Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Thereadingsite

Thereadingsite reviews

Is this your business?
15 reviews

15 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

kristenf
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/15/13

charges you to get to a free website. Totally misleading

tomh58
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/10/13

Joined @ $49.95, and downloaded several books. Later, when I attempted to download again, could not log in. Since then, the site has completely disappeared from the web, except for one site, that does not allow log in. This site is an out and out scam.

zowiep
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/18/13

I paid my money like everyone else. At first apart from staight after I signed in there were no games,T.V or movies as such, I thought no problem I really just wonted the books. After that as I was trying to get a E Reader that sooted as the first to also were no good. Still looking but not anymore. So the other week I went to go over to site & had problems so deceide to put as Favorite as I believed that would solve it. Big joke when I went to try & sign in no go as I was trying to go through all options I came across this & after reading I have deceided I will except it as is & give it a miss. Lesson learnt. I do have to say they go to big efforts imagine the money they pull, still doesn't mean it Whright I would rather be broke & sleep well I wonder if they do. Zowie phillips

lonw
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/7/11

The site is definitely misleading. The first clue is that it claims to offer current bestsellers for free and does not directly explain how copyrights are respected. Out of fairness to the authors' intellectual property, we should avoid any site that can't explain that key point. Amazon offers specials and free books that surely comply with legal requirements and I've gotten several from them.

kathleenv
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/31/11

purchased unlimited use of reading site for down loading books, magazines, newspapers, on the 22 of july. They were to send an e-mail so I could get my user name and pass word. As of to date 29th of July I have made two calls and was informed that they could only return my money. Why can this company just send me the e-mail to get onto the site.

johnw59
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/20/11

This site is a joke. I paid and they did not have anything that I wanted for free. Of course everything I wanted was for purchase. I then went back the same day and requested a refund, since the offer a 60 day refund, nothing. I have not heard back at all. Stay away!

heatherm9
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/13/11

A complete fraud - please don't waste your money - it only diverts you to a website www.feedbooks.com which has some paid and some royalty free books on their site.

phyllisd
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/11/11

I purchased this product in May and still have not been able to get on the site for e books.....i have contacted the "company" numberous times over the last 6 weeks for help or a refund.....no contact at all.....what good is the "60 day" refund policy if you can't get a hold of them....I am contacting the better business bureau.....I paid by credit card...hopefully I can get a refund.....DO NOT GO TO THIS SITE THEY ARE A RIP OFF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

bobbid
9 reviews
48 helpful votes
6/1/11

I was looking for online libraries and saw a link to thereadingsite. I didn't like the way the audio came blasting from my speakers as soon as it loaded. I read what they were "selling" and decided to see if anyone else had anything to say about it. The first few reviews in the yahoo search were obviously from the site, self-promos with the same loud audio. I found my way to this site and was pleased that there was info to stay away. When I tried to close the tabs with that site on it, it had pop-ups asking if I was sure. I used Alt-F4 to close the browser. Stay away from it and it's sister site thereadingsite.net!

martiny2
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/24/11

Your review will help others learn about this website.
I paid The Reading Site $49.95 for lifetime membership.
I failed to write down my user name and password.
Accordingly, I could not access the site.
Seven emails to two different email addresses, and no reply.
I can't connect with this site to get my refund.
I'm thinking that The Reading Site is a bleeding scam.
Any help in contacting The Reading Site will be greatly appreciated.
MVY

disgruntledc
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/7/11

Agree with all who report its a scam. Unfortunately - they sucked me for $30 (PayPal). Anyone get there money back from the 60-day "Bulletproof" Money-back guarantee? (stop laughing)

chriso1
660 reviews
3,057 helpful votes
3/26/11

This is not a scam. It is what it is, which is exactly what it explains in its Terms of Use, which might as well be labeled "Hello Suckers" for the good it would do. As with many other similar ventures, it relies on people not bothering to read the terms of use or not understanding what it is they are reading. For good measure this site even puts one of the warning tell-tales on the bottoms of the pages, to ensure nobody can claim that they couldn't find it.

So let's have a quick closer look at this one:

Firstly, do we know what we're being sold here? Not directly, though with a little care we can see immediately what we are NOT being sold. At the end of the pages you will find the following statement:

"TheReadingSite.com does not provide a direct database for downloading. TheReadingSite.comm provides members with the necessary links, tutorials & unlimited technical support for their downloading needs."

So what does this mean? There is no "direct database for downloading" - the site has no downloads, nor a database of titles. It does however provide members with "the necessary links" for "their downloading needs".

But hang on, elsewhere in the site are references to "our database", so what's that?

Put it all together, and you should see what they've just told you: We have a database (a list, in other words) of links to other sites. And that is ALL we have.

This isn't a scam, as long as they're telling you the truth, which in a roundabout way they are.

Let's move on to the terms of service, where again, they have the same statement: "TheReadingSite.com does not provide a direct database for downloading ... " but here, they add another little treat: "We make no guarantees as to the content available in the member's area." So, there doesn't have to be anything in there either.

The software on offer?

"All software recommendations refer to either "Freeware" or software that is otherwise available without charge to individuals at large for specific purposes."

So, something you can download for free, somewhere else.

Well what are you paying for, then? The terms tell you that the fees"

"represent one-time club membership fees which entitle You as a Purchaser to access to the location, evaluation, and or recommendation of [the] software"

You pay for a link to a page on the site which suggests you use some piece of Freeware from some public website. And that's ALL you pay for.

But wait, what about the database of links to books? Ah. You're not paying for that:

"This Site may produce automated search results or otherwise link You to other sites on the Internet. If any link is offered connecting You to a third party web site, it is as an accommodation to You and to the respective third party site owner and is provided without charge."

In other words, if they offer you a link, it's an "accommodation" - a favor, in other words. They don't have to do a thing, because all, ALL you paid for, was for them to tell you where to go to get a freeware downloader that you could get anywhere.

But it's not a scam. You just didn't read it. And what else you didn't read is further down the page, where the agreement indemnifies the site against anything and everything, entitles them to terminate your "membership" whenever they feel like it without explanation, change the terms when they feel like it, and offer no guarantees whatsoever that anything will work or be what you paid for, at all.

But this IS an agreement. You agree to it by using the site. You trigger it by clicking the "Yes please I want to give you money for no good reason" button.

In the USA, it is still legal to obfuscate some term of service in a paper document by making it physically hard to read, or difficult to understand. If your signature appears under it, you're bound by it. The same applies online. Even where the Real World laws are tougher on tricksters like this, there are no tougher laws that I've ever heard of that can be enforced against an online dealer.

Please, beware. It is normal procedure for a site to state that you are agreeing to its terms of service in full simply by using it. And even if that statement is there, you're bound by it even if you haven't read it. Always assume you will be legally bound by every single statement on a site and read everything.

Even a giant company like PayPal has conditions that bind you, whether you saw them or not, and they may well not be prominent. So, many people have some idea that they're protected by PayPal in circumstances where they aren't. Some big corporations have small but legally binding print which is effective the moment you even read the page or click through to another. Something like "your use of this web page constitutes an agreement ... " will be tucked away somewhere.

Normally, with a respectable site this is not an issue and you can feel reasonably safe that you haven't committed to anything more than not hacking that web site or stealing the content. But in some cases, and especially when you're spending money on something about which you have no first-hand knowledge, you need to be especially careful. Remember, it's only a scam if you're being lied to, or the truth is being entirely concealed. Otherwise, you carry the legal responsibility of your own actions.

markg13
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/26/11

I just paiid my $50:00 (Though Paypal) and got my "Membershp" to get unlimited download of "Popular" and "Best Sellers". All I got is a link to feedbooks.com which is a USELESS website for public domain books and people that want to self publiish their own books. A search on the Internet (On Google) got a lot of self promotion reviews for the website. I attempted to contact them through their "Support" page and based on that proces I think they are a MAJOR SCAM and plan to contact Paypal to cancel the payment and may file a complaint for FRAUD

ls8
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/22/11

Having trouble logging on. have asked for help. So far no answer.

jang2
1 review
3 helpful votes
3/20/11

I tried to get on after purchasing a membership and made it only once (now I can't even upload it) and when I did get on it wouldn't accept the username and password it gave me after my purchase. Paid with credit card so not sure I can get money back.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Has anyone heard of this website? It advertised millions of books to download on different formats -- when I got to their website -it said that there would be a one time fee of $49.95 to access book,movies, comics, tv shows, so I paid the 49.95. When I got to the ebook database all their books were really old ones that you could find in a public library for free; then they had a section called Estore and that is where they had all the current bestsellers,new releases, etc, but they all had a price on them. I checked out the movie and it said to download divx or megaload-- well it did not work with my IPad; so I tried it on my pc - after I downloaded what I needed to download and selected the tv show --it brought me to the website where you can actually see these shows for free-- i thought maybe i messed up on the download so I did it again and yes it took me to a screen but nothing was there -pushing all the different buttons to play the video did not work- finally I decided this is not for me-- I sent them an email through their website stating that I wanted a refund-- of course, silly me, now I am doing my research; but initially I did not have any doubts because i found the link in the amazon website so I figured it was a trusted link-- I am not a computer guru by any means but I have downloaded lots of games and other stuff- so it could not be me that could not view a show as they advertised-- oh, and when they said "compatible for all formats" none of the 'download vidqx and/or megaload" in order to view worked. Most of all, what got me were the free books-- all the old books that you would have read in junior high and college were the books available -- I was wondering why there have not been any complaints?

By Kay B.
Questions? Get answers from the Thereadingsite staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Thereadingsite?
Post Review