SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business

Ghostery reviews

6 reviews
67%
Categories: Browser Add On, Privacy
10 East 39th Street, 8th Floor
New York, New York, USA
info@ghostery.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews on SiteJabber. If this is your business claim it here.

6 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

controlf
New Reviewer
6/12/14

My Last version of Ghostery was VERY effective and allowed me to block ALL trackers on each site. The newest version PRETENDS to allow me to block trackers but has a select group of trackers, "Twitter Button" on this site for instance. that are UNBLOCKED and won't be blocked no matter how many times I engage the blocking feature. I assume some of these sites MUST be paying ghostery a fee to prevent them being blocked. I'm MUCH less satisfied with the newest version of the program than previous versions.

joshw33
New Reviewer
8/31/13

Very easy to use and a great concept. Why should we not be able to choose our own privacy levels and what we are exposed to online?

ronk
EXPERT
6/18/13

Here's how Ghostery (a consumer Ad Blocking system) describes how they work:

"Be a web detective.

Ghostery is your window into the invisible web – tags, web bugs, pixels and beacons that are included on web pages in order to get an idea of your online behavior. Ghostery tracks over 1,400 trackers and gives you a roll-call of the ad networks, behavioral data providers, web publishers, and other companies interested in your activity."

Millions of consumers use ad-blockers hoping to get away from all that flash marketing which can be such an annoyance.
A report today (06-18-13) says that one of the most popular ad-blocking services, Ghostery, is collecting data about your browsing habits all the time it's blocking ads, allowing its parent company, Evidon, to sell that data to advertisers!

"This is not a scheme," MIT quotes Scott Meyer, Evidon's CEO, as saying. It's helpful to give advertisers Ghostery's data because advertisers don't generally want to target people who have opted out of advertising, he says.

B.S. If a company is in bed with advertisers, almost certainly selling results of your browsing habits. better to not be in bed with Ghostery on the consumer side.

Someone related to Evidon or Ghostery is bound to squeal in response to serious allegations.
Best
Ron

robbiem19
New Reviewer
2/3/13

I've been using Ghostery for quite awhile & it is my #1 blocker.

The UI is extremely intuitive. Access to more info on every site it filters is an invaluable resource for me. It is very easy to add / remove blocking, which is helpful to see what blocks might be preventing a website's functionality.

I highly recommend!

lorrainew3
Veteran Reviewer
9/1/11

I visited the site a few weeks ago. It seems to be pretty cool. I looked into reviews before using ghostery. I am trying it out for the first time. Ghostery offers these tools. Alerts users about the web bugs, ad networks and widgets on visited web pages. News, screenshots and download. Ghostery tracks the trackers and gives you a roll-call of the ad networks, behavioral data providers, web publishers, and other companies interested in your activity.Ghostery is your window into the invisible web – tags, web bugs, pixels and beacons that are included on web pages in order to get an idea of your online behavior. So far I have found this extension to be helpful. Although it is something I have never used before. I think it is pretty cool. There are so many sites you can't trust. Maybe ghostery can help make you feel a little safer. I hope others on Site Jabber check it out. I have not complaint's on this site so far. Ghostery seems to be a pretty cool little detective.

chriso1
EXPERT
10/20/10

A useful Firefox add-on, this examines every page you visit and reports on the invisible trackers, bugs and beacons that may be being used to monitor your activities. These are normally associated with ad distributors, and Google, though it isn't that hard for anyone to follow you around without your knowing, if they have the skills to implement the code.

There is an option to view a caption which overlays a small area of the page, listing all the services discovered, or to have a link in your toolbar or both. A very nice touch is the capability to then visit the Ghostery reference page which describes known information about that service.

You also have the opportunity to block any of these services, if you don' t already have other blocking add-ons doing that for you.

It's a revealing and helpful add-on that doesn't seem to have any negative aspects at all. Recommended, along with Ad-block Plus, Flashblock and NoScript as basic security measures.

1 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Ghostery staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: Can Evidon's collection of data be opted out of?
7/21/13
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Ghostery staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business