Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of TheBump

TheBump reviews

Is this your business?
15 reviews
10007
Tel: +1-212-515-3594

15 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

ashleyc296
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/21/18

I never posted after seeing how these women ripped so many newcomers and new moms to shreds for asking questions they deemed dumb.

fayahm
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/18/18

The only site Ive seen created for women ttc, pregnant, and mothers, where users can make comments calling others disgusting and gross. Its like the users are 13 and cannot handle womens health? Idk these women get triggered seeing discharge (note there are forums where that it okay to do as long as it is labelled correctly and used for educational purposes) I was on the site for 10 min and saw 3 new users rudely attacked for asking simple questions. And not a Wrong board, post this to the appropriate board, but more like thats gross. How would you know when you ovulate if you use the pull out method? That was an actual comment. And an admin LET THE COMMENT STAY and warned the poster (in a weird hostile tone) that they didnt follow the rules and basically questioned the users intelligence. Never saw a more hostile community outside of reddit (and at least people on reddit are funny). Articles are decent but they arent any different from the 10000+ articles outlining the same information.

hollyf15
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
2/26/16

There are a lot of resources out there, but I will read a few helpful postings on here sometimes. Like, little exercises you can do while watching kids. Hard to find time to dedicate to an actual workout so reading this expanded my thinking outside the box. I can't speak on bullies or the members themselves as I am not one.

skuylarr
3 reviews
30 helpful votes
10/30/15

Great videos and articles, terrible place for advice or help. The women on the Bump forums are very rude, judgmental and often very cruel. I deleted the app and no longer frequent the site after moderators sent me a nastygram for pointing out extreme cyberbullying on their website. I was threatened with an email stating, "You've been warned" after witnessing and standing up for first time mother who was being rudely attacked for simply inquiring about healthier eating habits.

This site is unhealthy and useless for community interaction or support.

ashleyk32
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
10/25/15

The community site is a place where people can post discussions/questions to gain information throughout their pregnancy or to connect with other moms-to-be. In theory, it's a great idea, unfortunately, it's worse than a junior high cafeteria.

The "women" that use this site on a regular basis are rude, ignorant, and have nothing better to do with their time than abuse other users. The admin is completely useless as she falls in this category as well. The terms of use clearly state that bullying or intentional aggression towards others is not tolerated but nothing is ever done about it.

If you are pregnant and want to connect with other pregnant women do not use this site. It's completely unhealthy and the information really isn't worth it. Use another site or app like Ovia or Sprout. I am done with The Bump.

cecem1
1 review
11 helpful votes
8/21/15

Initially I liked The Bump's boards because there were funny gifs and great information on learning about fertility. But spend two weeks idly browsing the threads and you'll notice an unpleasant undercurrent of bullying.

Most of the "regulars" on the site hide behind the idea that they've been there longer than the victim. Any questioning about their behavior and they'll rally around each other claiming it's a joke (aka "snark") or that it's not that big of deal. How dare you point out unkind behavior and ask for anything else?! And if you're a casual user you might see their point. But I've seen plenty of users outright admit that they look forward to flaming someone who doesn't know the TOU or identifying "troublemakers." Many of these ladies know they're bullies, and they encourage it in each other.

The most maddening?! The bullies will call admins to the offending thread to close it but never seem to be reprimanded themselves.

Some other sites might not be as stringent about the science of conception. They might cling to old wives' tales and "fart rainbows" as users at The Bump might put it. But I've never seen anyone passive-aggressively antagonize each other either the way these do. Don't give this company your page views or clicks.

lauraf36
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/28/15

I did enjoy getting the weekly pregnancy updates, but you can get those other places... The women in "the community" are absolutely horrendous! Telling each other off, cussing, name calling, and insulting everyone's intelligence. I would avoid this community if your looking for a stress free environment! Not a healthy place for pregnant and hormonal woman to be spending their time I my opinion.

savannahv1
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/19/15

The girls on the community page are AWFUL! They are very hateful and will snark you on a drop of a hat. They don't care about anyones feelings. I was very hurt after the things that were said to me after just asking a simple question, but because I repeated a question asked before I was cussed at and talked too like a dog. Stay away! It is not good to have the stress while pregnant. The community part of this site needs to be taken down.

jabberwockynessy
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/24/15

I haven't used this site in years, but got a message from an old friend saying that my full name was listed on the site instead of my user name. This was a huge violation of privacy and I immediately requested a complete deletion of all of my information. But I am still much more cautious now of where I register my information.

Do not use this site unless you are willing to have your personal information public.

Service
Value
Quality
liza86
1 review
6 helpful votes
1/29/15

AVOID!!! TERRIBLE ADMINISTRATION AND COMPANY!!!
This site does not care one ounce for the women/mothers/users of this site. The Bump's only concern is making money and more money. The Administration and staff mass ban people for no reason other than disagreeing with how they handle things. Then they have the audacity to call those many wonderful women who disagreed with them, "Bad Apples." Those same women spent their time and money on the site, as well as supporting many other mothers and women who need support. This is a very callous and uncaring company. Stay Away! Over 5000 users have left this site in the recent weeks because of this company's mismanagement and callousness. STAY AWAY!!! AWFUL SITE!!! Thankfully, most all of those 5000+ users are now on a new wonderful site together. Come join us there... http://goodbyecb.proboards.com/ <---This is a truly wonderful site for new mothers, women trying to conceive and all other parents needing a community and support.

nikg5
1 review
8 helpful votes
1/21/15

STAY AWAY! When I first seeked out the Bump, I was looking for support due to my losses. At first it was great, and then the company got out of hand. I then realized it's a business and all they care about is the money, not the wonderful ladies that make up the community. If you don't agree with the admins, they will ban you. If you're experiencing/have a loss you know how horrible it is. Their error message when the board is not responding is "Unfortunately Pregnancy has stopped". Really?? That right there should be enough to show you how cruel the people running The Bump are. All of the knowledge that was there from ladies that have been there for years has been removed.

If you are looking for support, please just search "goodbyCB" and come on over! I am only saying this because I know how important support is during these hard times and, unlike The Bump, we care over there.

yeahr3
1 review
11 helpful votes
1/14/15

Horrible site run by a bunch of incompetent sociopaths that will burn every user at the drop of a hat. The Site admin is a bully and f you disagree with her on anything, she will wreak havoc on everything you do on the site. Avoid at all costs and do not even go there to use their information. This is a horribly abusive company that needs to be shut down.

heatherl19
5 reviews
11 helpful votes
10/18/14

Has everything a mother and mother to be needs to know! The site is even good for dads too!

judys24
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
10/5/14

The Bump publishes featured articles on their website about topics such as traveling while pregnant, planning a baby shower, and surviving bed rest. Love it, thanks

sheilat5
1 review
11 helpful votes
3/20/14

AVOID!!! There is a shocking amount of cyber abuse and bullying happens in the community boards. In fact, even the some of the moderators join in the trolling and user abuse. Complaints concerning cyberbullying go completely unheeded, with a form letter -- but nothing gets done.

I'm amazed that a site geared toward family and pregnancy could foster such a toxic environment.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the TheBump staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TheBump?
Post Review