• Bookmark

    E-Chat

Corporate Values

Overview

E-Chat has a consumer rating of 2.85 stars from 29 reviews indicating that most customers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. E-Chat ranks 72nd among Chat sites.

  • Service
    4
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    4
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 33.3%
Positive
2
Neutral
2
Negative
2
View ratings trends

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • Most of the people that chat on E-Chat are shady as heck.
How would you rate E-Chat?
Top Positive Review

“Amazing”

Olive T.
9/21/20

I've been on E-chat since 2018, mostly roleplaying in the gatelands, and I personally think it's wonderful. I usually don't have trouble with bots and stuff because I keep my PMS 'friends only'. And roleplaying is one of my favorite hobbies- just make sure to keep away from the more... inappropriate rooms and users.:> - Olive the Gatelands Guard <3 (Or former guard, I suppose.)

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Great for pedophiles and racist and scammers!”

me n.
9/29/20

Do you enjoy being a troll? Do you like being a pile of $#*!? Then this is the site for you! Harass people all you want! The mods can't do a damn thing! There one only admin who is too stupid to know what the hell is going on! So have at it! Harass depressed people looking for help until they kill themselves! Spam your own porn bots! Disrupt rooms trying to have real conversations! Don't worry if they report you because NOTHING will be done!

See critical reviews

Reviews (29)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

people (7)
men12
2 reviews
19 helpful votes
September 29th, 2020

Do you enjoy being a troll? Do you like being a pile of $#*!?
Then this is the site for you!
Harass people all you want! The mods can't do a damn thing! There one only admin who is too stupid to know what the hell is going on!
So have at it!
Harass depressed people looking for help until they kill themselves! Spam your own porn bots! Disrupt rooms trying to have real conversations! Don't worry if they report you because NOTHING will be done!

olivet7
1 review
6 helpful votes
September 21st, 2020

I've been on E-chat since 2018, mostly roleplaying in the gatelands, and I personally think it's wonderful. I usually don't have trouble with bots and stuff because I keep my PMS 'friends only'. And roleplaying is one of my favorite hobbies- just make sure to keep away from the more... inappropriate rooms and users.:> - Olive the Gatelands Guard <3 (Or former guard, I suppose.)

joshuam1026
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
April 7th, 2022

I am just going to say that this website was pretty much the dictator to my teen years until its closure, even though it isn't active right now and there are major security issues that need to be a addressed, I have to say that this was one of the most wholesome full websites I have ever been on and I mean that. You will never reach this level of community and belonging on any other website, not on Discord, not on Facebook, not on any social platform.

I joined in december 2015, I was just leaving primary schools and I had no friends, and I was a lonely kid. Sure I was only 11 but I wanted friends again and so I searched and search for websites that would help me make friends. So obviously I stumbled across E-chat and honestly I was a bit of a goof initially, randomly hitting up girls because I was like 11 very immature (not an excuse) but I would just ask for nudes and say stupid $#*!. I know I swore and this is meant to be a review but I am just opening up about my history to the website. I know what I was doing was wrong but my parents eventually caught it on my history and took my electronics from me.

It had been a few months but around march 2016 I had my tablet and laptop back, I was big into roblox like most kids my age, just turned 12 and I remembered e-chat so I went back on my account and apologised to the ladies I was being rude and harrassing, I explained that I was just being a dumb little brat, again it isn't an excuse for my behaviour but after being on the website a few more weeks I wanted to become a mod, I went around the Gatelands, I entered the hellholl that is the animeme canteen and I even hanged around in a few 18+ rooms just to troll on a few poor individuals until I came across the Teahouse, the teahouse was a calm room full of interesting people such as chris76, thecowpig and a lil dinosaur called barney the dinosaur. It was weird because I just started high school and all these people were twice my age but they weren't predatory in anyway, they treated me like a real adult and like someone who demanded respect, I felt respected and wanted, sharing my work with them, sharing videos, sharing socials, having to put spacings between links to not block our messages and such. It was fun.

After a year of coming home from school and logging on to talk to new users and the usual people I was offered a moderator spot by one of the owners, I forgot his name but he said he didn't want to run the server anymore and gave me full responsibility of the server, I was the owner of the Teahouse for 2 years, I didn't get paid or anything, just given a google doc with the rules of the server, spells (basically commands) and such powers as renaming the server. The blue shield was a fun spell :) had to kick a lot of people too.

After 2 years I gave the server up to Barney as I had recently had a heated discussion with a mod from a neighbouring server about running the Teahouse saying how I was unfit to run a server at 14 while the other owners of other servers on the site were in their 20s, I made myself a resident to make them happy and gave the ownership to barney the dinosaur who was there longer than me.

If you are unaware the e-chat runs on this lore known as the gatelands, there is an entire wix page on it somewhere but in basic, the website explains that the 3 servers animeme canteen, the gatelands and the teahouse are connected by their worlds and its basically a giant world and stuff and I'm not going to explain it in full here but me owning one of the lands was a big deal to me but a big problem for those who had been in these servers a lot longer than me. And so for some 13 year old scrub to be handed the server was a bit unfair. But it was fun for the 2 years I owned it. Like I said, I became a teahousian resident for the rest of my time in E-chat eventually having my teahouse residency removed by stacy, a moderator who felt I should be removed for the lack of activate-ness in the server. Then in 2019 before the e-chat closure I stopped using it.

I know that bunch of jargon is really confusing but e-chat was a home for me until I went to college, I love this website and the experiences and lessons it taught me, it taught me how to have compassion for other people, how to run a server, how to use commands in a server, it taught me friendship and how to make users feel welcome, being the owner of the teahouse server on e-chat was the most fun I've had in my life and now it is gone it feels like a myth, it feels like it never existed now, even though in my memory I remember everything, I made hundreds of friends and people who I have lost contact with because of the closure but if the website comes back. I highly recommend this website to any kid who is lonely and needs friends. Don't go as low as whoring yourself out to the internet but don't be closed off to people. Just block sexual people and have fun. There is no need to get worked up over some of the idiots on the internet.

Tip for consumers:
Don't be a $#*!, don't be an $#*! and just don't be a bad person. I was that person one point or another and it doesn't feel good when you then realise the harm you may have put onto someone else.

Products used:
Its not a product.

Service
Value
Quality
johnt1862
1 review
30 helpful votes
September 30th, 2020

So Zyskowski the owner needs more mods and Admins, where will he get them from, Just Sex? By its nature its full of trolls and pervs, hardly the room to find mods in. Having said that maybe it is, Lisa comes into the room using the foulest insulting language possible and insulting other users, it sets the tone for the whole sad site. It will be a dark day if this place opens again, insecure from hackers and a dangerous place to be. Chat is dead anyway, say your energy. We don't need and more self important Kings and Queens of E-Chat!

regm11
1 review
12 helpful votes
November 16th, 2020

E-Chat Still closed (GOOD) yet chatiw uk... us (both the same). Is worse, full of kids and peds and lowlife. Money raising venture via members and adverts, owned by a Algerian/French who resides in the uk/ Nassim Mehbali) Why is this cesspit still online?/ Hides behind a cloudflare server, so are they complicit?

whitneys171
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
March 24th, 2022

I like that there are rules and regulations
As well as mods, but I don't like some of the people you find on this website. Perverts, trolls, spammers etc.

acer22
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 4th, 2020

I had the best people in there and they helped me allot in my life i was so close to suicide and they helped me go thru hell i miss them now and i have the black cloud all over my head again what should i do i miss u blue computer and cheta paws so much

mirandag42
1 review
24 helpful votes
September 29th, 2020

There are so many perverts on the site, it's unbelievable. My bio clearly stated I was a teenager and I would even stay on the teen chat, and still would get a ton of messages from perverts. I even had a stalker and contacted the mod if they can remove them and I got ignored. I'm glad they shut it down cause they really need to fix this issue.

martt11
1 review
8 helpful votes
September 29th, 2020

E-chat is (or was, prior to September 29th 2020 depending on the changes to the security system they may make) one of the only free online chat rooms that doesn't require an email verification. In November 2017 I was trapped in an emotionally and sometimes physically abusive family and I was inches away from succeeding in committing suicide, and I desperately needed somebody to talk to on the one device I was able to use, without an email. It took me weeks to find a place where this would be possible, and then I stumbled upon e-chat. I used the website sensibly, sticking to the smaller, more moderated chatrooms, and I found a way to contact people I knew in real life and tell them to get e-chat so they could help me through this chat system. Since then, I have been drifting through chatrooms and I have made some wonderful online friends. E-chat was and still is my lifeline, and when used correctly, it is possible to make and maintain some brilliant friendships. I was heartbroken when the announcement came through today that email verification will have to be added in, and my heart goes out to all of the people who needed an anonymous chat system like I did and can no longer access one, though I understand why the changes need to be put in place.

Thank you to the creators of this website. You saved a life.

anthonyc995
1 review
1 helpful vote
September 17th, 2020

The site is ok for chatting and making friends but i reccomend staying away from the room like "Just Teens" "Just Chat" and "Just Sex" as those have a ton of spam bots. Stay on smaller servers or the gatands roleplay, albiet strict. Do not give your personal info, obviously. Some moderators are dumbasses though.

sugart3
1 review
3 helpful votes
November 18th, 2020

E-chat was an ok site and nothing more, there was alot of bad people who used it and I can see that being the reason it was closed down. Although you could just simply block these people if they were being bothersome or just put your chat settings to only friends but I can see that just not being enough to get rid of trolls and such. Now the good part of this site was the gatelands the main chat had some monitoring to it (not alot) and you could still meet half decent ppl like my friends shen and null/kye. And if your looking for an exspirence to how the gatelands was I would recommend rolepages. It is alot more monitor though. Now have a nice day reader. Pop out.

carrier164
1 review
5 helpful votes
December 17th, 2020

When I started talking to a great guy we finally got together and then the hatred started. Posting addresses close to where I worked and where my family lived. With things like hey she needs to be taught a lesson she needs raped by three black men which I found disgusting and racist and when I complained I was told invite them for a beer and have fun by lisa the mod.

michaels5144
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 16th, 2020

If you are soft and have no sense of humor well maybe Echat isn't for you, stop being poosy and remember kick is a woman

ventir
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 28th, 2022

Well, it's bittersweet to be a former "mod" of a chatroom writing a review for this site. I'm in no way surprised that it still remains off the internet for the time being. Keeping up with countless trolls, hacking incidents, and the insane amount of varying opinions is a full-time job. The mod account I managed was run by a couple of other people, which one probably leaked the login password. Very unprofessional. On the other hand, sometimes good friendships were made and I miss some people I befriended there. If you're looking for something similar to E-Chat just get Discord. Plenty of disgraces, annoyances, spammers, bots, vcs, and whatever else you may want. Plus, maybe a slim chance of good friendships. Thanks for the memories E-Chat.

Tip for consumers:
Literally don't waste your time with it even it does come back online, which I highly doubt. It had it's glory days, those days are over now. Chatrooms are becoming either non-existent or are becoming grounds for the undesirables (p3dos, extremists, etc.).

Service
Quality
tomm1178
1 review
36 helpful votes
August 8th, 2020

Full of underage, pedo's drug sellers, racists, little to no moderation by someone who calls themself's Lisa, owned by a Michael Zyskowski. Should be taken offline its a dangerous place. Question wrong doing you get banned. Ofcom should be informed, the police child protection agency should watch this site.

peacep2
1 review
2 helpful votes
August 16th, 2021

I had my own gospel room on echat that we all christians enjoyed. Then a dirty filthy muslim terrorist from iran who had No Life(his nickname) tried to destroy my room bty fake bots posting islm verses n harrassing christians. Dont know where these gutter rats come from and home trains them to spam with fake bots, this terrorist forced islam n spmmed the room like a COWARD rat. If his mom is alive she should die in shame that she bore a terrorist, a jobless pissful gutter mouthed jihadi who shud have been aborted long time bck.

Its shame that the site got suspended by admin, hope resumes their service so we can enjoy the gospel room again.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
laneys
6 reviews
51 helpful votes
September 10th, 2019

This can be a good place for people to chat with other people who want the simplest website for chatting as much as possible. However, this is not a good place for the faint of heart because there are trolls, scammers, manipulative perverts, and careless creeps on here. Sometimes there are chat rooms on E-Chat that are moderated, sometimes there are chat rooms on E-Chat that are not moderated. It is like a chaotic jungle on E-Chat with people who have various personalities. A downside to this website is that when you use a guest account or registered account on E-Chat you have a limited amount of people you can ignore. And there are robots that will P.M. you to get you to go to a different website for sex. Your amount of P.M. s that you will receive will probably keep increasing from those sex robots trying to get you to go to another website. Just going to let you know that E-Chat has another downside. The sex robots will have different usernames to try to fool people. Please remember that E-Chat has a high amount of toxicity in it because the toxic people feel safe behind a computer screen or phone screen when they are using E-Chat to release their negative energy. Good luck trying to find decent people or friends on E-Chat. Especially when there are people on E-Chat who are trying to escape reality on E-Chat. When you go on some E-Chat chat rooms, you will probably find spammers and trolls that will spam or troll about religion, politics, sexism, pedophilia, and other things to try to trigger people. For the record, there are times that E-Chat chat rooms have people saying funny things on them. So, that can be an advantage for some people when they want to go to E-Chat chat rooms for humor. Kind people come to E-Chat instead of just funny people, too. So, there are people that can benefit from coming to E-Chat chat rooms when they find kind people to talk to them. Like all chat room websites, no chat room can be perfect for everyone. But, E-Chat can be perfect enough for people who want people who have different personalities while there are trolls, scammers, spammers, and arguably obnoxious people on E-Chat.

teeo9
1 review
1 helpful vote
August 30th, 2021

Best place online for freaks hands down loool open e chat again man just needs a few good moderators and that's that.

yoshio
1 review
7 helpful votes
June 15th, 2020

Bruh its messed up BUT OML THIS SITE IS BEST FOR TROLLING DON'T EVER LEAVE GG ILL GIVE COOKIES, 5 STAR OF COURSE

paulk1085
1 review
17 helpful votes
September 28th, 2020

Invaded by African (Nigerian, Cote d'Ivoire and Ghana) scammers. 3 of 10 conversations will be conversations with a scammer. Automated scam bots. Automated dating bots.
Too many perverts. No harmful information protection.

en86
1 review
0 helpful votes
January 6th, 2022

No mods, meaning there's no moderation. Even when there is, people can just come back in with a different name. Plus lots of people who are abusive or less than friendly. Oh and pedophiles and racists. Which again, aren't getting banned or anything.

sarahr613
1 review
51 helpful votes
July 7th, 2020

I want to make a complaint about LISA who is moderator of E-Chat she was banning everyone for no reason

emman73
6 reviews
82 helpful votes
August 14th, 2020

This site is full of sick people and pervs. The moderator for the just teens room is a Pedo he asks young girls for nudes to be unbanned from the room that is very disgusting and I don't understand why people like this get power to moderate a room. He will ban people that just want to chat but he won't ban people that be racist. He also spams the room consistently. This chat site needs to be shut down or have better people mods that actually do what they are supposed to.

Service
Quality
jimc878
1 review
31 helpful votes
September 29th, 2020

Who can be surprised that the site has been closed with the sort of people that have been allowed to go there years. Poor Admin only one, and never there. The owner now says it will be opened when he has more Admins/Mods and email verification.
This is all well and good, BUT THE SITE IS HTTP NOT HTTPS, IT IS NOT SECURE. WHO WOULD BE FOOL ENOUGH TO HAND PERSONAL INFORMATIOM OVER ON AN INSECURE SITE? ONLY IDIOTS...

elaner2
3 reviews
59 helpful votes
February 16th, 2020

E-Chat is not a good place if you're wanting to protect your identity, computer, sanity, and morality from hackers. So, you might as well use a secure computer and V. P. N. Before you come on E-Chat. Definitely would not recommend this website at all for anyone who's trying to look for friends. One time I tried to contact one of the administrator(s) from E-Chat and got no response, so I don't recommend registering on this website if you forget your password since the customer support sucks on here. Most of the people that chat on E-Chat are shady as heck. Some of them are sexual predators that don't care and will bombard your inbox with questions such as how old are you, are you a girl, where do you live, what's your Skype account, what's your SnapChat account, what are you wearing, and other things because they're untrustworthy and immoral perverts who aren't interested in knowing your personality fully because they're only interested in knowing if you're a young girl that can be sexually exploitable. And it's hard for me to find conversations with people who can say more than 15 words on E-Chat. I haven't found the right person who can seriously and deeply talk about things that don't involve sex, money, humor, music, hobbies, superficial beauty, and other superficial things because people put on facades on E-Chat because they feel safe behind a computer or phone screen. But, I can read between the lines and understand the brutal reality of those people's personalities that they try to hide. All of those things that I mentioned in this brutally honest review makes me fear the current reality of young generations. From what I've observed, young generations are getting worse because they are too lazy to work and too reliant on modern technology at the expense of problem-solving skills and intellectual capacity that require creative thinking instead of relying on answers that modern technology can give them. Young generations are too focused on rap, hip hop, sports, plastic Instagram models, video games, television, eating too much, drinking too much, and other things. It can be proven because I've only met a very few people on E-Chat who are interested in making the world be a better place without toxic materialism, toxic consumerism, toxic eating problems, toxic health problems, and other things.

Q&A (6)

Answer:

Impossibe no email provided, dark site. The Admin never replies

By Tom M.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

LETS HOPE SO, PITY FOR THE PEDOS AND KIDS, next to no moderation by a foulmouth jealous woman who bans other women who get more attention. 51 and Admin of a sex chat room LOL!

By Reg M.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the E-Chat staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

How do I know I can trust these reviews about E-Chat?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about E-Chat?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business