Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Recourse

Recourse reviews

12 reviews
12117 Garrett Road
Houston, Texas 77044, United States
support@recourse.co

12 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

traftone
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/4/16

I hired Recourse because I felt that I was too busy to educate myself on the ins and outs of small claims, and I thought that Recourse would be a good alternative to retaining a lawyer. Huge mistake. Recourse can and should be sued for false advertising, as they don't really provide many of the services they claim. Additionally, canceling is a *nightmare.* As soon as you tell them you want to cancel, they drop off the face of the planet (just see all the other reviews!). I wrote countless emails and made countless phonecalls trying to get them to stop charging me, and none were returned. We wound up filing claims with the bank, and eventually just canceled our card and got a new number.

Here are some of Recourse's claims, and what I actually experienced:

+ A Dedicated Advisor

Gustavo couldn't answer most of my questions, and now on the site you'll note this caveat at the bottom of their page "*The dedicated advisor cannot provide any legal advice. They will be able to answer basic questions on topics such as claim limits and statute of limitations."

+ Paperwork Handling "We process your paperwork and file it with the court"

Gustavo asked for addresses for me and the defendant, the description of my claim, and the amount of the claim. He then filled out these basic fields on SC-100, which I could have done in 2 minutes, and then instructed me to file with the court. They didn't do anything.

+ Summons Service

You'd think that your $99/month would cover serving the defendant, since the website says "Recourse guarantees timely delivery of the summons through certified mail or special delivery by a local sheriff." However, Gustavo simply googled for a process server and provided me with their phone number and instructed me to pay an additional $75 for their services. The Recourse "Summons Service" is basically 411 for finding a process server, which you can do with Google. They don't actually provide a process service.

+ Evidence Log

Gustavo looked at the evidence I put together, and simply told me to print it off and bring it to court. They did nothing to collate and make things look professional. Again, no services were actually provided.

+ Settlement Negotiation

Gustavo or Recourse did not work on a settlement ahead of the court case. They don't actually provide this service, the court does with FREE arbitration before your court hearing. Recourse doesn't provide this service, it's free when you go to court.

+ Collections

Recourse doesn't make collections calls and they don't provide a collections service. At best, they'll google for a collections service which again -- you have to pay for separately from Recourse.

The small claims process is VERY easy, and every single document you have to file comes with perfect instructions, every court offers small claims advice both in a self-help center, at the clerk's office, and often a small claims advisor that is free to the public.

Don't waste your money on Recourse, as the service they provide is so terrible that you'll wind up doing all the work yourself.

kevinp73
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/6/15

they scammed us over $700. I canceled my subscription over 4 months ago, and they continue to bill me $99 each month. They are impossible to get in contact with, and they dont list how to contact them. Call the number on your credit card statement and you get a recording. I reported them to the FBI AND the Attorney General.

ds133
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/5/15

This company is a rip off its a scam don't fall into their trap. I have paid them over $500 and getting them to do anything is impossible. Gustavo will not respond to and of your emails. They just keep taking my money. They need to be sued.

melissaj27
1 review
2 helpful votes
10/23/15

GUSTAVO MARTINIEZ WAS EMPLOYEE WHO LIED TO ME AND LEAD ME TO BELIEVE I COULD SUE SOMEONE IN ANOTHER STATE AND EVEN IF IF I WON HOW WOULD I GET MY MONEY!!! HE NEVER FOLLOWED UP I HAD TO CALL OVER AND OVER AND HE STILL DIDNT HAVE ANSWER AND KEPT TRYING TO PAWN ME OFF TO A SUPERVISOR WHO I WOULD HAVE HAD TO EXPLAIN MY CASE TO ALL OVER. SERVICE IS DECIEVING AND NOT WORTH THE MONEY. ON TOP OFF THAT GUSTAVO TOLD ME HE GETS COMMISSION WHEN HE GETS A NEW CASE. IM GOING TO CALL THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND REPORT THE LIES HE TOLD ME. MELISSA JONES. RHODE ISLAND.

oa113
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/14/15

It would've been easier going to the court myself and filing the small claim rather than wait for someone to respond to my email, I decided to cancel the order when I found out how unprofessional they are. they said they will refund the one time $99 fee but they never did. I filed a dispute with my bank but apparently they had me on monthly reoccurring charges. so I've been disputing the charge everymonth.
This company should not be in business, wasting people time and money.

Response from A M., Recourse Representative
Hello, we're sorry you're still being charged. Please send an email to help@recourse.co and we'll have this issue resolved immediately.
ricg1
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/12/15

My case was for $1,500.00..Won a judgment...Received nothing
Recourse took a total of $800.00 out of my account over the months until I was able to have my bank block them.
Instead of the $1,500.00 I was after Thank to Recourse now I'm out $2,300.00.

If you want to save time just write a check to "Adam Mukaty" and "Gustavo Martinez" and tell them to go away.

FOLLOW-UP - - - - - -
Interestingly RECOURSE.CO responded to this almost immediately and yet they haven't responded to my e-mails to them for several months.......
I also noticed in their response they didn't address the fact they continued taking $99.00 per month until I blocked them from my account.
Make your own choice regarding RECOURSE.CO.....this was my experience.

Response from A M., Recourse Representative
We are sorry to hear you feel this way. We usually don't respond to reviews as we respect our customer's opinions and always strive to improve our service. However this review is misleading and we would like to clarify.

Recourse did everything right in Mr. Ric Gill's case. We took care of the initial paperwork, got a court date, hired a process server to deliver the summons. We did the evidence log and Mr. Ric Gills even won the case because of Recourse's services. We even offered Mr. Gills with several options to proceed with the collections process however Mr. Gills started saying well the defendant doesn't have any money or assets. He blamed Recourse for not telling him that the defendant didn't have money or any assets to seize. Unfortunately, we do not know the defendants or their financial status. We cannot guarantee that you will win/ lose your case or give any legal advice. We simply guarantee that we will make sure that the administrative work of filing the lawsuit, getting the summons service done is handled properly. Which in this case was done correctly.

We are sorry Mr. Gills was unable to get the money back from his judgement. In this rare case, the defendant didn't have a job or any assets so we legally could not proceed with the collections process. As explained to Mr. Gills, this is a very rare case but unfortunately, sometimes this does happens (about 0.1% of cases).
guss199
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/1/15

I usually only review services if I have a negative experience but after using Recourse, I just had to leave a review here. I found Recourse on Google and before I paid I came across the reviews on Sitejabber. I panicked and instead of paying I sent Recourse a message through their contacts section. The customer service representative promptly responded and I decided to take a chance. Best decision ever! My case manager took care of all the paperwork, summons service and even helped me organize all my evidence. The court hearing went smoothly and Recourse even helped me with the collections process. It is a $99 monthly cost for the duration of the lawsuit which came out to about $300 for me (much cheaper than any lawyer I found). However I got the service I wanted in return and I was able to recoup the legal costs on top of my claim amount from the defendant. Thank you Ashley and Steve for helping me with my case!

Service
Value
Quality
chrisk89
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/25/15

I loaned $5000 to a friend who just wouldn't pay it back. My friend is a lawyer and I reached out to him to get some help. My friend notified me that I must take legal action and take the defendant to small claims court. The small claims lawyer he referred me to quoted $175 / hour and a minimum of 15 hours. I couldn't afford that much and found Recourse on Google. A case manager was assigned to my case that called me within an hour to introduce himself and explain the process. They provided the initial paperwork on the same day and I was able to get a court date the next day. My case manager made sure the summons was served and notified me when the sheriff delivered it. All my evidence was unorganized in emails and text messages. The case manager asked me to send him everything and he organized everything for me in a PDF format which I was able to print and take with me to court. I won my case and received a judgement. The case manager helped me put a lien on the defendant's assets and within 60 days I finally got my money back!

Tip for consumers: If you use Recourse, I recommend getting Gus Martinez as your case manager.

Service
Value
Quality
wendyc31
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/17/15

Finally talked to two bodies. Found out their most valuable perso( teleconference assigned to me that got this whole mess going) quit and never followed up. There was a Supervisor and their Supervisor that finally contacted me after about 7 months. They resent the wrong paperwork, got upset when I tried to explain what happen from day one, were very abrupt like I was the one at fault. This company would be a good company if they would just do the old fashion thing and just listen to the customer and ask for more information at the beginning. The report really could of been written by an 8th grader there didn't seem to be any professionalism or thought. Felt like let's just shut her up and be done with the issue. Think very hard if your considering using this company cause you won't get your money back

blinkp
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/28/15

They charge 99$ for doing practically nothing. They falsely advertise 99$, when its actually 99$ per month for the duration of the case. Extremely slow to respond.
I ended up cancelling the service. But now they want the 99$ for providing a paper filled with my name and address.

nicoa
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/15/15

paid, never receive a response, by email or telephone. it has been 3 months. we are still trying to get heard from the credit card company.

marka95
1 review
14 helpful votes
2/8/15

Horrible service - false and misleading. Inaccurate prices and information towards small claims services.

Take caution using their small claims services. I used it and my credit card was charged over $250 and I have no contact information or whereabouts of my case. I also contacted my local courthouse and they have no pending case from me. I have also reviewed smallclaim.com and with their BBB rating and reviews, I would also not recommend them!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I have not even been able to get in touch with Gustavo Martinez! They took $300 from me and have not done a thing. Did not inform me of anything I should have been informed of, Never answer the phone...always goes straight to voicemail and never even rings! I am above and beyond annoyed with this so-called company! Wendy- I agree on fighting and starting a class action suit against them.

By Ariana G.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Never was able to speak to any one. Called, emails etc.. etc..

By Nico A.
Questions? Get answers from the Recourse staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Recourse?
Post Review