We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
This website seems to be closed. Find similar businesses
  • Bookmark

    Podtravelandteach.co.uk

Podtravelandteach.co.uk
Corporate Values

Overview

Podtravelandteach.co.uk has a consumer rating of 1.3 stars from 10 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Podtravelandteach.co.uk also ranks 255th among Travel Other sites.

  • Service
    0
  • Value
    0
  • Shipping
    0
  • Returns
    0
  • Quality
    0
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • google english international leeds havefunteaching.
How would you rate Podtravelandteach.co.uk?
Top Critical Review

“Some have alleged that this site is a front for a previous.....”

Paladin A.
2/9/11

Some have alleged that this site is a front for a previous company which generated many complaints (see other posts) and caution is advised. Please look at the Q&A section here for more details. Perhaps the most important question to ask if you deal with this sites is: "What type of visa do you arrange for me?" - if the answer is "a tourist visa" then yuo need to know that it is illegal to work in China on a tourist visa. Any reputable company would know that.

See critical reviews

Reviews (10)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

english international (4)
rossp2
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 7th, 2011
I have seen this company being discussed on a few forums in the last 48 hrs or so. If this really is English International back to their old tricks again under a different name then they have to be stopped. I spent three months working for them last year, they are complete crooks and either closed themselves down or were shut down by the authorities. I also reported them to trading standards, obviously they seem to still be at large. To anyone reading this who worked for English International last year and suspect these guys to be them, then PLEASE report them! I plan to give these guys a ring tomorrow and see if they sound legit, but from all the stuff I've read in the last couple of days I can't believe its all lies.
davidb41
1 review
6 helpful votes
February 5th, 2011
A complete scam. My friend just mentioned to me about this opportunity to teach in china. I myself found my self in his shoes last year with a company called English International. On looking at the website at podtravelandteach i can see that it is the same. I remember following forums last year, be sure to avoid this one.
scame
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 4th, 2013
Will be demanding my money back and hopefully persuing legal action. Is there any site in which we could get the people from last year together?
If there is a solid group of pushing this they will get what thay deserve. Well, if i ever see them again they will without a doubt get their derseve.
paladina
6 reviews
23 helpful votes
February 9th, 2011
Some have alleged that this site is a front for a previous company which generated many complaints (see other posts) and caution is advised. Please look at the Q&A section here for more details.
Perhaps the most important question to ask if you deal with this sites is: "What type of visa do you arrange for me?" - if the answer is "a tourist visa" then yuo need to know that it is illegal to work in China on a tourist visa. Any reputable company would know that.
alexs11
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
February 4th, 2011
they previously had two company names before. the horror stories were very serious with even the bbc lookikg to investigate. http://www.sitejabber.com/reviews/havefunteaching.co.uk. google english international leeds havefunteaching.

violane, racism, cheating and endless lies.
adamw8
1 review
3 helpful votes
March 28th, 2011
stay well away crooks crooks and there not even english i think there called billy the imigrant and adam the puff
rosst1
1 review
2 helpful votes
April 1st, 2011
http://forums.gumtree.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=394729
http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/review/index.pl?noframes;read=35758;expand=1

reports from current pod teachers @ http://www.eslcafe.com/discussion/dz1/index.cgi?read=*******488

His passport refers to him as BILAL ISMAIL SONI, born 13 January 1985. His passport number is 458659196, issued by UKPA on 21 April 2006.

He ran an English organisation called English International, from Leeds in Yorkshire, England. The company attracted English people to come to China to teach English, mainly at Kindergarten level.

As part of the enticement to come to China, foreign teachers were promised, upon completing their 6 month contract: Half their airfare refunded; the entire cost of their travel visa; the entire cost of hotel accommodation while training; two full weeks paid leave and an entire refund of the private taxi fare from Shenzhen Airport to the hotel where training took place.

With Mr Soni, having disappeared, none of the foreign teachers seems able to get the money rightfully owed to them. This amounts to an average 1,000 GBP per person.

In addition to the money he owes to foreign teachers, he has also cheated many Chinese people who have invested money in property to accommodate the foreign teachers and who will now not get this money refunded.

As I have explained, this person has left a lot of people, both Chinese and foreign, extremely unhappy and any assistance you can give in tracking this person down and bringing him to justice would be gratefully appreciated.
tillym
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 5th, 2011
Pod travel and teach seemed ideal at first but on doing further research i'm unsure about applying.

How old are Pod travel and teach anyway. Their website is new an all these reports seem to be new. Any further advice on the truth would be much appreciate, not from the company thankyou but people who have had experience with pod travel and tach. thankyou.
rachela4
1 review
4 helpful votes
February 8th, 2011
I applied with this company. And, just this morning, I recieved a phone call saying I had been successful. So I decided to do a little research and came across this page and another page on Yahoo answers where the same thing is basically being said.
It got me to thinking, every single person that has posted on this site and on Yahoo $#*!ing about this company for whatever reasons, every single one of you have no other posts except these ones in which you are slagging off this company.
How can anybody be sure that you're not just trying to sabotage this?
Or that everybody who posts is not actually the same person?
Why should you be trusted any more than they should?

I for one, will be going to meet the team in Batley and am very excited about it. If I'm wrong, I'm wrong and ah well, **** happens.

Unless you have proof (and it would appear that you don't), maybe you should rethink posting on every website where this company is mentioned.
:)
sald1
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 5th, 2011
seems to be an awful lot cropping up recently about this 4 year old well established company

http://www.ripoffreport.com/travel-services/podtravelandteach/podtravelandteach-podtraveland-eab5d.htm

Q&A (2)

Question:

Http://forums.gumtree.com/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=394729 http://www.eslteachersboard.com/cgi-bin/review/index.pl?noframes;read=35758;expand=1 reports from current pod teachers @ http://www.eslcafe.com/discussion/dz1/index.cgi?read=1408952488 his passport refers to him as bilal ismail soni, born 13 january 1985. his passport number is 458659196, issued by ukpa on 21 april 2006.      he ran an english organisation called english international, from leeds in yorkshire, england. the company attracted english people to come to china to teach english, mainly at kindergarten level.      as part of the enticement to come to china, foreign teachers were promised, upon completing their 6 month contract: half their airfare refunded; the entire cost of their travel visa; the entire cost of hotel accommodation while training; two full weeks paid leave and an entire refund of the private taxi fare from shenzhen airport to the hotel where training took place.      with mr soni, having disappeared, none of the foreign teachers seems able to get the money rightfully owed to them. this amounts to an average 1,000 gbp per person.      in addition to the money he owes to foreign teachers, he has also cheated many chinese people who have invested money in property to accommodate the foreign teachers and who will now not get this money refunded.      as i have explained, this person has left a lot of people, both chinese and foreign, extremely unhappy and any assistance you can give in tracking this person down and bringing him to justice would be gratefully appreciated.

Answer:

Reported sightings of Bilal have emerged, is anyone still trying to track him down?

By James W.
See more answers (6)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Podtravelandteach.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Podtravelandteach.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Podtravelandteach.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business