We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    FastMail.fm

Corporate Values

Overview

FastMail.fm has a consumer rating of 2.2 stars from 10 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. FastMail.fm ranks 57th among Email sites.

  • Service
    2
  • Value
    2
  • Quality
    2
View ratings trends
How would you rate FastMail.fm?
Top Positive Review

“Great email provider”

Michael D.
1/4/16

Four months ago, I went searching for an email provider that wasn't Gmail. I was hoping for a free service, so I tried AOL, Mail, GMX, Lycos, Yandex and Zoho. All had some significant problem. I upped my search into the realm of paid providers. Finally, I found Fastmail. It was easy to use. It's good-looking. The calendar (essential item) was simple to use. My mail from Yahoo, Outlook and Gmail could be sucked into it, also essential. And responses could be sent out from the original email to fool folks. Fastmail is incredibly well-organized. Though not a free service, the prices are very reasonable for individual use, starting at just $10 U.S. Then there's a $20 plan, and a $40, which comes with priority tech support. I got the $20 version. Priority tech support starts with the $40 plan. During my free trial, I was using the $40 plan. Twice I requested tech support, and it came quickly and efficiently. My $20 plan does not have priority support, but if I ever was in need of it, I'd simply upgrade to the $40 plan. So, far -- seven months in -- the system is working great. And it's noticeably faster than my Gmail. I've become a big fan. (For some reason this review appears to be for fastmail.fm, but I use fastmail.com.)

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Terrible support”

Dan J.
8/21/18

Fastmails support is severely lacking... If you value good support, I would steer clear of fastmail, there's other options available.

See critical reviews

Reviews (10)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

danj122
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 21st, 2018

Fastmails support is severely lacking... If you value good support, I would steer clear of fastmail, there's other options available.

michaeld157
8 reviews
5 helpful votes
January 4th, 2016

Four months ago, I went searching for an email provider that wasn't Gmail. I was hoping for a free service, so I tried AOL, Mail, GMX, Lycos, Yandex and Zoho. All had some significant problem. I upped my search into the realm of paid providers. Finally, I found Fastmail.

It was easy to use. It's good-looking. The calendar (essential item) was simple to use. My mail from Yahoo, Outlook and Gmail could be sucked into it, also essential. And responses could be sent out from the original email to fool folks.

Fastmail is incredibly well-organized. Though not a free service, the prices are very reasonable for individual use, starting at just $10 U.S. Then there's a $20 plan, and a $40, which comes with priority tech support. I got the $20 version. Priority tech support starts with the $40 plan. During my free trial, I was using the $40 plan. Twice I requested tech support, and it came quickly and efficiently. My $20 plan does not have priority support, but if I ever was in need of it, I'd simply upgrade to the $40 plan. So, far -- seven months in -- the system is working great. And it's noticeably faster than my Gmail.

I've become a big fan. (For some reason this review appears to be for fastmail.fm, but I use fastmail.com.)

Service
Value
Quality
ruffg
2 reviews
13 helpful votes
March 16th, 2016

When this service works, it works. God help you if have a problem though. Their support staff seems asleep or incompetent. I've had two accounts with them & now both are lost due to their mistakes. GMail here we come!

Report- 10 days later. I finally wrote their CEO in Melbourne via old-fashioned snailmail. Nada -they got my $$ & just don't care.

turdm
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
January 27th, 2017

The issue is that once a email provider has you as a customer they know that you give out your email and potentially hundreds of people know it to contact you. If you change it, they know it's a huge hassle and they have you by the balls. They offered me a free account for many many years then suddenly they decide it's uneconomical for them. So they basically say pay up or lose your email. This is what the danger is. Even if it's a paid account they still can raise the price on you as they wish because you are locked in or at least they think so.

Better off staying on an email provider that is based on advertising for their revenue like Gmail, Yahoo, AOL, Hotmail ect. It (almost) assures you that it will stay free.

BTW, their GUI looks like it was designed by a pimple faced 14 year old sitting in his mothers basement.

claudian4
1 review
3 helpful votes
May 13th, 2015

... the good reviews are unfortunately outdated.
Or maybe just ok for techies - but for ordinary working moms running a small business and needing reliable with good customer service NOT the way to go.
Let me start by saying - i think its crazy to try and get a service as important as email for free!

I have used and paid for fastmail for nearly 13 years - way before it was bought by opera
I used to love fastmail.
The aliases, the kids could have different accounts
The speed of setting up imap accounts, even for me to sync with tablets and phone
The interface - none of that nested nonesense

But over the last three years its gone downhill not by standing still but by changing for the worse.
1.the interface. Simply put - my 10 old year gets lost
2. My mobile experience is too different to the desktop
3. The imap somehow caused a conflict with the new gmail app (which I have to have as work has google professional something or other) meaning I randomly do not get emails. My IT department at work banned me having fastmail
4. Oh and customer service is a no show

SO fastmail gets 1 star out of 5

Tip for consumers:
keep looking

Service
Value
Quality
wsb
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
January 31st, 2011

Fastmail is a premium email service with exceptional service, features and reliability. While the paid version has far more features than the free service, it is worth every penny if you value your email.

nancyr48
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 17th, 2015

My account was disabled 4 days ago & I have received no help from support other than their statements that I violated policy & will never have this account again. What kind of help is that? I've used FM for several years.

johns1034
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 27th, 2015

I bought a "member account" (one time fee) many years ago. Recently I had some problems with my account, and I contacted fastmail support using the web form. They told me that I have to upgrade my account to get any support.

veew
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 4th, 2013

There is no support. My email was disabled (presumably due to a problem) and I sent
A request for support and I am yet to get a response 1.5 days later.

I also had a problem earlier on this year and lodge 3 "tickets" requesting help and got no where. It does not matter about other aspects of a sites performance if there is no response from support *******@gmail.com

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension or converted from reviews due to lack of content.

Q&A (0)

Questions? Get answers from the FastMail.fm staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Secure, reliable email hosting for businesses, families and professionals. Premium email with no ads, excellent spam protection and rapid personal support.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about FastMail.fm?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about FastMail.fm?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business