We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
This website seems to be closed. Find similar businesses
  • Bookmark

    Embroidedworkwear.co.uk

Embroidedworkwear.co.uk

11 reviews
Corporate Values

Overview

Embroidedworkwear.co.uk has a consumer rating of 1.36 stars from 11 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Consumers complaining about Embroidedworkwear.co.uk most frequently mention customer service problems. Embroidedworkwear.co.uk ranks 29th among Uniforms sites.

View ratings trends
See all photos
How would you rate Embroidedworkwear.co.uk?
Top Critical Review

“Awful company, over 4 months to receive my order, lied...”

John F.
4/2/12

Awful company, over 4 months to receive my order, lied about dispatch date, wont answer the phone or respond to emails, when the goods finally turned up the embroidery was terrible, wonky letters & inconsistent fonts, im to embarrassed to wear the items, my 4 year old daughter could have done better! Avoid at all costs.

See critical reviews

Reviews (11)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

johnf47
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 2nd, 2012

Awful company, over 4 months to receive my order, lied about dispatch date, wont answer the phone or respond to emails, when the goods finally turned up the embroidery was terrible, wonky letters & inconsistent fonts, im to embarrassed to wear the items, my 4 year old daughter could have done better!
Avoid at all costs.

brisemm
1 review
1 helpful vote
February 1st, 2012

I ordered goods from this company on 13th October 2011 and still not received the goods despite various fob offs and them hiding behind their 60 day terms and conditions clause.

I liaised with Truro Trading Standards about the company and was advised that the Truro address given on the website is a mail forwarding address.

I then liaised with Doncaster Trading Standards regarding the address as given on the VAT registration and have been advised that the business does not trade from there.

I guess it's now time to report the matter to the Police!

waynei
1 review
3 helpful votes
October 25th, 2011

This company is appalling, I waited 3 months for my goods, and they had the cheek to state they did not break there '60'day terms... which seems to of changed from the 7-28 days on ordering. When I finally got them I was disgusted, it looked like a child at promary school had done them, the wording was like an ocean wave and the letters were of several different sizes. On constantly contacting them and sending pictures, they have said they are not going to refund as under 'theri terms' if lettering is more than 15 characters, the embroidery will be of poor quality and sometimes unreadable... well what a fantastic company they have there... unreal. They need to be named & shamed.

cathl6
1 review
4 helpful votes
November 28th, 2011

Placed our order on the 3rd September and have now passed their 60 working day limit and still NOTHING! Not answering phone, 'ticket system' (joke!) or webchat. Find it incredible that their phone line for chasing orders charges 10p a minute too! Don't even answer that too. If I ran my business like this I'd be bust.

billyc2
1 review
1 helpful vote
January 17th, 2012

I have used this company a few times before however I will not be making the same mistake again.

I ordered 10 polo tops on September 14th 2011 and waited for them to supply the goods which arrived on January 13th a whole 4 months later.

I tried to chase the order during this time like so many others with no success over the phone or via their support ticket system, I did receive 1 reply throughout but no apology to date despite speaking with Oliver (The owner) today.

I ordered large polo tops (42-44") just as I have done so in the past but the ones that arrived are far too big measuring at 48" and the company are not willing to do anything about it.

They state that I ordered large and I got large end of story and unable to help any further. One of the live support agents (Nicola) even ended the chat session while I was still talking to her! I suppose it was just after 4 so probably time to go home.

My point is I always order large and the size states 42-44" and they are just the right fit not like the huge 48" ones that they sent out.

I did everything the same as usual while ordering online and made all the same selections as usual so I don't understand why I have received 10 polo tops that are far too big and of no use to me or indeed anyone under 8' tall.

I must have had every excuse under the sun today as to why it was not their fault. I even took a picture of the large size from the previous order placed on top of a large from the new order to show the huge difference in size however this did not help my case one bit.

It was suggested at one point that the picture I had taken was not of 2 large tops (not quite sure if they were suggesting I was lying) or not but from my point of view very frustrating.

Then they suggested that all my previous orders had been wrongly sized and this one is the correct size so they still can not do anything about it as the previous 2 orders at fault not the huge shirts they just sent me.

What a joke, I have ordered their polo tops a few times and select large 42-44" and they fit, I order the same thing as usual and this joke of a company takes 4 months and send the wrong size but won't do anything about it other than make excuses.

I insisted that they have been mis sold under the sale of goods act and Oliver (the owner) took great delight in advising me that "The sale of goods act excludes personalized goods including embroidered goods"

I was transferred to Nicola for a second opinion and advised her I was on the phone to my local CAB for advice and her reply was "Excellent, please have them deal with this for you and they will contact us if there is a case" just shows how committed this lot are to customer service really.

Poor show Oliver, If I ran my company like that and fobbed people off like you did with me today I would no longer be in business and rightly so.

I have compiled a list of excuses they gave me taken from the live support transcript before they cut me off.

1) 42-44" are 'to fit' actual measurements will be larger, Large should measure between 46-48" when laid flat.

2) I must apologies as the previous Large must have had in the wrong label. - 2 separate orders?

3) Different make and therefore sizing

4) If you were to measure the older garments I can assure you they will not actually measure 42-44" - YES THEY DO!

5) I can assure you the Large you have on will have measured the same when it left us and should still although washing and tumble drying could potentially reduce this slightly.

6) the Bottle Green polo shirts you have are a completely different make and also these could have shrunk during the past year and a half since you received these back in June 2010 of constant washing and tumble drying

7) I am unsure why your older garments are smaller and if you were to have told us this when you received them we would have happily exchanged them, The large you have received are correctly sized. - Yeah right.

8)The latest products you have received are of the correct size, the previous delivery back in June 2010 looks as though the Large from that order (assuming the bottle green polo shirt show in the picture is Large) was wrongly sized and we could have exchanged those if we were told about them once received back in June 2010

9) The shirt in the picture that fits is obviously too small to be a large - Even though I have ordered large twice and got this size?

10) According to the wrap size guide this should be a medium, please accept my apologies over the 2010 order but unfortunately faults need to be notified to ourselves within 7 days although we do usually accept this within 2/3 weeks.

11) Unfortunately our phone lines are jammed at the moment, you could keep trying on *******562 however there are call queues in excess of 15+ minutes. - sounds familiar

12) I am the owner of the business so I know the ins and outs of this but I am willing to transfer you to the Customer Service manager for the 2nd opinion if you'd like? - How generous! Transfer me to someone who you pay wages to.

13) I understand this is how you feel and I have tried to explain the situation however I am not sure this is coming across correctly so I am hoping one of my employees can do better than me in this case, please hold. - I think anyone could have done better Oliver.

Chat with new adviser excuses

1) We apologise if we have sent you undersized garments before now but unfortunately as we have sent the correct size we are unable to help you further on this matter

2) I can see your other orders are well over one year old, it is possible some of these may have shrunk over the year or they were supplied with the wrong labels.

3) I am sorry if your previous products have shrunk as this is the only explanation.

4) I am unable to assist further with this, please talk to your CAB regarding this matter. - Great customer service.

5) As their is no fault with the goods and they are excluded from the Sales of goods act I am unable to provide a Returns authorization number.

I am unable to assist further regarding this matter - Operator Nicola has left the chat.
The chat is ended.

Just shows you all what some companies can get away with, once they have your money in their pocket they are no longer interested.

I will not order from them again and would advise anyone looking for work wear to avoid this joke of a company. Well done Oliver!

samanthag6
1 review
1 helpful vote
November 23rd, 2011

This company is a complete joke! I placed a order on the 24th august and im still waiting for them to turn up! Funny how someone can take money the same day yet when you try to contact them to find out when you will reiceve your order nobody emails you back or answers the phones you leave a message and nobody even bothers to ring you back, im afraid to say this company is clearly a scam and i am now having to seeking legal advise to claim my money back for goods i have never recieved! AVIOD AVIOD AVOID!

janew15
1 review
1 helpful vote
April 19th, 2012

DO NOT USE EMBROIDED WORKWEAR OR ANY COMPANY ASSOCIATED WITH MR OLIVER SLINGSBY.
Find another company if you want to order any clothes, this company takes your money immediately then you wait and wait and wait for your clothes to be delivered and nothing comes, still waiting after nearly 5 months! No response on their phoneline, no response from emails via the website and direct, all in all a big joke of a company.
I just wish we had seen this before we ordered anything, however as with other customers we will be contacting watchdog and hope to see them on there/rouge traders in the near future. I will not let Embroided Workwear and Oliver Slingsby get away with this.

karmad
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 17th, 2011

Con man runs this company. Robbed me out of £60. They do not send goods after they take your money. Be very careful with this co. Do not deal with them.

shaunt1
1 review
3 helpful votes
July 9th, 2011

I can concur with the last reviewer... I have posted this review elsewhere also:
Avoid this company at all costs. I ordered 10 embroidered polo shirts back in May 26th 2011... I am still waiting for my order now (July 9th 2011) even though I paid £5.99 for a supposed delivery dispatched between 7-28 working days - though they strongly suggest waiting the full 28 days is rare. They pointed out that I did have the express delivery choice which was a staggering £25 which had a dispatch time of 7-20 working days. I told them why would I want to pay £25 for an order circa £75 which may only be 7 working days quicker?
In any event the 28 working day deadline has passed and they are now saying that these dispatch dates are 'best guess' estimates and that the dispatch time could actually be as long as 60 working days. Indeed they have hidden this away in small print in their terms and conditions. So effectively both the standard £5.99 and express £25 deliveries with weekends and bank holidays could take in excess of 3 months! One look at their terms and conditions really shows that this company really is not one to have dealings with. Very unscrupulous but Im just glad I didnt order more and that I paid via visa. I can reccomend Workwear express however whom I have since dealt with for shirts and aprons... fast and great customer service.

markt22
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 5th, 2013

I really urge anyone who has been messed around by this company to report them on this link http://www.bbc.co.uk/watchdog/gotastory/ let's get this firm owning up to its failures and put a name to a face

From a very angry customer

Q&A (1)

Answer:

This company is a complete joke! I placed a order on the 24th august and im still waiting for them to turn up! Funny how someone can take money the same day yet when you try to contact them to find out when you will reiceve your order nobody emails you back or answers the phones you leave a message and nobody even bothers to ring you back, im afraid to say this company is clearly a scam and i am now having to seeking legal advise to claim my money back for goods i have never recieved! AVIOD AVIOD AVOID!

By samantha g.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Embroidedworkwear.co.uk staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Company Representative

olivere
Oliver E.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Embroidedworkwear.co.uk?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

1.4
11 reviews
Have a question about Embroidedworkwear.co.uk?

Related articles and tips

6 Prom Dress Disasters

Prom season is here, and you deserve to look and feel amazing for your big party! Whether you are attending prom for the first... read more