying to get to. I only have 100 SBs to go. So obviously this is their ploy to run away with my hard earned SBs!!!

They are CROOKS! WHY anyone wants to do business like this and treat their good customers this way is totally beyond me!

bobbya21
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/23/17

This site was awesome when they began, now its gone downhill for the worst, the 3 games they have are a huge time waste, says you can get 10 SB for each time you play, to my dismay you only get 2 and that is 2 for every 2 times played, their videos are rendered worthless and the offers they have you have to waste your hard earned money on just to receive 20% of what you spent on them, steer clear of this site.

saram136
1 review
10 helpful votes
2/21/17

After many surveys and days I won a prize. So I claimed it and they disabled my account with no any reason.
Stay away

10 ratings were submitted through the SiteJabber Browser Extension

36 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Swagbucks staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
larrym114
Larry M.
on 3/1/17
Answer
michaels364
MICHAEL S.
A: you never get paid from there discovery items, huge scam
4 weeks, 2 days ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
larrym114
Larry M.
on 3/1/17
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 20 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the Swagbucks staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

3 Photos for Swagbucks

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Swagbucks?
Post Review