We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
  • Bookmark

    CarHistory

Corporate Values

Overview

CarHistory has a consumer rating of 4.25 stars from 381 reviews indicating that most customers are generally satisfied with their purchases. CarHistory ranks 2nd among Car Buying sites.

Positive reviews (last 12 months): 52.5%
Positive
21
Neutral
11
Negative
8
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

  • Get your vehicle history report and get the peace of mind along with your purchase.
  • It is very easy to use and fast reporting great customer service I would say to anyone use this site.

Critical highlights

No critical highlights yet

How would you rate CarHistory?
Top Positive Review

“Great”

Jesus R.
11/8/20

Great I like to know this vehicle 1HGCV1F37KA091093 information tile because the owner is doing Racketeering Expropriation here on Chicago IL U.S.A. with other people they want to Expropriate kidnapping kill our Children's and to Taylor Alison Swift Slave us take us away from our self they want to remove my Husband Wife from me and this is not good we need the information to defend our self's and call our attorneys, Thank you in advance,

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Beware”

David G.
4/27/21

Says $1 for first report but charges full monthly fee upon initial request for first report. I called number on my card to find out why it was declined. Carhistory attempted to bill $18.95 to my $10 prepaid card is why it was declined. I did see they posted a monthly renewal but I only want 1 report and was willing to cancel but not when I must request a refund. Does the first report really cost $18.95 with a full month subscription? I'd rather pay Carfax $40 than deal with misleading advertisers. Beware.

See critical reviews

Reviews (381)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

vehicle history report (4) customer service (8) great service (3) vehicle report (4) good site (5)
jesusr167
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 8th, 2020

Great I like to know this vehicle 1HGCV1F37KA091093 information tile because the owner is doing Racketeering Expropriation here on Chicago IL U.S.A. with other people they want to Expropriate kidnapping kill our Children's and to Taylor Alison Swift Slave us take us away from our self they want to remove my Husband Wife from me and this is not good we need the information to defend our self's and call our attorneys, Thank you in advance,

davidg94
6 reviews
8 helpful votes
April 27th, 2021

Says $1 for first report but charges full monthly fee upon initial request for first report. I called number on my card to find out why it was declined. Carhistory attempted to bill $18.95 to my $10 prepaid card is why it was declined. I did see they posted a monthly renewal but I only want 1 report and was willing to cancel but not when I must request a refund. Does the first report really cost $18.95 with a full month subscription? I'd rather pay Carfax $40 than deal with misleading advertisers. Beware.

Service
Value
erikb228
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 25th, 2020

I was skeptical at first, but for only a dollar I decided to try it. Excellent information with fast turnaround. Thanks!

davidr2959
1 review
1 helpful vote
December 8th, 2020

I need to know who owns it now. I salvaged to a local junk yard.Lo and behold I cancelled the insurance and state of Florida took my drivers license. I don't know who the junk was because they sent a tow truck. I gave the title they gave me the money. I expected to see more but if things don't get reported than how are carhistory know?

andreaf277
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 22nd, 2020

Super easy to complete. Quick. Very informative. Really made me feel alot easier about buying a used car. Highly recommend this site.

davidg2979
1 review
0 helpful votes
November 19th, 2020

Report allowed me to save money by showing me the same exact information as those over priced sites.

crystalr263
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 25th, 2020

Accurate information, quick, simple, and no hassle. I would recommend to others, who are seeking information on a vehicle.

joseld
1 review
2 helpful votes
June 21st, 2020

I fell into their trap and thought it would just cost me a dollar to find out the history of the car I was interested in. I don't recalled reading it was going to be a monthly fee. I thought I cancelled it but apparently that didn't happened. I was charged $18.95 since October of 2019. That's a whopping $170.55 out of my account for a service I only used once. Stay away is the safest thing to do.

peterb1253
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 12th, 2020

Read before you click. The Report is what I wanted but I thought it was going to be $1. Always read the fine print people.

leannao6
1 review
0 helpful votes
October 28th, 2020

This site was very helpful and through. It helped me make a decision on buying the vehicle Iwill be sure to do all my business with them

botj
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 16th, 2020

The vehicle information provided was accurate, but it did not include the information that I was seeking (the buyer info). Also, it was advertised as only costing $1.00 for the report I got, however when I looked at my bank statement the following day, they had in fact, charged me $18.75.

davidw480
1 review
5 helpful votes
May 29th, 2020

This is a SCAM
This is a SCAM. They say they will charge you $1 for the report but they automatically sign you up for $18.95 per month for a whole year? It's a bait and switch... a good old fashion scam. They must get many unsuspecting people that never check their credit card statement. User Beware! These dudes are straight up crooks.

dennisb699
1 review
1 helpful vote
October 28th, 2020

You think you agree for a $1 single report, but there is hidden an $18.99 X 12 Bull$#*! plan that if you do not UNCHECK it, you get screwed! They'll agree to stop the payments. Good luck getting your $17.95 back.

kristopherd25
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 4th, 2020

Very helpful in chat now waiting on last tid bits and couldn't be happier. I hope to get all the info as so far ive got a lot of it right away for really cheap!

richards2729
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 16th, 2020

I was very pleased with the information given it help me out a lot in knowing more important information about my vehicles History. Any other additional information that was necessary to my benefit!

michellem2146
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 22nd, 2020

I was happy to receive my results for a vehicle I was thinking of purchasing. It was very quick & easy! The results were more detailed than what I got from the dealership! Very happy & will defiantly use this site again during my vehicle search!

alberts274
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 2nd, 2020

I'm not seeing some of the information I was looking for... maybe I need to study it some more... like the different owners... service records... etc

jw796
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 6th, 2020

I was looking to check some basic info of a car before purchasing from a private seller. I was shocked that this only cost me $1 from CarhistoryCalifornia. I got the basic things I needed in just a few minutes. Best one buck ever spent.

robb336
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 10th, 2020

Need a vehicles VIN quick... and I got it plus a lot more with CarHistory! Very thorough report with some helpful information.

scottg937
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 22nd, 2020

Although it states you will only be charged $1 for the report then hits you with a $18 bill the report was pretty detailed. I was pretty satisfied

joeg704
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 22nd, 2020

Great service real quick and easy everything was right forward and got me what I needed will use again if needed

bobbieh71
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 22nd, 2020

Full report with ownership information not provided prior to review screen. I do not have 100 characters for a review.

mosesm194
1 review
0 helpful votes
September 16th, 2020

My review was excellent everything I asked for and moreI did not have to wait long I got information about auction water damage the motor the tires everything and sound thank youw

pauls2635
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 21st, 2020

Service is pretty accurate all the information is based on the car what it looks like information on the vehicle recalls on the vehicle. Everything came out really nice, very detailed would recommend it to a lot of people

denisep481
1 review
0 helpful votes
December 20th, 2020

It was quick and easy. I got all the information that I needed within minutes. I really appreciate this service considering that there are others that provide the same information at a high cost.

Q&A (4)

Answer:

It's $18.95, they scam people saying it's only $1 and just keep charging you

By lindsey a.
See more answers (3)
Answer:

Hello Mark. Can you please provide me with your email address that you created your account with and I will immediately refund the amount

By Karmen J.,
See more answers (3)
Answer:

I thought I was only going to be charged $1. However, I was charged $18.95

By Tara H.
See more answers (2)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the CarHistory staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Get access to public information about used cars so that used car salespeople don't rip you off. The best used car information resource.

Company Representative

karmenj
Karmen J.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about CarHistory?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members

See reviews as you browse with our Chrome extension

4.3
377 reviews
Have a question about CarHistory?