Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of LifePixel

LifePixel reviews

15 reviews
13024 Beverly Park Road
Mukilteo, WA 98275, US
Tel: 866.610.1710
service@lifepixel.com

15 Reviews From Our Community

Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
1

All Reviews

johnp1486
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/12/19

After waiting nearly two weeks with no status update regarding the conversion of my Olympus camera, I contacted LifePixel. Their response... "It'll be shipping this week for sure!" I received a converted camera and which was unable to autofocus. Obviously the camera conversion had not been checked... POOR QUALITY CONTROL! I contacted the company who expected me to ship it back to themselves at my expense so that they could rectify their mistakes. That would cost me a further $100 as I live in the UK. POOR SERVICE >>> POOR COMMUNICATIONS >>> BOTCHE CAMERA CONVERSION!

My advice... DO NOT HAVE A CAMERA CONVERTED BY LifePixel!

rw70
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/24/17

These bastards stole my brand new camera... do not trust them with new equipment you will never see it again... 2 grand down the drain thanks a lot... Karma is a $#*!...

johns1564
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/25/16

I've a D700 but didn't want to muck it up, so bought a 2nd-hand D90 and sent it to LifePixel for UV+vis+IR conversion. I'm using it mostly for UV, but checked IR performance, and it does everything I hoped for. See http://johnsankey.ca/insectvision.html for what I'm using it for.

kathleenm63
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/19/16

I sent my camera in to Life Pixel in December 2015 then went away for the holidays. On my return, I expected to have a nice new conversion waiting for me. It wasn't. After a month of waiting I finally contacted them check the status on my camera. They apologized and said they broke my camera. "It happens" they said. I finally got my camera back - broken (after threatening to take my complaints to social media) - and sent it for repairs. Here's the result from the company that repaired it...

We finally finished the repair your Pentax. What we found was not good. Inside, there were copper shields that were out of place and loose, and had shorted out your motherboard. The wires leading to the motherboard were also soldered back to the wrong places, putting current in places it shouldn't go. The flex cable leading from the stabilizer unit was in the wrong place and was pinched between another board. They did not attempt a sensor conversion at all, they saw that the sensor was spring loaded and must have given up, but not until after removing the sensor first and misaligning it. We then found some of the screws they had put in were not original, and had been pressing down on the shaker making it inoperable. I'm honestly shocked to see this kind of work inside a camera done by a company that is generally considered reputable. If they have not given you a refund for what you paid them I would absolutely make sure you get it back, and they should have also covered the repair or replacement of your equipment, it is absolutely ridiculous how they returned it to you. If you have not yet, I would post reviews of their work so that others do not fall into this trap.

So be warned...DO NOT send your camera to Life Pixel for IR conversion. They will ruin it and then try to weasel their way out of replacing/repairing your camera. This is a lesson I learned the hard way.

jefferyh9
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/19/15

Converted a D800 and the compact flash slot stopped working. Due to travel I was unable to ship it for repairs before the warranty ran out. I had lengthy communication prior to the trip and was NEVER told not to use the camera. upon my return they said I may have damaged the camera and they wouldn't stand behind the conversion. The SD slot works but the compact flash doesn't. They never offered to even take a look but played a game of trying to blame me for a problem they created.More amazing to me is they never ever tested the cameras functionality prior to returning it to me. I wouldn't go near a company that is so unscrupulous. Keep away. there are other companies doing conversions that don't slam the door on their own faulty workmanship.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
jamesm224
4 reviews
16 helpful votes
12/31/14

Love this for Photography. A great site for photography fans.

jamesn40
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/6/14

I recently purchased a used Nikon D80 for the sole purpose of having it converted to infrared. I sent the camera to lifepixel.com for conversion. The photos the D80 took were great. While changhing from color to black and white the shutter broke, not Life Pixel's fault. I called their office and they said that all I had to do was return the camera and they would check it out. About a week late a fine fellow named Daniel Malkin called me and said they could not repair it. They did, however, tell me they would buy another D80, convert it, and return it for no charge. Great service! So far I have had two other D80s converted and given them as gifts to friends.

nicholasw15
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
11/3/14

A great site for photography fans.

mejov
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
8/21/14

I just got my converted 7D back and it's amazing. Took some analyze photos and just having excellent fun with it. Time that you took describing the options to me and trying to comprehend how I would be using the camera when it was transformed was important and the guides on the web page were excellent in improving my publish catch work-flow. I cannot say thank you enough for an amazing job done!

kimberlym22
6 reviews
124 helpful votes
1/20/14

Interesting site for camera lenses to use and what specifications. Will really keep coming back to the site. 1 star less coz I think this can be improved.

christinam16
12 reviews
306 helpful votes
10/2/13

Good source of Images. Love them.

tracyh1
57 reviews
278 helpful votes
6/24/10

Their website has some beautiful photos on the home page and I would love to be able to take shots like that. Can't all of this be done in photoshop? or is this just an easy way to make images look like this? Do I have to change my digital camera forever to get it to work like this?

toddl
80 reviews
315 helpful votes
6/23/10

I just found this site thanks to Barney. Pretty cool use for an old digital camera. I see these infrared photography photos at those art and wine festivals and they always sell for so much money because they look artistic and are difficult to take photos of them. I would enjoy trying my hand at this type of photography but it does appear it is rather pricey to get your camera converted by them. They sell filters for cheap and even give you instructions on doing it yourself. Might just spend a day tearing apart my old camera.

barneyl
41 reviews
473 helpful votes
6/22/10

The price tag to convert your camera to an IR camera is fairly steep... $400 for my old canon DSLR. The images however are amazing once they convert it. They calibrate it to a standard 50mm 1.8 lens and if you shoot wider you might want to send in your lens for calibration along with it. I usually shoot stopped down to f11 so it is not a big deal but I have heard of others who shoot at f2.8 and such needing calibration. You could also order the filter and have a local shop do it for you, but these guys do a great job and this is all they do so I would use them over a local shop. I would not recommend the DYI guide unless you are really really good. Nice they provide that though

user73
6 reviews
14 helpful votes
10/20/08

Convert your old DSLR to an Infrared camera - I sent in my old Canon 10D and they did a great job of turning it into an IR camera. It only took them a few weeks from the time I sent the camera off to when it was returned to me. If you don't know what an IR photo looks like take a peek at one off their site
<img src="http://www.lifepixel.com/images/samples/3C.jpg" alt="alt" width="300" height="200" />

Definitely better than selling or giving away an old DSLR, just turn it into an IR camera.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the LifePixel staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
LifePixel?
Post Review