We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    The Computer Geek

Corporate Values

Overview

The Computer Geek has a consumer rating of 4.78 stars from 37 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. The Computer Geek ranks 1st among Webmasters sites.

  • Service
    9
  • Value
    9
  • Quality
    9

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • I have used The Computer Geek for many years for website design and hosting, as well as for cybersecurity.
  • Not only does he offer excellent design capabilities, he also provides an outstanding level of customer service.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate The Computer Geek?
Top Positive Review

“BEST SERVICE I HAVE EVER EXPERIENCED!”

Eric B.
7/28/16

Called Rich one morning to have my website fixed since it was hacked. I must say he really knows what he is doing in no time at all my site was back on line all malware removed and my web site updated and protected to prevent any future hacks. Thanks Rich you are a true professional! I would highly recommend using this service. Actually wish more companies delivered a service as quickly and efficiently.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“My website is being held hostage by this company!”

GiGi G.
10/29/15

Computer Geek host my site, after taking over from the previous host. They bill me every other month for twice what the other host billed me, which was high to begin with. The main and current issue I have with Computer Geek is they never, ever respond to my emails. Since the changeover, I cannot make changes to my site because I get an error message that it's not connecting to the host. Basically after owning my site without issue for 10 years, it is now useless. I have submitted numerous 'tickets' on their site, but get no help and NO RESPONSE. It's like my site is being held hostage. I am now working towards moving my hosting to GoDaddy, but cannot download my site because I can't connect to the host. They are ruining my business and my ability to support myself. They just sit on their asses and take my money and I have no control over anything. I hate Computer Geek, and want out!

See critical reviews

Reviews (37)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

computer geek (18) customer service (3)
ericb124
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 28th, 2016
Verified purchase
Called Rich one morning to have my website fixed since it was hacked. I must say he really knows what he is doing in no time at all my site was back on line all malware removed and my web site updated and protected to prevent any future hacks. Thanks Rich you are a true professional! I would highly recommend using this service. Actually wish more companies delivered a service as quickly and efficiently.
donnah78
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 14th, 2016
My entire business revolves around my website - and without it I could not exist. Rich built the first page 9 years ago and has been instrumental in my business success. He thinks about my business goals, explains options in terms I can understand and has helped me solve numerous situations with creative cost effective technology. Most important he is reliable, available and I trust him completely with my most important business asset. I always feel that I am a priority. I highly recommend Rich and his team.

Donna Hoffman
Events 19
Service
Value
Quality
barbm18
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 13th, 2016
I want to thank you for all you've done, and for going the extra mile and making it a pleasant and non-threatening experience. You're patience at explaining things to a non-techie like myself has really been appreciated. I will definitely recommend your company to others and would be happy to provide a written reference if you'd like.

Barb McEachern
Good Life Supplements
yonil10
1 review
0 helpful votes
July 28th, 2016
Verified purchase
Rich and Justin really know their stuff. Whenever an unexpected issue comes up, which happens a lot in our business, they fix the issue immediately while providing exceptional customer service. I truly enjoy working with them and I recommend them to everybody that needs help with their website! Way to go guys!
damienm18
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 31st, 2016
Verified purchase
I have recently found it necessary to have a website created to advertise my business "Dragonfly Contracting". To that end, I enlisted "The Computer Geek" to build, design and host my business website. I have been thoroughly impressed and satisfied with their high level of knowledge and ability. The site they created for me was polished and professional and I wound not hesitate to recommend "The Computer Geek" to any prospective client.

Dragonfly Contracting
Damien McIsaac
susanw91
1 review
6 helpful votes
February 18th, 2016
While always remaining professional and on task, Rich also presents himself in a friendly manner with a positive attitude. Not only does he offer excellent design capabilities, he also provides an outstanding level of customer service.

Sue White
AVA Fasteners
danielm228
1 review
0 helpful votes
March 9th, 2016
Our website was regularly hacked by taggers. Some of these hackers would tamper with redirecting our information. Some it seems would just leave there signature for other hackers that followed to see that they already conquered our site. Finally, some hacker messed about where we could not even access our site. Ugh! Within minutes of contacting the Computer Geek, they secured our website from all hackers. All is well. Thanks Rich

Daniel Morvec
Stupid Iotic
kevinc152
1 review
0 helpful votes
June 25th, 2016
Verified purchase
I was notified by my web hosting service that they had deactivated my website due to the presence of malware. I contacted Rich, described my issue (via online chat. Made it very easy), and within the first 30 minutes, i received a quote, and within 2 hours, my website was back up, with all issues resolved, and at a very reasonable price.

I highly recommend, and plan to utilize Computer-geek in the future.
lisal160
1 review
2 helpful votes
March 4th, 2016
When I needed some major changes made to my website, I was hesitant about putting my livelihood in the hands of a total stranger, however, after reading the positive testimonials on your website, I felt comfortable engaging your services. After our first phone conversation, I had total confidence in your capabilities and integrity.

You tackled my punch list with enthusiasm, all the while staying in close communication until the last item was addressed and I was satisfied. Your ability to think outside the box in sourcing solutions resulted in savings of both time and money. I appreciate all the recommendations you made to streamline my websites ease of operation and would not hesitate to recommend you to any web professional. Lastly, I appreciate the way you put customer service above all else - your easy friendly manner gives geek a whole new image.

Many thanks for a job well done - my site looks great!

Lisa Loo
Laughing Lizards
michaelm394
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 7th, 2016
After a nasty virus infection, we hired the Computer Geeks to root out the problem and restore functionality to our Joomla based website. They were very professional and the turnaround was excellent. Great Job
I am happy with the site. It was a pleasure doing business with you.

Michael Mueller
Harmony Arcade
benk49
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 21st, 2016
Thanks for the excellent programming work you did for our site. I'm really impressed by how quickly you finished our project. I'll be sure to contact you again if another programming need comes up. I'll also recommend you to anyone who asks me about a good programmer.

Ben Kim
drbenkim.com
Service
Value
Quality
gawayy
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 30th, 2016
Verified purchase
What started out as a shot in the dark in picking a web programmer ended up being a bull's-eye when I found Rich at The Computer Geek. He understood my MySQL/database project from the start. Rich was also up-front about pricing (very affordable) and what the costs would allow for. As the project evolved, he stayed in good communication about its progress and suggested alternative solutions when needed to remain within the original budget. Honest, knowledgeable, accessible and professional. I'll be back for my programming needs and would recommend them to others.

The Poker Resource
Gaway Young
andyt34
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 6th, 2016
I was without a website for two months and had literally exhausted all means of repairing the site. A quick search to website repair brought me in contact with Rich, within minutes my site was up and running. I highly recommend his services.

Andy Taylor
Eastern Valley Landscaping
joelp26
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 18th, 2016
Verified purchase
Had a great experience with help from Computer Geeks. I was above my pay grade with a PHP update and spent 2 days of wasted time trying to fix the issue but without the knowledge to do it. Matthew was great, solved the problem on the first go and now I have also increased my own knowledge base by seeing the changes he made and where I went wrong. These guys are no prima donna's just hard working and excellent coders. No reinventing the wheel, just solving the problem in the most cost effective and fastest way possible. I recommend them highly and I will use them again without hesitation.
adams206
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 12th, 2016
Verified purchase
I was hacked and Rich saved me. It was a terrible experience, as is always the case when you deal with some pointless, yet malevolent malware created by some greasy faced kid living in his grandmothers basement. My host immediately took my site down, and was trying to charge me 500 to clean it so it can be opened again. Bull$#*!. Rich did it for much cheaper and also stuck around after the fact, helping really polish it off, making sure my site had regenerated into its fresh immunity. All in all, I don't know what I would do without his help. My entire business is my site. He had it up and running the same day of the hack. Five star service for sure! Highly recommended.
markh212
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 12th, 2016
After being let down by a plethora of programmers in the past, I was a bit skeptical about even talking to another programmer. Then I met The Computer Geek! It was truly refreshing talking and eventually working with The Computer Geek. The term "Geek" doesn't describe Rich at all. He's a talented, hard working, guy who's true desire was to see our projects through to completion. The ONLY issue I had with The Computer Geek was that he would finish my projects BEFORE I was ready. As a programmer myself, I spent most of my time getting the next project ready instead of assisting. Like I said earlier, it has been a "refreshing" relationship that I hope will last for many years to come. It's been great working with someone who actually DOES what they SAY! REFRESHING!

Mark Hubbard
Impala Parts
karenw141
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 27th, 2016
The Computer Geek was awesome to work with! Despite the fact that they were several time zones away, they always answered our questions promptly. We were extremely happy with the quality of their work, the end result, and the speed with which they accomplished it.

After approaching half a dozen web designers that either couldn't do what we wanted, wanted to charge us an outrageous amount of money, or were going to take several months to have our site up and running,

The Computer Geek found ways to make it all work at a price that we could afford. I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Fresa Tees
Karen Wilson
Service
Value
Quality
robertj119
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 20th, 2016
Verified purchase
I found myself stuck with an email response form issue on a clients website. These guys spoke to me over the phone and quoted me a price. Happily, they stayed within the initial quote and fixed my problem. If I ever need help again they will be the first ones I call.
dianaw34
1 review
2 helpful votes
April 19th, 2016
Verified purchase
On Saturday I discovered one of my 6 websites had been hacked and links were leading to porn sites. I was devastated. I found Computer-geek.net online, and filled in a form. This was a weekend, and almost immediately Evan contacted me. His knowledge and professional commitment to get my site cleaned up was reassuring. I have been online since 2002, and have never been hacked before. Rich, the Project Manager, told me this was one of the worst hack sites he has seen. Computer-geek.net has now installed Website Guardian Protection Software and I have full confidence that they are there for me. Now I can do what I love - blogging and posting on my websites - without worrying about the tech stuff that I don't like dealing with. Thanks a Million! With Gratitude, Diana Walker
sherylk9
1 review
1 helpful vote
March 6th, 2016
Verified purchase
Professional, expedient & friendly service are only a few words to describe the positive experience I had using 'the computer geek' to put my site together.

Sheryl Kopman
Raw Foodz
thomass146
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 21st, 2016
We'd like to extend our appreciation to Richard and Anna for the outstanding work they did creating a new ecommerce site for our business. When we realized that a "cookie-cutter" ecommerce site would not be sufficient for our needs, and the time and expertise required to customize a site was beyond my capabilities, we enlisted The Computer Geek to create a completely new website. The Computer Geek team communicated very well, listening to our needs, anticipating problems, and making helpful and cost-saving suggestions that helped our ecommerce business grow. Richard used his programming knowledge and skill to create a powerful ecommerce site that our business can be proud of.
janetb63
1 review
5 helpful votes
February 18th, 2016
Verified purchase
The Computer Geeks have helped our Web site thrive without the payroll of a full time Web maintenance staff member. They are courteous, quick, and divide time on quarterly hours since some of our web work is short and quick. Design is done by Anna for us, and she has been creatively impressive. We start out monthly with newscast Banner Ads, and we have appreciated her abilities to get our Banner Ads created in a timely fashion, even if we are late to get it to her.

On a more daily basis we get to work with Justin, and I've appreciated his abilities to get the jobs done quickly and easily, and I especially like working with the same person each time, so he knows how we work, and knows our expectations. He is friendly, willing and is personable to my entire staff here at the Radio Stations. I would recommend the Computer Geeks based on their outstanding work on our growing Website LakePowellLife.com, without the full time Web person, and all that goes with that.

Janet B.
Lake Powell Life
Service
Value
Quality
judithc16
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 17th, 2016
I have used The Computer Geek for many years for website design and hosting, as well as for cybersecurity. Like any other company, you get what you pay for. There may be some companies that are cheaper, but what's important to me is ability and availability. If I have a problem I need someone who will respond promptly and fix the problem and I get that with The Computer Geek. It's rare in this day and age to find companies who deliver what they promise, and when you find one you treasure them. Anyone in business knows there are some people you can never satisfy, no matter what you do or say, but I would have to say The Computer Geek tries harder than most... and I'm not easy to please!
Service
Value
Quality
bernief7
1 review
3 helpful votes
February 22nd, 2016
I've been using Rich from the Computer Geek for web programming for over two years now, and I've found him to be very professional, responsive, offering reasonable prices and extremely creative.

Bernie Farkas
Story Workz
matthewe17
1 review
7 helpful votes
February 17th, 2016
Thanks a lot Rich. It was a great experience working with you.

Q&A (1)

Answer:

We can if you were local to us. We are in the GTA area of Ontario.

By Rich A.,

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the The Computer Geek staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

The Computer Geek is a full service web development company comprised of highly skilled and experienced programmers, designers, site security technicians and internet marketing consultants. Whatever your online product, service, or interest, we can help... there isn't anything web-related we can't do!

We provide services in custom web design, web development, website maintenance / troubleshooting / repair, and ecommerce applications.

We also offer top-of-the-line website hosting (Cloud Servers), Search Engine Optimization & marketing, and specially developed innovative security software to protect your website from hackers.

We are known for our stellar customer service with representatives that are approachable and easy to talk to.

Company Representative

richa2195
Rich A.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about The Computer Geek?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about The Computer Geek?