Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of About.com

About.com reviews

Is this your business?
22 reviews
10036
Tel: (212) 204-4000
advertise@dotdash.com

22 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
2

All Reviews

HON Certified

About.com complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health. HON is a non-profit dedicated to improving healthcare information online. For more information, please see the HON certification for About.com.

emilyw92
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/23/17

Do not purchase TDS...you will be very disappointed!! I just can't believe TDS is so incompetent and that they have such terrible customer service. We were going to have TDS cable and internet installed. Kathleen Holmes one of the TDS Elite Sellers Professionals, was walking around our neighborhood selling this. My husband set up an appointment and the installer showed up and spent three hours splicing the current cables and doing all these changes in the house then he went outside and found that we didn't have a signal in our neighbors yard at the box. So he came back in and told me that he had bad news and good news. The bad news is that there's no signal so I can't connect you. But the good news is you're ready to go for when they do come back out here to connect you. Then he left. He didn't tell me that our DirecTV was completely disconnected and we would have no TV nor did he offer any solutions. He did tell me that since it was Friday they would be here on Monday to fix the issue at the box. My husband called to see if the connection had been made on Monday like the guy said it would. Nope it wasn't, so he asked them to come back out and reconnect us to DirecTV until we could either take a day off of work, or I could work from home so that they could come out here when it's convenient for them. That night, Monday they send a guy here to reconnect us and he spent an hour and a half trying to reconnect DirecTV (which we were still paying for) but because the first guy took all the DirecTV connectors with him, he wasn't able to do it.

They planned on coming out on Tuesday after work to complete the job. My husband let him know that he would be home sometime between 5:00pm and 5:30pm depending on traffic. Instead, they connected the signal connection at the box and left a note on the door saying sorry we missed you we were told to be if you'd be available at five we left at 5:10. My husband got home at 5:15. He called the person who had come by our house selling this and left a voicemail. I then called customer service when I got home from work and asked to speak with the manager. I was told that they were closing in 15 minutes and was put on hold for the person to go get a manager. at 7:03pm the person told me that the manager had left for the night and that they could schedule someone to come out on June 1st! That was almost 2 weeks later! I called again in the morning and requested to speak to a manager; after talking with three people I finally got someone who told me she was going to investigate it and get back with me.

I didn't get a phone call that day, so I then called on my way home. I spoke with another three people and they told me that that manager that I spoke with this morning would have to get back with me and right now the soonest they have available to come out is still June 1. I told them I didn't want them to install TDS at this point, and that we have had such a terrible experience that we really want our DirecTV back. They said that it is illegal for them to hook up another service and we would have to work that out with DirecTV. As my husband had been working with Kathleen Holmes, he continued to try to get someone out and was hoping they would try to make amends. No such luck. Murl MacKinnon emailed my husband on June 5th asking if their team of techs was able to get our TDS service up and running on June 1 when they were out at our home. My husband responded in email letting him know that he had received a call to confirm we would be home and and available...but no one showed up on June 1st. My husband followed up with Kathleen again, and she emailed my husband telling him that it was out of her hands...the person who was coming to our home was called and told not to come when he was on his way. Murl reached out again to offer to pay the Direct TV Bill since we still had no TV for over 2 weeks and offered a 20% credit. We have not heard from anyone again... We called DirecTV and cancelled it...and bought an antenna! What? Free tv? With Netflix and Amazon Prime, who needs the stress of TDS and their terrible customer service? What a disappointing experience.

alicej35
3 reviews
0 helpful votes
12/7/16

I read this one sometimes, but you need to be at least on a basic level of proficiency in what you are reading of as the site really can have misinformation leading to wrong advice.

el12945
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/6/16

I decided to start buying rolled oats in bulk like my parents did when I was younger. They would buy 50 pounds and store in closed buckets in basement for up to 2 years. I do not have a basement so went looking for advice on how to store without a basement. This is a quote from an About.com Home Cooking "expert".

"Like all grains, rolled oatmeal should be kept in an airtight container to discourage moisture and vermin intrusion. Store in a cool, dark cupboard up to three months or refrigerate up to 6 months. Due to its high oil content, oat bran should be refrigerated.

By Peggy Trowbridge Filippone
Home Cooking Expert

This woman thinks rolled oats can only be kept 3 months in the pantry. Heck the "for best quality" date on the two 5 pound each packs I just bought is 15 months away just leaving it in the dang cardboard box. How can you call yourself a cooking expert when you don't even know proper storage times for a staple pantry food like simple rolled oats?

robertc266
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/25/16

For many years I have used Paypal without problem. That continued when Paypal and eBay split. But today, when I had to pay some eBay invoices, I was forced to go through About.com. Some years ago About.com Hijacked my search engine, Internet Explore, (maybe I made a mistake), but I couldn't rid of it so I switched to Google. A lot of people were complaining at the time. I really don't want this company to have my passwords.

rogerm66
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/22/15

Up until November 2014, Ingrid Bauer at about.com provided excellent German lessons. She was then replaced in spring 2015 by one Michael Schmitz, and since then German about.com has been a disaster; poor English (it is not his native language), spelling errors in the German (apparently no proofreading done), and instead of providing language lessons (grammar, idioms etc.) he gives long rants about his political opinions, made even less legible by his need to italicise every other word. Since about.com provides no email contact directly to the company, one can only hope that some day the owners of this company (at 1500 Broadway, 6th Floor, New York, NY, 10036, apparently) will figure out that they are paying an incompetent boob to run their German language site.

peterd84
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/10/15

Alright, autoplaying videos are probably one of the most annoying things on the internet, and this site has them. That's already an immediate "avoid" of the site any time I see it in the future, but get this: If you pause them, scroll down, and scroll back up, THEY PLAY AGAIN.

Did someone have a stroke while they were coding at About.com? Who the hell thinks that makes sense? At least auto-playing videos might be useful for the non-savvy, but if someone pauses a video it means two things. 1) They want it paused. 2) They know how to resume it in case they want to.

About, tell your coders to go back to their desks for a bit and use some common sense.

Tip for consumers: If you value your sanity, find a different site with expert opinions. I've gotten this far without using About.com, and I plan on going much further without it.

Quality
bgd
2 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/26/15

Look up almost anything on about.com and you will find either:
1. An article that tells you almost nothing, or
2. An article that is full of errors and misinformation.
The about "education" site is even worse, since it presents itself as a resource for teachers and students to use. Stay away!

Quality
mollyn2
1 review
4 helpful votes
11/30/14

I was just looking to see what non-Western music for kids brought up and a woman (Espie Estrella) wrote a whole three or four paragraphs on non-Western music. Obviously, it was full of inaccuracies - she mentioned grass skirts, etc. are related to Hawaiian music - they are not. Please, about.com do not try to put a complex thing into a paragraph unless the person is an expert in their field. I don't ever use about.com because it's full of inaccuracies and cannot be replied to or edited by readers. A half-educated person is very dangerous. About.com is about money, not education.

howarde8
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/7/14

This is the most useful site for web hosting issues I have ever found. I have wasted a lot of time (and consequently yet more time and also money later) following the advice of other supposedly unbiased web hosting reviews . About.com offers real reviews from real people; as far as I know it is unique in that respect.

There is also a wealth of down-to-earth useful information on web site creation. I really regret not having stumbled on this site earlier. I'm bookmarking this site for sure!

lorris
10 reviews
26 helpful votes
6/24/14

I read the article, I read the comments, and I decided to add my comment. It asked me to sign up to leave a comment. I did! It gave me a box to write my comment in. I did!

After I spent 15 minutes thinking and typing, I hit the "Say It" button at the bottom. It told me "Sorry this article is closed to comments." and my comment disappeared. I couldn't even copy it to put somewhere else after all the work and thought I put into it. It was just gone!

Thanks About.com for wasting my time. Why didn't you just put a notice that no comments were allowed on that article any longer! Since comments were allowed just recently, my mind reading abilities failed to detect that the box for comments was just for looks.

alfonsos16
11 reviews
22 helpful votes
6/3/14

Nice and informative website about niche specific topics.
Only too much ads, if you ask me.

lindam70
27 reviews
48 helpful votes
6/7/13

This site directs you to articles and information about any area of interest. This is a very informative site.

anitap3
23 reviews
27 helpful votes
4/19/13

Breaks up the Web into major subject areas with a volunteer human host for each of them. It helps you sift out the wheat from the chaff on an enormous range of subjects.

9 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the About.com staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
About.com?
Post Review