We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    TruFit

Corporate Values

Overview

TruFit has a consumer rating of 1.11 stars from 9 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. TruFit ranks 158th among Sportswear sites.

  • Service
    3
  • Value
    3
  • Shipping
    2
  • Returns
    2
  • Quality
    3
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
8
View ratings trends
16
See all photos
How would you rate TruFit?
Top Critical Review

“Trufit sales accounts to thirds party agencies to harassed cosumers”

Gabby C.
5/25/21

Today I get another call from Mr. Cantu, another person that works at Edward's & Cain Asset Recovery, threatening me if I have a lawyer to represent me in court, because I'm being taken to court for non-payment of a $300 membership at TruFit, and threatening the call was being recorded and then hangs up the call. No payments options or anything. Who in the world would hire a lawyer for that amount of money in the middle of the pandemic, ridiculous, so I called Tru-fit and they said they have no control over this account to take my payment, that they sold this accounts to this collection agency and they're the ones in charge. I would think Government helped businesses that were closed for a certain amount of time with some loans, so they probably got the help from the government, sold these accounts to Edwards & Cain and here they are harassing consumers.

See critical reviews

Reviews (9)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

gabbyc23
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 25th, 2021

Today I get another call from Mr. Cantu, another person that works at Edward's & Cain Asset Recovery, threatening me if I have a lawyer to represent me in court, because I'm being taken to court for non-payment of a $300 membership at TruFit, and threatening the call was being recorded and then hangs up the call. No payments options or anything.
Who in the world would hire a lawyer for that amount of money in the middle of the pandemic, ridiculous, so I called Tru-fit and they said they have no control over this account to take my payment, that they sold this accounts to this collection agency and they're the ones in charge.
I would think Government helped businesses that were closed for a certain amount of time with some loans, so they probably got the help from the government, sold these accounts to Edwards & Cain and here they are harassing consumers.

Service
Value
Quality
tylerj134
1 review
5 helpful votes
November 8th, 2020

Cheap chinese knock off product. Over priced product mimicking Bowflex equipment. Took 6 weeks to arrive. Horrible and sleezy customer service. Clearly just trying to dump there cheap goods. Arrived and wrecked of gasoline. No refunds. Extremely dissatisfied.

andrewc80
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
September 18th, 2020

Adjustable dumbbells came eventually. They do explain how long it might it take, but that has nothing to with the fiasco that makes this company and its website.

First the product. It's not easy to adjust at all and absolutely wreaks of gasoline. Their response was that is inherent to the manufacturing process and being in a box for a month. Sure, if you're selling gasoline. The smell is intense even after letting it sit outside for 3 days. Also, the product that came looks a little different from their photos on website. The circles on the ends are black when they should be red; same for these parts that the weights attach to.

Now the website and company. My guess is this company was formed to take advantage of the pandemic because so many people are trying to exercise at home.

There are broken links everywhere. Youtube? Nope. Pinterest? Nope. Instagram? Yes, and the link in their bio goes to shop.com, not even back to their own website. Facebook? Yes, and the link to their website has a different domain... that is for sale at 98,888 USD.

There is no about us page and the terms of service indicate the website is operated by "Sdtru." There is no warranty. The manual/instructions don't even mention the company or brand and the most important section has multiple errors. See the photos.

Please save yourself the angst and avoid this website and company.

briand1023
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 30th, 2020

The product is cheaply made. Overseas knock-off. The dumbbells are hard to adjust and stop working shorty after arriving. You can refer on YouTube how yo address this issue but eventually it's just stops working. The company will send you some video or pdf that was created overseas and not in English relating the same as YouTube. If product is still not working the company will insist you've damaged it and not following directions. They try to put it back on the customer. They will not send out replacements whatsoever. I'm assuming that they will respond to this message with some typical this is not the case response. Do not waste your time with these guys at all. I don't ever give feedback but this is horrible especially with the price just go bowflex.

alexiso278
1 review
2 helpful votes
December 21st, 2020

I recommend avoiding this company and their products if you can. They do offer bargains on otherwise expensive equipment but the equipment feels cheap and makes working with it a drag. I purchased the select tech dumbbells. They feel like plastic, they arrived missing a plate, so their total weight is actually 37lbs and not 52.5. They get stuck every time I try to adjust them and they don't go back on their rack smoothly. I constantly have to wiggle them to get them to go back flush.

Their customer service is responsive if you message them, but they come off as short and moody. My biggest gripe is that most of their products are on "sale" and their return policy states you cannot return products on sale. That should've been enough to deter me from this company.

Avoid if you can.

kevinw988
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 23rd, 2020

I think some one must have my order in a row boat from China, because this is the slowest, vaguest site. Don't order from them. I thought dumbells would be hard to find because of covid, but they're not. Go to target or walmart or use another site, but don't order from them. I should have done better research.

nathanw253
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 24th, 2021

Shane Dowd is the owner of this scam company and it is based in Southwick, Massachusetts. I filed a complaint with the with the Massachusetts State Attorney General, which was forwarded to the Mayors Office of Consumer Information in Springfield, MA, the complaint is on file. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and the company now has a B- grade. I also filed with my credit card company and I got my money back. I thought I was purchasing the Bowflex 552 adjustable dumbbell (August 4,2020). He used stock photos from the Bowflex site and is actually selling them above list price for $369.99, but draws you in with free shipping. He is actually selling counter fit style Bowflex adjustable dumbbells from China. His website is very misleading a make you believe you are getting the real Bowflex 552 Adjustable Dumbbell. When I received them (September 10,2020) they were not usable because the pins that hold the brackets on the plates to the barbell were not pinned correctly which could result in severe injury. Like other reviews state they smell of gas and still smell like gas 6 months later. I attempted several time to communicate with Trufit Health and get my money back and informed them of my desire to return the dumbbells for the false advertising and issues with craftsmanship. Trufit Health refused and said the cost of shipping out ways the value of the dumbbells. This was resolved with my bank and the BBB in November. Shane Dowd just sent me an email (January 23,2021) claiming I have committed fraud and demand that I remit payment. Clearly that's not happening. If you have done business with Trufit and Shane Dowd I recommend you contact your bank and the other folks I mentioned in my review. Do yourself a favor and stay far... far... far away from Shane Dowd and Trufit Health. This guy is also now running a website call "suspensionstrapsurplus.com" and it is also a scam.

Products used:
Nothing because they are trash. I could use them as a door stop. They claim you can get a refund on their website for craftsmanship but that’s a lie.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
quynhh6
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 23rd, 2021

If i could give them a 0 or minus star, i would. A total scam. The agent didn't specify that I wouldn't be able to cancel the contract just because. The member would have to meet the requirements to cancel the contract! So ridiculous! So I'm too busy working and cannot go to the gym but I cannot cancel my membership because that reason doesn't meet their criteria. It's my money but I'm forced to pay for the service that i cannot use. I relocated and went to cancel my membership. I emailed them my new work contract to prove that i moved somewhere else. My membership hasn't been canceled yet after 2 months. They still charge me every month. And when I call them, they say they lost my cancellation form and now i have to send them everything again.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
elainec408
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 10th, 2021

No help with customer service. Pay for services but dont help when needed the most. Very un happy!

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the TruFit staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about TruFit?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.1
9 reviews
Have a question about TruFit?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more