Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of WGT Media

WGT Media reviews

Is this your business?
108 reviews
55402

108 Reviews From Our Community

Service
5
Value
5
Shipping
1
Returns
3
Quality
5

All Reviews

kaseyd7
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/28/19

Games totally screwed up as of 1/28/19. It will steal your money so don't buy anything! It's not loading properly. It's popping up windows in the middle of play, meters jump, locks up etc. Contact email for WGT broken as well and resets form and won't send. Been doing this for weeks and owes tons of money to people and looks like a lawsuit has been started. Plat at own risk it's a joke!

richw71
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/27/19

Suit is for promising better scores while producing worse results, after a purchase. Sound familiar? Interstate criminals, all of them. The more you spend, the worse your results! Avoid this site like the plague. The positive reviews are obviously employees! There are no real opponents! Only sham players. It's easy to play the game and lose 15 matches in a row. Now the practice portion of the game is as crooked as the match portion!

jone53
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/7/19

Um, can I have my 300 dollars back please. Thank you. Other guys seemed to be able to play incredibly well. I was never able to, even when I spent a good amount of money on it. I had the best equipment money could buy and was getting beat by guys with starter clubs. It's kind of fun. If your able to really get the nack you'll enjoy. I never did

romih
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/4/19

The other reviews say it all, have a read. I've personally stopped wasting time on it. This game is the perfect example why there should be a Board for Games Control for ones which are too addictive and frustrating.

futto
35 reviews
20 helpful votes
11/4/18

For me it worked well at least first few months, more recently some frustrating things
+ it is challenging to become better at it.
+ the play and adjusting for shots is initially very realistic (I play real golf since decades) - the only difference is that in real life you are less consistent than hitting a mouse button at the right moment.
+ non-consistent / inconsistent "hit meter", odd effects of wind, and unexpected shot outcomes is programmed into it, especially for lower level players and the initial free and cheaper less good equipment/clubs - this is like real life - sometimes a shot goes wrong or unexpectedly wrong/different
.
+ You can choose whether to spend cash or do things like online surveys to get credits, or by winning head-to-head challenge games for credits vs other players (tricky if you are not yet good of course). You need Credits to get better clubs (longer driver/woods; irons and wedges that spin the ball so it stops when landing on the green; putter that more consistently hits the putts...)
.
A MINUS point is that it seems you can somehow annoy wgt in such a way that they lock or disable your account without warning or real proper explanation, meaning have to start from beginning again ! A friend who was scoring good (too good?) from day1 and for some time, then suddenly account was disabled, explanation was automated gobbledygook.
Similarly, a close family member was only in for less than 2 weeks, then had account banned and locked out, accused of being a double account ("multi-accounts") presumably due to logging in through the same laptop/wifi address as another family member (at different times as they were using the same d. laptop !).
It has been said elsewhere in other reviews that members of same family or friends get accounts locked on basis of assumed "double account", when they have entered with different devices, even simultaneously into same game, through same wifi which will be the case for a family or friends at the same place. If that is true it is understandably frustrating...
.
Update, MINUS POINTS. It is stated by others in wgt that game gets very frustrating as you become good / really good.
Initially, other than very occasional "hyper-speed meter jumping" & occasional strange/odd erratic shot outcomes, had not yet seen that myself. However as I have got better, with higher rating (lower average), more erratic things are appearing such as shots strangely veering sideways against the wind direction landing the ball in the rough, especially when playing in tournament / competitions. Also odd putts swerving off uphill just before going in. Some have elsewhere suggested this is the game's clever algorithms / programming designed to take credits off you and also to make you need to spend on better equipment just to stand still, otherwise the fun evaporates.
...See review from michael k. "fraud!" & the comments under there from Jim B. etc.

suniln7
4 reviews
5 helpful votes
10/30/18
• Updated review

Let me lay down the dope . I have had enough. Frustrated beyond economical repair. And mind you this is a Master speaking with a hcap of 66.8.

WGT - Manipulators par excellence.

How they perpetrate this humongous con.

After every few games ..the swing meter is tweaked to have a mind of its own. You will never be able to guage it's speed, as a result you will swing short or long resulting in a pull or a slice...both of which will send your ball traversing gloriously into the rough or a hungry bunker. On the green during the putt, the swing meter will display a will of it's own depending on whether it's your time to shine or bite the bullet.This is the manipulation. Changing the swing meter speed. And to add insult to injury wgt has the audacity to put an icon specifically to slow swing meter speed for which they charge 30 credits. Smartasses ...think the whole world is dumb. I am sure most of us who have played the game long enough, would have experienced on a certain par 3 in chambers bay , if the distance to putt is 30 feet, the swing meter will show a max 15 feet. With time running out you will get into all manner of calisthenics and lo behold .... These days I am cool as a cucumber , I just chip . Although it doesn't work well but alas what else to do.

The sole aim of WGT is commercial..With this vision...the game is designed to keep all parties happy and provide an illusion it is fair play. Ultimately everyone looses and is made to believe the reason is inferior equipment . So you naively buy better clubs and balls with the hope you will meet Mr. Fair play enroute. Sure enough you will think you are Tiger for a while vanquish ing all and sundry who dare to cross your path. But be sure this euphoria is at best shortlived ...soon enough you will land on Terra firma. The window of slow meter dissappears. Oftentimes just when things are going Tickety boo and you are celebrating an emphatic win , the connection times out. Once a while when the meter is slow boy what a pleasure to play the game. The graphics are mind blowing. I just can't fathom why they cannot run a fair outfit. Hope it does not meet the same fate as cash play. it will be an unfortunate day for lovers of the game.
.

if you can survive the game long enough . .then it only reveals three things about you
1. U R Dumb or
2. U R Self realised or
3. U R addicted

By the time you are done with d game.. pls. book an appointment with d shrink . Alternately accept the manipulations and be willing to loose some greenbacks each month , just to enjoy the sheer magic of the graphics.

In conclusion .....today very few players wish each other good luck or good game. because they all know it's only luck all d way..there is little or no skill. keep your fingers crossed

Tip for consumers: Guys believe me . WGT & Cashplay are one of the biggest scam steers on the planet . If you don't believe me go ahead and flush ur hard earned bucks down their filthy arses.

“Manipulator's par excelence”
3/21/16
• Previous review

Let me lay down the dope . I have had enough. Frustrated beyond economical repair. And mind you this is a Master speaking with a hcap of 66.8.

WGT - Manipulators par excellence.

How they perpetrate this humongous con.

After every few games ..the swing meter is tweaked to have a mind of its own. You will never be able to guage it's speed, as a result you will swing short or long resulting in a pull or a slice...both of which will send your ball traversing gloriously into the rough or a hungry bunker. On the green during the putt, the swing meter will display a will of it's own depending on whether it's your time to shine or bite the bullet.This is the manipulation. Changing the swing meter speed. And to add insult to injury wgt has the audacity to put an icon specifically to slow swing meter speed for which they charge 30 credits. Smartasses ...think the whole world is dumb. I am sure most of us who have played the game long enough, would have experienced on a certain par 3 in chambers bay , if the distance to putt is 30 feet, the swing meter will show a max 15 feet. With time running out you will get into all manner of calisthenics and lo behold .... These days I am cool as a cucumber , I just chip . Although it doesn't work well but alas what else to do.

The sole aim of WGT is commercial..With this vision...the game is designed to keep all parties happy and provide an illusion it is fair play. Ultimately everyone looses and is made to believe the reason is inferior equipment . So you naively buy better clubs and balls with the hope you will meet Mr. Fair play enroute. Sure enough you will think you are Tiger for a while vanquish ing all and sundry who dare to cross your path. But be sure this euphoria is at best shortlived ...soon enough you will land on Terra firma. The window of slow meter dissappears. Oftentimes just when things are going Tickety boo and you are celebrating an emphatic win , the connection times out. Once a while when the meter is slow boy what a pleasure to play the game. The graphics are mind blowing. I just can't fathom why they cannot run a fair outfit. Hope it does not meet the same fate as cash play. it will be an unfortunate day for lovers of the game.
.

if you can survive the game long enough . .then it only reveals three things about you
1. U R Dumb or
2. U R Self realised or
3. U R addicted

By the time you are done with d game.. pls. book an appointment with d shrink . Alternately accept the manipulations and be willing to loose some greenbacks each month , just to enjoy the sheer magic of the graphics.

In conclusion .....today very few players wish each other good luck or good game. because they all know it's only luck all d way..there is little or no skill. keep your fingers crossed

Tip for consumers: Guys believe me . WGT & Cashplay are one of the biggest scam steers on the planet . If you don't believe me go ahead and flush ur hard earned bucks down their filthy arses.

stevec506
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/18/18

Ive been playing at least 7 or 8 yrs. and I've never had any of that stuff y'all are writing about happen. I'm not one of 'em, but you are playing against guys that put a lot, a lot of work into that game because they can. And they do. Keep improving, keep coming back and maybe one day you can beat 'em! The other $#*! y'all gripe about is just whining.!

joels173
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/2/18

Been playing WGT for half a year because Tiger Woods Golf is gone (boo). Really love and loved that game. This app has great courses, good response, not great (glitches, especially mid swing) and fun playability. Here's a HUGE flaw and I do not think it is an oversight. The more I play, it exponentially gets more difficult. I have uber upgrades, I have purchased good clubs and can play par or better. So why am I losing 50% of my matches (which nobody wants or enjoys). I can hit a ball 3 feet from the hole and my opponenet hits 2 feet from the hole. All the time. The frequency of miraculous shots is not only unrealistic and impossible, there is no ring of truth or enjoyability to game play. I am an 85th level master. I get grouped with a legend and they hit a 225 yard shot 1 foot from the hole with half a second shot assessment time. Impossible. Frustrating. Then you group me with a hack (who should be a WGT rookie) and they do the same because they were high level and started over as a hack because they were frustrated. Wake up! You have a great app but the design flaws are so many years behind Tiger Woods Golf it is sickening. I play and end up angry. Playing a golf app should be peaceful, fun, competitive, etc...not frustrating, infuriating and futile. I am proud of my skill level on the game. Why would I now be content winning 4 or 5 out of 10 games. Please change this. Group players more judiciously and monitor results. Make adjustments on the results, not the groupings. Keep people's win status high especially as they improve, just like real life. The better pros get, the more they win statistically. The competition gets more stiff but so do they. Hope you figure it oit before another app does. I enjoy your game but I will not continue like this and I do not want to start over as a hack which should
not be an advantage BTW. If it does not change, I would rather take my free time writing commentary like this all over the internet and encouraging others to do as well. This is how frustrated I and thousands of others are (as I read online). Please act soon.

michaelk711
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/14/18

I opened an account spent some money right at the start on an equipment bundle. After about 1 month my account was disabled because "I levelled up too quickly". I messaged customer support saying obviously I will level up quicker than normal due to the fact I spent a lot of money on equipment and I gave all my details etc. They then sent the exact same email as before (obviously automated) did not read my response whatsoever and never came back to me. I have never seen anything like it in my life.

fredb177
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/14/18

Open up an account last month, did some surveys for credits, never got paid, game seemed like fun, dropped $70 for equipment was going along fine and boom account closed.

Giberish response from CS.

Don't be spending a nickle here, not sure what sort of scam they are running.

anthonyr251
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/7/18

The game is a joke, play well the game will ruin your game at the end of the round, always end up with 8 + or even, had -2 then triple bogey at the last minute. Whats the point of ranking up and you never get better, nonsense. The survey to earn points, is nothing more than a fbi or cia profiling tool. Couldn't be more obvious, especially when a supposedly live player knows what is running on your browser ! Watched a clip of adult rated whatever on youtube, and I was told you have to turn that off by another player. The video was lame, but at least I got them to admit they were spying. I played a better golf game in 1990 on a sony playstation.

matkc
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/4/18

played pro at 6 under they bumped me to master went to a 78 over night t play terrible every game so bought new clubs started playing better I think we can get a class action suit because theirs an app on there site that when you become master if you don't purchase new clubs and ball you will play terrible!

distbutablep
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/2/18

I joined the site in 2014. It seemed harmless enough until I began to do well, with beginner equipment, then my account was disabled. You have to have a new email to open a new account, then weeks later disabled again. Four accounts later, all disabled after a few weeks of play. NEVER INVEST A DIME AS THEY CAN DISABLE YOUR ACCOUNT ON A WHIM. FURTHERMORE, THERE IS NO "MEMBERS@WORLDGOLFTOUR.COM" site to explain details or a reason for their asinine decision or actions. A sorry excuse for a game site.

ernier23
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/1/18

The game itself is great. But they gray you out on the video credits. And then they try to tell you it's your tablets flat because just to old. Even though it's worked fine day one of registration. The numbers just don't add up. So now I'm forced to buy credits. Funny how that options is open to me on the same page. Hmmmmmmm!!!

brianp304
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/18

Game seems to either be rigged or just poorly designed in some areas. Breaks on greens, wind speeds are very inaccurate. 188 yard shot with a 193 yd iron into a 3-5 mile and hour wind comes up 20 yards short with top clubs. Two foot put with modest little break ends up being sharp break on impact. Once you get to a certain level, inaccuracies seem to become much larger and much more frequent.

vivianes3
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/16/18

Taking a 6 foot gimme is no different than cheating on the regular golf course...Ill give the game away to anyone that does ...

robertb1154
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/12/18

watched a ton of videos to earn credits for new titlest balls spent 975 coins,
2nd shot on first ball mysteriously is a lost ball, the other two balls lasted about a day each- not lost just taken out of play because of too many hits? really, do clubs only last so many hits as well? Ridiculous. They should at least warn you there's only so many hits on a ball- like that even makes sense... Agree with the comments on here, this game is a joke.

ml202
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/22/18

confusing as hell to operate the computer site. get with the program guys. its 2018 not 1997. and also buying clubs and other virtual materials on the site is a major scam.

kellyh199
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/21/18

I am a new golfer and went to WGT to play some online golf. Imagine my surprise when many of the other players I was partnered up with SEVERE pornographic images for their pics. It was gross and degrading to women. Come WGT clean up your act!!

Tip for consumers: DO NOT have children around you when you play this site. I

Service
Value
Quality
als123
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/10/18

Lucky because they started screwing with my play before I ever spent any Cash. When emails failed to show any improvement I then bragged to them how while they screwed with my play....I never gave them one cent!! Well now am shooting like a hack while at level 87!! Don't advise anyone to spend cash.......although the time I spent watching infomercials and taking surveys was worth $100.00 in my time!!!

bobr148
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/4/18

If you want to get ripped off from a online game, then join WGT. They took me for $30. Half the time the game freezes up or is so jittery you can not even play. They do not stand behind their game at all. If you experience problems, all they ever tell you is it's your computer, when in fact it is their game screwing up.

I DO NOT RECOMMEND WGT, it is the worst!

davidh25
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
3/3/18

They take your money for balls and equipment then manipulate the swing meter and steal your balls back. After a while those real expensive clubs you bought are worthless. The only realism is them stealing your cash. A class action law suit would ruin their day.

bobbyw31
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/1/18

I have been a member of wgt for over a year now and I have taken many videos and screenshots of the game manipulation by wgt. Yes a free game, but don't expect to continue to be free because you cannot level up or even compete with the free equipment. the cost is astronomical. By the time you reach legend, you would have already had to upgrade 2 or 3 times. Then you have 2 more ranks to go and that will get you in by at least 2 or 3 more upgrades. And then you have to pay for decent balls, averaging $6 for a pack of 3 that last less than two 18 hole rounds per ball. do the math, it waaaay more expensive to play this game than to go to your local club and play. Those who tell you its free, are typically hacks with no concept of how this game works. Not only do you have those costs, but then wgt manipulates your clubs, balls and course conditions to cost you more money. This is a very expensive game, don't let anyone tell you any different. I am a level 103 champion with an scoring average of 51.75 which puts me in the top 50 of all time low averages. You cannot level up or go up in rank without spending money. WGT says there are "FREE" credits to pay for equipment, but you will need to spend your money to get most of those not to mention most of those credit opportunities never pay out. As of late, WGT also records your movements on the net by putting tracking cookies on your computer. They sell your email information putting you in danger of ID theft. Bottom line ? Stay away from this site if you value your privacy and your money.

kenm227
1 review
6 helpful votes
2/23/18

If you want to be cheated and frustrated then this is the game for you if you don't spend money forget it waste of time I'm done with it

scottn69
6 reviews
18 helpful votes
2/5/18

When I used to spend a lot of money on balls, clubs, etc, the app worked fine. Since moving to China for a teaching job, anything Google related won't work (even with a supposed "unblockable" VPN). Now I can't even update to the latest version because it automatically takes me (or tries to) to the Google Play Store. Any other app store version does the same. Something tells me WGT has sold their souls to Google for a share of the pie. So much for the little guy. It used to be such a nice app to play with friends. But once they find out you're not spending any more money, the have one word for you: "Update" .....well I have a word for you WGT: Buh-Bye!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Read my post above. WGT disabled my players and 3 other friends of mine who were playing from my home.

By Manny W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

This was most likely your pc / laptop / browser / flash player set up - check 1. check not on mute 2. check volume not reduced too low to hear it 3. logout of game, close browser completely, restart browser, login, go to game again (note the mute button on the top row of many pc/laptop keyboards - yes it does happen - or having accidentally hit the volume minus button a few times such that volume too low to hear it - yes that happens as well) IF NOT FIXED then :- 4. clear browser cache (press ctrl/shift/delete with mouse pointer inside the browser, & select what to delete - at least "cached images and files" in Chrome / in IE "temporary internet files and website files"), completely close browser, restart browser IF STILL NOT FIXED then: 5. restart pc/laptop IF STILL NOT FIXED then: 6. note chrome creates other caches that can be corrupted - go to directories under eg. C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default - you will need to have hidden files visible to see "AppData" and lower directories - there are usually 4 sub-directories there called "Application Cache", "Cache", "GPUCache", and "Media Cache" - delete all FILES (not directories) under each "cache" sub-directory almost certainly not related - but may be anyway good to remove this junk as well:- 7. note microsoft / IE creates a huge set of files under directories "...cryptnet.." to do with info related to websites you have been to (a hidden record of where you've been apart from anything else !) - you can delete ALL FILES under here (can be hundreds or perhaps thousands of files with strange very long names: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\CryptnetUrlCache\Content\ & C:\Users\<username>\AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\CryptnetUrlCache\MetaData\ Hope u got it fixed.

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

suggest - use the forums in wgt.com itself for this kind of question. - you can see, search, and read the wgt forum items even if you do not play it / are not a registered user.

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

why did this person spend 900 (900 what?, "credits", or real cash ?) - spending some cash to buy credits may well enable you to get "better" clubs quicker than getting enough credits from winning challenges and other ways to get credits in the game, - noting that "better" clubs do not magically make the player better - that is like real life - it takes practice, and some are just better than others, no matter how much practice - & like other things, this game might close/lock/disable an account if you do not follow the rules, or you post not allowed things in the forum etc...

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi john contact me at notonthis1gmail.com

By Brandon h.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

suggest check out the forums under wgt.com itself. - noting you can see, search, read the forums even if you are not a player / not registered. - when u "buy" new clubs with Credits, you still have all the clubs you already had, unless you "sell" some back to the shop. - you can only take a selection from all your clubs (- ie upto 13 clubs) on each actual round in the game. - You can choose (edit) which club selection to use for a round before each round/game - you cannot change this half way thru a game (like real life - what is in the bag is what u have, not what you left in the car or left at home !)

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

for similar questions - could contact the wgt.com (or m.wgt.com) via the eMail known to registered players, or by using valid details etc in the help request page under wgt.com (or m.wgt.com)

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

? the meter goes slower depending on the clubs (& ball type) you play - some clubs have better precision but the meter goes fast (making them harder to hit properly) .... other clubs may be less precise (shot varies more) but the meter moves slower making them easier to hit properly. - the ratings of the clubs etc is listed for each item - trying to make the meter go slow by using a slow computer or "slow browser" or slow wifi will not work - in fact a slow wifi or computer may make the meter "jumpy" / more difficult to hit shots

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Am I the only one having trouble lately with the loading of this site. I've been playing for over a year now,but lately takes forever to load and when it does lags all the time!

By Michael C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the WGT Media staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

6 Photos for WGT Media

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
WGT Media?
Post Review