Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    AutismSpeaks.org

Corporate Values

Overview

AutismSpeaks.org has a consumer rating of 2.67 stars from 6 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. AutismSpeaks.org also ranks 102nd among Health Information sites. The most common issues with AutismSpeaks.org are around customer service, which is not as good as expected by some customers.

View ratings trends
How would you rate AutismSpeaks.org?
Top Positive Review

“This is a very well-done resource for anyone...”

Chris O.
1/18/11

This is a very well-done resource for anyone seeking general information about autistic spectrum disorders, which are so varied in their symptoms that it's said every autistic child is different from the next, even when they have identical diagnoses. The site takes a good deal of care to be easy to read without dumbing-down the facts, something that many other sites which discuss specialized topics could learn from. It's clearly aimed at parents seeking guidance and manages to be welcoming without being patronizing. This is a very complex subject, made more so by the differences of opinions even amongst medical doctors and psychotherapists. It encompasses several different illnesses, making an individual set of symptoms almost impossible to classify, and as a result, a large number of those on the spectrum are regarded as "Not Otherwise Specified", a catch-all for many unique combinations of symptoms that can't be further defined. A clearly-written and sympathetic introduction is well worth promoting and supporting. I have to say that this is an American site, so suggested resources are American too. Nevertheless the information here is well enough presented to make it useful to anyone. Incidentally, I'm the second reviewer to review this site today but cross my heart, it's a sheer fluke. Naturally I hate coming in second (grin), but in this case I'm pleased to be able to draw a bit more attention to a worthwhile resource.

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“this company is hateful to autistics.”

Lili k.
8/27/19

if i could rate this group zero stars, i would. this organazation wants to change us by finding a cure! please dont donate!

See critical reviews

Reviews (6)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

lilik5
1 review
0 helpful votes
August 27th, 2019
if i could rate this group zero stars, i would. this organazation wants to change us by finding a cure! please dont donate!
jamess150
4 reviews
15 helpful votes
November 14th, 2013
zoes1
31 reviews
166 helpful votes
January 17th, 2011
This site is very informative and helpful when working with children with autism. It gives a lot of general information about autism. It also gives information for parents about their parental rights. It talks about various scientifically recommended programs for treatment. They also do walks for autism. This is a very positive site.
chriso1
656 reviews
3,166 helpful votes
January 18th, 2011
This is a very well-done resource for anyone seeking general information about autistic spectrum disorders, which are so varied in their symptoms that it's said every autistic child is different from the next, even when they have identical diagnoses.

The site takes a good deal of care to be easy to read without dumbing-down the facts, something that many other sites which discuss specialized topics could learn from. It's clearly aimed at parents seeking guidance and manages to be welcoming without being patronizing.

This is a very complex subject, made more so by the differences of opinions even amongst medical doctors and psychotherapists. It encompasses several different illnesses, making an individual set of symptoms almost impossible to classify, and as a result, a large number of those on the spectrum are regarded as "Not Otherwise Specified", a catch-all for many unique combinations of symptoms that can't be further defined. A clearly-written and sympathetic introduction is well worth promoting and supporting.

I have to say that this is an American site, so suggested resources are American too. Nevertheless the information here is well enough presented to make it useful to anyone.

Incidentally, I'm the second reviewer to review this site today but cross my heart, it's a sheer fluke. Naturally I hate coming in second (grin), but in this case I'm pleased to be able to draw a bit more attention to a worthwhile resource.
marym166
1 review
2 helpful votes
February 16th, 2015
I lost al respect for this company when they deleted a negative review I posted about a company they have listed as an option for services for autistic children. The company I was referring to had sent people to my home who went through my personal property and many other unprofessional actions. I feel that people should not be censored when discussing their experience of ABA people as these are people you allow into your home.
I also looked into how the money was spent from this company and compared to what this company brings in they give very little to support families of children with autism as they claim.
christopherg80
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
June 6th, 2017
This is for all of you people in the Central Florida area that are considering enrolling your kids with ASD in Transform your life coaching in Altamonte Springs FL. For those of you that have heard about the company and know about Paula Breeden who is running it, think twice before enrolling your kids there. Paula Breeden is a scam artist and a liar, and is more interested in making money rather than helping your kids with ASD. Whatever you decide to do is your decision, but I would recommend you enrolling your kids with UCF CARD in Orlando instead of with her. You can save your money a whole lot worth it that way.

Q&A (2)

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the AutismSpeaks.org staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

Visit us on the web at http://www.autismspeaks.org or follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/autismspeaks! Call the Autism Response team for help and resources: 888-AUTISM2.

How do I know I can trust these reviews about AutismSpeaks.org?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about AutismSpeaks.org?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business