SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Companies

RipoffReport reviews

33 reviews
Categories: Complaint
Tel: 602.359.4357
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

33 Reviews for RipoffReport

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

New Reviewer
3/31/14

It's a shame that a lowlife like the owner of ripoffreport.com can claim to be a "consumer advocate." After reviewing the methods of how the site is run, it's nothing but a lazy, unethical, easy way to make money, not much better than "revenge-porn" sites.

Basically, anyone can ANONYMOUSLY post any kind of nasty rumor about anyone- a business competitor, an ex, a disgruntled employee. You don't have to verify that you even have a real email address. You don't have to use your real name. Once you have "registered" you can than make up ANY kind of lie you want, and it will rise to the top of Google looking like a legitimate warning about a bad business.

THEN the business, person, or nonprofit who is having their life destroyed can only remove the damaging rumors from Google by paying thousands of dollars to the site (which claims that the money is for 'arbitrators' who don't actually exist. In reality, the owner of the site just copies and pastes a disclaimer at the top of the article.)

Even if you're tempted to use ripoffreport.com for a legitimate gripe against a business (unlike most people who just use it as a way to destroy other people's lives), please read the Forbes article on this site's awful founder and owner. It's not worth helping this guy make another dime destroying jobs, lives, non-profits, and livelihoods just because he found an easy and sleazy way to get rich.

New Reviewer
3/28/14

I am sure Ripoff is in shady business. They are extortionist that make companies pay thousands of dollars to them so they can remove a review. But, they never really remove them. I heard most reviews on there are not even real. Probably written by Ripoff themselves. It's sad this site can't work to it's true purpose.

New Reviewer
3/16/14

This website does not require any facts to support complaints. I have found this to be a Jerry Springer of websites intent on destroying people and business versus valid truth.

Additionally concerned because anyone that I am aware of that has visited the site ends up with a terrible virus on their computer.

New Reviewer
2/27/14

some frauds or our competitors lie that they use our service and we never ship them any items. we contact Ripoffreport.com they said, if we want to remove that fraud lie review, we have to pay ripoffreport.com to do that. This ripoffreport.com is a rip off website, they just want money from you and never offer help for innocent people. we should never trust this website at all. they should be shut down.

New Reviewer
2/3/14

Reports about Kleargear said they wanted $2k to remove her own review. That's ridiculous. People should have the right to remove their own content. They use people to gain profit. It's not user friendly. Wouldn't recommend this site.

New Reviewer
1/30/14

It's a shakedown scam. Exploiting people's desires to "stick it to the man." In reality, they do no such thing.

Any competitor, ex-boyfriend, or just a troll can post anything under any name, with no fact-checking or accountability. You can post "reports" about any person, non-profit, or business. It's a way for people to destroy and hurt other people.

Then the damaged persons (innocent or guilty) can not get their lives back unless they give this slimeball $2000. And he justifies the jobs and lives he's ruined by fancying himself a "consumer advocate."

Real consumer advocates do the work of fact-checking! Ripoff report only cares about extorting real businesses and nonprofits for money!

New Reviewer
1/13/14

It is one of those sites that could be helpful if the owner cared anything about content, but instead it is nothing but a libel site. The owner of the site refuses to remove ANYTHING! Instead a person is offered to pay a ton of money for a company to come in and enhance their reputation by moving the Ripoff Report posting down the google search engine list.Please note RRO has their own preferred company to do that and make them even more profit. Their website is pure trash.

New Reviewer
12/27/13

Ripoffreport.com will extort your business to have a false complaint one person has about your business, even if this complaint was resolved. One complaint out of tens of thousands. The owner Ed Magedson is a wanted fugitive and uses Google adwords and spamming keywords to get the complaint high in search ranking but even worse he is using money he gets from bad scam artist company's advertising on his website. Get rich quick schemes, bad credit loan schemes, fast cash loans who prey on the poor all of the company's and crooks that you normally associate criminals to our ripoffreports advertisers. That is correct he takes money from criminals, fraudsters and thieves and he is operating a website that supposedly a consumer can complain about the very businesses he is supporting and making him rich. If you go to his website make sure you clear your history and cache afterwards you will be spyed on by the lowest of bottom feeders and crooks if you do not clear your cookies and spyware Lookup to see if the actual rip off company's that are supporting have any complaints listed, they do not because he removed the complaints when they agreed to the paid advertising and his extortion. I am certain that eventually this guy will be locked up and made to pay. The BBB rates ripoffreport.com at F its lowest score it seems that Mr. Ed Magedson does not answer complaints about his business ripoffreport.com but yet he terrorizes honest businesses with lies and then tell that business he will remove the lie if you pay Mr Ed thousands of dollars, that is extortion. You can change all of this by writing your senators and congressman and put this bully behind bars.

New Reviewer
12/13/13

Pretty solid complaint website, another good one is pissedconsumer.

New Reviewer
12/1/13

I reported a notorious internet scam to these people and they totally blew the report off. They have developed a relationship with the scam and gave it high praise meanwhile characterizing me as deluded or dishonest. It appears that people who have gone after ROR in the past have succeeded in cowing it down.

New Reviewer
11/22/13

Malicious website. No way to verify that any report on the site is true or a bunch of invented garbage. Criminal's paradise for online abuse, defamation and libel.

New Reviewer
11/13/13

As a business owner I was notified by ripoffreport.com that they had received a complaint from one of my customers. After clicking on their link to what I thought would take me directly to the complaint, instead I received their order page.

I then when directly to their main webpage, ripoffreport.com, put in my company's name and received the following response:
Approximately 0 Reports Found
Showing 1-0

I don't believe this site serves a useful purpose for businesses, but it may do well for consumers.

New Reviewer
11/5/13

I have followed Ripoff Report for several years, and pass-along some information to family friends.But the reviewer may just be too subjective. You cannot believe them all.

New Reviewer
10/30/13

Yes !!! I had a recent little problem with a dishonest bunch of collection whores in Tulsa, OK, who had placed a derogatory remark on my credit
history. NORTHSTAR TECHNOLOGIES, doing business as EQUINOX COLLECTIONS, also in Tulsa. Equinox reported on my credit history that I owed a crooked doctor, GARY R. LEE, MD, in Tulsa, $300 bucks for a 1995 bill that a conscienceless, psychopathic osteopath named FARRAR said I owed. FARRAR was a devious jack-off ambulance-chasing JERK, that was so incompetent, he had no practice except for personal injury cases that some unscrupulous Tulsa lawyers were sending him. This Lee character bought FARRAR's practice. So, 18 years later, this Gary R. Lee tries to extort me. I placed some carefully worded reviews of Gary Lee, ad his collector, EQUINOX/NORTHSTAR. They erased/removed the derogatory remark form my credit. Ed Magedson, the founder of WWW.RIPOFFREPORT.COM, has saved a lot of people, a lot of grief, and pain. If YOU get a bad review on Ripoff Report, answer the review. That is, unless you're a crook. And in that case.....take your punishment. You deserve what you get.... a swift kick in the arse. HES/GROVE, OK

New Reviewer
10/26/13

RipoffRiport.com needs a report of itself on itself.

Ripoff Report is a scam., Greedy charlatans who found a new way to blackmail every business in America.

You CAN remove reports, IF YOU PAY. How's that for being impartial?

Rip people off all you want, then pay them. You'd be fine. Charlatan mentality for the professional charlatans.

New Reviewer
8/1/13

RIPOFFREPOT.COM IS A GOOD WEBSITE THAT EMPOWERS PEOPLE LIKE ME!

I like any kind of website that gives people a voice, even if they make money on us. As long as they do not delete our reports UNLESS the business being reported of wants to do the right thing for the consumers that reported it.

Otherwise, ripoffreport.com is by far one of the best site to get your voice heard!

I just filed my report on RIPOFFREPOT.COM against Carmax.com and Roadloans.com for discrimination in FAIR LENDING ACT, and I am proud that I can read my report and share it to others.

Fact is: WE NEED MORE POPULAR SITE LIKE RIPOFFREPORT,COM !

New Reviewer
6/7/13

A bad and totally unfair place. Anyone with a grudge of any kind against a business, or even a competitor can post whatever lies they like. Sure, you can, as a business owner, post a rebuttal, but the rebuttal appears way down in the page where few people see it, and also serves to boost the page in search engine findings so more potential customers will find it. When they do, they see the blaring negative headline and may never actually visit the page itself to see the rebuttal. This damned place has allowed many good companies reputations to be maligned and damaged. Shame on this site. May they rot.

New Reviewer
6/6/13

it is an extortion site. company is asking money for a removal of negative feedback left by a competitor.

New Reviewer
6/1/13

I like this website, but I think their UI needs an update. Just read the reviews and then research. A lot of helpful reviews and helps allow people to get back scammed money.

New Reviewer
5/22/13

I like this site you can write or view others reviews of their experiences. Its pretty easy to get a picture how companies relate to us as consumers. So if you are curious about a service check it out first.

New Reviewer
1/30/13

My story with ripoff report
Ripoff report is for consumers to report bad businesses.A report was made about me.It calls me whore drug addict child abuser. The report has my name, my child's name,her photo(under 18),phone numbers, our home address in NY which we had move from for safety. Cps was called They told me it was not my fault that I was a good mom but I needed to call the police because they had endangered
the welfare of a child by the info that was put on ripoff report.The police told me that there was nothing they could do where all the people involved lived in different states it was a fbi issue not a police issue.The officer told me what I needed to do to keep my child and I safe 1.move 2.change my isp. Change my email and phone numbers.It took me over a year to have ripoff report remove my child's name off the report.Ed told me if I contacted him again he would put my child name back on the report and worse.I have contacted them so many times they blocked my email address. Same goes for google, bing,yahoo and microsoft. I have all the emails saved.I am not what ripoff report makes me out to be. I am not a business.
What gives them the right to post details about me let alone made up story's that I can prove are not true. Could you please sign my online petition to remove ripoff report.Its time to end the false reports,cyber bullying, extortion and slander.One min of your time could save a life.http://wh.gov/VEQ
By Samantha Rollins

Apprentice Reviewer
10/31/11

I can tell you with me ripoff report gets my highest rating. I was personally cheated out of my money from a so-called "honest" company that used dishonest means. I am thankful that I was able to post a permanent warning on this site about their activities so as to warn others about their ways and shame the company.

This is why I like this site so much because it means that the site does not remove reports like some sites that take money and will take down the reports. Ed Madgeson has actual been sued for millions of dollars in order to get him to take down the reports on his site but because he stands for freedom of expression and the first amendment rights of others the courts are always in his favor.

People often have a tendency to discredit consumer advocacy sites and say they are scam but they cannot be blamed for the reports because they do not put them there. Reports are done by different individuals and with the hundreds of thousands of reports on this site it is impossible for one person to write them all.

I only blame consumer advocacy sites if they take down a legitimate report because they were cowards or greedy for money but I cannot blame this site because at least it still gets an A plus for standing up courageously and refusing to take down its reports.

The only problem with the ROR that I have is with editing reports which sometimes it may not always want to and sometimes trying to find reports and the long wait one must experience at times in order to actually see one's report but I know for sure they are not removed from the site.

Now that's integrity to say the least that cannot be bought or sold. We could all learn a thing or two from that.

New Reviewer
8/14/11

This site allows defamation and worst - does nothing to stop it.

New Reviewer
5/3/11

THIS SITE SEEMS TO EXTORT MONEY FROM COMPANIES TO REMOVE BOGUS REPORTS.

Apprentice Reviewer
4/13/11

Like Sitejabber, Ripoff report.com is a site which takes consumer input and posts them on a searchable database for all to see. This is a second site which I go to whenever I do not find enough information about businesses here on Sitejabber.

They allow rebuttals to unflattering posts, and refuse to take ANY reviews down for any reason. (including the rebuttals). This way, they are able to be fair and balanced insofar as the business being reviewed can defend themselves if they so choose.

Oddly, there are not many who do. This leads me to believe that the critiques stand as being valid and true ; either that or the businesses being criticized do not care or unaware of the critique. Either way, I almost always screen all of my internet transactions now through one or both of these sites.

Apprentice Reviewer
3/15/11

I think this is a great website that can really help people not get scammed. I do think it has a large potential for misuse which may dilute it's affect a little but the idea was a good one. Some of the posts are not needed - like the ones regarding CPS and personal issues but the majority of the data is very useful.

New Reviewer
9/1/10

Very similar to this site. Getting the news out to people about scams and rip-offs. One can post rebuttals to the reports if one disagrees.

New Reviewer
6/24/10

THESE GUYS ARE NEVER GOING TO PAY YOU AND WILL HAVE NO REMORSE FOR STEALING FROM YOU!! I KNOW THIS FIRST HAND AND FROM HEARING IT FROM THEIR OWN MOUTHS!!

EXPERT
2/19/10

Well, Tracy H. has brought this to my attention just today about ripoffreport.com that's been on the web for quite a while.

Now, I don't know about the owners of the site but I know I've posted legitimate complaints on there. Anyway, the owners have had charges brought against them and Tracy H has provided us with a link so have a look and decide for yourself. I'll be avoiding them in the future and just stick with SiteJabber.

http://board.hostingtalk.com/index.php?showtopic=1315

New Reviewer
2/18/10

Contact ripoffreport.com at this number: 888 483 2860

New Reviewer
9/29/09

Great for the reporter but, watch out if you're the "report~ee" There are always 2 or more sides to a story and unless the reporter of such information is quite sure of his/her facts, they need not post there (whew)

Thanx a hoot for this heads up hon <3

EXPERT
9/27/09

I've read that Ripoff Report has engaged in some shady business practices.

Here are some pieces about them on the news:
http://www.sitejabber.com/redir/aHR0cDovL3d3dy5waG9lbml4bmV3dGltZXMuY29tLzIwMDctMDItMDEvbmV3cy90aGUtcmVhbC1yaXAtb2ZmLXJlcG9ydC8=
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MHAcf1fYknE
Here's their Wikipedia entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ripoff_Report

EXPERT
9/27/09

This is a very serious consumer advocacy web site:

"Helping you, the consumer...
Search the Ripoff Report before you do business with retail stores with bad return policies, checking & credit theft, rebate fraud or other unscrupulous business policies such as phony auto repairs, auto dealer bait-and-switch tactics, restaurants with bad service or food, corrupt government employees & politicians, police corruption, home builders, contractors, unethical doctors & lawyers, online stores that sell non-existent products, dead beat dads & moms, landlords & tenants, fraudulent employment & business opportunities, and individual con artists who scam consumers".

The site makes clear that filed reports CANNOT be removed, even by an attorney's appeal, which means your claim is forever.

If you've been burned and need to voice your ire, this is unquestionably the place to do it. Highly recommended as SAFE & EFFECTIVE. Free web site.

The Best Complaint Sites Reviewed by Consumers on SiteJabber

See more »
Ic3.gov
Ic3.gov
3 reviews
Fraudpedia.org
Fraudpedia.org
1 review
Pissedconsumer.com
Pissedconsumer.com
10 reviews
RipoffReport
RipoffReport
33 reviews