Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of TraderJoe's

TraderJoe's reviews

Is this your business?
25 reviews
800 South Shamrock Avenue
Monrovia, CA 91016, US
Tel: +1-626-599-3817
wcr001@traderjoes.com

25 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
4
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
4

All Reviews

mariaa343
5 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/11/19

Trader Joe's is one of the best store where all the organic and non organic food . The Staff is also very co operative and friendly. All the product are highly standard in quality.

tangelab
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
1/1/19

Really like the store we have,they have great prices for the food and lots to choose from .and friendly staff that also helps you.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
tl100
29 reviews
121 helpful votes
5/21/18

Trader Joe's. That's synonymous with consumer foodie/diet fad elitism. It's very California. It was started in Pasadena, which explains it all. Everywhere a TJ's opens, gentrification will follow - if it's not gentrified already. Everywhere a TJ's opens, home prices go up, and people become a lot more snooty, and whiter.

It's a different crowd from Whole Foods, though there's enough crossover. Whole Foods screams expensive and upscale, while TJ's falls into the common Affordable-Yet-Aspirational model, the same as IKEA, UNIQLO, and H&M.

TJ's is where you can fulfill your gluten-free organic cold brew chocolate bar foodie aspirations without breaking the bank.

I called a manager about rude and inconsistent service. He was so dumb he barely knew what to say or do. Then I followed up with an email to Trader Joe's about that location - and no response whatsoever. I will usually get a better response, and something more action-oriented, whenever I contact a store/company about bad and inconsistent service. But TJ's is apparently very in the dark, and dumb, and simply irresponsive.

Zero stars for all their locations. It's the right place if you're white (any type), or a hipster-looking Asian or other POC. It's the WRONG place - you're viewed as not belonging there - if you're an uglier or non-hipster-looking Asian. TJ's are often in Asian-heavy areas, and they don't like many of the Asians who shop there. I'm so familiar with Trader Joe's, having shopped in their SF stores for many years - yet the cold and rude service is what I always get.

Boycott, please.

Tip for consumers: Elitist, affordable yet aspirational, hipster racism, inconsistent service - good if you're white/hipster, bad if you're Asian and not overtly hipster

Service
Value
Quality
markg253
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/13/17

Got Awful/shabby treatment by morning shift management and staff-Saturday 11 November 2017-Trader Joe's, Bollinger Rd, Cupertino, Ca

jessicar100
6 reviews
19 helpful votes
2/14/17

I love shopping there because I come in with a smile and leave with a bigger one the staff is so friendly and always helpful.When you shop here your not just getting healthy food for your life you make friends with the workers because they enjoy their work.And it feels wonderful to have people show pride in what they do that's been lost in so many places because there's not many places that make their workers happy so the customers suffer just as much sometimes Trader Joe's has got it right.It may sound silly but when I've had a bad day and then I shop there I feel like I've been given a shot of happiness juice.The care and the personal dedication by everyone there makes everyone who shops there feel like friends and family. I've always got great food,health and cleaning products I have no complaints at all and I love that they make living a healthy life more affordable. And it's so sweet that they give you free flowers on your birthday or a special occasion I don't know of any other store that dose that.Trader Joe's you've won my heart I'll always come back because you've showed your best and more to me and all those who shop there.I feel the name should be Helpful Lovable Joe's I could never trade you Trader Joe's there is no better.

Service
Value
Quality
andrear67
8 reviews
5 helpful votes
6/16/16

there are not enough Trader Joe's in the world! i would use them solely for groceries if they were closer to my home...OR had grocery pickup! love everything i have tried here! if you haven't shopped here you need to...and if you do already i want to see your list of favorites!

annr32
10 reviews
18 helpful votes
12/23/15

You cannot go wrong shopping at Trader Joe's. They offer many and varied food, and non food products with very low prices but good quality. I love Trader Joe's!

justina33
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/8/15

Maybe it's understandable if a store sells you something that has gone bad one time. But four times now, Trader Joe's has sold me lamb that has been rotten. Each time, the lamb was not not expired (several days were left before the expiration date) and was opened on the same day it was sold to me. It's all unacceptable and Trader Joe's should do much much better.

Tip for consumers: Don't buy lamb at Trader Joe's unless you like rotten meat.

Value
Quality
tital
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
3/20/15

You can always count on Trader Joe's for their low prices and the nicest employees ever. So helpful.

angelas49
6 reviews
8 helpful votes
12/17/14

I just love Trader Joe's! If I'm looking for something organic or more holistic in nature, it is the stop I make! Their produce is always fresh, never wilted! Have you had their chocolate? If not you are missing out!

sophiam8
8 reviews
29 helpful votes
11/25/14

Awesome! We love Trader Joes :-)

robinr23
4 reviews
702 helpful votes
8/21/14

Love it! It's always high quality products, I never got anything bad or not worth the money. Here you know what you're paying for. I'm so glad I discovered this store, yay

josephl36
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
7/29/14

This is one unique store! I was recently in Florida for business and there was one near my hotel. I was in there almost everyday for a week, I loved it. Tons of pre-made foods such as sushi and salads. I had no idea there was one even in my area at home, it was my first stop when I got back into town.

tonyn20
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
7/25/14

The store is good, however, I've read about the fruit recall recently and it made me very suspicious about the sources it uses... The same fruits were sold in TJ and Walmart! Common! If products in Walmart are the same as in TJ, then why do we pay extra money in TJ? I hope TJ will differentiate itself from Walmart-type of stores and do test the sources of all items they about to sell before they sell it. I hope they would sell less Chinese-made products.... It is our health and we are paying extra premium for it, by going to this store. If they continue doing so, then I would stop visiting this store and move to another one...

candacef
11 reviews
37 helpful votes
6/28/14

I love all the unique products that you get here, as well as the $2 wine...thats the best!!!

sheilam20
7 reviews
18 helpful votes
3/23/14

I love this store. It offers high-quality healthy foods and other groceries for reasonable prices.

I have only ever had one bad experience with a grumpy cashier but the good far outweighs the bad. The only problem is that the closest Trader Joe's is about 25-30 minutes away. But is well worth it.

carmenh3
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/10/13

Trader Joe's is a favorite in the San Francisco area. I don't buy much there - prices are not all that reasonable for many items ( produce ) but they carry things I MUST have...arugula, stevia, and an incredible international selection of wines which are priced for all budgets. To be truthful, they also carry some extremely tempting items that I can never resist.

Staff are very helpful and, the store I frequent is next to the Costco in South San Francisco, so I get ALL my shopping done in one trip.

vicenzos
8 reviews
7 helpful votes
2/13/13

My wife and me love going to Trader Joes. More than anything, we always get really good service and think very highly of their product. Thank you

karenk20
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
2/11/13
barbh5
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
2/8/13

I love Trader Joes. I feel like I am giving myself a gift when I buy stuff from them. I could go on and on, but the best thing I can say is QUALITY, SERVICE, SELECTION. I am hooked for life.... especially on the tomato soup. I would inject it into my veins....

rjaa
45 reviews
89 helpful votes
8/25/12

This store is great! It has so many good products. I love the wine they offer at affordable prices. They also have yummy cheese and frozen products as well as fresh of course. :) If you've never been here check it out sometime.

peggyb2
4 reviews
16 helpful votes
5/15/11

This is my favorite food store, but I have to drive to another city to shop at it so I only go there about once a month. My only complaints are their organic celery always looks old, so I buy it at Harris Teeter instead and they do not offer case discounts on wine (but then they have GREAT everyday wine pricing instead). Wine tasting days are informative. The staff are friendly, (they really seem to enjoy working there), and will gladly go to the store room to search for additional quantity of a product. I think they are consumer oriented and by virtue of the products they sell, including their own brands, are ecologically responsible.

rachelc4
4 reviews
10 helpful votes
2/17/11

Trader Joe's has always been a long time favorite. They have a great selection and a friendly staff.

erikam
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/21/10
sophien
145 reviews
876 helpful votes
10/14/08

Trader Joe's is the bestest supermarket in the world - Walking into a Trader Joe's just makes me happy. I have never ever felt that way in a Safeway. Why you ask? Well, firstly, everyone who works at and shops at my local Trader Joe's is friendly. People are helpful, polite and they smile at you. That goes a long way. But most importantly the food is good and I feel like I'm getting a good value (unlike at WholeFoods). And in particular I love Trader Joe's because I can't eat Gluten, and they have LOTS of gluten-free foods on their website! <img title="Smile" src="javascript/tiny_mce/plugins/emotions/img/smiley-smile.gif" border="0" alt="Smile" />

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the TraderJoe's staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TraderJoe's?
Post Review