We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Last.fm

Corporate Values

Overview

Last.fm has a consumer rating of 3.89 stars from 45 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. Consumers satisfied with Last.fm most frequently mention new music. Last.fm ranks 4th among Radio sites.

  • Service
    2
  • Value
    3
  • Shipping
    2
  • Returns
    2
  • Quality
    3
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
2
View ratings trends
How would you rate Last.fm?
Top Positive Review

“This website is amazing”

Roger B.
6/21/19

I've used last.fm since 2015. This is great when you see the evolution of your music preferences, statistics can say really a lot about you and that's how you remember what has happened in October 2016, for instance, your mood and inner state. Also, recommendations work well and help you to discover new bands that you probably will like. Also, there is a lot of information about the bands.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“The decline of a great site.”

Aleksandar F.
11/25/20

CBS took over the platform on May 30,2007. That is when everything positive becomes the opposite. If you are bullied, if somebody harasses you, mobs you, your reports are ignored. If you are raided, it is your fault. If you contact the staff, you MAY be lucky if they answer you next month. They do not respond to your ticket. Even if they respond, you get a copy/paste answer that will never help. When you contact the administration to complain, they will inform you that they take issues that you have with the malicious user "very seriously." But due to privacy issues, they will be unable to share with you the results of their investigation. This is code for we do not intend to help you rectify this situation, and you are on your own. They do not help. They facilitate, and when there are problems, they state that they are not responsible for anything that happens under their platform. I would encourage consumers to contact the FTC and other federal organizations in the US and UK to report this company for treating their customers, artists, bands, and subscribers like trash. If it were possible to rate this shoddy site with zero stars, I would do so because they do not deserve any! People are harassed and stalked. Spammers, vandalized Wikipedia articles, voting manipulation of comments and galleries, trolls, robotic accounts that are inflating the charts to keep a toxic band on the No. 1 list, expel circumvents, and more. Criminals can do what they want here; they are never punished or banned. Even if users report them many times, they won't do anything to cease them. The administration does nothing to help its members. The only moderator that I saw that is good is liftarn. I saw him locking Wikipedia articles to prevent vandalism. That is the only moderator that does its job. They are not helping my friends and others, let alone me. Reports are always ignored. They said, "Opinions are allowed to have." I get it, you are allowed to have an opinion, but given how the fandom community is biased, then it's pointless to have it when you are not allowed to express it. It's one thing to have a contrary opinion, but ignoring the facts of what is playing on this site is another thing. The unprofessional staff ignores many trolls on this site or any violating user in general. Last.FM is turning into another bland social media site. Misuses are on every corner, and the support team has no will or desires to terminate them. They launched the new terms of service last year, which resulted in many bands who are sharing the same page being censored. It takes years for an old bug to be fixed. Even if they fix it, they do it sloppily. They cannot finish disambiguation how incapable they are. A simple request that doesn't take a chef to implement. People have been requesting this since the first day of this update. They have been waiting for this feature for over +10 years, and the team still hasn't implemented it yet. When it took them five years to implement username change, a basic feature, which every site has, then that tells you enough how horrendous they are. Robotic accounts are running rampant on their platform. Look up the charts, and you will see the same band standing on the No. 1 list for several years. It's a small chance to see another artist or a musician on the charts. A perfect example of this misuse is BTS. People asked the administration to abolish their robotic accounts because they outdid Mr. Brightside. Even regular BTS fans told them to report this issue to the administration. The administration did nothing! They approved their actions by pinning a screenshot on their official Twitter account. That was despicable! What they did was spit in a face! If you dare to report them, they will mark your complaint as hostile and threaten to suspend or terminate your account. Even if it's an insightful complaint, they will delete it or unlisted it. Someone wrote a thread about this issue, and the moderator locked it up with the threat that they would face the consequences for their "actions" if they continued at that pace. You are not allowed, according to their community manager, to criticize something unless you didn't listen to it. Only a dictator or an inquisitor would say that. That is what this moderator is doing. He is acting like an inquisitor, and he is getting away with it because he is a community manager. People have reported this poisonous fandom for mockery and mobbing, and the administration is reluctant to take action against them. But that's why they take action at the request of this toxic BTS fandom when someone dares to say something bad about their "untouchables." Even if it is insightful criticism, they will delete it. They took away many notable features from the user base. Groups are nuked; the forum is replaced with a botched forum that never worked well. Fortunately, they launched a new one that works better, but it's still not the same. If you want to talk to someone about music, you need to create an account on other sites. That is a waste of time and energy. Why complicating it when it can be simple? The commentary section needs a complete overhaul. Even after the redesign, it is something straight out of 2000s websites. They are archaic, don't usually encourage conversation, and overall don't help the users socialize at this site at all. They should become much more expressive and help the users to interact much more freely with each other. Some of the shoutboxes are filled with trolls, and these are very successful at trolling because shoutboxes discourage people from posting quality content. The report button is useless since nobody at the devious office is viewing these reports. The Old Guard left this site a long time ago. Today on the site, you can see hysterical adolescents, fools, and trolls. The only activity that happens is when a musician releases a new album. Only then can you see signs of activity, but it is short-lived. Those who remained are no longer active. Most of them stopped visiting their profile to see who sent them the message. As many of them said, this site is a ghost town. The mailbox is outdated, obsolete, and it looks like the first mailbox from a social site at the beginning of 2000. You don't have full control when it comes to checking messages. There is no report button to report spam, bigotry or trolling. You cannot see who is responding to you. You must visit the artist's page to see the message. What a bunch of nonsense. If somebody else is discussing with somebody under your discussion, you are still notified even if that response is directed towards someone else, not you. Many features in the mailbox are missing making it useless. They are censoring people who dare to complain. They are treating members of the band like trash. They refuse to give them the full privilege to control the page of a band they formed. Trolls are flooding the commentary section with inflammatory comments, and they are getting away with it. Moderators are worthless. They are only capable of censoring you at the request of little toxic fans if you dared to criticize their favorites. For that, they are experts, but for major things, they are useless. The administration will criticize you and condemn you based on something stupid that you did years ago and you want to forget. I saw that at one user, while I was anonymously browsing the topic, I followed. After his final response, he locked it. The user wants to forget what he did years ago, but the community manager keeps opening his old wounds. It's disgusting! Look up pages of popular bands like Radiohead and Opeth. They are full of toxic comments that show bigotry and misogyny. It is a septic tank. Tags are misused. Many artists and bands are labeled with all possible tags. You cannot post a comment or start a discussion with someone without the idiots replying to you and eradicating the conversation you had with someone by writing inane replies. Their community manager is biased, arrogant, intrusive, relentless, and unprofessional. They have a support team that locks up topics and complaints. They use "community guidelines" as a shield to silence and censor you. It's a surprise to see this site has an administration. By the rules, trolling, sending spam, creating robotic accounts to abuse chart features, and harassment are against it, and even against the law. The support team said they had banished these robotic accounts in the past, but they are not doing that anymore. Last.FM doesn't care about you. Instead, they ban users who have reported such users. The only way they will make them see is to take them to court. It's sad to see such a good site go to hell after the launch of BETA in 2015. It deserves to be extinguished forever. When that happens, everybody will be happy. I cannot wait for that day to come. I cannot believe that CBS wasted almost a quart a billion dollars on this lousy trash of a site that died five years ago. They should nuke it after the BETA launch in 2015. Avoid it at all costs. That is my advice.

See critical reviews

Reviews (45)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

rogerb276
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
June 21st, 2019
I've used last.fm since 2015. This is great when you see the evolution of your music preferences, statistics can say really a lot about you and that's how you remember what has happened in October 2016, for instance, your mood and inner state. Also, recommendations work well and help you to discover new bands that you probably will like. Also, there is a lot of information about the bands.
nicop7
62 reviews
114 helpful votes
August 14th, 2019
I love how they changed Last.fm. It's great for discovering new music recommendations and for keeping track of the music that you listen to. And you can scrobble from so many different sources.
Value
Quality
chayac
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
June 1st, 2017
Really good. Much music and easy to use. A second everyday service to me together with another one everyone knows
aleksandarf
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
November 25th, 2020
CBS took over the platform on May 30,2007. That is when everything positive becomes the opposite. If you are bullied, if somebody harasses you, mobs you, your reports are ignored. If you are raided, it is your fault. If you contact the staff, you MAY be lucky if they answer you next month. They do not respond to your ticket. Even if they respond, you get a copy/paste answer that will never help. When you contact the administration to complain, they will inform you that they take issues that you have with the malicious user "very seriously."

But due to privacy issues, they will be unable to share with you the results of their investigation. This is code for we do not intend to help you rectify this situation, and you are on your own. They do not help. They facilitate, and when there are problems, they state that they are not responsible for anything that happens under their platform. I would encourage consumers to contact the FTC and other federal organizations in the US and UK to report this company for treating their customers, artists, bands, and subscribers like trash. If it were possible to rate this shoddy site with zero stars, I would do so because they do not deserve any!

People are harassed and stalked. Spammers, vandalized Wikipedia articles, voting manipulation of comments and galleries, trolls, robotic accounts that are inflating the charts to keep a toxic band on the No. 1 list, expel circumvents, and more. Criminals can do what they want here; they are never punished or banned. Even if users report them many times, they won't do anything to cease them. The administration does nothing to help its members. The only moderator that I saw that is good is liftarn. I saw him locking Wikipedia articles to prevent vandalism. That is the only moderator that does its job.

They are not helping my friends and others, let alone me. Reports are always ignored. They said, "Opinions are allowed to have." I get it, you are allowed to have an opinion, but given how the fandom community is biased, then it's pointless to have it when you are not allowed to express it. It's one thing to have a contrary opinion, but ignoring the facts of what is playing on this site is another thing.

The unprofessional staff ignores many trolls on this site or any violating user in general. Last.FM is turning into another bland social media site. Misuses are on every corner, and the support team has no will or desires to terminate them. They launched the new terms of service last year, which resulted in many bands who are sharing the same page being censored. It takes years for an old bug to be fixed. Even if they fix it, they do it sloppily. They cannot finish disambiguation how incapable they are. A simple request that doesn't take a chef to implement. People have been requesting this since the first day of this update.

They have been waiting for this feature for over +10 years, and the team still hasn't implemented it yet. When it took them five years to implement username change, a basic feature, which every site has, then that tells you enough how horrendous they are. Robotic accounts are running rampant on their platform. Look up the charts, and you will see the same band standing on the No. 1 list for several years. It's a small chance to see another artist or a musician on the charts. A perfect example of this misuse is BTS. People asked the administration to abolish their robotic accounts because they outdid Mr. Brightside. Even regular BTS fans told them to report this issue to the administration. The administration did nothing! They approved their actions by pinning a screenshot on their official Twitter account. That was despicable! What they did was spit in a face!

If you dare to report them, they will mark your complaint as hostile and threaten to suspend or terminate your account. Even if it's an insightful complaint, they will delete it or unlisted it. Someone wrote a thread about this issue, and the moderator locked it up with the threat that they would face the consequences for their "actions" if they continued at that pace. You are not allowed, according to their community manager, to criticize something unless you didn't listen to it. Only a dictator or an inquisitor would say that. That is what this moderator is doing. He is acting like an inquisitor, and he is getting away with it because he is a community manager. People have reported this poisonous fandom for mockery and mobbing, and the administration is reluctant to take action against them. But that's why they take action at the request of this toxic BTS fandom when someone dares to say something bad about their "untouchables." Even if it is insightful criticism, they will delete it.

They took away many notable features from the user base. Groups are nuked; the forum is replaced with a botched forum that never worked well. Fortunately, they launched a new one that works better, but it's still not the same. If you want to talk to someone about music, you need to create an account on other sites. That is a waste of time and energy. Why complicating it when it can be simple? The commentary section needs a complete overhaul.

Even after the redesign, it is something straight out of 2000s websites. They are archaic, don't usually encourage conversation, and overall don't help the users socialize at this site at all. They should become much more expressive and help the users to interact much more freely with each other. Some of the shoutboxes are filled with trolls, and these are very successful at trolling because shoutboxes discourage people from posting quality content. The report button is useless since nobody at the devious office is viewing these reports.

The Old Guard left this site a long time ago. Today on the site, you can see hysterical adolescents, fools, and trolls. The only activity that happens is when a musician releases a new album. Only then can you see signs of activity, but it is short-lived. Those who remained are no longer active. Most of them stopped visiting their profile to see who sent them the message. As many of them said, this site is a ghost town.

The mailbox is outdated, obsolete, and it looks like the first mailbox from a social site at the beginning of 2000. You don't have full control when it comes to checking messages. There is no report button to report spam, bigotry or trolling. You cannot see who is responding to you. You must visit the artist's page to see the message. What a bunch of nonsense. If somebody else is discussing with somebody under your discussion, you are still notified even if that response is directed towards someone else, not you. Many features in the mailbox are missing making it useless.
They are censoring people who dare to complain. They are treating members of the band like trash. They refuse to give them the full privilege to control the page of a band they formed. Trolls are flooding the commentary section with inflammatory comments, and they are getting away with it. Moderators are worthless. They are only capable of censoring you at the request of little toxic fans if you dared to criticize their favorites. For that, they are experts, but for major things, they are useless. The administration will criticize you and condemn you based on something stupid that you did years ago and you want to forget. I saw that at one user, while I was anonymously browsing the topic, I followed. After his final response, he locked it. The user wants to forget what he did years ago, but the community manager keeps opening his old wounds. It's disgusting!

Look up pages of popular bands like Radiohead and Opeth. They are full of toxic comments that show bigotry and misogyny. It is a septic tank. Tags are misused. Many artists and bands are labeled with all possible tags. You cannot post a comment or start a discussion with someone without the idiots replying to you and eradicating the conversation you had with someone by writing inane replies. Their community manager is biased, arrogant, intrusive, relentless, and unprofessional. They have a support team that locks up topics and complaints.

They use "community guidelines" as a shield to silence and censor you. It's a surprise to see this site has an administration. By the rules, trolling, sending spam, creating robotic accounts to abuse chart features, and harassment are against it, and even against the law. The support team said they had banished these robotic accounts in the past, but they are not doing that anymore. Last.FM doesn't care about you. Instead, they ban users who have reported such users. The only way they will make them see is to take them to court. It's sad to see such a good site go to hell after the launch of BETA in 2015. It deserves to be extinguished forever. When that happens, everybody will be happy. I cannot wait for that day to come. I cannot believe that CBS wasted almost a quart a billion dollars on this lousy trash of a site that died five years ago. They should nuke it after the BETA launch in 2015. Avoid it at all costs. That is my advice.
chrisj81
26 reviews
64 helpful votes
September 9th, 2015
This is a decent service. I find it easier to just do a youtube search for a band that i like and then look at the recommended videos.
ronaldw60
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
November 10th, 2016
I used to check Last Fm couple times per hour in the past. But after changes they've made I don't use this website so often. Still the project are awesome!
kaseyp
19 reviews
69 helpful votes
August 16th, 2010
I think I like all the other ones beside this one. Pandora and iheart radio rock! I give them this much credit. I thought it was cool when they first came out. It's not as cool as how it use to be since all these other guys came out with better features and stuff..
taylorj11
129 reviews
235 helpful votes
December 3rd, 2015
I hate what is on the radio. I prefer to download a collection and play on iPod. I found a website many years ago called music. Download. Com which provided many free music by various composers or arrangers. What is also best is that they divide each genre by the instrument that is played. With Classical for example they had vocal, non vocal, symphonic, opera, classical guitar, piano, solo instrumentals, solo instrumentals with accompaniment, etc. and I found many BEAUTIFUL music as a result. Now the site became last.fm and now I can't find these categories any more. They just aren't any good like music. Download. Com was. The website is designed like any other mainstream website: It is ugly and complicated. If I encounter any few free download music of example Classical, there is a plague of "music box" music, and most of the rest is a bunch of horrible amateurs using "Classical" as a Test Bed for their "music". Some thing else is that if you Follow ed a music composer or music arranger on music. Download. Com you end up getting very nice update emails (similar to YouTube) when every they posted a new song. This feature seems absent in last.fm It takes TOO LONG to browse through music on Last.Fm I have had enough. I finally found a Creative Commons mp3 site which has very good music, not filthy amateurs. I enjoyed the time I spent with music. Download. Com / last.fm be cause I learned of many tallented composers / arrangers / musicians and I love their music but these other alternatives also have great tallented musicians. I will not browse last.fm any more.
skyk
58 reviews
294 helpful votes
April 13th, 2010
Used to like it before. Then they started charging quite a high price for their service.
willg26
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
January 16th, 2017
And all in one place. Subscribe to the interesting music creators, find your favorite performers. And take your favorite music with you everywhere you go!
alext58
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
April 23rd, 2016
There's was a few changes with last.fm. Users always complain about it, but they always move on and use it till the day.
So i guess it's just about some kind of habit or an old friend that you can't just break up with.
aleks527
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
December 2nd, 2016
A good music service for everyday use. Concerning complaints about some new features - I guess that happens everywhere... Still one of my favorites.
mikep125
7 reviews
12 helpful votes
November 20th, 2015
Last.fm, you will never get old, at least i hope so, otherwise I would have to find a new way to keep myself busy in the evenings
stevenw83
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
April 29th, 2016
I really love it. Nice collection of songs.
carlc21
5 reviews
7 helpful votes
September 24th, 2014
last.fm has been able to build up a very large database of music profiles and any kind of recommendation system, It is providing good music recommendations and it easily attract listeners. You can watch what thousands of people are playing; they have extremely accurate and up to date music charts and home maker creating. You can have good entertainment. So I am really appreciate.
slokc
1 review
4 helpful votes
July 21st, 2015
What a $#*! of a site nothing works
kevinh68
6 reviews
5 helpful votes
May 22nd, 2014
Great way to listen to music and a great site in general. Very impressive.
cameronh22
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
October 1st, 2015
I can't listen to any song!
amirk12
2 reviews
20 helpful votes
November 11th, 2013
Pretty good site. Music was too compressed - and they nned some moderation - especially given the recent bullying fiasco
marieb18
1 review
6 helpful votes
November 12th, 2012
Artists, bands, music labels, be aware of the facts that this website allows its users to illegally upload your copyrighted music; and your music is generating a lot of revenue for this company through paid subscriptions and high-end ads and google tracking. You might assume that because a page has been set-up already for your band or label that you will be able to make use of the page, making it a place where your fans can leave "shouts" that are comments about your music. And you will probably assume that you'll have complete control over the images which represent you and your albums. You do not have control over much of anything on lastfm.

Not only does this website allow users to constantly troll the "shoutboxes" of band pages, but they also allow users to get away with uploading "fake" images which usually have nothing to do with you or your albums. As a band page owner I am constantly having to report the same violations of supposed "rules" which this company claims to have in place to respect bands/artists. Every time I ask the ones who run this website a question, or every time I attempt to get users banned from uploading "fake" album cover pics, I am always given quick, extremely rude emails in return--telling me that I, basically, have no rights over the page which represents me and my band. On several occasions I've been told that I stand to have my own user name/account banned if I don't stop "spamming".

Lastfm claims that they are happy to work along side of artists to see that the pages representing them are free of lastfm copyright and rules violations. But this company does not honour these statements. The staff are beyond rude and disrespectful towards artists. Lastfm makes a lot of revenue off of artist pages. Contact them a few times about why they don't allow bands to have more options to control their own pages and you'll find out quickly that this website cares nothing about your opinions or concerns. They are aggressively concerned with making large profits from their website. They are not in the business of caring about whom they are making that profit off of. Artists, bands, music labels should, at the very least, be given, by-law, the choice as to whether they want a lastfm page with their name on it. Period.
stanelyf
9 reviews
23 helpful votes
March 22nd, 2012
Nice alternative to Pandora. Pandora seems to have access to bigger artists and possibly a much larger music library, but (as others have noted) Pandora also tends to repeat songs more often.

Last.fm is a great place to discover new music, but there are a lot of great artists (famous and not-so-much) whose music is on Pandora but not available on Last.fm.
migdaliab
6 reviews
7 helpful votes
October 13th, 2015
Maybe the best music service ever. Great site, functionality. Listen to music and enjoy.
Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
hannahc1
1 review
4 helpful votes
May 2nd, 2009
It is so pathetic those videos LAME those people need to start a website on country musi!
francinem3
20 reviews
12 helpful votes
November 30th, 2015
It's the best music service I've found so far. It's convenient and helps to expand the music horizons. So easy. So much to listen to.
andrewp64
4 reviews
2 helpful votes
March 10th, 2015
I've been a loyal user for like 5 years. Everything's fine

Q&A (3)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Last.fm staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The world's largest online music service. Listen online, find out more about your favourite artists, and get music recommendations, only at Last.fm

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Last.fm?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

3.9
45 reviews
Have a question about Last.fm?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business