SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Amazon Mechanical Turk reviews

8 reviews
63%
P.O. Box 81226
Seattle, WA 98108-1226
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

8 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

3 stars
2 stars

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

rsatrams
New Reviewer
11/1/14

mturk sucks they closed your account without warning and when you send email and ask why they close the account they do not reply I send servral email and it has been over a month and no reply because they sucks and don't want to pay for work done and have no care for the employee.

jamesg94
New Reviewer
9/6/14

Many of the hits do not work at all and you get negative profiles for being unable to complete things that don't work, even if you return them.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask James about Amazon Mechanical Turk
ka5478
New Reviewer
3/7/14

MTurk is a great place for people looking to make a few extra bucks in their free time, however, there are a small group of people who actually make a living there. Better paying hits open up as you rack up bigger and better numbers. Be careful to keep your acceptance rate over 90% if you want the best hits. The Turkopticon add-on is a must to weed out the bad requesters. Pay is daily if you have $1 to claim, and you can easily transfer your earnings to your bank account. The site is very secure. I've never had a problem with losing any money.

All-in-all, a good site, but not without its flaws, which is why I give it a 4. Most people give up too easily, and are not willing to learn the system or work hard enough to make it work for them. With diligence and accuracy, you can make a good amount of money there at night while you're watching t.v.

kristah5
New Reviewer
1/19/14

I love amazon mechanical Turk on my free time In the last month I made over $100 and the task are very easy to complete you can watch tv and complete tasks at the same time

marcya1
New Reviewer
8/12/13

Too many account info requirements! They need your driver license number and your SSN#. I would use something simpler.

rodneyl4
New Reviewer
5/2/13

I would really like to give this site five stars. Essentially "Mechanical Turk Requesters" ask mturk.com to accomplish a set of tasks, tasks that "Mechanical Turk Workers" then accomplish. Requesters and Workers need never actually contact each other.

I think automating the relationship of people who need to get tasks done and people who want to accomplish these tasks for some kind of incentive in the fashion that "Amazon's Mechanical Turk" does this is awesome and could most likely be the future of a large portion of labor.

It disheartens me, however, that a lot of this work is antithetical to the hacker ethic in specific and putting human potential to its highest, best use in that it can not only be quite a bit tedious at times but also not compensate very well for the amount of work involved. Compounding this, instructions with some Requesters can be very vague and as you get no instantaneous feedback on your work, this can damage your ratings, restricting you from being able to take on more choice tasks, if you do a lot of tasks in a row incorrectly.

Also, I am too often left only hoping that the goals of the tasks I take on are in agreement with my own values.

jessicab13
Veteran Reviewer
8/13/11

I have been using this site for about 8 months now. As the previous reviewer said, the HITs pay from $.01 to $20.00 and up. Generally, the harder the task, the more money you will be paid (obviously) and the more qualified you have to be. For the HIT's that require qualification, you need to take the given test and pass it to be able to qualify. Basically, the more time you spend on here the more money you will make. One can make a good amount of money on here. Certainly not a sole income but definitely some spending money or some money to put away in savings or something. I've been paid for taking quizzes, surveys, transcribing audio, editing written assignments, and some other odd jobs. It can be fun too!

michellej2
New Reviewer
8/30/10

I randomly stumbled across mTurk.com (Amazon Mechanical Turk) while surfing the net. I read reviews about this site, and how people can make money by completing HITs, or human intelligence tasks. It's a reliable site, and it is owned by Amazon.com themselves. People upload simple tasks others can do, for example, you can complete mini surveys, or write articles, and transcribe audio (listening an audio and writing it out into words). HITs vary from $.01-$20 & up. I've been doing HITs averaging from 4-5 bucks, and made around $130 in two weeks, which is not bad at all. This site is pretty much secure...you have the option of transfering your money into Amazon credits, or into your bank account through the Amazon website.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the Amazon Mechanical Turk staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business