Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

NextStepTestPrep reviews

Is this your business?
463 reviews
Tel: 888-530-6398

463 Reviews From Our Community

All Reviews

connork14
Connor K.
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/12/19

I have had an overall very good experience with the service, and have gleaned a lot of important content knowledge from their resources. I am quite happy with my purchase

anonymousl434
anonymous L.
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/21/19

Way more difficult than the actual MCAT. The questions do not represent the AAMC questions and 6 months access is annoyingly short. Questions might be better than Kaplan or Princeton, but still aren't that good. Will severely deflate your score.

erikaa39
Erika A.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/10/19

The books were written very well and are straightforward to understand. I found the online questions very helpful and the study plan effective.

antoinettep14
Antoinette P.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/10/19

Practice exams and webinars were extremely helpful. The 10 practice exams were a great price and it came with a lot of great practice problems

bridgeti1
Bridget I.
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/29/19

The people are very down to earth and willing to help. The full suite of resources is really worth the investment.

anonymousw420
anonymous W.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/29/19

Much better set of explanations regarding your answer choices when reviewing your exams. You'll be able to fill in those knowledge gaps and more compared to the exams provided by other commercial test companies.

anonymousy377
anonymous Y.
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
4/4/19

I am retaking the mcat and looking for a significant increase in my score. The personal tutoring was by far the most beneficial part of the service. I am seeing the improvement I was hoping for and hope to see that on my exam as well.

meechiesj
meechies J.
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/21/19

Of all the test prep materials I feel NS is the closest, especially in regards to CARS which is hard to find. Sometimes other prep companies overdo it on the science sections to the point where it no longer resembles AAMC and is just straight up hard sciences without relating and tying it back to the other AAMC standards. NS FLs does the best job of relating their passages back.

ginaf48
Gina F.
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/19/19

NextStep practice exams are hands down the best practice materials I've found during my MCAT preparation. The test format looks exactly like the AAMC practice test platform, which really primes you to utilize all tools and acclimate to the platform. The test questions are definitely challenging, but not so much that you lose hope. And to top it all off, the breakdown of the topics and questions missed is essential for tailoring your studying to improve your score. Overall, I couldn't have picked a better company exam prep company.

brianf181
Brian F.
7 reviews
0 helpful votes
2/6/19

Overall, NextStep was fantastic! There were plenty of resources available at my disposal, all of which were helpful. In addition, my tutor, Rylan Smith, was excellent, providing me with all the information I needed to excel on the exam. I will definitely recommend NextStep to other friends and students I know planning to take the MCAT.

tanyai3
Tanya I.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/27/19

Next Step provided a multitude of resources for preparation which were very useful! The one-on-one tutoring is also beneficial because it allows you to clear any doubts about concepts or ideas as well as practice with them. The tutors will help you with everything they can to help you reach your goal, which I really appreciated because besides myself there was another person who was pushing me to do my best.

sydneyg35
Sydney G.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/24/19

Next Step was very helpful in preparing for my exam. The first five exams were awesome, but the last five were not as accurate.

vamsiv1
vamsi V.
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/24/19

I have tried a lot of different tests but Next Step was closest to AAMC with material however carried the caveat with having so much information on the explanations. I would not have been able to get a 517 without Next Step.

nickm204
Nick M.
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
1/4/19

Overall good experience with tutoring package. Some sessions weren't as helpful as I would've liked but was provided a tailored study plan. You get docked hours if you reschedule sessions less than 24 hours in advance which I wasn't aware of. Expensive prep program but cheaper than others and comes with all the material you need.

paigea18
Paige A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
1/2/19

Next step was exactly what I needed. I had taken the MCAT in the year prior to utilizing Next step's materials. I needed practice tests to realize what I needed to review and to refamiliarize myself with the test taking strategies most useful to myself. Thank you.

annay31
Anna Y.
4 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/26/18

overall good resource! I personally found the nextstep tests much more difficult than the actual MCAT or the official practice tests. I ended up scoring about 6 points higher than my practice tests. So I think it's a helpful resource as far as practice and using the interface and less of an indicator of how well one is actually prepared.

nataliew76
Natalie W.
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/12/18

I found the practice tests to be incredibly helpful and some of the most accurate outside of the AAMC's material. I actually found Next Step's material more difficult than AAMC's (while still quite accurate), which sent me panicking initially, but left me much more prepared in the end; for this reason alone I would recommend these practice tests.
The layout of the practice exams was almost identical to the MCAT's - this was an excellent piece of mental preparation for me.
The answer key, explanations, and inclusions of textbook passages to explain concepts were excellent and very helpful.

christined157
Christine D.
9 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/7/18

I felt like the actual mcat, particularly the chem/phys section wasn't a good predictor or similar enough. The actual exam for me was much more difficult on chem/phys, easier for me for psych/soc and Equal for cars and bio.

hk25
H K.
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/1/18

My experience was a very good one. The tests I received helped me prepare for the test, and are a part of why I got the grade I did.

kevinm372
Kevin M.
20 reviews
0 helpful votes
11/25/18

Unbeatable Chemistry practice. You will score at least 128 chem off these exams. Psych section needs work.

teriyakil
Teriyaki L.
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/14/18

Format very similar to actual tests. Questions can be more in depth than actual test, especially for Physics. Overall great for preparing for MCAT

caileeh
Cailee H.
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/25/18

Kelsey was an amazing tutor. She was extremely attentive and responsive, and always was willing to take a step back and explain things in different ways to ensure I truly understood them. I attribute my 9 point MCAT increase to Kelsey, and feel so lucky to have found her!

lorrina
Lorrin A.
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/23/18

Fantastic! The material and the lessons are very digestible and well-paced, and there are so many resources available. BUT the thing that pushed me from "casually hanging" with NextStep to committal status was 100% the staff. There are so many third party resources to choose from, ranging from the free to the very expensive, but NextStep really nailed it with their staff. They've been friendly and courteous with even my most minor issues, and the instructors are A+

timnguyenr
TimNguyen R.
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/20/18

Very relevant material on the MCAT practice questions and practice tests. Interface was easy to navigate.

karanvarshneyz
karanvarshney Z.
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/18/18

I liked it, but some of the tests were quite off in comparison to the others, and the real exam. Also, I wish CARS was more consistent. Solid product nonetheless.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the NextStepTestPrep staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
NextStepTestPrep?
Post Review