Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SodaHead

SodaHead reviews

Is this your business?
102 reviews
16161 Ventura Blvd., Suite C PMB 461
Encino, California, USA
Tel: (310) 693-5251
support@sodahead.com

102 Reviews From Our Community

Service
6
Value
5
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
5

All Reviews

freddiem41
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/5/17

Hated by Leftwingers because they couldn't drown out opposing points of view. Of all the sites I've belonged to from 2000 to 2017 Sodahead came closest t actually having an even number of Conservatives to Liberals. So, of course, the Lefties hated it. Sodahead was a great site where I made numerous friends (many of whom I'm still in contact with on Facebook). But one day without so much as a warning every member was barred from signing in and told the site had been sold. To this day the dirtiest, most low class treatment of a loyal community I've ever witnessed.

Advertisement
ddd24
11 reviews
17 helpful votes
10/30/17

Sodahead was a terrible website that sold out and and went from a far-right echo chamber to a click and vote polling service for companies.

earlm47
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/30/17

I was once a member with good frIends , then for no reason I was kicked off with ALL my friends ???? No explanation given ?

denniss156
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/28/17

Is there a site like sodahead that allows free speech?
The answer is, no. And if you try and start one you will be dealt with in the harshest terms.

ambers93
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/16/17

I remember using Sodahead when I was about 13 or 14 (2010 or 2011-ish). It was so fun! I actually made a hand full of friends on there. I stopped using it I wanna say in 2012 or so, after changing my username from the original one (Greenday4Ever(AMarie) or something like that) and went to get on it one day a year or two ago and it was gone! I know it's just a site, but that was a piece of my teenage-hood. I loved making different polls, taking different polls, meeting people with common interests, decorating my profile, etc. It's sad that they did away with it :( I wish they would have at least made some sort of side website, like a forum or something, where users could go & chat with their old friends. It sucks.

sarahs374
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/19/17

I had a lot of fun on this site. It was nice to share my opinions, see others' opinions, and even get points and level up for it! However, once you clicked on something, that was that. No unliking something you liked. No taking back an option you chose when you voted.
More importantly, it was there one minute and gone the next! I remember being one it the day before it shut down and having fun on it. I had been grounded for a few weeks so it was good to be back! However, when I logged into it the next day, it said "Login disabled for your account." I read an email that said no one was allowed to log into it anymore because it was becoming something totally different! Many friendships were gone in the blink of an eye! There was NO warning AT ALL! It was there one minute and gone the next. If they were to bring back our accounts and allow new accounts and just make it the way it was before 2015, I would not join because if they really decide to just end it all without warning, especially when it was already relatively successful, would you really want to join it? I wouldn't!

carlyc17
9 reviews
14 helpful votes
9/14/17

I was a regular user of the site for 4 years.
But one day in early June, they disabled the option to log into our accounts with no prior warning, making it so you could only vote on polls created by the owners of SodaHead.
They were using the user's accounts that could no longer log in to also vote on their own polls.
They WOULD NOT delete anyone's personal user data (pictures, information, etc), and this led to several lawsuits - there's no doubt in my mind.
They decided to play the hard way.
On top of that, so many friendships I had on there are now forever lost.
People got bullied, harassed, attacked, and stalked.
Not to mention that there were so many old pedophiles on there trying to get "nasty" with the younger (and even) under aged females on that website.
The moderators were very useless.
After 4 years all I have to say is: Thank you for absolutely nothing!

annc110
1 review
4 helpful votes
8/19/17

Your Users were just that. My experience on SH was horrible as in middle school God help you if you avoided clicks,didn't post sexual images,or had opinions the clicks didn't approve of.I was deactivated because the clicks insisted on it to the moderators.In reality you did me a favor and now your site has gone the way of the dinosaur,good!

lenetraw
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/11/17

ive had many questions answered using this site and i like it and i have also met some good christian friends on here as well

arum3
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
8/11/17

I can just remember two or so years ago when they shut down their user database. They shut it down with a warning of no more than 2 hours in a forum post, tearing apart countless friendships made on the site, as all access to sign in was then barred. Beyond that, they refused to take down user's personal information and posts made on the website even upon shutting down (which is entirely illegal). They sold out to corporations for a couple years, and now the site is no longer accessible, probably because they went bankrupt as their widget was outcompeted. But overall, the site had horrible administration, no loyalty, constant downtime and glitches. I am ashamed to have ever called myself a proud user of that website, and I am glad that the creators are now out of business. Rest in peace.

Service
Quality
edv41
1 review
6 helpful votes
7/27/17

I loved Sodahead. At one point, it was probably the second site I visited the most, after Facebook. I just really loved the concept. However, the moderators there were terrible. They could not handle any criticism, and they deleted my account for reasons I don't even remember anymore and they also deleted all the accounts I made afterwards. Eventually, I got a new computer and decided I'd make a new account to see If this one would last, but when I went to the site, I found out that they had changed everything. It was no longer an opinion site where people could make accounts and have their voices heard. It was some polling data thing for companies. They sold out and apparently, they didn't even warn most of their active users. You know what sucks the most? That I've never been able to find another site like it.

daniell979
1 review
12 helpful votes
7/8/16

Why won't you simply honor the numerous requests made by former SodaHeads (like me) to remove our past replies, comments, and other written information from your website (SodaHead.com)? We shouldn't have to involve attorneys and lawsuits for such simple resolutions. But, I promise you, the lawsuits ARE coming your way (my initial consult with an attorney is this afternoon).

peters224
5 reviews
31 helpful votes
4/19/16

SodaHead was a great opinion website, until founders shut down its main features and locked all user accounts. However, Ive recently found an alternative, which Id like to recommend to all ex-SodaHeads. The website is called Stirvox, it has appeared just recently. You can also create free polls there, vote, see overall opinions filtered by various parameters (age, level of income, political views, etc.) and discus the results with the community.
I've tried several alternatives so far, but this one seems really close to what I personally liked in SodaHead. Ive also contacted the guys, who are behind this project, via contact form and they seem really to care about users and to listen to the feedback.
So, just an advice to all ex-SodaHeads: try Stirvox and hopefully our good old SodaHead could rise from the dead in a new form :)
PS You can find Stirvox at SiteJabber (I wrote my review about them). It would be also nice to get your opinion about it, folks.
PPS I would also like to hear if you find a better alternative to SodaHead. Contact me via PM then, please.

ceiram
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/17/16

The new site sucks and gave no notice of closing down the old. Looking for old RP partners, especially Temlakos or something like that.

courtd1
7 reviews
82 helpful votes
4/17/16

I wish I could give this site no stars. The moderators were unprofessional, never warned users that they were shutting everyone's accounts down. They never kicked off the trolls and bigots. People were constantly spamming the site with stupid questions just so they could be on top of the leaderboard and banned members kept coming back posting everything from porn to cell phone deal ads. People were constantly being bullied and threatened. The moderators never responded to users for anything. Lots of perverts hitting on young women and minors. I had random users messaging me about how they were in love with me and wanted to meet up. Trolls made duplicate accounts of other users they hated.
Sodahead made it too easy for people to sign up. Many people took advantage of that. From what I heard, you could even make up a fake email address and still be able to sign up successfully. No IP address tracking so people were able to continue to produce accounts.

summerf6
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/22/16

Sodahead use to be a place I would go to when I was bored it got me through a tough time in my life with all the friends I would talk to but so much crap went on like fighting and online bulling and for me stalkers that would follow me just to attack me on every poll, I been waiting to see if a new site would form like SH bit so far nothing I have seen but as far as SH goes its dead now and im sure it's not going to revive it had its days

jamest147
5 reviews
14 helpful votes
3/2/16

I used to like SodaHead a lot. It was an interesting and different take on social networking being able to make and vote on various polls and even occasionally discuss them was an awesome premise.

Well, now SodaHead is nothing more than a corporate polling software, where they have locked all the previous accounts on the site so they are there but the users can not access them. I returned to SodaHead earlier this year and was pretty miffed about the changes and the fact that I cannot even delete my old account.

merlinskissm
1 review
13 helpful votes
2/11/16

Where have all the SodaHeads that got disconnected gone? Is there another forum or site similar to the old SodaHeads?

I did love SH and jad friends there. Like all sites, it had it's good and bad but overall, was great. Then with no notice, old Pfef sold out, shut everyone except the money people out and it went away with no notice. Personally, I think that was despicable! Would love to find another site like it, hopefully finding some of my friends again. As far as the new SodaHeads? Have absolutely no interest in it.

rahjeeb
8 reviews
53 helpful votes
11/18/15

When I first joined Sodahead, it was a great website. Even though the community was full of bigoted conservatives, foolish liberals, religious nuts, know-it-alls and straight $#*!s I liked how you could make polls, groups, vote, debate and all the that cool other stuff. But that all changed this year of June 3rd. They nuked all the accounts and now all we can do is vote on polls:

"We are announcing today that, effective immediately, SodaHead.com will no longer support user login, poll creation, commenting and messaging. We will, however, continue to support users ability to vote on editor-created polls. Their reasons cited limited human and financial resources directing them to refocus their service as a distributed polling solution for other online publishers, and disabling their social media services. We ultimately resolved that we cannot do both to ensure our long-term viability, SodaHead needs to focus on furthering its position as a market-leader in distributed polling solutions for online content creators."

They turned to money, blowing us all away. It's suppose be an opinion based website, but you're no longer allowed to put your two cents anymore. This is nothing but a click and vote poll site now. You can't do nothing else.

BTW:
White Panther: You're a racist. Stop denying it and blocking people when they prove you wrong.
Truth Matters: Stop being arrogant and stubborn and actually learn how to debate.
TNMusicalman: Let truth matters hold his own.
Kat: Stop being a massive bigot, as well as blocking people and deleting conversations so you won't look stupid.




-Realist RS

christianh42
1 review
7 helpful votes
10/18/15

All over sudden my account was locked. It was a bit tricky to get even on the site(I had to change my IP) Now I can see that my account is still in place, open for "answers" but closed for me. I dont buy it. Sodahead is a libertarian ultra right wing based discussion forum that found a way to block alternative viewpoints without showing itself as right wing based brainwash pool. So you may watch out using this site.

siwell
1 review
11 helpful votes
8/29/15

I thought you had an alright site going on there, then you shut the community straight out without warning. I had a few friends on there as well, only one of them am i still in contact with over steam. Should have given a warning. It's a shame as well since it was a really good site and that, why would you shut everyone up? There is no real reason to even go to that site anymore. Goodluck with pollware or whatever then you sellouts.

Tip for consumers: Just don't, the place is a ghost town now.

Service
Value
Quality
liamm26
1 review
15 helpful votes
8/17/15

The SodaHead administration has since deactivated all the general-public users and severely limited access to its services (mostly to business who seek the PollWare service); but were the website ever to reopen to the general public, I would not reactivate my account, on account of the following:
1) The discussion community was toxic, especially towards liberals. I was insulted for my age, blocked left and right for trite differences of opinion, accused of supporting the "homosexual agenda", accused of abusing drugs, even accused of supporting pedophilia. All because I'm a liberal. Yet I saw more abuse coming from conservative users (one user who consistently slandered homosexuals was deactivated for uploading NAMBLA posters to a poll), more gossip-spreading and more sparking political flame wars on non-political polls.
2) On a similar note, the political polls were often biased and lacked answer buttons for dissenters. For example, a common poll would ask a question such as "Isn't Obama a terrorist?" and all the answer buttons would read thing such as "Yes", "Most certainly!" and "He deserves to be hanged for treason!" without any button for "No" or "Other." If an article came underneath the poll, the article would often contain loaded questions or phrases, or the article would lack credible sources. Some of these polls were written by site administrators themselves, on top of that.
3) The website design was full of glitches and other technical difficulties. It was common for users to find themselves unable to log in, and I remember that the "Happenings" (i.e. notifications) counter would display a number above '0' even if there were no new Happenings.
4) Administrators rarely responded to reports from users, particularly towards the end. If you found a glitch on the website, that glitch would not be repaired. If you reported a user, the user would not be deactivated or suspended. Customer service was not a high priority for the administration.

I believe it goes without saying: if SodaHead ever reopens for the general public, I am not coming back.

Service
Value
Quality
peggyk11
2 reviews
20 helpful votes
8/12/15

I was on Sodahead regularly for about 2 years. Christians, and right wing political views were attacked relentlessly. If they could not attack a view you held they would come after typos, spelling, or grammar errors. Sodahead is for left wing nuts who need to fluff each others pride. The moderators are strickly anti-christian, anti-right. I have found a fair and balanced place with google + where im not pentilized for my freedom of expression. I hope this helps the next person out. Dont waste your time with these hate mungers. Sincerely, Peggy

rodrickb5
1 review
21 helpful votes
7/17/15

No questions, but will make a comment.

SodaHead was biased in favor of all things liberal, which is the same as anti-American. A great deal of hate and other abuse was allowed from those holding a Leftist agenda.

stevenb95
1 review
19 helpful votes
7/17/15

They could not keep control of the trolls { or they actively allowed them } the mod's were biased..... Twas not what they billed themselves to be...
good ridance to bad rubbish.....

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 3
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Actually it is accepting new users, a couple hundred today anyway...seems to be all businesses of some sort. We - the great unwashed - have been banned...except, I suppose, to click an option on their polls where we are no longer allowed to state our opinion...or even delete our account or PMs. Hmmm...

By Bo Z.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, it's not. 2 years ago they got greedy and turned to money, wiping all their users away.

By Rahjee B.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Questions? Get answers from the SodaHead staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
SodaHead?
Post Review