Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of FareCompare

FareCompare reviews

12 reviews
Plane Tickets, Travel

12 Reviews From Our Community

3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

jackk73
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/3/17

Called me after I made a booking saying they need to 3way with the bank to confirm the details. Then they tried to push the convo to next day. I could smell they would say any minute "sorry fares have gone up" to try to get more $. I asked for reservation to be cancelled. Tried to resist but I was firm and then he let it go.
Hope they don't charge my card anyway.
Shady service stay away. Who the hell wants to 3way with bank? The whole point of online flight purchasing is to make the process easy and smooth. Not involve call centers and wait times.

Advertisement
simons78
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/24/16

Booked flight in new zealand and they charged me in usa dollars BIG difference. nowhere was it mentioned until receipt came through and too late to change as late booking. never ever had this before and I travel extensively.

total <*&$ ers

klaudiak2
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/1/16

Never ever ever use this website! It's very inaccurate, basically a scam. Customer service is even worse.

johh4
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/30/15

I READ SO MANY BAD REVIEW, I RATHER PAY FEW EXTRA DOLLARS

zoiae
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/17/15

Spammers, Bombing with 2 emails a day.

stephans5
1 review
13 helpful votes
1/5/15

Worst customer service I have experienced in a long time- After being on hold for upwards of 40 minutes, I was disconnected in the midst of changing my flight and not called back. I proceeded to call back 4 more times and was disconnected every single time, and when I finally got in touch with a representative I was put on hold for an additional 20+ minutes after inquiring on a single question. I was told I would receive a call from the supervisor as well, which also did not happen. I will NEVER book with them in the future.

jackp10
1 review
13 helpful votes
7/8/13

most flights are not even valid just pushing to a website with more expensive tickets than they pretend to have. wasted my time.
should only search for flights that are valid. clearly using old data and not checking live prices. seems like a ploy to get you to use the site and then they get the benefit of bringing potential customers to a new website that clearly doesnt have the offer that farecompare.com pretends they do have.

awful site

boilingm
1 review
14 helpful votes
11/4/12

Like the rating says, "STAY AWAY" from Farecompare.com!
I made a reservation for a hotel stay and just after I hit the Reserve button, I realized I booked the wrong date. So I cancelled the reservation and REBOOKED the hotel for the correct date WTHIN 3 MINUTES of my first reservation. Well, Farecompare.com says I HAVE to pay the $25 cancellation fee, even though I rebooked it WITH THEM WITHIN MINUTES OF THE CANCELLATION! Its not like anyone else would have lost out on the booking at the time. I was booking a reservation to a hotel which had an over 50% vacancy rate! I called customer service and asked to speak with the manager who insisted that the $25 change has no exceptions! LAST TIME I am using Farecompare!!!! If you use them, DONT MAKE ANY MISTAKES! IT WILL COST YOU! And to TOP IT ALL OFF, the "deal" that they gave me was cheaper elsewhere! Farecompare.com is a "prey on the innocent people" website who MAKES MONEY on YOUR mistakes!

michaell
66 reviews
387 helpful votes
8/20/11

A sophisticated airfare comparison site which differentiates itself on the amount of data it searches and the speed at which it is able to process and present the results. It has the most airlines and search options of all the travel comparison sites I've seen and even pops up multiple windows to other meta-search engines so that you can compare the results. Another neat feature is the ability to sign up for real-time email alerts on price drops for preselected routes.

They are also known to mine the vast amounts of data to which they have access and perform advanced analytics to understand how and when prices fluctuate. The site publishes these findings in a series of very helpful travel advice articles, explaining to consumers not only the best days to travel, but also the best days to *purchase* tickets. It's definitely worth visiting this site even if just to gain greater insight into how the airline industry works.

michaelm27
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/14/11

Many routes show up on their page at prices "as low as", "from" or "starting at". Even clicking one of them leads you to input a search for route and travels dates, and requires you to select 3 services from 6 or more listed. These listed sights are - themselves - ALSO fare search services, some of which ALSO compare multiple search services. I have tried every selection option available and I can NEVER - as in NEVER EVER - find an actual opportunity to purchase the fares listed on FARECOMPARE's webpages. I find this to common of MANY sites of this nature. We called this "BAIT & SWITCH" in my day! Where is the FTC or the State Attorney when you need them.

jonc
10 reviews
42 helpful votes
11/11/07

fantastic site -- tracks fares over time - very cool site. i've never actually bought a ticket through them, but it's great for tracking airfares over time. there's also a cool feature where you can see the different airfares to an entire region.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I was quoted in $ by orbitz through farecompare when I saw my creditcard bill they overcharged me by $ 80 just a scam to get more money out of you

By joe s. on 11/8/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

no they will charge you one price and when you pay by credit card they charge you more

By joe s. on 10/27/15
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I am not sure how to search and book 'multi-city' flights? Four of us are planning to fly from Toronto, Canada to Kona, Hawaii for 2 weeks, then fly from Kona, HI to Maui, HI for a week and then fly home to Toronto from Maui. Any ideas?

By Laura K. on 6/10/13
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the FareCompare staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
FareCompare?
Post Review