Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of NerdBlock

NerdBlock reviews

Is this your business?
12 reviews

12 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

teresab110
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/27/17

I ordered a May comic block. This was my first and last order from nerd block. First the order was significantly delayed due to a printing issue. Then I was notified that my order would be sent with a mystery shirt and I would receive the correct shirt once the printing issue was resolved. Got the block about a month and a half late with a terrible mystery shirt. Well it's almost October and I still have not received the correct shirt, nor have I received a response from my inquiry to their customer service about what's going on. Would not recommend anyone order from Nerd Block.

laurens202
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/12/17

I ordered a box for June. It didn't come till end of July and was severely damaged and items were missing. They also had used the wrong address so it kept going from one Post Office to another. Finally we went to the post office listed in the tracking and picked it up. The box was beat to hell and items were missing from it. I have emailed them 4 times and they have yet to ever respond. I have submitted a dispute with my card company. DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM. It's not worth it.

helenaw8
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
8/7/17

Had subscription for over a year with no issues until now. May box was late. Received June box on August 8th. They don't respond to inquiries. Paid for July box weeks ago but haven't heard anything. Beyond ridiculous!

dorotheec1
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/3/17

I have been waiting for my June box for two months now. They have not sent it out yet. I have a July box I am also waiting for. They shut down their site so I can't log into my account. I haven't heard from the since the middle of July. I keep asking for a refund and they are not replying to my emails. I bought this box for my child to do unboxing videos. This company will not get another penny from me.

sarahb325
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/21/17

I was subscribed to both the nerd block jr. Girls and boys blocks for 4 months. For the most part my kids have loved the products however I cancelled at the end of June because you never get your boxes on time. It is getting ready to be August and we haven't received our boxes for the last month we paid for nor have they shipped. At least every month there was a problem with at least one box being shipped. They aren't very apologetic when you're having problems either! Wish loot crate would do jr. Boxes! If you want to do a subscription box I highly recommend lootcrate! I get their boxes and love them.

brentk21
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/4/17

Finally received a tracking number on 7/12/17, didn't ship till 7/19/17 this for June, a month late.

megank48
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/1/17

There's a reason Nerd Block turned off their review feature online.

We have had our gamer Nerd Block for about a year. I can say the contents are usually pretty decent, usually at least one thing my husband really likes. Last month was the exception to that.

They're not completely reliable though. Last month we received an email in the middle of the month saying our box was on its way. Ten days later I emailed to see where it was. The woman who helped told me the email had been a mistake, tv's box would ship at the end of the month (it was the end of the month by this time). Another 10 days later, well into the following month I contacted them again. This guy claimed my box had shipped but was "held up in customs." It shipped from NY to PA. Oddly enough, the post date was the day he sent his explanation. Go figure.

This month, no block again. Was about to send another email when I received one they must have sent out to everyone apologizing and saying they don't have a ship date for us.

Their site is also glitchy. Trying to change a preference for our box took 3 password resets (the password they were sending didn't work, so def a problem on their end) and didn't get fixed until a week after I asked customer service.

We supposedly have 4 more months of our subscription and then will be canceling.

barbarae42
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/30/17

We have been subscribed to nerd block for 4 years. At first it was fantastic, exclusive t shirts, funko pop figure, a good assortment of items, that has changed. We switched to sci fi block which has changed to sci fan block, the quality and quantity of the items has over the last steadily gone down, and this month june 17 we have not recieved our nerd block. Contacted them via email got a response which is equivalent to you are 700 on the Q. Email said we are experiencing a high volume of inquiries, we have assigned a representative to chech into your case. That was a week ago. Needless to say i ended my subscription, but they still owe me my final box from my active subscription. Sterr clear not worth the money.

amandam181
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/17

I thought nerd block would be a fun way to get a few cool surprise nerdy items and a tshirt every month...

Well if you are ok with terrible t shirt quality and trinkets you can get at any store, then you've found the right company!

I will give you an example. In December 2016 try had a Star Wars themed box. Wouldn't you assume you would get a Star wars t shirt plus some other neat star wars things? I did....
What I received was a chrome Darth Vader mug, a death trooper piggie bank, a like green lanyard, 4 coasters, and a Decepticon t shirt..(yes, a trasformers tshirt)

The next month was even worse.
And when I called customer (if wait you can't. You can only write them by email.....)
So I wrote them an email. They did like to help remedy my outrage. Offered me 10% off...That is not what I wanted.
You can not cancel subscriptions so I am stuck receiving these boxes until my 12 months are up.

If you are considering going with this company, just don't.
Products you receive are not extraordinary and customer service is nearly non existent.

amyw75
2 reviews
12 helpful votes
5/2/16

Nerdblock.com has an amazing collection of things that interest you. I have been a customer for a few months now and received a couple horror blocks. Every month the blocks consist of at least 6 things for about $28.00 total. That is 19.99 for the monthly block and the remaining balance for larger shirt size (2xl or larger) and shipping prices. The block comes monthly with a shirt and other amazing treasures! I couldn't be more happpier!

lizk25
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
1/12/16

For those that dont know Nerd block is a monthly subscription box of nerdy goodies. They are auto-renew subscriptions meaning that the subscription will automatically renew and you will be charged unless you cancel before the deadline. They have different boxes that you can subscribe to and they are Nerd Block Classic, Sci Fi Block, Comic Block, Arcade Block, Nerd Block Jr and Horror Block, so theres a lot to choose from. They also have some specials called grab blocks that allow you to purchase a mystery box that contains items from previous blocks for about half the price of a regular block. The blocks also ship out at different times of the month. Sci Fi ships out on the 5th of the month, Horror and Arcade ship out on the 25th of the month and the classic block ships on the 15th of the month.

I started receiving the arcade block and horror block in September. I added the classic nerd block in October and ordered the Sci Fi block for January 2016. I have decided though to cancel all of my blocks due to being unhappy overall with the products received and unsatisfactory communication with customer service on a late box.

Pros:

1. There is a t-shirt in every box! They are good quality, wash well and fit well.

2. Website is easy to navigate. Cancelling, suspending, or skipping boxes is easy to do.

3. Products are decent quality. I have gotten some fun nerdy themed items but nothing mind blowing or highly collectable. They seem to go with quantity over quality and thats okay if that is what you are looking for.

4. You can also switch blocks so if you wanted to try a different box you can do so without creating a new subscription.

Cons

1. Lack of contact info. They dont have a phone number, so in the instance that you may need to talk to someone immediately you are out of luck. Email is your only option to contact customer service. At best it has taken a couple of days, the worst was one week.

2. Lack of highly sought after collectibles. Most of the items in the blocks were off the shelf items that can be found in any retail store; they arent bad items but they arent exclusive to the box. You will not get many Funko Pops (if you are interested in those, I know lots of other boxes include them) and when you do get them they are not block exclusive pops.

3. Exclusives that are included in the box are not that exclusive. Most sub boxes include an item that can only be found in their box. Usually its just a variation on an already existing item but still you can only get it in the box. Nerd Block does have exclusives but I have noticed recently these exclusives showing up on Nerd Blocks sister company website shirt punch who also provide the t-shirts for the blocks. If you are going to label items exclusive to your subscription boxes you shouldnt be able to buy them later on, whats the point of the box if you can pick and choose what you want later on from another website?

Neutral

Blocks dont have a specific theme. The theme is loosely mentioned but if you look on their site they dont say what the months theme is, they tell you what fandoms you can expect in the box. Included in each block is a hint of what you can expect in the next block. The fandom you can get in the block is also displayed on their websites but it makes it difficult to decide if you want to skip a box or not. Even when they give you the hint you dont know how big the item will be, it could be the theme of the t-shirt, it could be a vinyl figure or it could be buttons. This can be disappointing if you really like the fandom and the item inside isnt that great. Other subscription boxes have a theme so if you can decide if you want to skip that month or not. Also, not every fandom is mentioned in the hint, so you may miss out on your favorite fandom because it isnt listed. I know its kind of a mystery box, but I think thats why themes can be important.

Overall it was fun for a couple of months to get nerd blocks but since the products were not really that great the boxes seemed to get worse as time went on. Only one box completely knocked it out of the park for me out of all the blocks I got. There were a couple of items in each box that I liked and the shirts every month were nice, but two items and a t-shirt dont justify the cost of the block for me, especially since I could get the same items and sometimes the t-shirt from shirt punch.

I would recommend browsing un-boxing videos on you tube for your Nerd block of interest to see if the items included are things you would want to receive and then just get a one month subscription.

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
mariah51
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
7/7/14

I bought a NerdBlock Girls Jr for my friend in another state -- she was delighted when it arrived! The products were all high quality and the assortment was spectacular.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the NerdBlock staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for NerdBlock

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
NerdBlock?
Post Review