SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Shapeways

Shapeways reviews

13 reviews
23%
Categories: 3d Printing, Art
419 Park Ave South
New York, NY 10016, USA
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

13 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

theprofx
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/29/15

Ordered a custom pendant as an anniversary present. Unhappy with the result.
It came much larger than designed and rough with pointed edges (when it was specified to have a round polished finish).
No refund policy. No replying to emails.
No customer service.
I will say the shape and strength appears well crafted and understand some of the difficulties posed by 3D printing, but no communication with their customers is their let down.

Ask TheProf about Shapeways
Advertisement
jamesb299
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/15/15

They sent me a more thinner almost tin like version of the ring I ordered. I ordered a much larger size and they sent me a ring at least two sizes too small. They never responded to my emails or sent me a new one to be in good form. I have asked them to send the correct size and have not gotten any response.

Ask james about Shapeways
katharinas
1 review
4 helpful votes
10/9/15

incredibly bad business. would not buy from them ever again. shipped the wrong item and then still have a no return policy? also item was made extremly sloppily and cheaply, a wall plate for nest almost made out of a thicker version of ? paper?? for 33 dollars and they shipped a size so ridiculously small it doesn't fit to a nest at all anyways. horrible. stay away.

Ask katharina about Shapeways
mathiasm25
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/25/15

In this day and age to have no return policy is juSt ridiculous. We ordered feet for eames chairs, the description said they were flexible but they weren't, at all and they did not fit the chairs we have. They were cheap, plastic items, not worth the money they charged. Customer service had us take pictures and send in multiple emails but the response was, sorry we don't have a return policy. So now we have 28 feet that don't work. Never again!

Ask Mathias about Shapeways
markw159
1 review
6 helpful votes
9/8/15

While the quality of workmanship is just abysmal, even worse, is the customer service.

When I brought the issue up to customer service their response was basically, "Too bad."

If I can save one person from the grief, aggravation, not to mention disappointment they'll have to endure in dealing with this outfit, then maybe some good will have come from my experience.

Ask Mark about Shapeways
kayleej1
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/7/15

I've given shapeways the benefit of the doubt over and over. Their plated material is crap, their 14k gold plated material turns fingers green in 4 hours and they tell me thats normal and won't issue a refund. I ordered their green polished plastic and it was so rough and not shiny at all. Not even smooth, it looks like mill wax. Their customer service is pathetic and condescending. I hoped to spend thousamds with them manufacturing my new jewelry line, but I will never work with them again. Absolutely terrible and not worth one cent.

Ask Kaylee about Shapeways
boydj4
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/11/15

I used to like Shapeways although they were always kind of expensive especially for small objects because of their "per item" set-up charge. No discount on this fee for printing more than one. I started grouping small objects together on a tree/sprue to bring the cost down to a reasonable level when producing multiple small parts.
Many parts went through and came out perfect... but then a new "error" started appearing indicating that my sprued parts could not be properly printed and that I had to separate them and print them individually.
This is a scam to collect higher fees hidden behind a technical pretense. Objects that had printed without problem before can no longer be printed as the program recognizes multiple items on a sprue and rejects them.
If Shapeway would just drop the per item set-up fee on multiple parts or make it a fixed percentage of the material cost this would not be an issue. But on small parts the main cost is the set up fees and the costs quickly become prohibitive. With this new anti-customer policy I will no longer be using Shapeways.

Ask Boyd about Shapeways
donnap21
1 review
4 helpful votes
1/6/15

Horrible!!! Terrible customer service. The process is fine in the beginning until you have a question or problem. If you upload a file, use a coupon, and then they reject your file, you can no longer use the coupon. Even if you do print anyway, just a dumb policy. Plus the prices are outrageous! I can have the same item cast in silver for $2 more than they are charging for plastic. They basically won't work with you at all and are terribly disorganized (as far follow thru and answering questions, they have several people answering the same question and then they don't follow thru on what you ask). If you are considering creating pieces for resale, do yourself a favor and find someone else!!!

Ask Donna about Shapeways
marthaa10
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/10/14

Poor customer support, no matter how many emails I sent. Of course, they don't list a phone number. I have lost money and customers. Poor quality material, flexible material was brittle and broke.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Martha about Shapeways
samsonr
1 review
2 helpful votes
9/10/14

Yes I agree, it sometimes takes for ever to get an item processed.
They give you this very far-off date for their scheduled shipping and then go as fast ot as slow as they want.

Just be aware.

Ask samson about Shapeways
jaimec3
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/9/13

It is good for cheap low quality prototyping, but it takes what feels like forever to get your pieces and they always say they are back ordered.Also, poor customer support.

Ask Jaime about Shapeways
tophera
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/23/13

Shapeways is a great 3D printing marketplace. You can find the latest neat, unique items for sale here. Maybe one day it will be like Amazon but with all 3D printed things!

Ask Topher about Shapeways
ericm10
12 reviews
53 helpful votes
8/12/11

There are lots of places to get things people make, like etsy and even eBay. What Shapeways adds to this is that they have 3d printing capabilities, which lets the inventor upload a pattern and customer can then buy it in different materials. Do a creative outlet where you do not need to stock the items, and the customer can get it how they want it. All that is great.

Actually doing the work and making the pieces is not always easy. The customer does not need to worry about this, but if you are a designer, things like not being able to make working metal hinges and other limits can be problematic. So there are limits, and it is not perfect, but it is a great link between designers and the general market.

Ask Eric about Shapeways

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Shapeways staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
11/2/15
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Shapeways staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Online 3D Printing Resources – Reviewed By Consumers

See more »

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Shapeways?
Post Review