Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ModelMayhem

ModelMayhem reviews

Is this your business?
119 reviews
909 North Sepulveda Blvd., 11th Floor
El Segundo, CA 90245, US
Tel: 310-280-4000
mods@modelmayhem.com

119 Reviews From Our Community

Service
7
Value
5
Shipping
2
Returns
2
Quality
5

All Reviews

kc265
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/10/19

that's all this site is. steer clear and DO NOT let any women you know join. they have these $8 and hour moderators slinging girls for inappropriate things, The most well know is LIz a, she thinks she is a stellar model when in reality she is just a traveling prostitute with no agency experience.

mikes1758
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/27/19

I signed up for an account - they took my money and never opened an account - best to call the better business bureau first - it's a scam!

samm364
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/26/19

Moved to this site from onemodelplace - and have hated the move. I posted one nude with full bush and they banned my account - and offered no refund. I had the account less that 3 weeks During my tenure there were member who said terrible things to other photographers and models - very unprofessional site. Too many egos in one place. Stay away from the site because they WILL rip you off. Way overpricd and scammy

ericb436
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/25/19

Been a paying customer for years to promote my fashion and swimwear photography. They shut down my account without any warning for posting two PG rated implied photos taken from a recent photoshoot. When asked if I could just remove it, they refused to refund or re-activate my account.

Would not recommend this company until they re-train their moderators. Terrible customer service and time is better spent on instagram and facebook where this is more active traffic.

ninak48
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/13/19

I reported a guy on their site that I found possibly unsafe and dangerous. they didn't care and blocked my profile instead. I would say not safe to connect with anyone on there because they don't protect the models on there.

casidyj
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/7/19

Models wanting to "colaborate" and some willing to give "first one free" then blackmail you. One reason they are banned from airport and most publicwifi is they are front for escorts and strippers. Stay away!!!

alfredz5
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/5/19

I checked the site with Sucuri SiteCheck and Model Mahem has been hacked and is full of malware. The site is listed as "High Risk"

artemiya
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/14/18

The worst experience I've ever had before, they stole the money from my card!!!! And when I call them they never respond

alank136
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/30/18

They charged for a VIP membership and a posting then closed the account with no explanation, Stay away!

jimd319
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
10/25/18

What a terrible site. Hard to navigate. Awful customer service. Scams galore and no app. It appears that they created a site 20 years ago and forgot about maintaining and updating. There are far more credible sites out there.

clickc3
1 review
7 helpful votes
9/29/18

I dont knock anyones hustle, to each their own. I thought i was the only one noticing all the escorts and strippers dictating the MM world. They want 100 an hour 3 hour minimum. 350 half day 700 all day. They want all the photos, no logo and most never give credit. Im not a professional, was just trying to learn photography. But with the drama,flakey models and all the photoshop i have to do, not really worth it.

lucys109
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/27/18

I had a model account and a photography account for many years. I was also a VIP member on my photography account for quite a long time.

2 models who were friends of mine asked me to help them setup a model mayhem account, because they did not know how(along with email, twitter, Instagram etc) so I did. Periodically they would ask me to help them upload photos, due to the archaic upload system(less than 1mb files and pixel amount limitations) so I did.

I then had both my model and photography page removed and told I had breached the rules. I contacted the moderator about this and they said the rules state accounts can only be handled by one person. I said fair enough, honest mistake but rule is the rule.i was also told I would not be allowed to create any new accounts.

However, both models, who were the ones who asked me to help and therefore ALSO broke their apparently unbreakable rules, were allowed to create new accounts with no issue at all.

So I did not give others access to my account, but I broke the rules and was banned but the ones who DID give access to another were not banned.

completely contradict their own rules and show a complete double standard. it is not a surprise that the site is slowly dying.

Tip for consumers: dont, use modern options.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
aubreyw16
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/27/18

The site is built upon making ladies and their pics readily accessible to pervs.

They allow your photos to be collected into lists for creepers to keep in folders to use later. There's no benefit to the posted to have their pics off their profile where it has their contact info, stats, rates, etc. Most of us call lists the spano bank. List for boobs are creatively renamed to hide their intent,. But it's frighteningly transparent.

Hobbyist pervs are indignant if you don't want to pull your convo off of model mayhem where they try to get your contact info under guise of work. These profiles give false legitimacy as there's no review system to show whose actually gotten work by these losers.

Popular opinion is more heavily regarded in the forums than professional advice from those with higher credentials but doesn't use the site for social pandering with friends.

All the professionals dumb enough to think there's enough quality on there to compensate for the poor customer service,. Ancient infrastructure, support of creepers, and created a profile, wuickly regretted it and fled.

The site is only good for fake Pat's on the back and escort exchanges

mireillel4
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/19/18

I was on modelmayhem years ago then discovered that my profile had been deleted because apparently I broke their rules. Tried to re-open then create a new account with a new email because they wouldn't delete the email from their database or restore it.

Now finally got a new account, I got a subscription because I wanted to be a good member and follow the rules, only to find out I am blocked again because according to them my account was hacked!

So I had to read through a lot of nonsense basic idiotic stuff and confirm that I understand but that is not all. Now I have to confirm to get a new password that they will scramble.

All I want to do is cancel my subscription at this point but I have no access. Until it is fixed their way. What normal professional site punishes their customers for being hacked on THEIR end! I WANT MY MONEY BACK! Too bad there is not zero rating.

danap85
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/18/18

They force you to reduce all the pictures you upload to a miniature pixel level with low memory. Their customer service is rigid and not real bright, not following their own guidelines sometimes. They'll charge you a lot for running casting calls but you can do a lot better with free or other services.

F ModelMayhem, they've been around too long and smell like another Google Facebook Israeli monopoly

tarab118
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/12/18

I used this site in the past and often found so many creepers on the site, who would push for nudity or other horrible suggestions for modeling. Thankfully I had a good head on my shoulders and did not give into any of the creeps. Later, I turned my focus to working with other models on the site, to ensure we were all given quality work with not creepers. As a model, I really hated this site to find work - so I started finding models to work with me on projects that I found... We Brandi, a worker at Model Mayhem, decided that she did not providing actual quality work to models and shut down my account. I guess her thoughts are to leave the creeps on the site who try to rape or kidnap poor models and aspiring models, than to allow another model to get ACTUAL job and opportunities.... after all that - I really hate this site and hope that models find other avenues to promote themselves on. This site is just full of creeps and that is probably because it is ran by creepy people who have no interest in adding value to this industry.

jeffc363
1 review
2 helpful votes
8/22/18

I ran into Doug Rolls and he has a bad attitude and seems incompetent. He did not listen and he and a co-worker tried to use their power to intimidate an individual. Do not hire this individual.

katiaw4
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/18/18

Astrid Photos

Aug 16 18 04:22 pm
Hi there,

I was wondering why my request to create a profile was denied and closed?

Thanks,
MM Admin
BrandiNettIB

Aug 16 18 04:48 pm
Hi there,

Your account was denied because you appear to have been previously removed from Model Mayhem.

Per our Site Rules and Terms of Use, previously removed members are not permitted to open or maintain any additional accounts.

Thanks,
~ Brandi

Astrid Photos

Aug 16 18 05:00 pm
Hi there,

I am still confused? I do not know how that is possible?

Thanks,

Astrid Photos

Aug 16 18 05:04 pm
Should I be filing for identity theft of sorts? Is there any advice you can give.. I do live in the same house with one photographer and one former model but its my understanding she hasn't done work in years, could this be related to one of them?

Advice would be appreciated much thanks!

MM Moderator
Island Escape

Aug 17 18 07:30 am
I have reviewed all your previous accounts and there is no Identity theft relating to this account or your other accounts that we previously closed.

Your account has been closed in accordance with our Terms of Use: https://www.modelmayhem.com/education/terms-of-use

However, per the Terms of Use and our policies, once a final decision has been made to close an account, we will not elaborate further on the reasons for the account closure or entertain requests for reinstatement. Further, per the Terms of Use, once a member account has been removed by Model Mayhem, the member is no longer eligible to open additional accounts.

Correspondence regarding your account closure should be sent to:

Internet Brands, Inc. Legal Department
909 N. Sepulveda Blvd., 11th FL
El Segundo, CA 90245

We regret that we are unable to address your questions or concerns.

Thank you.
MM Moderator
McGee

Aug 17 18 07:31 am
Hello

We're not seeing anything to indicate identity theft.

McGee

Astrid Photos

Aug 18 18 10:15 am
Well that is great news......

I am still confused on how this can be happening? I have already looked at competitive sites which I intend to join. But I am very alarmed as I have never had an account with you guys, I was also referred via roommate to this site.

Ill go ahead and reach out to the snail mail address you have provided if they do not have an email address in this day and age? I will also be reaching out to the BBB and whom ever else in-regards to the quick judgement and lack of investigation on your part.

Thanks for nothing,
MM Moderator
Island Escape

Aug 18 18 10:21 am
Your Welcome

Astrid Photos

Aug 18 18 09:57 pm
Yah..... I feel completely and quite bothered that you folks are not as alarmed as I am. I feel like this might be identity theft at this point. And you guys are careless nor will give me the time of day to send my Id, etc to verify. How can you even conclude that this isn't identity theft? Also I will be keeping this email and sharing.. Ill be sure to list this conversation on BBB, consumer complaints etc. People should be terrified at your guy's lack of CARE in regards to IDENTITY THEFT.. That is criminal! Who do you think I am? I have NEVER opened an account with you people, yet you claim to already have had my information???????

And I am seriously surprised you guys do not have a phone# or even an email address to go through for Internet Brands, Inc. Legal Department.

vicr17
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/31/18

I only received responses from hookers coming to my town and want to get together. I joined to become part of the photography community. They only badgered me for money and then closed my account because I didn't pay

ronl143
1 review
10 helpful votes
7/16/18

I would agree with the majority of the reviews not a reputable site for models or professional photographers. Anyone who thinks they are going to grow their careers based on Model Mayhem need to get real. This is basically a pick up site for escorts and prostitutes to hook up. If you are looking for artist try a reputable art schools. This is a site is where people claim to be professionals when in fact their not, and its loaded with unsavory creepy people . You have gone low when you deal with sites like this. Its mostly images of nudity, Most people dont buy porn anymore it's free on sites like this... Stay away from sites like this, if you are trying to grow your career

bruisedw
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
6/23/18

This site invites a forum for the like minded... those interested in networking to find a model, photographer, hair or mua. It welcomes newbies and all those aspiring to do and be more. It does not guarantee that you would have a good experience or that because you say you MODEL that you can or if you say you are PHOTOGRAPHER that you are perfect. In my opinion, it is a good site for this. Of course, you have to be careful and wise about your decisions

anthonyl159
1 review
11 helpful votes
4/27/18

Aside from Uber, these guys take the cake. I am a paying customer and have been on the site for years. they shut me down without a warning, telling me I was outside my bounds and that i needed to upgrade my account to a monthly paid service beyond what I was already paying. No one reached out to help, they just shut me down. Funny how they figured this out after me being on their site for over 5 years, duh. So i opened another account which i thought was in compliance, I reached out to their customer sevice team and they could not have been any more unprofessional / rude. They shut my account down again saying that i clearly didn't read their term of use otherwise i wouldn't have opened another account. No explanation or assistance to help me get my paid account back on their site, they basically told me to go screw myself.

So they lose, they don't get my money and to the folks at MM, go screw yourselves. the site is awful and full of low class individuals especially those at the top, management and customer service. I hope they all get on a plane one day and wind up floating in the ocean, where they belong. the lowest of the lowest scum of the earth. Modelmayhem.com Stay away

lizw81
1 review
12 helpful votes
3/31/18

I applied with two profiles since I do both modeling and photography work. I have fashion show experience and because of this I was very surprised to find out that both applications were rejected.

In the first application as a model I don't understand the decision at all. Because if this site is not for professional models, than who is it for? Strippers? Hookers? People who they would like to date? And for the second profile they simply assumed that my photos must have been someone else's because they don't expect high quality photos. Either that or the only other option is heavy sexism. Because most photographers on the site are in fact men. I won't deal with them again. Overall it makes no sense for them to exclude real professionals unless there is something seriously going wrong or something shady with this website.

The help section claims that you can try again in application but that is untrue since they closed my page and write proudly that they don't "let you" delete your account and your data. Which by the way, as a european, is my right. So I am not giving in easily over some website online that pretends as if they could change national or international law by writing their own little rules on the website.

Stay away! Highly unprofessional.

stevea159
1 review
1 helpful vote
3/29/18

We are a brand new mobile app that allows you to connect with other creatives for free. It's designed for amateurs and professionals and is growing daily. We have a rating system to ensure everything is safe and goes to plan. Of course you're still responsible for your own safety but you have a good base to start from. Never go to your first shoot with somebody alone! Check out @photoshoot_app on Instagram for details and a download link. We'd love to have you onboard!

It's been called ''A modern Model Mayhem''. That's kind of embarrassing after reading all of these comments but it shows that it's time for something new.

winrya
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
3/22/18

This website is a joke. Yes people find modeling jobs on the site, but all the photographers are not professional so when you get photos back from the shot you just did, you can't use them because they don't look good. Also, some of the photographers will say they will pay models who model for them..... yeah nope that's a lie. They don't pay you. The truth is this everyone in the professional world knows Model Mayhem is a joke so when you tell someone you have found work on Model Mayhem or you have a profile on the website, they will laugh at you because they site is a joke and so are the people on there

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Try Model Mayhem - LOL!!!

By Bruised W.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You either have to join so you can use their message system. If you do make contact, be sure to exchange off site .email addresses as either 6ou or him could be removed at any time. Do NOT pay any money, because they will just keep it.

By Jeb S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes. Legit photogs don't work alone. Unless you can verify their body of work with other disinterested parties in the business you should not go anywhere. Ask for contracts and references. And tax records - since friends and other pervs can vouch for each other. Insurance policies / certificates of insurance? Legit players can provide these.

By Duke D.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

You won't get any help from the MM site. They take down any attempts to report misconduct. Only way is to get references and check them.

By Henry r.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the ModelMayhem staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

7 Photos for ModelMayhem

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
ModelMayhem?
Post Review