Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of PesaPal

PesaPal reviews

8 reviews
606 Naivasha Road
Sandton, Gauteng 2157, South Africa
info@pesapal.com

8 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

collinst7
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/28/18

I love Pesapal sabi .It makes everything work so smoothly. I cant afford to start a big business so I started by creating an online platform and a small shop to sell my wares. The sign up process was easy with a one-off device cost, cheap transaction fee and no annual maintenance fees.Pesapal sabi has made me money I would not had made in a cashless economy. My customers have the freedom to pay using Visa and MasterCard credit and debit cards, and I can also send receipts via email or text giving me a paper trail of my transactions. I also appreciate the customer care team for looking out for my safety against fraudsters. I'm making a living thanks to Pesapal sabi.

abelk14
1 review
5 helpful votes
10/11/17

Wow a lot of Negative reviews. I will add my experience to it. I would give Pesa Pal a 0 star if I had that option. There website do not work at all when you call customer care they are always in self-defense mood never admitting their mistakes, never correcting their mistakes and making a customer looks like a fool for reporting a problem. I personally stopped calling after they made me look like i didn't know what I was doing after my payment to buy airtime using my visa card has failed more than 24 times though my card works perfectly with other website. Good luck Pesa Pal I wonder what type of business you are running. Good luck. Please don't reply by defending yourself it is helping no one you will do well by Just fixing your problems. Good luck.
Abel

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Support A. [Pesapal Rep] Hi Abel,

Thank-you for your review. Your concerns have been noted and your feedback is highly valued.

Just a point of clarification and correction. Our fraud management system flags transactions for various reasons, one of them being the frequent use of a card within a short span of time.

Kindly drop us an email on helpdesk@pesapal.com detailing the specific issue to enable us to address it accordingly.

Thanks.
roseg53
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/20/17

I HAPPEN TO PAY MONEY TO A WRONG ACCOUNT YESTERDAY AT AROUND 4:24am SO I IMMEDIATELY CALLED SAFARICOM WHICH WERE VERY HELPFUL AND GAVE ME A NUMBER TO CALL SINCE THEY SAID THEY WERE NOT ABLE TO REVERSE IT ON THEIR END.I CALLED AND SOMEONE BY THE NAME BETTY OF WHICH DIDNT WANT TELL ME WHAT HER NAME WAS AT FIRST,ANSWERED ON THE OTHER END.OMG THIS WPMAN WAS VERY RUDE.AT FIRST SHE WAS BUSY CHATTING ON SKYPE COZ I WAS FAMILIAR WITH THE POP SOUND OF MESSAGES COMING IN AND I KNEW IT WAS SKYPE.THE SOUND WAS SO LOUD ON MY EAR AND I KINDLY ASKED HER TO MURE THE SOUND SO I COULD ADDRESS HER REGARDING MY ISSUE TRUST U SHE DIDNT MUTE AND CONTINUE WITH THE CHAT.I WENT AHEAD TO ADDRESS HER BIT THENY CREDIT DIED.SO I TOPPED UP AND CALLED SINCE I HAD NOT GOT MY ISSUE RESOLVED.WHEM I CALLED ANOTHER LADY ANSWERED DIFFERENT NAME AND SHE I TOLD HER I HAD CALLED EARLY BUT IF IT WAS OK FOR HER TO HELP AS WELL SHE SAID SHE,WILL ASK THE PERSON I HAD TALKED TO EARLY I WONDERED WHY SHE,COUNDNT HELP ME.SHE CALLS BACK AND SAYS BETTY SAID SHE WAS NOT AVAILABLE.SINCE I ADDRESSED THEM ABOUT MY ISSUE YESTERDAY TILL JUST NOW I CALLED THEM. I CALLED THEM AGAIN JUST NOW GUESS WHAT FIRST THING INTO MY EAR WAS THAT SOUND OF MASSAGES POP SOUND SHE TOLD ME SHE TOLD ARROGANTLY I HAVENT RECEIVED ANY EMAIL FROM ZUKU OF WHI H I HAD PAID THE AMOUNT TO WHO WERE TO EMAIL THEM AND GIVE THEM GO AGEAD TO REVERSE THE CASH AS THE PTHER LADY HAD ASKED ME TO CALL.SINCE YESTERDAY UP TO NOW MY MONEY HASNT BEEN REVERSE D BACK.I WOULDNT ADVICE ANYONE TO USE THIS PEOPLE AT ALL.STAFF VERY DONT CARE AND ARROGANT NO CUSTOMER CARE IN TGEM AT ALL.WHY TAKE FOR EVER TO REVERSE MY MONEY BACK.

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Hello Rose,

We'd like to apologize sincerely for your negative experience with one of our customer service representatives. As you are well aware, we have been in touch with you on phone and are working fast to resolve your issue on the payment you made.
Please also note that we are following up with our customer service team and will take appropriate action. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. It will help us improve our operations and services.
petern53
1 review
3 helpful votes
6/27/17

Very quick in responding to my review as it is public just to try and clear their image. I still have issues that have not been addressed and no one has responded to e-mails despite them have been read. In my opinion you are loosing it by just keeping quiet.

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Hello Peter,

We appreciate your support for using our service and are really sorry to learn that your recent Pesapal experience was less than satisfactory.

We understand your frustration at trying to get through to our customer service team and we apologize for that. In future, kindly log onto our support portal ~ support.pesapal.com for hasty responses on any issues regarding your payments.

Kindly note that we no longer verify customer details manually, this is done through an automated fraud process.

On documents required for withdrawal of collections, we clearly state this on our registration page, as well as on the activation email we send once you register a Business account on Pesapal.

The reason we allow you to start transaction before you provide the documents is to enable you to do actual transaction tests, which are limited to KSh. 1,000 and on signing the contract, and providing the documents, the limit is removed.

Kindly drop us an email on marketing@pesapal.com to enable us to follow up on this issue accordingly.
briank115
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/31/17

I had a good experience with the service since I begun using it. The service needs more features, but so far so good. Keep it up.

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Hello Brian,

Thank you for the positive review. We also appreciate your feedback on the features and we'll definitely work on improving our service. Thank you.
maggiek17
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/7/17

I just signed with them but their website is not accepting feedback messages. It reports error. "Sorry, an error occurred while processing your request. We are working to fix it as soon as we can" I feel scared doing business with them. If a small issue with website feedback can not be fixed, how about money issues.Reviews are so discouraging. Goodbye pesapal. Goodbye.

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Greetings Maggie - It's unfortunate that the feedback form did not deliver your message, we've checked and confirm it works OK. You can kindly send your feedback to helpdesk@pesapal.com or info@pesapal.com - We will be able to assist you accordingly
gaetanc
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/27/16

I had the worst experience ever with this morons.they are arrogant, they don't even reply to emails.they have no policy or statement on there website about providing the necessary documents during registration,they only start asking you for that when you are about to make a withdrawal from your account.intergration is also another big problem that you either have to be a techy or pay lots of money to an expert to do it for you.this doesn't help at all if they want to grow.they should learn from people like PayPal where you only need your email address and ur ready for business.the concept is a brilliant idea I must say but the people behind it must be very big morons who have no sense of entrepreneurship.

Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Gaetan - We are sorry to hear that your experience started as such. The email that is sent with the details to integrate indicates the details of how to finalize your account setup to ensure no problems for settlement. We have also provided plugins to simplify integration, as well as a payments page that you can use without need for technical know-how. You can reach us on developer@pesapal.com to ensure your integration works ok, and see how we can use existing tools to ensure you are well on your way to have online payments work for you.
douglask8
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
7/11/15

Touted as the PayPal of Africa, one would expect a lot from PesaPal but when you try integrating it with your website, you realize that apart from the name, this site has nothing else to make it the PayPal of Africa. (its good when paying for utility bills but not for merchant services)

The main problems are:

Integration: - Very difficult to integrate with your website if you are not a technical guy. Also the plugins available for popular CMS like wordpress do not function and even the people who developed them initially have abandoned them. The only simpler alternative is to use their Simple Selling option which means your customers will have to leave your website and go to pesapal to purchase - and they will not be redirected to your website after making the payment.

You cannot do refunds: With other payment gateways, you have full control of your money so you can refund any client who is not satisfied with your service/product. With Pesapal, there is no option for this.

Concealing information: When you signup for a merchant account, there is no indication that you have to provide documents like (memorandum of association, certificate of incorporation, passport photos of directors, voided check in the name of the business etc) to use the service. But once you receive payments from clients and try to withdraw the money, you get an email requesting all these documents. If you are not willing to provide the documents, they will not process the withdrawal request and will not refund the money back to the clients who made payments. Worst of all, they will not respond to your emails.

Service
Response from Support A., PesaPal Representative
Hello Douglas,

We realize that we are a tad late in responding to your concerns and would like to apologize for the time is has taken as well as your less than satisfactory experience with Pesapal. Please note that we have published all official intergration extensions here http://developer.pesapal.com/official-extensions - Kindly refer to these plugins as we have since tested and approved them.

Simple selling is a product that allows you to upload your products and gives you a link for your online store.
Once a customer pays, you then get a notification of a complete payment but money is kept in Escrow until a customer acknowledges that they have indeed received the product or service.

Alternatively, once you as a merchant confirms that you have shipped the product, the money is released into your account after 24hrs should the customer fail to lodge a complaint. This means that the products are necessarily hosted on your site particularity due to the escrow feature.

Please also note that due to security concerns, all refunds have to be routed through a request sent to Pesapal. This is done to avoid fraud and protect the integrity of your customers payment information.

We once again apologize for any information that was not provided upon sign up. We require official government documentation to verify the legitimacy of any business that signs up with Pesapal. This is done to reduce incidences of fraud and is mandated by the government as a payment integrator.

Lastly, please note that you can reach Pesapal support on Tel: +254-070-619-1729 Email: info@pesapal.com.

We hope you will have a much better experience with us in future.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hey Bosco, we do not charge for integration to a website; you can share the API documentation here http://developer.pesapal.com/api with the person who developed your website. Optionally, you can check if your website is amongst the platforms we have built plugins for here http://developer.pesapal.com/official-extensions. With the plugins, you will simply download and install the plugin, and enter your configuration and it should work. Let us know which of the 2 approaches suite you.

By Support A., PesaPal Representative
Questions? Get answers from the PesaPal staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
PesaPal?
Post Review