Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of WGT Media

WGT Media reviews

Is this your business?
113 reviews
55402

113 Reviews From Our Community

Service
5
Value
5
Shipping
1
Returns
3
Quality
5

All Reviews

benjamind89
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/24/19

I'm a lvl 76 Master 68 avg,haven't spent a dime and never will. I have every club I want just by watching videos. The game is challenging but not unfair,if it were easy it wouldn't be fun.
Bunglecracker

donc228
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/10/19

I've been trying for days to hit the ball. Never have!!!!! I swing and swing and swing but never hit the ball. There are NO instructions or guidelines to help me.... the game looks good but I'm still on the first tee swinging at air and out of time...........again!!!

telpyp
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/7/19

Played for 2 years are so. Level 83 / 72.8. Now I am getting varying levels of experience points after competing from zero (very often) to 5% or so and it is becoming very difficult to progress.
I have spent very little money with WGT so I suppose I am meant to suffer.
Graphics good, games can freeze a lot at certain times of the day to a point where you just want to switch off, very frustrating. I will continue but with much less interest than before.
If you want to play be prepared and read the reviews so you are not surprised.

johnh1993
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/2/19

.Great game to play but very frustrating when players ranked low are able to hit shots that should be impossible to hit. Some scores are so low that in a 9 hole round you would have to eagle at least 3 holes and birdie the rest. I have bought top clubs and there is no way to score that low. Not realistic.

shawnp90
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/29/19

All the cheating and Forfeiters in this has made
It a joke and ask me 2 or more accounts is cheating.why play if you are going to forfeit that's B's.cant even hardly watch videos was told my iPad and phone are old B's again.never did or will spend money .only thing good about the game is the graphics.70games over 500 in wins at the moment and I'm still $#*!ing . algorithms to control the game absolutely they emailed me as to that fact.have hacks play hacks amateurs play amateurs and so on.make the game more consistent if you have been playing long enough you know what Im talking about.frustrating at best beware game will screw with you.

brianw455
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/29/19

110yd 9 iron max, lets get real. You wouldn't be allowed on these courses if you were that bad. You can still shoot under par but it comes down to judging roll-out since clubs have no height. Even in a pay to play sense the game makes no sense.

kaseyd7
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/28/19

Games totally screwed up as of 1/28/19. It will steal your money so don't buy anything! It's not loading properly. It's popping up windows in the middle of play, meters jump, locks up etc. Contact email for WGT broken as well and resets form and won't send. Been doing this for weeks and owes tons of money to people and looks like a lawsuit has been started. Plat at own risk it's a joke!

richw71
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/27/19

Suit is for promising better scores while producing worse results, after a purchase. Sound familiar? Interstate criminals, all of them. The more you spend, the worse your results! Avoid this site like the plague. The positive reviews are obviously employees! There are no real opponents! Only sham players. It's easy to play the game and lose 15 matches in a row. Now the practice portion of the game is as crooked as the match portion!

jone53
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/7/19

Um, can I have my 300 dollars back please. Thank you. Other guys seemed to be able to play incredibly well. I was never able to, even when I spent a good amount of money on it. I had the best equipment money could buy and was getting beat by guys with starter clubs. It's kind of fun. If your able to really get the nack you'll enjoy. I never did

romih
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/4/19

The other reviews say it all, have a read. I've personally stopped wasting time on it. This game is the perfect example why there should be a Board for Games Control for ones which are too addictive and frustrating.

futto
35 reviews
20 helpful votes
11/4/18

For me it worked well at least first few months, more recently some frustrating things
+ it is challenging to become better at it.
+ the play and adjusting for shots is initially very realistic (I play real golf since decades) - the only difference is that in real life you are less consistent than hitting a mouse button at the right moment.
+ non-consistent / inconsistent "hit meter", odd effects of wind, and unexpected shot outcomes is programmed into it, especially for lower level players and the initial free and cheaper less good equipment/clubs - this is like real life - sometimes a shot goes wrong or unexpectedly wrong/different
.
+ You can choose whether to spend cash or do things like online surveys to get credits, or by winning head-to-head challenge games for credits vs other players (tricky if you are not yet good of course). You need Credits to get better clubs (longer driver/woods; irons and wedges that spin the ball so it stops when landing on the green; putter that more consistently hits the putts...)
.
A MINUS point is that it seems you can somehow annoy wgt in such a way that they lock or disable your account without warning or real proper explanation, meaning have to start from beginning again ! A friend who was scoring good (too good?) from day1 and for some time, then suddenly account was disabled, explanation was automated gobbledygook.
Similarly, a close family member was only in for less than 2 weeks, then had account banned and locked out, accused of being a double account ("multi-accounts") presumably due to logging in through the same laptop/wifi address as another family member (at different times as they were using the same d. laptop !).
It has been said elsewhere in other reviews that members of same family or friends get accounts locked on basis of assumed "double account", when they have entered with different devices, even simultaneously into same game, through same wifi which will be the case for a family or friends at the same place. If that is true it is understandably frustrating...
.
Update, MINUS POINTS. It is stated by others in wgt that game gets very frustrating as you become good / really good.
Initially, other than very occasional "hyper-speed meter jumping" & occasional strange/odd erratic shot outcomes, had not yet seen that myself. However as I have got better, with higher rating (lower average), more erratic things are appearing such as shots strangely veering sideways against the wind direction landing the ball in the rough, especially when playing in tournament / competitions. Also odd putts swerving off uphill just before going in. Some have elsewhere suggested this is the game's clever algorithms / programming designed to take credits off you and also to make you need to spend on better equipment just to stand still, otherwise the fun evaporates.
...See review from michael k. "fraud!" & the comments under there from Jim B. etc.

stevec506
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
10/18/18

Ive been playing at least 7 or 8 yrs. and I've never had any of that stuff y'all are writing about happen. I'm not one of 'em, but you are playing against guys that put a lot, a lot of work into that game because they can. And they do. Keep improving, keep coming back and maybe one day you can beat 'em! The other $#*! y'all gripe about is just whining.!

joels173
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/2/18

Been playing WGT for half a year because Tiger Woods Golf is gone (boo). Really love and loved that game. This app has great courses, good response, not great (glitches, especially mid swing) and fun playability. Here's a HUGE flaw and I do not think it is an oversight. The more I play, it exponentially gets more difficult. I have uber upgrades, I have purchased good clubs and can play par or better. So why am I losing 50% of my matches (which nobody wants or enjoys). I can hit a ball 3 feet from the hole and my opponenet hits 2 feet from the hole. All the time. The frequency of miraculous shots is not only unrealistic and impossible, there is no ring of truth or enjoyability to game play. I am an 85th level master. I get grouped with a legend and they hit a 225 yard shot 1 foot from the hole with half a second shot assessment time. Impossible. Frustrating. Then you group me with a hack (who should be a WGT rookie) and they do the same because they were high level and started over as a hack because they were frustrated. Wake up! You have a great app but the design flaws are so many years behind Tiger Woods Golf it is sickening. I play and end up angry. Playing a golf app should be peaceful, fun, competitive, etc...not frustrating, infuriating and futile. I am proud of my skill level on the game. Why would I now be content winning 4 or 5 out of 10 games. Please change this. Group players more judiciously and monitor results. Make adjustments on the results, not the groupings. Keep people's win status high especially as they improve, just like real life. The better pros get, the more they win statistically. The competition gets more stiff but so do they. Hope you figure it oit before another app does. I enjoy your game but I will not continue like this and I do not want to start over as a hack which should
not be an advantage BTW. If it does not change, I would rather take my free time writing commentary like this all over the internet and encouraging others to do as well. This is how frustrated I and thousands of others are (as I read online). Please act soon.

michaelk711
1 review
3 helpful votes
9/14/18

I opened an account spent some money right at the start on an equipment bundle. After about 1 month my account was disabled because "I levelled up too quickly". I messaged customer support saying obviously I will level up quicker than normal due to the fact I spent a lot of money on equipment and I gave all my details etc. They then sent the exact same email as before (obviously automated) did not read my response whatsoever and never came back to me. I have never seen anything like it in my life.

fredb177
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/14/18

Open up an account last month, did some surveys for credits, never got paid, game seemed like fun, dropped $70 for equipment was going along fine and boom account closed.

Giberish response from CS.

Don't be spending a nickle here, not sure what sort of scam they are running.

anthonyr251
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/7/18

The game is a joke, play well the game will ruin your game at the end of the round, always end up with 8 + or even, had -2 then triple bogey at the last minute. Whats the point of ranking up and you never get better, nonsense. The survey to earn points, is nothing more than a fbi or cia profiling tool. Couldn't be more obvious, especially when a supposedly live player knows what is running on your browser ! Watched a clip of adult rated whatever on youtube, and I was told you have to turn that off by another player. The video was lame, but at least I got them to admit they were spying. I played a better golf game in 1990 on a sony playstation.

matkc
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/4/18

played pro at 6 under they bumped me to master went to a 78 over night t play terrible every game so bought new clubs started playing better I think we can get a class action suit because theirs an app on there site that when you become master if you don't purchase new clubs and ball you will play terrible!

distbutablep
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/2/18

I joined the site in 2014. It seemed harmless enough until I began to do well, with beginner equipment, then my account was disabled. You have to have a new email to open a new account, then weeks later disabled again. Four accounts later, all disabled after a few weeks of play. NEVER INVEST A DIME AS THEY CAN DISABLE YOUR ACCOUNT ON A WHIM. FURTHERMORE, THERE IS NO "MEMBERS@WORLDGOLFTOUR.COM" site to explain details or a reason for their asinine decision or actions. A sorry excuse for a game site.

ernier23
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/1/18

The game itself is great. But they gray you out on the video credits. And then they try to tell you it's your tablets flat because just to old. Even though it's worked fine day one of registration. The numbers just don't add up. So now I'm forced to buy credits. Funny how that options is open to me on the same page. Hmmmmmmm!!!

brianp304
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/18

Game seems to either be rigged or just poorly designed in some areas. Breaks on greens, wind speeds are very inaccurate. 188 yard shot with a 193 yd iron into a 3-5 mile and hour wind comes up 20 yards short with top clubs. Two foot put with modest little break ends up being sharp break on impact. Once you get to a certain level, inaccuracies seem to become much larger and much more frequent.

vivianes3
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/16/18

Taking a 6 foot gimme is no different than cheating on the regular golf course...Ill give the game away to anyone that does ...

robertb1154
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/12/18

watched a ton of videos to earn credits for new titlest balls spent 975 coins,
2nd shot on first ball mysteriously is a lost ball, the other two balls lasted about a day each- not lost just taken out of play because of too many hits? really, do clubs only last so many hits as well? Ridiculous. They should at least warn you there's only so many hits on a ball- like that even makes sense... Agree with the comments on here, this game is a joke.

ml202
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/22/18

confusing as hell to operate the computer site. get with the program guys. its 2018 not 1997. and also buying clubs and other virtual materials on the site is a major scam.

kellyh199
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/21/18

I am a new golfer and went to WGT to play some online golf. Imagine my surprise when many of the other players I was partnered up with SEVERE pornographic images for their pics. It was gross and degrading to women. Come WGT clean up your act!!

Tip for consumers: DO NOT have children around you when you play this site. I

Service
Value
Quality
als123
1 review
4 helpful votes
3/10/18

Lucky because they started screwing with my play before I ever spent any Cash. When emails failed to show any improvement I then bragged to them how while they screwed with my play....I never gave them one cent!! Well now am shooting like a hack while at level 87!! Don't advise anyone to spend cash.......although the time I spent watching infomercials and taking surveys was worth $100.00 in my time!!!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Read my post above. WGT disabled my players and 3 other friends of mine who were playing from my home.

By Manny W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

This was most likely your pc / laptop / browser / flash player set up - check 1. check not on mute 2. check volume not reduced too low to hear it 3. logout of game, close browser completely, restart browser, login, go to game again (note the mute button on the top row of many pc/laptop keyboards - yes it does happen - or having accidentally hit the volume minus button a few times such that volume too low to hear it - yes that happens as well) IF NOT FIXED then :- 4. clear browser cache (press ctrl/shift/delete with mouse pointer inside the browser, & select what to delete - at least "cached images and files" in Chrome / in IE "temporary internet files and website files"), completely close browser, restart browser IF STILL NOT FIXED then: 5. restart pc/laptop IF STILL NOT FIXED then: 6. note chrome creates other caches that can be corrupted - go to directories under eg. C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Local\Google\Chrome\User Data\Default - you will need to have hidden files visible to see "AppData" and lower directories - there are usually 4 sub-directories there called "Application Cache", "Cache", "GPUCache", and "Media Cache" - delete all FILES (not directories) under each "cache" sub-directory almost certainly not related - but may be anyway good to remove this junk as well:- 7. note microsoft / IE creates a huge set of files under directories "...cryptnet.." to do with info related to websites you have been to (a hidden record of where you've been apart from anything else !) - you can delete ALL FILES under here (can be hundreds or perhaps thousands of files with strange very long names: C:\Users\<username>\AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\CryptnetUrlCache\Content\ & C:\Users\<username>\AppData\LocalLow\Microsoft\CryptnetUrlCache\MetaData\ Hope u got it fixed.

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

suggest - use the forums in wgt.com itself for this kind of question. - you can see, search, and read the wgt forum items even if you do not play it / are not a registered user.

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

why did this person spend 900 (900 what?, "credits", or real cash ?) - spending some cash to buy credits may well enable you to get "better" clubs quicker than getting enough credits from winning challenges and other ways to get credits in the game, - noting that "better" clubs do not magically make the player better - that is like real life - it takes practice, and some are just better than others, no matter how much practice - & like other things, this game might close/lock/disable an account if you do not follow the rules, or you post not allowed things in the forum etc...

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi john contact me at notonthis1gmail.com

By Brandon h.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

suggest check out the forums under wgt.com itself. - noting you can see, search, read the forums even if you are not a player / not registered. - when u "buy" new clubs with Credits, you still have all the clubs you already had, unless you "sell" some back to the shop. - you can only take a selection from all your clubs (- ie upto 13 clubs) on each actual round in the game. - You can choose (edit) which club selection to use for a round before each round/game - you cannot change this half way thru a game (like real life - what is in the bag is what u have, not what you left in the car or left at home !)

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

for similar questions - could contact the wgt.com (or m.wgt.com) via the eMail known to registered players, or by using valid details etc in the help request page under wgt.com (or m.wgt.com)

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

? the meter goes slower depending on the clubs (& ball type) you play - some clubs have better precision but the meter goes fast (making them harder to hit properly) .... other clubs may be less precise (shot varies more) but the meter moves slower making them easier to hit properly. - the ratings of the clubs etc is listed for each item - trying to make the meter go slow by using a slow computer or "slow browser" or slow wifi will not work - in fact a slow wifi or computer may make the meter "jumpy" / more difficult to hit shots

By Futt O.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Am I the only one having trouble lately with the loading of this site. I've been playing for over a year now,but lately takes forever to load and when it does lags all the time!

By Michael C.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the WGT Media staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for WGT Media

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
WGT Media?
Post Review