Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SendGrid

SendGrid reviews

43 reviews
1801 California Street
Boulder, CO 80302, US
to=test@sendgrid.com
2018 Customer choice award

43 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
3

All Reviews

jimmiem25
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/11/19

I signed up to try their services. I only managed to test sending out one mail to 50 of my members before they instantly banned me citing a violation of their terms.

When I asked their support about it they simple told me that they didn't have the means to read the reasons behind it and failed to provide any help whatsoever.

Don't sign up for this company. They are a joke. I'm just glad that I never had the chance to give them any money before they chose to reveal their true form.

fullt
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/6/19

If you want to send spam email, this is the company for you. I get half a dozen spam emails from their clients every day and report every one of them, but only once have I received a reply that they took action. They have a terrible spam problem, which means they have a compliance problem. Spam is against US federal law (CAN-SPAM Act of 2003).

gregb275
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
8/30/18

First of all, the agents read your transactional emails, marketing campaign emails, and letters that you send through their system. There is no confidentiality whatsoever, and they use a lot of shady practices. Its wise to stay away from them.

hansm48
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/23/18

I am on the free plan and using Sendgrid just as SMTP server for a while now. I noticed that all emails to @t-online.de are blocked by t-online because of repeated spam from sendgrid. Sendgrid has been of no help and just advised to purchase a plan with dedicated IP from them. So if you want to be treated as a spammer by recipients, use Sendgrid.

nathanw106
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/10/18

It seems like they will keep you in a pool of bad IPs until you buy dedicated. We have been using their service for over a month with a 99% reputation and still get the worst deliverability. Support has been zero help.

bryans165
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/3/18

We had been sending out around 1000 e-mails per day using G-Suite (via SMTP), and with new features being released we projected that we would exceed G-Suite daily 2000 message limit. So we moved over to SendGrid with the expectation of no more than 100K message per month, and chose the 20.00 plan that was in line with our volume requirements. Within 4 days Yahoo/AOL mail became deferred because Shared IP's were being blacklisted based on other users mail practices. So we were stuck, the only way to address the issue was to upgrade to a PRO plan at 4 times the price, so that we would be sending mail over a dedicated IP address. I never got the feeling that support was trying to resolve the issue, but instead were explaining the problem, and offering the upgrade path as the only solution. It was as if their pool of shared IP addresses was one deep, and if it became blacklisted that was it. I got the feeling that this was an up-sale approach, rather than an issue I just happened to run into after 4 days as a new customer. Not sure what we will do, but I upgraded today just to get our mail moving again. After 72 hours of sitting in the outbound queue, the mail will simply be discarded as undeliverable. Do not use this service unless you start out on a dedicated IP plan. Otherwise it's completely undependable.

jamest244
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/26/17

We used SendGrid for nearly two years with few real problems and good service response when the very occasional issue did arise.

In the last month, the IP pool we are in had become constantly contaminated and our emails and newsletter would get blocked, at least 2-3 times a week.

They would, in the past, move known-good senders (like us) to a different pool. Not anymore. Any contact you make with them starts with "We're terribly sorry, etc." and then immediately afterwards, "The solution to this is to moved to a fixed IP" -- which is very expensive on SendGrid and, as is well known, is not a panacea.

SendGrid should be managing their IP pools, but now it seems they are using pools that become contaminated as a means to up-sell you to their expensive fixed IP option.

Don't waste your time trying to reason with them. I tried (even contacted management) and they could not care less. Everything they say is channeled to selling fixed IP.

We're moving to a new supplier. And by the way, as we've been scouting the market, other suppliers offer fixed IP options (that we don't really need if the pool is managed well) for a fraction of the cost.

SendGrid now appears only to want to service you if you're a big corporate or a big spender.

danh128
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/25/17

Do not ever use this service 1) The interface/dashboard is shockingly poor and badly written 2) They lag on sending emails which go through in tranches rather than one fell swoop 3) I have never experienced such an arrogant and bad display of customer service.

You'll lose your miney if you use this service AND I NEVER complain about service so please take this as a warning not to use or trust this company.

davitod
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/5/17

The accepted my money for a 40,000 basic service and after sending 1000 emails the blocked my account and took 2 days to respond to let me know my list did not meet their requirements and since this was my fault they would not refund my payment in full or partial even though the account was only opened for 1 hour.
Total ripoff, go somewhere else, they should be in jail for stealing money and not providing service.

josephl119
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/27/17

WORST EXPERIENCE EVER
THEY ARE THIEVES , NO SERVICE , SO SUPPORT
STAY A WAY FROM THIS $#*! COMPANY

dianey6
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/3/17

They are outright thieves! They charge me for 50,000 twice on the same month. I only upload 50,000 on March 1, then deleted the contact on March 6. Therefore, I was charged $69.95 which I did owe. But my problems is they charge me again for 50,000 which I no longer had. I talk to support and they told me well you are charge at the end of each month. So you charge $69.95 March 1 and March 31st. Please stay away, do not give these people your credit card information. They will enjoy charging the hell out of your account.

eugened11
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/20/16

Terrible attitude & support!

Please see below the response of the company while I was trying to open a new account:
"
Our provisioning process is done in order to protect our system as well as inboxes around the world from potential spam email. We perform many checks to determine the validity of our new customers and unfortunately some of those checks have triggered scores that are historically indicative of high risk. Our Provisioning Team will not be able to provision your account for this reason.
In regards to billing, as your account has not been activated, no payment has been processed against your credit card.
We thank you for your consideration and we wish you the best in your future endeavors.
"

When I've contacted the company and explained that I'm a real person, with proven professional background and even supplied LinkedIn link, the response remained the same.
VERY VERY DISAPPOINTING, especially because there is no reason for such an attitude - pure discrimination, shame.

Service
Value
Quality
jacquesd12
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/4/16

Their email support takes over 48 hours and I am still locked out of my production account.
Their first response "Create a new account"
Second response "There is nothing wrong".

Stay clear of this one !!

williamu6
William U.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
10/26/16

We use Send grid as a provider for our external clients communication emails. Before implementing Send Grid we faced a lot of issues like spam mails and mail deliverable issue. We went through so many solutions to fix this issue, but not fully did we succeed. They we heard about Send Grid and we tried out. It is a horrible task to maintain your own mail server in today's scenario where mail providers easily mark large volume email senders as spam. So Send Grid is a good solution for all these solutions.

rogers291
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/24/16

I would highly recommend not using SendGrid given their horrible support and the fact that they can be easily manipulated into removing a customer from their platform if you're dedicated enough. One of our competitors managed to get their customers to register for our newsletter, and then later complain about spam despite having opted into communications. SendGrid kicked us off of their network even with the competitor admitting it to us and us offering the evidence, but they certainly kept the money.

scottr80
Scott R.
9 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/19/16

Sendgrid is constantly collecting feedback from its users and improving their core products. I like how flexible their payment tiers are and how versatile their products are. Their customer support is top-notch as well and have a great developer support team. We needed transactional email, so the ability to send Sendgrid webhooks and have emails fired off for various events or triggers. We also use their inbound parsing functionality and email design templates. All of which have been incredibly useful to our core product experience. I say give them a try!

mikeb261
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/11/16

One of the worse email marketing services I have ever used.
I was attracted by the low price compared to other similar services. Of course, there was a reason for it:
* Monthly subscription may be low, but you pay an additional fee each time you upload 10.000 emails to your contact lists. Removing invalid emails from your list is painful because the user interface is slow and buggy, and when you are done you have to reupload the list (and repay the fee, of course).
* Customer support is basically nonexistant. I had the same issues as another review below: long answering times, unprepared operators, chats closed without any explanation.
* After a few days, I couldn't log in to my account. It took me hours to get in touch with an operator, who told me that my account was suspended because I didn't provide some required company information. I did not receive ANY notification whatsoever about it.
I decided to unsubscribe and delete my account after the first month.
Never again.

Tip for consumers: Stay away, seriously. There's a reason for the low price.

Service
Value
Quality
jasonu10
Jason U.
12 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/26/16

Sendgrid can send out large amounts of the email within short amount of time and the support is very helpful. Our business has grown because our deliver rate has increased over time with sendgrid's tool. So, I will recommend to other companies.

beng76
Ben G.
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/4/15

SendGrid is the best overall goto service for sending transactional email. It's got every feature you could possibly want. If you don't have niche requirements or need extra tech support SendGrid is your best bet. For dependable transactional email, it's one of the easiest to setup and also one of the most well documented.

danielu10
Daniel U.
6 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/24/15

With SendGrid its easy to find bounced and dropped emails, and reasons for them to quickly resolve issues. I manage user support for a web application. SendGrid helps me troubleshoot issues - did the users password reset email get sent and is stuck in a spam filter? Is their ISP blocking our domain? I also have a hand in marketing, and knowing which trigger emails get opened by users help us improve our customer engagement.

vincec30
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/1/15

Can't chat with support without being on a mobile phone. The chat button doesn't appear on desktop. Finally when I get through, it takes 10 minutes for a response by someone who gives general answers and who doesn't even know which api is which and how they work. Their api's don't work according to their own instructions.

Here is a chat I had with one of their operators. This entire discussion was about 2 hours long because of long response times, to finally find out the operator was clueless on their own services, then disconnects when they sense that the customer is frustrated with the lack of support. What a waste of time.

-----------------------------------

Me: hi
hello
Clayton Porter: Hello
Me: so how come i can only chat w you guys on my mobile phone
hello?
Clayton Porter: I am afraid I do not understand
Me: it only shows me the chat button on my mobile phone
why?
cant see it on desktop
makes sense?
Clayton Porter: I suppose, but I am not sure why it is unavailable on our support page. I will let my ops team know.
Me: ok i have a q about the campaigns
it says $10 for 10k contacts
but how much per email?
Clayton Porter: The cost for the email volume will depend on your package level
Me: ok so the price is additional to the emails avail in my package?
bc I was told there is no per email price in my last chat
when I choose this option
Clayton Porter: Well there is no per email price, it's the package level
so you pay a subscription price
Me: i dont understand
you have FREE, LITE, ESSENTIALS
then you have the Marketing Campaigns which isnt available with FREE
so when I choose Marketing Campaigns, is there a per email charge? or is the charge based of the amount of contacts I have?
Clayton Porter: Marketing campaigns is based on the number of contacts you have. The first 2000 are free after that it is $10 pre 10000
Me: Is that price additional
to the 40,000 emails @ $9.95 a month?
Clayton Porter: Yes
Me: how come my v3 api doesnt work
i am doing it right bc the contacts list works fine but the campaigns api doesnt work
i tried multiple api keys
Clayton Porter: Are you getting a specific error?
Me: unauthorized ccess
random html
Clayton Porter: Ok, well that would mean there is something either with the API key that does not match with what you set up or the formatting is off. Here is our documentation on the process sendgrid.com/docs/Classroom/Se...
Me: yea i got the instructions from the docs
here, you try
curl "https://api.sendgrid.com/v3/campaigns" -H "Authorization: Bearer xxxx"
that should work
but its not
when I use that api key on another api, it works, but not on this end point
why not
Clayton Porter: Is that endpoint V2?
Me: don't you see the url ?
it says v3 in it doesnt it?
curl "https://api.sendgrid.com/v3/campaigns" -H "Authorization: Bearer Sxxxxx"
you take really long to reply
Clayton Porter: I am sorry, I am unsure what is not working for you. Does this work if you use your normal SendGrid credentials?
Me: is there a supervisor?
may i speak to a supervisor please
Clayton Porter: I am confused, what are you looking for me to do here?
Me: transfer me to a supervisor please
Clayton Porter: Unfortuantely I do not have one available
Me: there are no supervisors there?
i need to speak to someone who is competent with your own system. I really don't know how else to spell it out for you
Clayton Porter: Not at this time no, but again I am a bit confused, as far as I can tell we gone through each of your issues here successfully. Your error indicates that the API call you are using does not match what you've set up, or the formatting you are using is not working. If you have gotten it to work in another form here, what are we doing differently for this one to not work?
Me: i just told you the url I was connecting to, and you asked me if that was v2
i mean do you even know your own system?
Clayton Porter: I sure do, but the error you are indicating is that your password is incorrect
Me: there is no password
Clayton Porter: I'm not really sure what else you are looking for from me.
Me: you don't know that?
Clayton Porter: API key then
Me: please have a supervisor contact me
Clayton Porter: I apologize you are frustrated, but you've not tried anything else at this point. You've just said it's broke
How can I help?
Me: I don't think you are equipped to help me. May I speak to someone else
Clayton Porter: Unfortunately there is no one else available at this time. If I had someone else I would pass you along, again I am sorry.
Me: there is only one person there?
Clayton Porter: I have dealt with your issue before, and it indicates that the API key you are using does not match what is in SendGrid. It very well may, but if we are running into issues, I would suggest try creating the API key again, and following the format in the documentation exactly.
Me: i tried creating another one
i know its right because it works on other endpoints
Clayton Porter: I also do not have your username yet, so let me get that and make sure the account is running
Me: my user name is xxxxxx
i just gave you the CURL link so you can try it
as you can see i'm not the only one having this isue
?
Clayton Porter: I'm still here, just looking through and seeing if I can find anything
Me: isnt the support team there
hello?
Clayton Porter: Apologies, I am still here, I have a few conversations going at once if you'll bear with me. I am still looking here.
Me: when will support team be there
Clayton Porter: I apologize again if I sound ignorant here, where are you getting the xxxxxxx part of the key?
Me: thats what it gave me in my panel
settings > api keys
i mean it seems like you don't even work there, like you don't know anything lol
Clayton Porter: Oh ok, interesting I only see xxxx
Me: thats not the key
thats the key id
Clayton Porter: I do not need to be insulted, I am trying to help here
Me: i mean really?
its like i know your system better than you
when will a supervisor be there, you are not helpful AT ALL
is this like a sales chat?
where is support
Clayton Porter: You're entirely right, that's me being really dumb. Sorry about that.
Me: Are you getting emotional?
Clayton Porter: Not at all
Me: I really need to speak to someone who knows your system
Clayton Porter: But I did mess up on that part of it and aknowledge that
Me: i just need to get this to work, why can't I get any help
I'm about to take my business elsewhere tbh
and post this conversation in a public review so people can see the kind of support sendgrid gives its customers
Clayton Porter: I understand, and if I were you I would be frustrated as well. I am trying here and I know I've not done myself any favors, But I am who is available at the moment. Just so I have all of my facts straight here, you are using our mail.send call correct? And can you confirm with me that this works correctly with your normal credentials.
Me: i am using the v3 with api keys
for the 3rd time now i am telling you
Clayton Porter: Sure, but to do what?
Me: TO CONNECT TO THE CAMPAIGNS API
Clayton Porter: Send an email, add contacts, add a template?
Me: HOW MANY TIMES I GOTTA SAY IT
Clayton Porter: I apologize again, I just wanted to verify here.
Me: I SENT YOU THE URL
IM TRYING TO CONNECT TO
Clayton Porter: And can you please let me know if your normal credentials work ok?
Me: 2 TIMES
IT DOESNT ACCEPT CREDENTIALS
READ THE DOCS
IT TAKES AN API
I MEAN DO YOU EVEN KNOW YOUR DOCS
I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS
IM NOT HERE TO TRAIN YOU
IM HERE FOR SUPPORT
WHEN WILL A SUPERVISOR BE THERE
IM ABOUT TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT
Clayton Porter: What I am trying to determine here is whether or not the recent release of marketing campaigns is what is causing this to not work. Again I am sorry for your frustration
Me: YES I AM USING MARKETING CAMPAIGNS API
YES I AM FRUSTRATED, YOU DONT EVEN KNOW YOUR OWN DOCS, WHAT DO YOU EXPECT
AT LEAST YOU'VE DETERMINED THAT MUCH

Thank you for contacting us.
Your chat session was disconnected because it was idle for too long.

Tip for consumers: Go with a place that works and actually has helpful support

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
oscarn8
11 reviews
7 helpful votes
10/13/15

The new interface is quite good.

karll25
25 reviews
39 helpful votes
9/22/15

Much easier than Return Path. But not as good as others for marketing emails.

jamesn29
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/24/13

What makes Sendgrid better than most other SMTP relays? Reporting , price and their great customer service. Obviously we could all run our own server and use Postfix or MS exchange but then we have to deal with the black art of actually not getting our emails shoved into a spam folder. With sendgrid we are given the tools to successfully deliver emails and can avoid most of the tricks that you would have to employ otherise. Prices is insanely low when compared to other similar services. One really good feature is their email reputation score, everytime you log in you can see where you are at and what is hurting you...open rates, etc. This is critical in developing any type of email newsletter or direct campaign. Their customer service is also great, they will actually return emails and you can do a live chat with them that does provide help (as opposed to most live chat that is out there). Great service especially for the price.

19 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the SendGrid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
SendGrid?
Post Review