Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

TeenDrivingCourse reviews

Is this your business?
14 reviews
640 South San Vicente Boulevard
Los Angeles, CA 90048, US
Tel: 1.800.482.6593
info@teendrivingcourse.com

14 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

ilamariew
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/15/17

FYI: Their understanding that the DMV has to have an original paper copy of certification of course completion is incorrect and led to much inconvenience and expense on our end.

My daughter completed their course and there were 2 failed attempts to receive her certificate via mail so I finally, after a month of waiting, calling and re-mailing, paid $20 to have the certificate mailed via FedEx. Upon arriving at the DMV they didn't even ask for the certificate. When I asked them why, they said they download the information electronically. My very eager 15 year old waited that extra month to be able to get her permit and I paid $20 for nothing.

Now that I go to post this info online I see that several other people have had the same or worse experience

alisar5
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/2/17

Upon completion of this course, you have the option to have the certificate mailed, or expedited with fees starting at $15 and up depending on 3 day, 2 day delivery, etc. I requested the certificate several times, to be mailed by standard mail. 2 months later, still no delivery. I paid the $15 today, and hope to see this certificate next week.

maryw236
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/2/17

"If I sign up for the Texas TeenDrivingCourse.com internet drivers ed course, do I have to start the Texas internet drivers ed course right away and continue it until I complete it?
No. Once you sign-up for the TeenDrivingCourse.com online drivers ed class, you can start the Texas learners permit course immediately or wait until later. You can start-and-stop the Texas drivers ed course as often as you like at TeenDrivingCourse.com you set the schedule."

This is copied off the website. But now they are telling me it's been more than 180 days so I have to pay an additional $47!!! So you are trapped, either you pay or your child has to start all over again. Someone needs to sue this company. I wish I had read these reviews before!!

marcusf8
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/14/15

I am seeing many reviews of people stating they're having problems with the site but in my personal experience I found that it made my job to get my teen a license much easier, though my experience was good I wouldn't recommend it as there are more negative than positive reviews; that being many of the negative reviews are involving the same issues.

janelln2
8 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/18/15

This is one of the worst website i have ever use, is so bad, I couldn't even make a payment online, I had to do it over the phone, i also couldn't register to log in and use the website??!! Never the less, i gave hem a chance, a week later my daughter couldn't use the website to take the classes, when I called to cancel, the women answering the phone gave me a whole bunch of excuses, she lied and told me to wait for a package in the mail, because i couldn't get a refund until I returned it, never got it, called back, the man answering refunded me the money finally, there was never a package send to me!

dawnw27
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/15/15

Watch out for this company. I was foolish not to read the reviews BEFORE purchasing. Please don't waste your money like we did! Never received the workbook, have been repeatedly been locked out of my son's account, and did I mention the typo's and incorrect answers that don't correlate to the actually State Drivers Manual. Junk and a scam!

aruns5
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
6/30/15

Hey stop w/all the complaining. To put it simply, if you can criticize a driving school, you ought to be able to take on the challenge yourself and teach your teen to drive.
I teach my grandson to first listen and then by listening to him, w/o interrupting each other.
He already is a big fan of my driving. For one thing, I as a rule do not multi task on this one activity. Not because it's the law, but because it's just not done. It's just plain stupid to give in to,weak moments and to have so many of them in a series, while performing one of the most important tasks you will everyday you drive. By that I mean driving, not texting.
I could go on but its too long and involved. Good Luck with your teen.

glennr25
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/5/15

My son completed the driver's course in January but their their error they sent him a certificate that he finished behind the wheel instructions. They have to charge $10 to mail a corrected copy even if it's their mistake. I paid twice to re-send it by mail, it's already May and I still don't have the certificate. The customer service is very rude and no supervisor to talk to. To spare you the agony we're experiencing. PLEASE DO NOT USE TEENDRIVINGCOURSE.COM

kellieb2
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/23/14

So my daughter just completed her online driver exam from TeenDrivingCourse.com. She passed the exam - yay - but when I, the parent instructor, went to review the last few modules she completed in preparation for finishing her behind-the-wheel instruction, I found out that I cannot look at the modules anymore. Once she completed the online portion and exam, that's it, no looking back. They tell you congratulations and close your account. We still need to do the actual driving for the modules she's completed in the "classroom", so in fact, she's NOT DONE with the course.
When I asked someone via their "online chat" for help, "Maria" told me that once the exam is done there's no way for us to go back to review the modules. BUT we can purchase more test reviews if we want. I don't want test reviews! I just want to review the curriculum we had access to BEFORE she took the exam.
Additionally, this course wasn't well organized and the modules listed in the course varied from the modules the state of Texas wants reviewed. It made it difficult to figure out what module goes to what the state wants recorded on its record sheets.
Highly recommend NOT using this course!

shannons20
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/14/14

This is the WORST company ever. Don't waste your money and your time. It is a fraud. My daughter spent many hours completing the course, only to find that the on-line test doesn't work. When I called they said they would administer it by phone, but they are not ever able to do so. When I called and asked them to the surely young woman who answered told me they didn't have time, because it is a 90 question test. Yes, I know. My daughter has done it 5 times, to no avail. Isn't this your JOB?? You cannot speak to a manager. No one has a last name. Don't bother with the email and chat customer service; they are equally non-existent. Contacting the BBB. Not sure how they can still be in business when it is so clearly a scam. STAY AWAY.

kareno7
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/27/13

I wish I had read these reviews before I signed up my 2 teenagers for this course. It was recommended to us by another family who had luck completing the course and receiving a Colorado drivers permit. However, the experience we are having is the opposite. We are unable to proceed to the review/quizz section of the tutorials and receive a server error. I have phoned, emailed and tried live chat with no response. I am going to the Consumer Affairs Dept in Colorado and the BBB to register a complaint and hopefully no-one else will get taken by this company.

birdiem
1 review
10 helpful votes
10/12/12

I purchased a certificate of completion course for my son. He took the course, passed it, then we went to the DMV to get his driving test only to have the lady look at me and say "what is this?? This is a scam, I'm sorry." She said three were several companies like this which scam people into thinking they can receive valid certificates.
I called the company and asked for a refund. She asked which state I was in. When I told her, she calmly said "Oh, yes, it's not valid in your state." WHAT??? Why is this information NOWHERe TO BE FOUND on the Certificate of COmpletion information page?? Why is there no prompt when you enter your state, letting you know it's not valid??? WHy? Because they know good & well that EVERYONE going to their site is looking for a VALID c.o.c. and they want you to spend the money even though it wont be valid in your state. In other words, it's a scam. She asked me if she wanted me to go with her online to see where this hidden info could be discovered but I said no & that it should be displayed prominently on the course info page rather than hidden somewhere on the site and that I was reporting them to the BBB - which I did!
Everyone who has a problem with this company must report them to the BBB. It only takes a few minutes.

sallys14
1 review
6 helpful votes
12/19/11

We also were caught in the 180 day "clause" and had to pay an additional fee to continue the course. Now that we have finished the course they won't issue the certificate! They say it was lost in the mail. So, I paid to have a second certificate sent 3 day express. Six days later after no certificate, I called and they say FedEx won't deliver to my house! FedEx delivers to my house all the time. Now they want my son to finish the last chapter again so he can have the certificate reissued. I told them they are the irresponsible party and I requested they send the certificate over night express and that my son will not be retaking the last chapter. They refused and hung up on me. They are a very poor company. I will be asking my credit card company for a refund since we have never received the certificate. They will take your money! STAY AWAY!!!!! I called and left messages, they said they never received any messages from me. I sent emails, they claim to not have received any from me. Bad karma...it will come back to get them in the end!

michellei
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/27/09

TEENDRIVINGCOURSE.COM HAVE YOU BEEN HAD READ ON - Do not use Teen Driving Course.com unless of course you DON'T WANT TO GET A DMV COMPLETION CERTIFICATE in a timely manner.

My son and I signed up for the course, did get access and materials, he spent all his time on the course and passed it. THAT WHEN THE TROUBLE STARTED.

25 unanswered phone calls to 800-482-6593 posted on the website, live chat connect not responded to, voice mails not responded to, emails not responded to.

Finally a name, parent corp is CyberActive ,Director of Operations Doug Marshall, Phone number 512-394-6115 extension 500 - I talked with him and guess what? They are out of order form OL237 so at least 100 clients can't get California DMV Completion certificates in time for their DMV appointments which have to be made months ahead. Bad enough they don't know how to order forms ESSENTIAL TO THEIR BUSINESS, but worse, they don't have the courtesy to call back clients or email them and TELL THEM THE TRUTH.

Between not getting any customer service and not getting the Certificate you would have to BE A FOOL to use this company.
BY THE WAY I HAD TO SELECT ONE STAR TO POST THIS BUT I GIVE THEM ZERO STARS OF SERVICE

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the TeenDrivingCourse staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
TeenDrivingCourse?
Post Review