We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    Freelancer.co.uk

Corporate Values

Overview

Freelancer.co.uk has a consumer rating of 1 star from 13 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Freelancer.co.uk ranks 91st among Freelancing sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
How would you rate Freelancer.co.uk?
Top Critical Review

“Full of middle eastern or india based scams!”

Freelance P.
3/25/18

Full of supposed projects that us (the experienced freelancer and professionals) can bid our services on, only to be vulnerable to scam artists who try to get scans of your personal IDs, banking information, and in some cases will send you a file infected with a trojan horse / ransom ware virus! Avoid!

See critical reviews

Reviews (13)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

freelancep
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 25th, 2018
Full of supposed projects that us (the experienced freelancer and professionals) can bid our services on, only to be vulnerable to scam artists who try to get scans of your personal IDs, banking information, and in some cases will send you a file infected with a trojan horse / ransom ware virus! Avoid!
nitashak1
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 26th, 2019
I never used their website and my card was swiped 5 times with a huge amount clearing off my account completely, it is a company of cheats should tk strict action against it
montyh14
1 review
3 helpful votes
December 7th, 2018
My bank account was charged for over $2,700 in five separate transaction on the same day by a merchant named FREELANCER.CO.UK. I've never done business with them, nor do I know how they got my name or information.

I reported them to the police and the FBI.

Stay clear!
louiseb84
1 review
4 helpful votes
August 31st, 2017
What can a freelancer do if an employer on closed their freelancer.com account without closing and paying for a completed project?

Oh, that's right. Nothing.

And customer service is non-existent.

This site is a giant con and it beggars belief that it continues to function at all.
lisaa100
1 review
2 helpful votes
January 22nd, 2016
I've been on Freelancer for six months.

I wanted to make some money working from home as I have two young children and no partner to lean on for financial assistance. I was looking for drop shipping opportunities as I sell on Ebay

Freelancer works on reputation which you have to build but getting the foot on the first rung of the ladder is nigh impossible. I see the same names bidding for jobs for months at a time and they never get a review they must be a lot more determined than me.

If you are a programmer or a technically minded and can provide a service then it's probably for you. Also if you have skills in a niche market then you might get lucky.

I've canned Freelancer now as its a total waste of time and gone out and found businesses to drop ship for and make my own handmade jewellery.

Anyway back to Freelancer. You can take exams to improve your skills and your standing these start at £5 each. £5 is a lot of money to me but you need to do this to prosper but it's not explained to you at the start.

They also take a project fee when you sign up for a project but if the customer deletes the project this leaves you with a negative balance. So you don't get the project but owe Freelancer because you accepted the project.

Not to mention the scammers who invite you to work, take your money then don't produce the goods. Freelancer appear to openly encourage this. As long as Freelancer get their fees any which way they can.

A total waste of time. Think very seriously before you get involved with this. You may as well throw your money into the street and walk away.

Nice work if you can get it I suppose but to Mr or Mrs average Joe it's unlikely to pay the bills.
davidb789
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 9th, 2017
Awful - and deceptive too. You might think signing up for a. co.uk site might be UK-based, and mainly giving to access to UK-based freelancers - but no. Completely the opposite. Everything feeds into the Australia-based. Com site.

My site design project attracted over 100 bidders, with ONE from the UK and the rest from different worldwide timezones/countries, which wouldve made communication and accountability a nightmare. And all the while someone at Freelancer base was pushing me to accept bids. Once Id realised what a total crock the entire deal was, would they respect polite requests to delete my project? Thatd be a big NO. (Unless of course I paid them to do this...)

Not so cheap either btw, I eventually found an excellent UK-based designer at roughly half the price many of Freelancers bidders were quoting.

Avoid.

Tip for consumers:
Google in your own country for people to work on your projects. Don't waste time on agencies like this based thousands of miles away.

Service
Value
Quality
vickyj10
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 27th, 2017
Really bad site. I signed up, agreed a for a freelancer to write a blog post for me. The quality of work was poor. 2 edits made and it still wasn't great quality, I politely went back to the freelancer to provider further advise on what was required and ended up not getting any communication from the freelancer. I was informed upon sign up that the funds would only be released to the freelancer once I was happy with the quality of work. I tried to cancel the job/funds however, I couldn't. It turns out that although the funds have not been released to the freelancer, only the freelancer can cancel the job! Which means that if the freelancer chooses too, they can ignore you and the funds wont ever be released back to your account. The support was useless and I am still trying to request my money back. Personally I would not advise using this site.
stanimirh
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 9th, 2015
I'd like to share my experience with Freelancer.co.uk. I posted a job and was supposed to be done in 10 days - this is what freelancer claimed. At the end of day 10 I even did not get any update despite of my emails and chat with her. I paid half of the money and I have nothing so far. I started dispute and I so not think I will get my money back.
This site is a pure SCAM!
georgep92
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2016
Signed up to Freelancer last year on a recommendation to make a little money.

I am a recently retired antiques dealer and I have had to give up my business due to ill health. I am honest and trustworthy and whilst I appreciate there is a certain element of shady dealers in the trade all my dealings have been on the level.

I have posted a couple of projects without any problems and paid the freelancer for the work and paid my fees to Freelancer. As far as I know everything was correct and all above board.

However the project I posted last week was removed and my account was banned? No message, no reason, no email, just banned.

I have read complaint after complaint about Freelancer since and the things they do to innocent people.

Robbers and thieves is what Freelancer are no surprise they are Australian I mean after all we sent the b*stards over there. A nation full of criminals.

If Freelancer want to penalise innocent people and lose their commissions then thats their lookout but don't trust them I recommend you find other sites to use.

Freelancer are scum and should be shut down.
praveenk6
2 reviews
10 helpful votes
August 5th, 2015
1. You award your project to a freelancer (with 95÷ probability on this site that he/she is professionally incapable, if not fraud altogether
2. The freelancer ask you for a milestone (which is supposed to be kind of "deposit").
3. You deposit your money on this site (and it says it's refundable - but there is no way you are going to get back, unless maybe if you go to Australia where this company is based and go for hunger strike outside their office)
4. You wait for the work to be done - and either the freelancer doesn't respond or shows you shocking piece of work after months).
4. You want your money back - and freelancer.com even stops replying to your emails. There is no way you will get a reply.
5. You look at your transaction/statement and find freelancer.com has been taking money automatically (without even sending you any email). There will be sort of charges you would not even have heard of e.g. deposit fee, project fee and inactivity fee etc.
6. You complain to PayPal about it - Freelancer.com blocks your account and would not even let you withdraw any money.
7. Congratulations - you have lost your money, time, efforts and most importantly peace of mind (just like me).
Still want to try - go ahead with freelancer.com; -)
costas4
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 19th, 2016
Terrible terrible terrible, i sent payment without adding milestone payments like the freelancer told me to do. I couldnt not alter the payment to change it to have milestones, freelance website didnt let me dispute payment because i did not have milestones in place, so i had to involve paypal and try to take back the payment, freelancer.co.uk told me to cancel the paypal dispute and deal with them to resolve the problem, but i cannot find any contact phonenumber to speak to them, only way i can communicate with them is in a message box on their website which took them 4-5days to give me one response, please do not risk your money on this website, u may be heartbroken
bradk17
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
March 18th, 2015
freelancer.com freelancer.co.uk are the same company and they are the work freelancing business online if you could call them a business. I rather call them scam as they are
mattieb3
1 review
6 helpful votes
April 16th, 2014
I had a terrible experience on Freelancer! I accepted the bid of Freelancer recommended business for my website work. Nightmare! A 15 day assignment turned into 30 days. SEO work was basically adding the site to google and yahoo. Anyone can do that! There were so many other issues. Anyway when I refused to release final payment the freelancer took down my website, kept all my files, did not give me back my old website back up files all to blackmail me into releasing the funds. Freelancer.co.uk are not being very helpful in resolving the dispute. My opinion of Freelancer.co.uk - mediocre work with the website bleeding you dry. Still waiting to get my money back from the website.

Q&A (3)

Answer:

It is a pfishing scam to get your contact informatoin. Period. Nothing more.

By Monty H.
Answer:

I didn't choose them and do not know how they got my name or info.

By Monty H.
Answer:

Contact your credit card company. They will reverse fraudulent charges.

By Monty H.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Freelancer.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Find & hire top freelancers, web developers & designers inexpensively. World's largest marketplace of 27m. Getting started is free. Receive quotes in seconds. Post your job online now.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Freelancer.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.0
13 reviews
Have a question about Freelancer.co.uk?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business