Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Common Sense Media reviews

Is this your business?
9 reviews
94103
Tel: +1-415-863-0601

9 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

avaeat
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/20/19

This is filled with people trying to ban all games and review games that they haven't even played. This isn't right.

emilj8
21 reviews
65 helpful votes
11/28/18

It's filled with soccer moms and overprotective parents that give almost everything that's not G-rated an 18+ rating

mv73
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
7/26/18

Tiny Zoo - 2 stars and 13+? That's not right. Yes the crosbreed feature may be a bit.. awkward.. But there's no sex or anything.
Roblox - 4 stars? Seriously? Your home is under a rock, right. Educational value - better than that of Animal Jam's? That's not right at all.
Used to be good but now this.

Tip for consumers: Do your own research, as not everything here is accurate.

Quality
jesser2
59 reviews
113 helpful votes
7/11/16

In nearly every situation, Common Sense Media provides well-written yet succinct critiques of movies, games, music, and even websites. Unlike most other "family review" sites, they do not have an extreme Christian bias and will review any movie with an open mind. They give two ratings... one is mostly for parents, which is the recommend age for the movie.

It is very detailed and not just a rating like PG or PG-13... they will specifically explain that one movie is good for 11 and up and another might be 14 and up.

I do have one minor issue with them... they decided to give the website HomestarRunner.com a score of "15+", implying that the site would be inappropriate for anyone under 15. While I do agree with the 4/5 they gave for H*Rs quality... the fact that they think that the Brothers Chaps mostly harmless collection of flash cartoons is only for older teens and adults makes me wonder if they even watched them.

But besides that whiny rant, I actually enjoy using this site to see what they think of things. They can be trusted in most cases.

maddoxc
2 reviews
9 helpful votes
6/25/16

It was good in 2008-2010 but in 2011, soccermoms came and ruined it, they gave it one star and 18+ because of the adult jokes (s3x related jokes kids won't get)

whiteh2
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
3/14/16

I've seen my parents use this site before for the purposes of "checking on" games before I play them, and the results are laughable. The main reviewers on the site- those who are paid to do review the games, are terribly biased.
The main premise of the site is a place for parents to talk about and review media (as the name suggests) and share the ideas to the public, which works on paper, but everything has become terribly colluded.
I once read an article on their site about the "Top Ten Worst TV Shows For Kids" and Nick
s Fred was very high on the list. Fred was notorious for his YouTube career in the past, but the Television Show was quite tame. Most parents hated it for how annoying the character was, and though I agree with them, the site had no reservations when it came to bashing every single thing that was "bad for kids", when it truly wasn't.
(Spongebob was on this list. Are you kidding me?)

This goes for the game-by-game, website-by-website reviews as well. For example- there are two similar games called Animal Jam and Club Penguin- two MMOs that are built for kids and can be perfectly safe when used properly. As someone who has had experience with both games- one is obviously better than the other (coughanimaljamcough) but the parent who reviewed the site gave Club Penguin the better rating in Safety and Learning. This makes no sense to me as the Disney team hasn't updated their filter in years- you can say shiiiiiittt and other variations of swear words, but you can't say 'war', lol.
In the Learning category, it was given a 3/5, even though it has no educational content whatsoever, even Animal Jam has more educational tidbits than the Disney game. One of the selling points is actually the "education" aspects lol

I realize that turned into a bit of a rant about two reviews, but this circumstance applies all over the site.

There are, though, positive aspects, as there are negative ones. There are a handful of genuine reviews on the site, if you're willing to dig for them.

I also understand that this is a site built for concerned parents of young children, but really, take everything you see here with a grain of salt.

Thanks,
whitehat

UPDATE:
I forgot to mention that I saw someone from the website commenting on an article about how to use a Proxy Server, haha. The typing style was very similar to one on the site and it drove me up a wall just reading it- the user using the official Common Sense account was ranting about how kids shouldn't have freedom on the internet. It made them come off as very standoffish. Not really the way to represent your website ;)
But a good read if you like comment flamewars!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from the article section- load of all tosh. (harry potter references, yay!)

randomu
12 reviews
37 helpful votes
3/30/13

It has good reviews and info for parents who are concerned about their children. However, the parent reviews are nothing short of ridiculous. All the top reviews of popular shows are negative, regardless of the content. It appears that the only ones using the public parent reviews are people who are way too overprotective. They are also filled with trolls.

tracye1
54 reviews
143 helpful votes
1/12/13

This is my go-to site for checking out video games for my son. He is past the "games" age and into "gaming" -- however -- I am still the parent and I get final say. This site really helps parse through games with skill, education, language, violence & sexual content, ease of play, privacy, etc ratings.

They also review (and you can add your own reviews!) of movies, apps, books, games. Excellent source!!!

kylew6
8 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/2/12

Good website to determine if certain entertainment is safe for your children to view/hear. Shows many details about movies, games, and songs that may contain questionable content (such as violence, sex, or foul language)

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Common Sense Media staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Common Sense Media?
Post Review