SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government’s NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of OV Guide

OV Guide reviews

29 reviews
41%
Tel: 1055940466526

29 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

susanm261
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/25/16

Attempted to watch a classic film on OvGuide because Sling's TCM stream wouldn't stop buffering. Will never attempt to view a movie on OvGuide again. In exchange for our "free" movie, we were forced to watch two commercials at the outset. Then, less than five minutes into the movie--more ads! The rating for the movie as well as the icon for the channel never left the screen--it was like watching a movie with stickers on it. Worst of all, there was no letter boxing for this classic film. It was bloated out to fit TV. I told my sons that this--minus the annoying rating and network labels--is what it would have been like to watch this movie on non-cable television when I was a kid. Is it possible to feel ripped off by something that's free? OvGuide has managed to make the answer to that question a resounding yes.

Advertisement
chondral
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/22/16

Yes, they have 3000+ free movies, but not in any order and no "search" button. You have to spend a TON of time going thru all those movies.

peterc154
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/20/16

Spent over an hour getting through 9 minutes of a movie.

This is one of the worst services I've ever seen!!!!

danielm290
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/30/16

Tried watching a movie, the original Planet Of The Apes. Plays for 5 min then 90 sec commercials. Repeat. Every 5 min the movie stops to play commercials then takes a bit to "load" the movie again. Dont mind commercials like traditional tv but this was ridiculous. Also no search feature could be found. If it is there,it is not obvious. Hard to find a movie not alphabetized when there are over 700 in one category alone. Frustrating.

maryd211
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/9/16

Started watching a great old movie, Gaslight. But the movie cut short about 22 mins in and wouldn't play the rest. I tried to redo it a few times with no success. I won't be using OvGuide anymore.

davej62
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/7/16

Used this via Roku. It's really annoying. Ads come on every 5-7 mins and it is the same ad repeated three times over each time.
Also the film I watched was cut short so I never got to see the ending. Fortunately the film was $#*!e, but I would have gone mental if the film had been a real cliff hanger.

This channel is tempting to use but personally I won't be bothering again

ninad24
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/22/16

Tried using this site through the chrome and Firefox - required me to watch a 32 second ad to watch a 33second clip of an episode. Every link to an episode has produced the same result- the only variance is a few second difference in the ad, and the exact same 33 second clip of each series I tried. I would Nevertust the app it prompts you to download upon first accessing the site, I'm sure it's just adware and a waste of memory.Complete waste of time, very frustrating and disappointing. Deserves -5 stars for a rating and should be removed from search engines. This site is a disgraceful waste of internet space and time (and data, if you're not using WiFi). DO NOT bother trying to watch anything here unless you're looking to watch mindless advertisements.

richardd120
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/13/16

Disappointed with ovguide because the audio is on & off, i hear every other word & every other sentence..

jenniferm187
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
2/24/16

Each time I try to play a video it kicks me out. Don't bother trying just a waste of time I would give it 0 stars if I could

jacks369
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/10/15

This site is but a scam. Do not subscribe.

dottiek
6 reviews
28 helpful votes
6/30/13

I was really surprised at this site and the content, since the reviews were so old. I actually got there thru a link from About.com, so don't know if this matters. I was able to play a fairly recent tv show and get it to play. I didn't have to log in, it just played. Like I said, I'm really surprised!!!

gistbya
8 reviews
12 helpful votes
3/7/13

no good for kids...

franka7
10 reviews
12 helpful votes
7/14/12

Once i use this site for good. Now there are many more competitive site providing far better options.

greggc1
14 reviews
39 helpful votes
8/29/11

This site definitely is worth the 5 stars, no scams, great selections and an easy way to find tv series for free.

mea13
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/13/11

I loved, loved, loved ovguide about a year and a half ago but since a few sites got investigated by the feds that ovguide apparently linked to, ovguide started pulling off the free material links. Now it is a bunch of junk - really useless.

If you all knew what ovguide USED to be like, you would cringe to see it now. I don't even bother with it anymore. Completely a mess.

thomast4
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
5/21/11

There is nothing interesting about this website.

laurenth
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/19/11

"free movies online"?
It is NOT. Period.
Waste of time.

alexl5
143 reviews
387 helpful votes
10/2/10

I view this as the kayak of online videos...in a similar way they have organized many online videos for people to either buy, rent or watch for free. I was looking to watch season 1 of smallville (who doesn't want to watch kristin kreuk) and it gave me several options on where I could download it or watch for free.

kaseyp
20 reviews
64 helpful votes
8/17/10

This is one of my favorite sites that I use to catch up on movies sometimes. You can search for any type of movies to TV shows on here. Its like a search engine for videos. When I can't find the episodes that I wanna watch I head out to OVGUIDE.COM to search for the episode I wanna watch.

vladamirf
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/18/10

This site used to be the google for movie/tv sites alike. Now all they want is money. One by one the useful tv/movie sites are dropping off the guide like flies. This site has many competitors and they will soon be better than OVGuide.

OVGuide uses key owrds like "watch movies online" or "free movies" to lure you into their site but now they have very few sites worth looking through. They claim the DMCA is attacking them and making them remove the sites but it all seems to good to be true.

OVGuide, you need to make some serious, fast changes to your greedy ethics and make the site what it used to be otherwise you all look like a bunch of favortism greedy communists.

pier4
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/17/10

good

keithh
10 reviews
26 helpful votes
12/23/09

I read what Timothy wrote and canceled my cable and am just using my PC hooked up to my TV to watch shows now. Saving myself a few hundred extra a year. Enough to just get a subscription to netflix. Netflix plus ovguide is now my PC entertainment for less than cable.

maryt1
24 reviews
112 helpful votes
12/8/09

I was trying to find old episodes of True Blood and this was the only place that led me to a site which wasn't a scam. If you google True Blood videos mostly you just get scam websites.

ronk
142 reviews
942 helpful votes
9/22/09

OVGUIDE.com (hereafter OVG) is very handy helping you locate a video or TV show of interest. Turns out OVG's search results will steer you to OTHER SITES where you can view your video but generally at a COST, of course. I executed a search: (FOX's "FRINGE" season2/episode 1 - I'd missed), and was really knocked out by what seemed to be free access to some great stuff.

Forty-seven minutes into my program a screen pops up informing me I'd "exceeded my bandwidth". I hate exceeding my bandwidth. Bottom line I could 'come back in about an HOUR and watch more, or,cough-up $59.95 for a years membership' and watch to my heart's content.

So OVG search actually costs $10 for a complete membership (a watered-down free version is available), AND...whatever web site you're routed to will likely charge to see that video.

This is not to say that OVG isn't handy, but ultimately FREE it's not.

Rather than pony-up $60 without checking, I slid over to "fox.com." A quick search found Fringe which I watched in it's entirety, absolutely gratis. FOX is great about that.

chriso1
692 reviews
3,068 helpful votes
9/14/09

As others have said, this is an excellent entertainment portal and one worth recommending for its sheer range of choices. Just one consideration to bear in mind, it also provides easy access to a very wide range of porn sites. Which is not to say that porn isn't easy for anyone to find anyway, but if you've given this link to your kids based on all the positive reviews, they're going to spot the Adult link straight away.

On the other hand of course, if you're an adult looking for an extensive selection of user-rated porn links in one place, I guess this is a recommendation. It all depends how you look at it, so to speak.

10 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the OV Guide staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
dawnf32
Dawn F.
on 10/6/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
nataliap12
Natalia P.
on 7/28/16
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
See 8 more questions
See more Q&A
Questions? Get answers from the OV Guide staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
OV Guide?
Post Review