Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Amazon Mechanical Turk reviews

Is this your business?
32 reviews
P.O. Box 81226
Seattle, WA 98108-1226

32 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

dottij
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/20/17

I tried to sign up with Amazon HIT, set up my account, and I get an email back saying that due to security restrictions they can't open an account because they can't verify my information. I have had the same address, email, and phone number for 20 years! I have been an Amazon Prime member for many years. When I called (several times) and sent emails, the response is they can't tell me why! They said set up a new email account and try that. This is astounding!! Don't do it.

Advertisement
bubul2
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/25/17

Do not ever work for Amazon Mechanical Turk. This is a scam. You are working for free. They will never give you any $.

doreenl13
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/6/17

I started signing up for Amazon Mechanical Turk so it asked for all my information but I DID NOT ACTIVATE IT realizing i needed to add money to my own bank account. Next thing you know they started withdrawing money from my account - it bounced, so i called and emailed them to get rid of the account because i couldn't delete it. they said okay and then try tried again to take the money. so by the 3rd day it's bounced 3 times and they took the 39.95 and never gave it back. So I reported them to the BBB. Very unhappy with this site. It turned out to be a nightmare before even working with them.

alexanderk52
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/6/17

Although the tasks range from a mere $0.50 to $2.00, the amount can build up, and is definitely worth it if you want to save on Amazon.com purchases or simply transfer to your bank account.

markb403
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/10/17

This is a joke. Amazon should be ashamed of this crap.The majority of the tasks don't work and just waste your time. Seroiusly makes me want to reconsider wether I should even continue doing business with Amazon.

sanjaa
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/20/17

HOW ON EARTH DO YOU ALLOW YOURSELVES NOT STATE ON YOUR WEBSITE THAT NO INTERNATIONAL MEMBERS ARE ACCEPTED? DO YOU LIKE WASTING PEOPLE'S TIME OR SIMPLY HIDE THE FACT BECAUSE YOU WANT TO ENJOY TRAFFIC AND AROUND THE GLOBE ATTENTION? SHAME ON YOU AND EVERYONE WHO IS PART OF THIS ''TEAM'', WHO'S GOT THE ''BALLS'' TO STATE THAT THEY NEED NOT GIVE ANY REASONS FOR NOT ACCEPTING SOMEONE WHO TRIED TO REGISTER. LAME AND NOTAPPROPRIATE FOR A ''SERIOUS'' COMPANY SUCH AS AMAZON. THANK GOD SUCH LOW LEVEL WORK CAN'T LAST LONG.

jayaramm
1 review
8 helpful votes
11/18/16

We create a new account last month in mturk but we get declined mail. it possible to accept in future.

amandaj75
5 reviews
41 helpful votes
10/28/16

Mturk isnt anything that you'd want to quit your day job over, but it is nicefor a few extra bucks or Amazon gift cards now and again. I've used it for a long time and will do so for many more years as long as it is around

geesong
1 review
17 helpful votes
8/8/16

I am proud of being an amazon turker. The tasks are Quite simple and interesting. HITS include identifying objects in a photo or video, performing data de-duplication, transcribing audio recordings, or researching data details etc. I've been working on Mturk since 2010. Any one with knowledge in english can work on it. Now I am a trusted worker with 98.4% accuracy and worked on more than 42000 Hits. I recommend this to all those who wish to earn some money by doing transcriptions, surveys, playing interactive games (as part of survey).

toddh20
93 reviews
67 helpful votes
7/9/16

Mturk offers many tasks, or HITs that you can qualify for and complete relatively quickly. Many of the tasks pay well and almost all of the requesters for the tasks are honest and will pay you for your task completion.

mturkw
1 review
45 helpful votes
7/6/16

This is a site used by marketers and Universities to collect low cost survey data and repetitive task completion for minimal fees. In many instances, workers who complete tasks as per the directions receive payment.

However, as anyone who has been burnt by these scheming requesters who mess it up for all of the others well knows there are certain unscrupulous requester types who use the Amazon.com mturk system to ends more sinister than access to an unsuspecting pool of cheap labor.

These requesters follow a self serving ethic presumably motivated by the ease with which they can reject work and save themselves the fees they have already agreed to and are required to pay. A stiffed worker has no recourse through Amazon. There is no appeals process or investigation by Amazon. A requester can only be reported before the worker has any experience with her and only for a very narrow range of complaints evading work payment is not one of them. It gets worse. The rejection and any untrue reason(s) provided by the requester through the automated Amazon system in bad faith have a deleterious impact on the profile of the workers who have already been denied payment for their work.

The Congress needs to take a deeper look at this mturk system, which conceals these types of business practices behind the shield of a contract worker arrangement provided by the shrink wrapped, boilerplate adhesion language in their TOS. Legislature and the courts need to further assess the whole system to gauge its compliance with basic levels of public policy, acceptable in the reasonable standards expected in an industrialized nation.

If such systemic false pretense routinely engaged in by those requesters who make use of the mturk system to actively pursue the above-mentioned practices does not enumerate as the key elements of material fraud, then how else is it reasonably described?

There is no rating system of the requesters provided by Amazon. Mturk workers are in the dark when accepting a work hit that could result in non payment by one of these unscrupulous requesters meeting the above definitions. In the interim, a plug-in such as the one provided by Turkopticon can provide some minimal measure, though incomplete because of its 3rd party implementation, forewarning to the mturk worker pool.

lindaf77
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/5/16

Mechanical Turk was originally a way for people all over the world, and in poor countries in particular, to make small amounts of money easily. By 2011, there were workers in 190 countries. Because a mastery of English is necessary, at some point Amazon started taking only American applications. (If anyone knows when the change was made, let us know in your review.)

Because workers are independent contractors, i.e. self-employed, the US minimum wage law doesn't apply. So there's no Turk in Third World countries, where a few dollars can be meaningful income, while Americans create all sorts of ways to be successful at working for pennies. That's the irony.

chandras14
1 review
19 helpful votes
5/28/16

Hi Amazon Team, This is Chandra Sekar from India
Why Mturk was restricted in india for last 2 years.. because its useful for lot of un employee students and house wife,.. Please again come to india and give better future to all who seeking job.

kenh57
1 review
13 helpful votes
4/20/16

It isn't a scam but it doesn't make much money. According to Forbes "estimates of what workers can earn on these crowdsourced tasks range from about $1.20 to $5 an hour without any benefits. Employers treat them as independent contractors not covered by federal minimum-wage legislation".

saurabhv3
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/22/16

great app for shopping amazon.it is really good products services.

kimberlym80
1 review
18 helpful votes
1/27/16

What a joke I could not use amazon turk because of the stupid amazon payments why? Because for some reason they disabled my account because they could not confirm my information, but would they tell me what info no. How can I fix this they said you cant. end of story. Well what a waste of time now my bank info and ssn are stuck on that site and because it is disabled I cannot even delete them! Customer service was a joke dont even bother calling

kuldeepk3
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/27/16

There are any charges of this service..? and i am from india i can play it or not kindly suggest. What is the mandatory things for it.

debbiep50
1 review
9 helpful votes
1/4/16

I work on Amazon Mechanical Turk and there are many dollar amounts to be made.
It is great for small amounts at a time .
The money can go directly to your bank or Amazon account.
2 Draw backs I can see is the time it takes to get paid from some hits you do and being able to get paid through Pay Pal. That would be good if they did that.

nageshad
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/10/15

Dear sire

my account approval My worker id A2U5VL6PUYOD5V

From India please help me

Regards
Nagesha D

oliviar13
13 reviews
39 helpful votes
8/9/15

This site has all kinds of mini tasks to earn money; data entry, transcribing, surveys, paragraph/article writing, editing, etc. IT IS NOT A SCAM, IT IS RUN BY AMAZON. You have the option to get paid to your amazon gift card balance, or to amazon payments where you can then transfer to a bank account. I REPEAT IT IS RUN BY AMAZON IT IS NOT A SCAM. Some just can't use this site depending on their location. I've been using for about 4 years and have made almost 400 dollars so far.

vassimk
1 review
16 helpful votes
8/4/15

The Amazone mechanical turk is one of the best trusted free work from home site. I am earning extra cash from this website. Not huge but always additional earning is a plus. I enjoyed working on amazone mechanical turk. Main advantage is any time we can do work. no time limit.

Trust me this site is not a spam

Vassim.

samanthas34
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
5/21/15

I haven't come across any problems with it. I came across mturk from a friend who uses it. I admit i was a bit skeptical at first when mturk needed my SS information (but that's only for verification so you can receive payment once you cash out) and I love it. The hits are easy and approved quite quickly.

I will continue to use mturk. Love it.

chrish88
16 reviews
60 helpful votes
1/12/15

Well if this email from them says anything, it screams idiocy. Here it is:

Greetings from Amazon Mechanical Turk,
We have completed our review of your Amazon Mechanical Turk Worker Account. We regret to inform you that you will not be permitted to work on Mechanical Turk.

Our account review criteria are proprietary and we cannot disclose the reason why an invitation to complete registration has been denied. If our criteria for invitation changes, you may be invited to complete registration in the future.

Thank you for your interest in Mechanical Turk.
Sincerely,
Amazon Mechanical Turk
https://www.mturk.com
410 Terry Avenue North
SEATTLE, WA 98109-5210 USA

What the hell about a review process is proprietary? Are you kidding? What was proprietary about it? It is because they only hire Americans now. Because of this review, a friend here in Canada who uses MTURK has cancelled her jobs so now she will use clickwork.com

rsatrams
1 review
20 helpful votes
11/1/14

mturk sucks they closed your account without warning and when you send email and ask why they close the account they do not reply I send servral email and it has been over a month and no reply because they sucks and don't want to pay for work done and have no care for the employee.

jamesg94
3 reviews
21 helpful votes
9/6/14

Many of the hits do not work at all and you get negative profiles for being unable to complete things that don't work, even if you return them.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No, you do not

By Chantelle E. on 11/13/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You cant, you can only send it to your bank account in America

By Chantelle E. on 9/18/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No.

By Todd H. on 6/17/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Go to mturk.com and sign up.

By Todd H. on 5/16/16
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi please read this article - http://turkrequesters.blogspot.in/2013/01/the-reasons-why-amazon-mechanical-turk.html

By Vassim K. on 8/17/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You get 1 cent every time you complete the HIT, you don't get payment until your HIT has been reviewed and approved by whoever created the hit. If they reject your hit (because you did not follow the HIT directions) then it will show up in your HIT totals as rejected. Hope this helped. -An Mturk user.

By Samantha S. on 5/11/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

There is nothing you can do, unfortunately India is not an approved country for Mturk. They simply don't allow people from India to join.

By Olivia R. on 4/26/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Amazon Mechanical Turk staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Amazon Mechanical Turk?
Post Review