Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

WeBuyWatches.com reviews

Is this your business?
11 reviews

11 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

michaelm30
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/16/11

Do not use this site. watchbrokers.com as well. You are better off selling your watch on craigslist. I was told my watch sold about a month ago & I am still waiting for the payment. You will get "it will be sent next week", "I will call you back with a fedex tracking number", "we will send it via paypal". So far, nothing but lies from this group. Stay away.

donnaa3
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
3/8/11

I sent them my watch 3 months ago and they said it sold January 15th. I still haven't received my check. They do not return emails and you have to call repeatedly to get someone to answer the phone. My rep is Eric Toso and he keeps telling me the check is in the mail, but still no check. DO NOT DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE.

ronaldw1
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/8/11

Sent my DOXA swiss watch to them after all the B.S. only to have it returned
scratched with a broken band. These people are crooks.

davidb40
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/5/11

We are a jewelery store. This company sold several of our watches but never paid. They always say the check is in line to go out next Wednesday but after three months it never comes. They copy all of their employees (Ty Gardner; Jon Swift; Kelvin Mcquilkin) on the emails as if they are all working hard to find the problem as to why the check has not gone out. THIS IS A SCAM that should be reported to the attorney general and these people need to be put in jail.

barbaras10
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/16/11

This is the worst experience I have ever had - I sent my watch in Oct and they told me they sold it in Nov - I have never received a check and I call weekly - I have it insured for $10K - they told me they sold it for $900 - I was to receive $648 - I wonder if I should get my insurance company involved -

paulineg
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/7/10

i'm so glad i googled this website by putting "scams" and "watchbrokers.com" in the same line. i got this website that shows me that many people have been scammed by this company and never received payment. thank God

kimv2
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/12/10

Do not! I reap DO NOT deal with these people. I have never had such a terrible experience in dealing with a company. Too bad I found this site after the fact. Everything eveyone has written about this company is true. They make it sound like they are great (duh, right there should had been the tip-off) and they are responsive. And they are until they receive the merchadise and then it is a never ending stream of unreturned phone calls, lies, and general bad business.

nancyr4
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/7/10

Don't trust a word they say...Told me my watch was worth $900-$1000 so I would send it to them with the hopes of making a good profit...once they had my watch, all i could get was $200.00 before their 28% cut....yeah right. I also gave them gold which was supposed to be paid IMMEDIATELY...it only took a month with constant badgering on my part to receive my check...DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM...BETTER OFF SELLING YOUR JEWELRY ON EBAY/CL

richl3
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/2/10

Webuywatches.com and their associated site, watchbrokers.com (same phone number and address) are sleazy businesses at best. They appear to be legit with slick websites, prompt initial inquiry response, and phone support, but once they get your watch......don't say you haven't been warned. Unlike the other reviews, my watch was sold the first week, and that's when the two way communication stopped. Unreturned phone calls and emails are the norm. Four months after the sale I finally got my check.....only to have it returned for insufficient funds a week later.

rondab1
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/27/10

THIS WAS THE MOST TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER BEEN THROUGH!!
They are liars, do not trust them with your precious watches. They are frauds in what they say when you sign up and send in your watch for resale. They dodge calls, they do not honour what they claim to do re the selling of your watch. When you ask for it to be returned they will do whatever they can to not ship it back. They claim they will pay you via money wire and if you go through the agreement they ask you to sign. Wire transfers are not an option. They are people you do not want to get involved with if honour and integrity are how you choose to live your life.

johnb29
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/12/10

I sent in a Rolex Oyster Perp watch that typically sells in the range of $2000-$3000 used. I have been looking to sell it for some time. Got a couple of other interested buyers, but thought of sending it in to see if their "worldwide network of watch retailers" could offer a better price. Boy was I disappointed.

The "watch expert" went through the whole gameplan that the company lives by. I send in the watch, they appraise it, they put it out to this wonderful international set of watch retailers, they get bids back, if I don't like the bid, they send it back at my expense. Sounds fair enough.

Well, I send it in, they get it in, the "watch expert" calls me back and asks where I want to start the bidding at. My very first tip-off that this was a bad deal was that he had no idea where to start the price at. I tell him that I have seen these watches sold at between $2000-$3000. Then he "checks his figures" and believes that I am understating the starting price and wants to start the price at $3500. Neat, right? Shouldnt have gotten my hopes up.

He calls me back the next day, and all they can offer is $360. The gold alone is worth 3x that amount. Give me a break. This seemed like a complete rip-off. So I tell him that this price is to low and I want the watch back. After he harasses me for some time about wanting to "give up" I finally get him to send it back via Fedex.

I get it back, and of course my Rolex box is broken and the faceplate of the watch has a few more scratches on it.

Anyways, if you are looking to get a fair price, go somewhere else. They will pump you full of excitement about how vast their network of buyers is, and how your watch is special with tons of interested people, ect ect, only to have them come back at the end of the day and offer you a fraction of what its worth. Take your business somewhere else. Plain and simple.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Has anyone out there used this website, Webuywatches.com, to sell a watch? I haven't been able to locate any reviews. Very curious.

By Ellen K.
Questions? Get answers from the WeBuyWatches.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
WeBuyWatches.com?
Post Review