We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    GreatSchools.org

Corporate Values

Overview

GreatSchools.org has a consumer rating of 2.11 stars from 9 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. GreatSchools.org also ranks 349th among Education Other sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
0
Negative
2
View ratings trends
How would you rate GreatSchools.org?
Top Positive Review

“It's the website the realtors tell you to look at to...”

Stephanie L.
4/21/14

It's the website the realtors tell you to look at to get the best ratings for schools. Helpful when you are figuring out where to buy/rent a home.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“GreatSchools is very inaccurate”

Ursula A.
5/30/20

Deleted my review about racism and bullying that my daughter experienced at Amy Montessori School in Brookfield, WI. The stocking part was that the preschool teacher saw it and did nothing to stop it. It seems like GreatSchools only wants to report positive reviews. I think that someone should create another school review website which is more honest.

See critical reviews

Reviews (9)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

paulr68
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 1st, 2013
This site is a must! You can see what you are getting into, if you are deciding to move to and area, or just check out what kind of education you are getting for your taxes!
km676
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 9th, 2019
The information on our local school information is so out of date. Contact information is old. Most recent reviews are from 9 years ago. Don't believe (good or the bad) info on this site. Do the research yourself.
ursulaa8
1 review
0 helpful votes
May 30th, 2020
Deleted my review about racism and bullying that my daughter experienced at Amy Montessori School in Brookfield, WI. The stocking part was that the preschool teacher saw it and did nothing to stop it. It seems like GreatSchools only wants to report positive reviews. I think that someone should create another school review website which is more honest.
candiceb16
6 reviews
13 helpful votes
September 27th, 2016
The Greatschools.org website is a resource I've used to quickly map the school location, find out socioeconomic composition, and school performance data. All this the site does well. It also has a useful article database, such as http://www.greatschools.org/gk/emotional-smarts/. My difficulty with the website is that it (routinely) sanitizes, deletes, or removes reviews about schools from parents and students. It also appears as if they only like positive reviews; positive review however poorly written are preferable over any reviews exposing any critical flaws with the school itself. That to me is a form of censorship. I want to post a review about a school where the principal cheated me out of my work hours, and they were also ethnically discriminatory, and they are celebrating a purported Hmong hero who was in fact a criminal who smuggled heroin (http://www.scoop.co.nz/stories/HL1101/S00086/new-york-times-forgets-that-vang-pao-was-a-drug-dealer.htm). They have a great display case about him at the school, and the principal is very proud of her association with him. The school also serves as a community center for the parents with ELL classes for them. Great Schools also won't let you log in with just Facebook (it wouldn't let me log in with my FB account).
chriss1076
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 2nd, 2019
Great Schools only reports positive, glowing reviews of schools. It blocks any truthful, negative reviews of schools that they list on their website. The lack of transparency and truthfulness is shameful. It provides incorrect and misleading information to families.
stephanien3
87 reviews
173 helpful votes
April 21st, 2014
It's the website the realtors tell you to look at to get the best ratings for schools. Helpful when you are figuring out where to buy/rent a home.
nonofy2
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 16th, 2018
Why do you claim an accurate rating when you divide kids into low income and everybody else? Last time I checked 2+2=4 no matter how much your household earns . Just go by the TEST scores, state and national averages.
mem163
1 review
3 helpful votes
August 9th, 2017
they remove accurate negative reviews to make schools look better. Bet you can guess who pays the organization. Don't trust it!!
parisaa
1 review
3 helpful votes
September 24th, 2017
Steer clear of Great Schools. The major orgs funding the site heavily promote the corporatization and privatization of public schools and it appears to be more of a page designed to funnel parents into stumbling onto pro-charter websites than anything else.

Q&A (1)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the GreatSchools.org staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

View parent ratings, reviews and test scores and choose the right preschool, elementary, middle or high school for public or private education.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about GreatSchools.org?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

2.1
9 reviews
Have a question about GreatSchools.org?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business