We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    Common Sense Media

Corporate Values

Overview

Common Sense Media has a consumer rating of 1.94 stars from 17 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. Common Sense Media also ranks 43rd among Internet Safety sites.

  • Service
    2
  • Value
    2
  • Shipping
    1
  • Returns
    1
  • Quality
    3
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 0%
Positive
0
Neutral
1
Negative
3
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • Movie critics in general are simply losers who wish they could be filmmakers.
How would you rate Common Sense Media?
Top Positive Review

“Decent reviews and helpful age categories (usually)”

Jesse R.
7/11/16

In nearly every situation, Common Sense Media provides well-written yet succinct critiques of movies, games, music, and even websites. Unlike most other "family review" sites, they do not have an extreme Christian bias and will review any movie with an open mind. They give two ratings... one is mostly for parents, which is the recommend age for the movie. It is very detailed and not just a rating like PG or PG-13... they will specifically explain that one movie is good for 11 and up and another might be 14 and up. I do have one minor issue with them... they decided to give the website HomestarRunner.com a score of "15+", implying that the site would be inappropriate for anyone under 15. While I do agree with the 4/5 they gave for H*Rs quality... the fact that they think that the Brothers Chaps mostly harmless collection of flash cartoons is only for older teens and adults makes me wonder if they even watched them. But besides that whiny rant, I actually enjoy using this site to see what they think of things. They can be trusted in most cases.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Horrible company. Renee Schonfeld is a silly little movie critic”

Lara P.
7/30/20

I read Ms. Schonfeld's review of 'Slamma Jamma' and you can pull your hair out. The film is a beautiful portrayal of a man searching for Christ. She obviously doesn't get it. But why would she? She's never directed or written a film in her entire life. Her gravestone will read: "I'm a movie critic and I'm better than all the directors, writers and producers combined. I'm a movie critic." You laugh. What parent tells their children to someday grow up to be movie critics?

See critical reviews

Reviews (17)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

movie critics (3)
larap35
1 review
2 helpful votes
July 30th, 2020
I read Ms. Schonfeld's review of 'Slamma Jamma' and you can pull your hair out. The film is a beautiful portrayal of a man searching for Christ. She obviously doesn't get it. But why would she? She's never directed or written a film in her entire life. Her gravestone will read: "I'm a movie critic and I'm better than all the directors, writers and producers combined. I'm a movie critic." You laugh. What parent tells their children to someday grow up to be movie critics?
jackl371
1 review
4 helpful votes
April 7th, 2020
I usually write pretty thorough reviews, but for this site, there's not much to say about it. For one, it used to be good. Then they over exaggerated everything to the max. Most critics on Common Sense Media don't even have kids, miss obvious details in every game, movie, or book, and if they even held it, they didn't finish it. If you go on this website, only look at the kid reviews. The parents are just as overprotective as the critics. The kids are the ones who experienced it. They will tell you what you want. It's also full of spam...
ar536
1 review
1 helpful vote
July 18th, 2020
The reviews leaned toward the normalization for child sex, and making vulgarity a "norm." Their reviews are misleading.
jesser2
64 reviews
135 helpful votes
July 11th, 2016
In nearly every situation, Common Sense Media provides well-written yet succinct critiques of movies, games, music, and even websites. Unlike most other "family review" sites, they do not have an extreme Christian bias and will review any movie with an open mind. They give two ratings... one is mostly for parents, which is the recommend age for the movie.

It is very detailed and not just a rating like PG or PG-13... they will specifically explain that one movie is good for 11 and up and another might be 14 and up.

I do have one minor issue with them... they decided to give the website HomestarRunner.com a score of "15+", implying that the site would be inappropriate for anyone under 15. While I do agree with the 4/5 they gave for H*Rs quality... the fact that they think that the Brothers Chaps mostly harmless collection of flash cartoons is only for older teens and adults makes me wonder if they even watched them.

But besides that whiny rant, I actually enjoy using this site to see what they think of things. They can be trusted in most cases.
robertb2904
5 reviews
2 helpful votes
March 24th, 2020
Common sense media always gave good insight and good points to why or why not to allow you or your family to view a film or game. They could improve on reflecting actual parent insight, because sometimes the vast majority of parent reviews go against the rating given by the actual site
juliee164
3 reviews
14 helpful votes
June 4th, 2019
They pretend they're a family-friendly, faith-based organization - but they're far from it. If you look deeply into their reviews, they actually bash faith-based films while giving great reviews to sick and twisted movies.

Don't trust these guys. They'll go on a Thursday to the box office to try to up their competitors with a negative movie review. Horrible people running this website.

Movie critics in general are simply losers who wish they could be filmmakers. They will be forgotten as that heavy-set critic with glasses who died - roger something. Movies live on - critics don't.
amym744
1 review
7 helpful votes
August 8th, 2019
Just read their negative latest review on 'Brian Banks' from Common Sense Media.

These Common sense media critics like Tara McNamara, are total and complete losers. Bashing a great family, faith movie is so wrong in so many ways. Everyone is so sick of Common Sense Media. They're almost like evil Hollywood tribalists in disguise. Pretending to be family-friendly when in fact they're wolves in sheep's clothing.

Are they truly a non-profit? I'd like the Feds to step in and investigate this top to bottom.
kaylag58
1 review
8 helpful votes
March 10th, 2019
I'm extremely disappointed with common sense media's review information because they are leaving out so much information from the content they're reviewing it's like they aren't even trying and honestly I'm just as surprised by movie content as I would be if I didn't look up the reviews on common sense media if not more so. In my opinion the only way someone would be happy with common sense media's reviews is if they're a teenager trying to watch movies or other content their parents would rather not allow them to see. As for me I'm big into family friendly content that for the most part won't make anyone uncomfortable so I'll only use IMDb for information from now on.

Tip for consumers: Use a IMDb instead

keg2
1 review
5 helpful votes
March 31st, 2019
Soccer mom condescending misleading pathetic attempts at being pseudo movie critics glossed over with neurologically over medicated rectal sanitizer
avaeat
1 review
7 helpful votes
January 20th, 2019
This is filled with people trying to ban all games and review games that they haven't even played. This isn't right.
tracye1
55 reviews
149 helpful votes
January 12th, 2013
This is my go-to site for checking out video games for my son. He is past the "games" age and into "gaming" -- however -- I am still the parent and I get final say. This site really helps parse through games with skill, education, language, violence & sexual content, ease of play, privacy, etc ratings.

They also review (and you can add your own reviews!) of movies, apps, books, games. Excellent source!
emilj8
20 reviews
141 helpful votes
November 28th, 2018
It's filled with soccer moms and overprotective parents that give almost everything that's not G-rated an 18+ rating
maddoxc
2 reviews
15 helpful votes
June 25th, 2016
It was good in 2008-2010 but in 2011, soccermoms came and ruined it, they gave it one star and 18+ because of the adult jokes (s3x related jokes kids won't get)
mv73
9 reviews
19 helpful votes
July 26th, 2018
Tiny Zoo - 2 stars and 13+? That's not right. Yes the crosbreed feature may be a bit. Awkward. But there's no sex or anything.
Roblox - 4 stars? Seriously? Your home is under a rock, right. Educational value - better than that of Animal Jam's? That's not right at all.
Used to be good but now this.

Tip for consumers: Do your own research, as not everything here is accurate.

whiteh2
2 reviews
5 helpful votes
March 14th, 2016
I've seen my parents use this site before for the purposes of "checking on" games before I play them, and the results are laughable. The main reviewers on the site- those who are paid to do review the games, are terribly biased.
The main premise of the site is a place for parents to talk about and review media (as the name suggests) and share the ideas to the public, which works on paper, but everything has become terribly colluded.
I once read an article on their site about the "Top Ten Worst TV Shows For Kids" and Nick
S Fred was very high on the list. Fred was notorious for his YouTube career in the past, but the Television Show was quite tame. Most parents hated it for how annoying the character was, and though I agree with them, the site had no reservations when it came to bashing every single thing that was "bad for kids", when it truly wasn't.
(Spongebob was on this list. Are you kidding me?)

This goes for the game-by-game, website-by-website reviews as well. For example- there are two similar games called Animal Jam and Club Penguin- two MMOs that are built for kids and can be perfectly safe when used properly. As someone who has had experience with both games- one is obviously better than the other (coughanimaljamcough) but the parent who reviewed the site gave Club Penguin the better rating in Safety and Learning. This makes no sense to me as the Disney team hasn't updated their filter in years- you can say shiiiiiittt and other variations of swear words, but you can't say 'war', lol.
In the Learning category, it was given a 3/5, even though it has no educational content whatsoever, even Animal Jam has more educational tidbits than the Disney game. One of the selling points is actually the "education" aspects lol

I realize that turned into a bit of a rant about two reviews, but this circumstance applies all over the site.

There are, though, positive aspects, as there are negative ones. There are a handful of genuine reviews on the site, if you're willing to dig for them.

I also understand that this is a site built for concerned parents of young children, but really, take everything you see here with a grain of salt.

Thanks,
Whitehat

UPDATE:
I forgot to mention that I saw someone from the website commenting on an article about how to use a Proxy Server, haha. The typing style was very similar to one on the site and it drove me up a wall just reading it- the user using the official Common Sense account was ranting about how kids shouldn't have freedom on the internet. It made them come off as very standoffish. Not really the way to represent your website;)
But a good read if you like comment flamewars!

Tip for consumers: Stay away from the article section- load of all tosh. (harry potter references, yay!)

randomu
12 reviews
56 helpful votes
March 30th, 2013
It has good reviews and info for parents who are concerned about their children. However, the parent reviews are nothing short of ridiculous. All the top reviews of popular shows are negative, regardless of the content. It appears that the only ones using the public parent reviews are people who are way too overprotective. They are also filled with trolls.
kylew6
8 reviews
9 helpful votes
August 2nd, 2012
Good website to determine if certain entertainment is safe for your children to view/hear. Shows many details about movies, games, and songs that may contain questionable content (such as violence, sex, or foul language)

Q&A (2)

Answer:

No. reeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

By Avaea T.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the Common Sense Media staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

We believe in media sanity, not censorship. We believe that media has truly become "the other parent" in our kids' lives, powerfully affecting their mental, physical, and social development. We believe in teaching our kids to be savvy, respectful and...

How do I know I can trust these reviews about Common Sense Media?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about Common Sense Media?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business