Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Metabody

Metabody reviews

Is this your business?
21 reviews
Tel: (888) 315-6382

21 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

ayam6
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/2/17

Main problem that Metabody have is the system is not connected to the studio. Even studio is on the holiday, I can book from Metabody and surprise! The class canceled or studio is closed!

katiec75
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/15/17

This is by far the worst groupon I've ever bought. They had issues registering my groupon and then after 5 classes it stopped allowing me to book. I also contacted them and they say to just keep trying to book. All the classes are wait listed or do not show up after you purchase as well. Keep your money and spend it on something worthwhile.

elenas7
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/12/13

hi im elena I buy in groupon for 30 class and all i can say its worth it and u can choose what class u want i choose bootcamp and it's amazing experience i have problem about sleeping for 3 year i always wake up it's my first time to try bootcamp,Im very glad i try. the instructor is very nice they will help u a lot.

kn44
1 review
3 helpful votes
7/21/13

OVERALL VERDICT: Not a recommended buy.

WHY: With the hundreds of Metabody passes being sold through Groupon, most of these classes fill up before the expiry date of your pass. The classes that are provided by the partner businesses are intended to provide a sampling of what is offered at each location, and therefore limited to the number of classes available, as well as limited for the number of openings in each class.

MY EXPERIENCE: I had to book classes at least one month ahead or more to guarantee a spot. When partner businesses needed to cancel or change the times of their classes there was little choice on picking another Metabody class to use the pass because everything was already booked up. Not much luck on the waiting list either, and barely managed to use my pass.

mf9
1 review
7 helpful votes
7/11/13

Hello
Your business is a fraud and I demand my money back. I purchased a 20 package of classes for $20 and want every dime back. All this experience has done is waste my time. The arduous registration process, having no operator to speak with directly, several attempts to register for classes (always at capacity) and now my voucher is rejected from your system.
If I don't see a refund in the next 24 hrs I will consult the Better business bureau,file a complaint with the complaint board and ultimately shut your fraudulent business down.

You should be ashamed of yourselves for providing the public with such a disservice.
M

janes36
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/26/13

I found out about MetaBody through a Groupon deal which offered a 30 classes for $20. I was a little suspicious at first as the offer seemed too good to be true. I have to admit the concept for someone like me who frequently gets bored with workouts was really attractive. There are over 28 locations to choose from in my city and one is allowed to sample up to 10 classes at each. So far I'm really enjoying the experience and I'm definitely going to sign up as a member at Fitness 365 which is one of the participating locations. It may seem like a run of the mill gym, but the classes are amazing. I would have never know by the looks of the facility from the outside, but once you come in the staff is warm and welcoming. The instructors really know their stuff. Overall, I'm so glad that I purchased this Groupon, two thumbs up!

robertak
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
12/11/12

Signing up for classes was a piece of cake, but having to print off the confirmation email everytime I go is a little annoying. The gym I have been going to has been absolutely fabulous and welcoming. Most of all, the childcare is a God-send. Less than $1 a class, what a deal!

crystalw2
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
12/4/12

Awesome pass! I used all 30 of my classes and I'm planning on getting another!

aleashas
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/19/12

This has been an awful experience for myself as a business partner to work with Metabody. They don't inform clients of the procedure, drop the ball on follow up, and they are dishonest in my opinion. We would never do business with them again! Warning to all businesses to stay away! Do not sign an agreement with them- and I'd you do- please put it in writing that you don't wish to participate again unless you contact them. They will continue to use your business name in future promotions without your consent.
Aleasha Shipman of Yoga Monkey & Fitness

gails12
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/20/12

Metabody Fitness it waste of time and energy. I have signed up for 3 classes where instructors never showed up (2 in this week). I had another class tonight at Hottie Pilates. Again the instructor never showed. I am tired of wasting my time, gas, printer supplies, and lost opportunity cost for exercise. You cannot rely on their instructors. I was told tonight that the woman who runs Hottie Pilates hasn't shown up to her studio in 3 months. Don't refuse to waste your time anymore with your instructors.

rebeccal8
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
9/5/12

I tried Metabody to regain my self-confidence. Yes, it's an old excuse or reason but it's the truth. You lose your confidence once you start gaining weight.
Coming from a semi-sedentary lifestyle going through the initial weeks was like going up the first steep ramp of the roller coaster. I always wanted to quit every time my body hurts but I need to be focused because I know I can do it! At first this was very challenging especially with a very demanding line of work but I was able to do it because I had quite a lot of options to choose from. Sad to say tho that I wasn't able to use all classes before it expired :( but I'm hoping they do one again soon!

arseniyk
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/7/12

bought a Groupon, then was charged for $20 tax, but in two weeks I checked my online banking and found out that I was charged not for $20, but for $400! Talked to the support 4 times for two weeks. Still didn't get money back and yes, it's impossible to book classes on their twisted website.

carinh
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/11/12

Awful. I have a groupon for a 30-day class but classes are impossible to book and the system is a hassle. If you miss 2 classes, your membership is revoked and you're billed $20. Not worth it...

darwinj
3 reviews
6 helpful votes
5/9/12

I just finished using a fitness pass offered by this company for 30 classes with various locations. I have tried Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu and it's really painful to learn. I have tried out another location only this time it was a dance studio. I really enjoyed those classes. Finally, I tried out Train like Jane classes at Core Fitness. This is the first time I have tried different workouts and exercises and I can tell you that I had a blast for the most part. As a previous person noted, I don't like how the registration works. It's too much work to use and I had to get help from their customer service team. If it wasn't for them, I probably won't be able to figure it out. Another thing is I didn't like how one of the locations treated groupon pass holders differently and they weren't too accommodating. I just wanna tell you studio owners that groupon users are potential customers. I'm one who ended up joining Core Fitness, not only because the classes were awesome, but because they treated me like a real person and wanted to make sure that I came away happy! I work for a surveying company and I tell you this, 60% of customers try out promos before making a buying decision. For metabody, commendation for you guys, your pass is great!

jarede2
3 reviews
3 helpful votes
5/7/12

Still sore from bootcamp classes but over-all had a nice workout. For almost 94% savings, it's really a good deal. Just passing it along.

darrellp1
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/19/12

It was my first time buying something off Groupon and I'm glad it was for Metabody. Had quite a time figuring out how to get started but their customer service was really helpful. Real stoked to start my first class in a few!

reannaf
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
4/12/12

I purchased a metabody fitness pass for 30 class pass here in dc. 30 classes but i only used 19 classes so far due to my schedule. I decided to talk to the location nearest to my house for a regular membership fee if I could. but i was so surprised that im going to pay $149.50 for just 8 classes and only twice a week. I attended 10 classes here for only $20 with metabody fitness pass and classes we're great! I attended one location again and took 9 classes ans I still have 11 to go but i can say that i took enough for just $20! yes I admit that sometimes, i attended the class but it was cancelled but later on, I found out that the gym did not notify metabody about this cancellation ahead of time. they credited the class anyway and it's okay. im going to buy another fitness pass on next metabody promo here in our city! 2 thumbs up guys!!!

joanh4
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
3/16/12

I bought a Groupon for the $20 for 30 classes in Toronto and I absolute LOVE the concept! You get to try out a bunch of studios and classes, everything from Yoga to Boot Camp. I absolutely fell in love with the classes offered at Tula Yoga and I would of never found this place if it wasn't for MetaBody. I would of given it 5 stars had it not been for the sign up process. It was a little difficult, but then again I'm not what you call computer savvy. Overall, though, I give it two thumbs up!

maggiep
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/30/11

Fitness establishments: beware of Metabody!!! They want to "promote" your business on deal sites like groupon and such, yet the fitness establishments get absolutely ZERO from endless clients taking hundreds of FREE classes from you! The clients pay money and it goes into the pockets of Metabody and groupon, none goes to the fitness establishment. This type of transaction GREATLY de-values the fitness services we professionals work so hard to provide. It's a sad cheap swindle. DO NOT SIGN UP.

dorism2
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/30/11

Metabody is a METAJOKE. I have been trying for 2 weeks to register for classes the web site always comes up unavalble. Site is difficult to navigate. Still have not hearback from emails to support site for metabody. Will be requesting my refund from GROUPON :(

teresar1
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/2/10

Got a Living Social Deal coupon for 6 classes of Boot Camp back in Aug/10. What a runaround! I found the website difficult to navigate. Had hard time finding schedules of classes. Had difficult finding information about where I could apply this coupon and how to sign up. Contacted their support and was given instructions but even these were minimal and did not answer all my questions. Initially told that schedule for a certain site would be coming out shortly (back in August). It has now only come out and the site I wanted is not even being offered. The classes are mostly all full and those available require a 20-30 min drive or to go downtown. The deal expires Feb. 10/10 and there are no classes scheduled after Nov. 29th. How am I supposed to book 6 classes between now and Feb. 10/10? On top of that there is an additional charge of $3.25 for taxes for each class adding another $20 to the cost. It would have been nice to know this when I bought the deal. It has turned out to be not a great deal at all. What's worse is that I got 2 of my friends to buy this deal as well. We are now not going to bother to take these classes and just chock it up to a bad experience.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Metabody staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Metabody?
Post Review