SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Ghostery

Ghostery reviews

6 reviews
67%
Categories: Browser Add On, Privacy
10 East 39th Street, 8th Floor
New York, New York, USA
info@ghostery.com
This business is not yet responding to reviews. If this is your business claim it and respond free.

People interested in Ghostery are also interested in:

6 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

controlf
1 review
4 helpful votes
6/12/14

My Last version of Ghostery was VERY effective and allowed me to block ALL trackers on each site. The newest version PRETENDS to allow me to block trackers but has a select group of trackers, "Twitter Button" on this site for instance. that are UNBLOCKED and won't be blocked no matter how many times I engage the blocking feature. I assume some of these sites MUST be paying ghostery a fee to prevent them being blocked. I'm MUCH less satisfied with the newest version of the program than previous versions.

Ask Control about Ghostery
Advertisement
joshw33
4 reviews
10 helpful votes
8/31/13

Very easy to use and a great concept. Why should we not be able to choose our own privacy levels and what we are exposed to online?

Ask Josh about Ghostery
ronk
150 reviews
900 helpful votes
6/18/13

Here's how Ghostery (a consumer Ad Blocking system) describes how they work:

"Be a web detective.

Ghostery is your window into the invisible web – tags, web bugs, pixels and beacons that are included on web pages in order to get an idea of your online behavior. Ghostery tracks over 1,400 trackers and gives you a roll-call of the ad networks, behavioral data providers, web publishers, and other companies interested in your activity."

Millions of consumers use ad-blockers hoping to get away from all that flash marketing which can be such an annoyance.
A report today (06-18-13) says that one of the most popular ad-blocking services, Ghostery, is collecting data about your browsing habits all the time it's blocking ads, allowing its parent company, Evidon, to sell that data to advertisers!

"This is not a scheme," MIT quotes Scott Meyer, Evidon's CEO, as saying. It's helpful to give advertisers Ghostery's data because advertisers don't generally want to target people who have opted out of advertising, he says.

B.S. If a company is in bed with advertisers, almost certainly selling results of your browsing habits. better to not be in bed with Ghostery on the consumer side.

Someone related to Evidon or Ghostery is bound to squeal in response to serious allegations.
Best
Ron
**************
UPDATE 05-13-15: Web Security is a serious thing. I've gotten two questions recently about the app "Ghostery", my review of which appears above. I'm not an IT/networking guru. I rely on research I've done, and use common sense. I have LifeHackers spin on Ghostery, AND, a response to LH's thoughts by the company which owns Ghostery. All in all, a fairly comprehensive look at the product, from both sides. I'm going to paste Lifehacker's thoughts, along with Ghostery's response below.

While lengthy, it's all the info you'll need to made a good decision about using the app. Hope this helps. If you disagree with what I've leave, that's fine. No need to write and argue about it. Do as you please:
_____________________________

LIFEHACKER'S SPIN:
Ghostery is owned by Evidon, a company that collects and provides data to advertising companies. It has a feature called GhostRank that you can check to "support" them. The problem is, Ghostery blocks sites from gathering personal information on you—but Ghostrank will take note the ads you encounter and which ones you block, and sends that information back to advertisers so they can better formulate their ads to avoid being blocked. The data is anonymous, and Ghostery still does everything it promises to do to protect your privacy.

You could argue this is a good thing, and that it'll help advertisers create better, less intrusive ads. The other argument is that GhostRank is a tool to build a better mousetrap, as it were—unblockable ads and better tracking cookies. That's not lost on privacy advocates:

A major source of business for Evidon is selling data that helps ad companies ensure their compliance with AdChoices, a self-regulatory program supposed to help people opt out of targeted ads. Some experts say AdChoices is confusing to consumers, and it has been criticized by U.S. and EU policymakers. "Evidon has a financial incentive to encourage the program's adoption and discourage alternatives like Do Not Track and cookie blocking as well as to maintain positive relationships with intrusive advertising companies," says Jonathan Mayer, a Stanford grad student and privacy advocate active in efforts to develop a standard "Do Not Track" feature for web browsers.


EVIDON'S REPLY: : Adam DeMartino, of Ghostery, reached out to offer his side of the story. He says: The data we collect in GhostRank doesn't contain any information about the actual ads that were seen by panel members. Rather, we simply report on the technologies that are used to deliver those ads, the performance characteristics of the URLs those technologies were seen on, and if the user blocked that particular technology company. GhostRank can't see the actual ads or anything about the criteria that were used to target them.

Hit the link below to read the full story at Mashable, and then check out our favorite privacy protection tools if you need more options. Popular Ad Blocker Also Helps the Ad Industry | Mashable

Alan Henry
6/19/13 3:10pm
Well that's irritating. I guess I'll be sure Ghostrank is off.

Alan
6/19/13 3:16pm
I always found Ghostery rather bothersome when I tried it some years ago. Always found it easier to use Trueblock, and to tell Mozilla/Firefox/SeaMonkey to prevent 3rd party cookies & to let me choose which cookies to allow.

Frank
6/19/13 3:15pm
Yeah, this definitely cuts both ways (and I've been tweaking the piece because I don't want it to come off sensational) - it's opt-in, and when we were talking about it, we were both "this is great! The data they get will help them build less crappy ads that everyone doesn't just want to block" and "yeah, but having your privacy extension owned by an ad company is kinda scummy" at the same time. Ultimately, we just wanted to throw up the warning - both about the feature and the company - so people can make an educated decision.

* I still use Ghostery, and have changed my previous rating from ONE star, to FOUR, I feel the app works. There will always be a security risk, even marginally so, when you use security apps like these. Idea is to get significant benefit, while giving the least away.
"Disconnect" is an alternative to Ghostery. Check out a comparison in this forum: http://bit.ly/1bQCS0D

Ask Ron about Ghostery
robbiem19
4 reviews
11 helpful votes
2/3/13

I've been using Ghostery for quite awhile & it is my #1 blocker.

The UI is extremely intuitive. Access to more info on every site it filters is an invaluable resource for me. It is very easy to add / remove blocking, which is helpful to see what blocks might be preventing a website's functionality.

I highly recommend!

Ask Robbie about Ghostery
lorrainew3
109 reviews
346 helpful votes
9/1/11

I visited the site a few weeks ago. It seems to be pretty cool. I looked into reviews before using ghostery. I am trying it out for the first time. Ghostery offers these tools. Alerts users about the web bugs, ad networks and widgets on visited web pages. News, screenshots and download. Ghostery tracks the trackers and gives you a roll-call of the ad networks, behavioral data providers, web publishers, and other companies interested in your activity.Ghostery is your window into the invisible web – tags, web bugs, pixels and beacons that are included on web pages in order to get an idea of your online behavior. So far I have found this extension to be helpful. Although it is something I have never used before. I think it is pretty cool. There are so many sites you can't trust. Maybe ghostery can help make you feel a little safer. I hope others on Site Jabber check it out. I have not complaint's on this site so far. Ghostery seems to be a pretty cool little detective.

Ask Lorraine about Ghostery
chriso1
707 reviews
2,909 helpful votes
10/20/10

A useful Firefox add-on, this examines every page you visit and reports on the invisible trackers, bugs and beacons that may be being used to monitor your activities. These are normally associated with ad distributors, and Google, though it isn't that hard for anyone to follow you around without your knowing, if they have the skills to implement the code.

There is an option to view a caption which overlays a small area of the page, listing all the services discovered, or to have a link in your toolbar or both. A very nice touch is the capability to then visit the Ghostery reference page which describes known information about that service.

You also have the opportunity to block any of these services, if you don' t already have other blocking add-ons doing that for you.

It's a revealing and helpful add-on that doesn't seem to have any negative aspects at all. Recommended, along with Ad-block Plus, Flashblock and NoScript as basic security measures.

Ask Chris about Ghostery

2 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Ghostery staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: Can Evidon's collection of data be opted out of?
7/21/13
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Q: I am from planet Urby (your name) and am old and feeble. Does this cost $ (money) and does it do good? Am sick and tiredddddd...er excuse. If I download and use and like ....what then? No, I am
very computer stupid!
5/17/15
Add your answer
I am affiliated with this business
I have no affiliation with this business
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Ghostery staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
Ghostery?
Post Review