We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
This website seems to be closed. Find similar businesses
  • Bookmark

    Hotspot Shield Elite

Hotspot Shield Elite
Corporate Values

Overview

Hotspot Shield Elite has a consumer rating of 1.33 stars from 3 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Hotspot Shield Elite most frequently mention hotspot shield problems. Hotspot Shield Elite ranks 110th among Tech Support sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
How would you rate Hotspot Shield Elite?
Top Critical Review

“Run away very fast”

Helaine S.
8/8/19

I bought a 3 year subscription for the Elite (paid) version based on # CNet's #1 review and the great price--$101.64 for a 3 year subscription. But you get what you pay for with this company, so beware. If you're not deterred by sketchy reviews, at least save your receipt. You may need it for a screenshot. I bought-in on June 8th and got locked out with "a problem occurred, we're working on it..." the very next day. But they were NOT working on it. And I gather from some of these complaints, they don't plan to. Ever. Nor was I getting any love from their 24/7 "live" support technicians who miraculously work in a chatbox. All went well for 2 weeks after that first glitch, then the error message came 2 or 3 times daily. The only way I could get on was to keep uninstalling and reinstalling the program until it connected me. This morning all it would let me reinstall without paying for another subscription was the free version. (And screeching "But I paid already!" at my monitor for ten minutes didn't help.) After reading what other people are going through with this crap company, however, I got lucky. I think Paypal went to bat for me because I got an email from Hotspot informing me Paypal is processing my refund. I'm two weeks past the 45 day cutoff, too. Now Paypal is one company I heartily recommend you process your payment through if you decide to give Hotspot a try.

See critical reviews

Reviews (3)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

helaines2
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 8th, 2019
I bought a 3 year subscription for the Elite (paid) version based on # CNet's #1 review and the great price--$101.64 for a 3 year subscription. But you get what you pay for with this company, so beware. If you're not deterred by sketchy reviews, at least save your receipt. You may need it for a screenshot. I bought-in on June 8th and got locked out with "a problem occurred, we're working on it..." the very next day. But they were NOT working on it. And I gather from some of these complaints, they don't plan to. Ever. Nor was I getting any love from their 24/7 "live" support technicians who miraculously work in a chatbox. All went well for 2 weeks after that first glitch, then the error message came 2 or 3 times daily. The only way I could get on was to keep uninstalling and reinstalling the program until it connected me. This morning all it would let me reinstall without paying for another subscription was the free version. (And screeching "But I paid already!" at my monitor for ten minutes didn't help.) After reading what other people are going through with this crap company, however, I got lucky. I think Paypal went to bat for me because I got an email from Hotspot informing me Paypal is processing my refund. I'm two weeks past the 45 day cutoff, too. Now Paypal is one company I heartily recommend you process your payment through if you decide to give Hotspot a try.
theok14
6 reviews
22 helpful votes
March 19th, 2018
Good interface, smooth operation until their software would not work with certain versions of Windows 10.
Lies, denials, delaying tactics, unfulfilled promises for refund. Had to file complaint with the BBB tof receive partial refund requested months later. Dishonest Mr T K, Director of Customer Service, provided false information, removed my complaint from BBB record.
Avoid. Seek service from reputable companies.
Notice: BBB is funded by merchants. Customer reviews have no influence on BBB ratings. Only customer complaints filed and outcomes of such complaints count. Even so, if merchant satisfies a complaint, and most merchants do in order to avoid a bad rating, the complaint hardly counts against them. Further, many BBB offices will not publicize detailed statement of complaint - only statistics.
No wonder the vast majority of merchants, even those with numerous terrible reviews, have an A+ BBB rating.
cynthiak22
32 reviews
47 helpful votes
February 24th, 2018
I have had the paid Elite version of Hotspot Shield, a virtual private network, since the beginning of August 2016. I loved it at first because I could have access to websites around the world that I otherwise wouldn't have had access to, not being in the various countries at the time where residence was required to use those websites. I first paid for one year, and I can't remember if there were any problems back then, but if there were any, they were solved. If there had been any big ones, I would never have paid for any more membership.
Since paying for what they call unlimited, which is supposed to be for your lifetime, I have had nothing but problems for most of that time, starting, I think, a couple of months after I'd paid. The worst problem of all has been going on almost this entire year, 2018, and the support people haven't got a clue how to fix it. I have lost count of how many emails I have sent them stating the problems over and over again, including screenshots multiple times, and it's like they are blinded to what I've been telling and showing them. They only apparently have fixes to the most common problems, but with something like I've got, they obviously have absolutely no idea what to do. Even though I almost always have replied immediately to their replies to my emails, they have not answered me most of the time for 24 hours, so I've had that long wait, and then there's been no solution to the problems, and that is that I have no use of hotspot shield at all. It's in a sort of limbo between being installed and uninstalled, and trying to uninstal it brings up an instal window, not an uninstal window, which asks me if I want to update the version of hotspot shield. I already have the most recent one they are using because they went backwards to a previous version when the very most recent one had problems. If I click on no, the instal window disappears from the screen. If I click on yes, it starts to fill in a blue area from the left to the right that is supposed to be installing or updating and stops more than an inch from the right side, and it stays stuck there until I restart the computer. It never finishes, and it would stay stuck like that forever if I didn't restart the computer. This has happened over and over again. I have told the support people over and over again all about this, I've spelt it out in detail, I don't see how they can fail to miss it, but they keep telling me to go to the control panel and click on uninstal. They have claimed to ask the developers to find a solution, but nothing new has been forthcoming, so the only way I probably would have to get rid of hotspot shield out of my computer, assuming even that would work, would be to reset the computer to factory default, which would mean I would lose many, many things that are in that computer. The last time I told them the same thing, I got an email back asking me if I'd tried it anyway, and I'd already told them countless times that it didn't work. It's like talking to a brick wall, and it's been a horribly frustrating experience that doesn't seem to have any end in sight.
Update: 5 March - they have now been taking 48 hours or more between replies, which seems like they're doing just to be purposely aggravating, as I've asked for a quicker reply and now it's the same person over
And over again instead of different ones, they have still not had any solution, and they have once again told me they have referred the problem to the developers. Another update: 13 May - still no change, still no solution, and I've been almost completely ignored since I refused to let them take over remote control of my computer some time ago for obvious reasons (I don't think they are competent to do so, since they have no clue about how to fix their own programme). They've continuously fobbed me off and strung me along and clearly do not care in the least about resolving the problems I've got. I can't believe that it's been over 4 months, virtually this entire year, and they have still done nothing except give me lame excuses.
Update - 16 June 2018, and still no change. Pathetic.
Update - 21 August 2018 - only a couple of lame attempts have been made in the last 2 months to fix this with long periods of time between of my being ignored by them. Nothing has changed all year. I can hardly believe these people are so incompetent and have no idea of how to fix issues with/caused by their own product and don't even seem to care.
Update - 15 September 2018 - still no change, still have no use of hotspot shield, and the last few times I've contacted them I've got no replies from them. Look elsewhere for a vpn, but not surfeasy. Surfeasy have general faults that affect every user that occur from time to time and then they have no clue how to fix them, either, but at least they're polite enough to reply.
Update - 17 October 2018 - the problems with my computer still exist, I still have their vpn on my computer in a state of limbo between being installed and unstalled, so it's still stuck there in my control panel but unusable and unremovable, as it has been all this year. I finally got completely fed up and asked them for a refund. They did give me a refund, but only the money I had paid, and I had been told, and I have it in writing in an email to prove it, not to worry, that I would receive some compensation. They had the nerve to tell me they hoped that I would come back to using their vpn and how they are there to help. What a load of rubbish that is. I have been doing a bit of research to find a better vpn recently, and there are some problems reported about hotspot shield that sound worrying. I have just signed up for Nordvpn and have only used it a bit over the last few days so it's too early to make a proper assessment, but so far so good, no problems, and from what I have read, they are one of the best vpns.
Update - 15 October 2018 - I finally had enough of these people and I asked for a refund. They had promised me in writing that they would compensate me for all of the inconvenience and loss of service, but they did not do that. They only refunded me the exact amount of money I had paid for it, and they patted themselves on the back for that, putting in block capitals that they were giving me a full refund. Wow. Then they had the nerve to say they hoped I would return as a customer and that they were there to help or something equally untrue.( I couldn't find that part of the email, there were so many additions to mainly one email that went back and forth.) Yeah, right. I'm so glad to be rid of them, good riddance, but I still have the same situation with their programme being stuck in my control panel, unable to use it or uninstal it.

Tip for consumers: Explore other options.

Service
Value
Quality

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the Hotspot Shield Elite staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Hotspot Shield Elite?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Hotspot Shield Elite?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business