SiteJabber was developed
in part with a grant from the
US Government's NSF
SiteJabber for Business
Review of Freelancer

Freelancer reviews

572 reviews
8%
Suite 52, Jones Bay Wharf, 26-32 Pirrama Rd, 26-32 Pirrama Rd
Pyrmont, New South Wales 2009, Australia
support@freelancer.com

572 Reviews From Our Community

Rating Distribution

Detailed Rating Summary

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Review Highlights

minth

I found out someone was trying to withdraw the money I earned, good thing they saw it and I was informed. (in 318 reviews)

ancab

As long as you learn to manage your account, everything will be alright. (in 315 reviews)

johnt83

I add two hundred dollars into the account, then my project stalls. (in 260 reviews)

All Reviews

▼ Sort by: recent

andreir4
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/26/15

I got so low-paying projects here, which is way below the market. Recently I got a 150 euros project which employer paid for in advance, but when I tried withdrawing the money: surprise. Money no longer available, milestone was reversed (presumably on the cause of account issues with employer). Honestly?? Now I have -13 euros in my balance and my entire payment disappeared. Here is my conversation with their live support:


Your Question: issue with milestone
Please wait and one of our operators will be with you shortly.
You are now chatting with Richard O. (Email and Chat Support) - General
18:08Richard O.: Hi, this is Richard. Welcome to Freelancer.com Support Desk. How may I help you?
18:08Andrei Dima: hi
18:08Andrei Dima: I have an issue with a milestone I received
18:08Richard O.: Hi, Andrei.
18:08Andrei Dima: it's been reversed and I don't know why
18:08Richard O.: How may I help you?
18:08Richard O.: Can I have your username so I can take a look at your account?
18:09Andrei Dima: andreyrlz
18:10Richard O.: Please provide me several minutes to check your account.
18:12Richard O.: Thank you for waiting.
18:12Richard O.: Our record shows the payment you received from FreddieReuben was reversed as they had issues with their accouunt.
18:12Richard O.: *account
18:13Richard O.: This is also the reason why the project "IMMOBILIENSCOUT JOB (ID: 7690240)" was deleted.
18:13Andrei Dima: what do you mean issues with account?
18:13Richard O.: The payment can no longer be transferred through the site.
18:14Andrei Dima: I have did the coding for that client in exchange for payment
18:14Richard O.: The violated the site's Terms and Conditions.
18:14Andrei Dima: please elaborate
18:14Richard O.: Further details regarding their violations is no longer available on my end.
18:14Richard O.: *are
18:14Andrei Dima: yes but this is not fair, because I did the work for money
18:15Andrei Dima: now I also have -13 euros in my account
18:15Andrei Dima: how is that fair?
Richard O. (Email and Chat Support) has joined the conversation.
18:16Andrei Dima: I will print this conversation and show it to the world to prove you are scammers, anyway no one trusts your site anymore
18:16Andrei Dima: bye

Tip for consumers: Avoid at all costs. Just do business with Elance or reputable sites out there, not this.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Andrei about Freelancer
Advertisement
antoniss
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/22/15

Maybe the worst freelancers site ! They charge me 150euro for extras i never order and confirm. Just keep away

Ask Antonis about Freelancer
cameronp13
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/21/15

Among a myriad of other problems, I find the most absurd thing about this site, for BOTH freelancers and people looking for translations, are the fees. They take add 10% to what freelancers offer, increasing the price for the purchaser, and require ridiculous fees for freelancers for "premium access", which is code for more silly apps that have nothing to do with translation.

They even have the nerve to charge for transfers to paypal!

If you're looking for good translators, or to translator, try translatorscafe.com or proz.com, both sites have none of these ridiculous fees and you can find just as high quality translators (if not higher).

Ask Cameron about Freelancer
cuneytt
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/20/15

Never link your PayPal account if you use it. Because they withdraw money with any little thing you do on this site! Full of scams they do not finish the projects but suck your blood. I wish the site will be blocked even forbidden.

Ask Cuneyt about Freelancer
margotm2
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/16/15

Costumer service is inexistent. I will never use this site again!

Ask margot about Freelancer
flavial
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/14/15

I was really disappointed to pay for this website. It's not enough to pay the monthly paymen. You will find 10$ fees to make your bids appear first, 5$ tests, $1 to highlight your bid etc.... No tô mention that I was contacted by one potential client that turned out to used my information available on the website in their website. Hate it!

Ask Flavia about Freelancer
patriciag35
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/12/15

I posted a project to get a simple flower website to portray my floral work. It was a great experience.

Ask Patricia about Freelancer
abedi1
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/12/15

As a graphic designer, freelancer.com destroyed me psychologically, maybe i'm not the best designer in the world but almost all clients i dealt with approved my first preview design without revisions needed.
If you have a large capacity of good luck then freelancer.com might be useful for you, and you don't have to be a pro or work hard at all, cause in most cases keep in mind that:

1- the contest holder will pick a design which is opposite to the brief.
2- the CH will pick a stock design or something stolen from previous ideas.
3- the CH will reject your hard work design without any feedback or rating.
4- the CH will pick himself!, by making another account as a designer, and this will give him a lot of logos and concepts for FREE.
5- the winner is picked before the contest ends, and you'll discover this either after announcing the winner and when the contest become unsealed, or while it's running, there was an agreement reached while the poor designers still working hard.
6- you will find cheap designers offering the CH an extra designs like business card or a letterhead and even a full stationary at the private message under their entries (which's actually not private).
7- at some point you'll feel like freelancer.com & contest holders are the masters and you're the slave, when there's a lot of entries, a lot of new modifications, a lot of rejection, a lot of hidden agreements.
8- freelancer.com do not give a damn about the points above ( i made a lot of reports and messaged them on FB).
*if you need my advice try to find clients for you own, open your company, or change your field like i did cause this will not make you rich as you thought!...

Ask Abed about Freelancer
noorann
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/11/15

freelancer gave zero security of website, and no security for freelancers. People can easily reverse their money and all efforts done by freelancer are meaningless. i was having this problem and i also won dispute against my employer via tier 2 specialist and my payment was in my account when i gave a project to someone, freelancer reversed my payment and said me that your employer violates our rule, why they did`t check this at the time of dispute are they not looking disputes clearly? yes i think they did`t because they are scammers when i asked them to give my money back at any coast they did`t replying me because they are scammers

Ask nooran about Freelancer
adamr51
1 review
6 helpful votes
5/9/15

Have been using this website for a year now and recently had some serious issues which are being followed up by fraud specialists and the police.

Freelancer turn a blind eye to all fraudulent activity that takes place on their site, and they also seem to encourage it as they profit from these scams.

The user who scammed me is still live on the website and still creating "projects". Also Freelancer's ability to respond properly to your requests is seriously poor. It takes approx six to ten emails over the course of four or five days, asking the same one question for them to answer correctly as opposed to avoiding your query.

Have never experienced anything like this in my entire life and wouldn't recommend this site to anyone. Such a shame considering I have generate the website thousands in commissions since signing up.

Ask Adam about Freelancer
alessiam
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/8/15

This portal was very awesome some years ago. Now it is full of scammers that are posting their projects, and that are always asking for your skype or e-mail, even if this violates the rules. Plus, most of people post projects about data entry, internet research, or blogging, but if they choose you, they ask for pornographic tasks. Serious works (those posted by verified users) are full of requests, so they will never choose a newbie, and without a good number of reviews it is impossible to jet a job. I would suggest to limit scammers by imposing a payment verification when employers join, and to help newbies by allowing a decent number of free exams.

Ask alessia about Freelancer
lindam146
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/6/15

The site is full of bugs when uploading samples. And slooowwww. I tried to upload bid specific samples on 3 different browsers (with brand new Mac & completely up to date software) and my uploads would disappear after an "invalid" notice. So many freelance sites are scams though, just praying on getting "bid money" from people who want work. This one offered a trial period so I thought I'd give it a shot, but if a site wants me to spend $5 to prove I can speak English well, and increase my bid odds of "370%" I'm suspicious.

Number one if they were catering to artists, there'd be an option to do a folder upload like Flicker or Facebook.

Ask Linda about Freelancer
yamanm
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/6/15

They block you from being able to remove your money. They do not screen employers or freelancers. They have the balls to ask you for gov. id. I would not put it past these guys to be selling your identities. They take their commission before you get paid. If you dont get paid in full they do not refund the difference. They are a scam do not fall for it.

If you look at the replies from freelancer rep Lara on here you will see the typical regurgitated canned responses that they give you when you try to contact them about a problem. Their idea of support is to do nothing except send you links and they will literally insult your intelligence by attempting to redirect or handle you. And good luck on talking to anyone, no phone no skype and their chat kicks you off after waiting 5 min to talk to them.

The site and the app are buggy I would not be surprised if some guy in his basement built this and is scamming the users.

I have filled an international complaint and contacted CIRA to find out how to remove their .CA they should not be allowed to look like a Canadian company and not be held accountable to act like one. I'm not reliant on their income but I sure will not work for free for anyone.

Tip for consumers: Find a site or a company that will showcase your work stay away from Freelancer you will loose time and money.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Yaman about Freelancer
ashokb1
1 review
3 helpful votes
5/4/15

I joined site 10 days ago and in 10 days i completed 4 projects with all 5 star rating from clients, i love the site, many people saying that freelancer.i is bad but i think you need to check their FEE/CHARGES page for learn more about how your CC or PayPal will charge or when will charge, i completed 4 project and i gave 1800 INR as fees which is their policy and we need to pay then why you all saying that they are charging without permission, I give them 8/10 marks.

However Payment system is still not Good they says that we need to wait for 15 days to receive our first payment, I'm waiting for my first payment but problem is that i withdrawel money on 28th April now i'm seeing a message tell that your money will be transfer on
20th May, which always changes, i mena son 28th April date was 15th may to get money but now it's changing and now showing 20th May, which is not good, all other thinks are good and powerful.

Ask ashok about Freelancer
senaa
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
5/3/15

freelancer is an online business the most widely occupied by those who are fond of blogging. I was one of them. we can get paid to write, because a lot of people who need our services to write articles or rewriting articles. we must find and bid on projects that we will work on. by working on the proposal. This work could be considered very profitable, yes because there is no risk of deception.

Ask sena about Freelancer
shubhamt
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/1/15

I had around 200$ in my freelancer account. They closed my account for no particular reason. When I ask them, they give canned response.
These people are getting on my nerves.

Ask Shubham about Freelancer
herma293
1 review
8 helpful votes
5/1/15

Hi. I joined Freelancer about a year ago, and I did that “open eyed” - means, I read the different opinions of people all over the web. Of course they were mostly negative. (Very few people take the time to think, even less write, about positive experiences. That's, how we apes tick.)
Anyway – I am a paying member. And before I joined as a “premium” member, of course I read the TOS. I'm longer in business than most of the people active with “web businesses” are alive, and I feel better if I know, what's going on.
I don't “employ” at Freelancer, I bid on projects to sell my services. Freelancer is not of special importance for my income, I use the site as a gap filler, but I admit that I had some real fun projects here and met some actually great people. My set of skills is a rather unusual combination, and through Freelancer I have the occasion to do things, I am not required to do for my regular customer base.
I have a 5/5 rating for the 24 projects I made, and I had to kick out just one customer who constantly increased his demands up to a not longer acceptable point.

So, last week, I made a bid on an offer by one user Dom1000 (posted in lousy German) which translated would read
“Writing of a Blog Text”

The bid was 88EUR, I demanded 2 milestones, I got the job and Freelancer cashed their 11.1%
I delivered, as agreed, the first half of my work. A couple of hours later the “employer” contacted me from a second account he had opened – hkayso2s – and informed me that his original account was blocked by Freelancer. If I understood the scat-German he used right, this was because he issued a cash-back through PayPal, obviously for the only other project he ran through Freelancer.
The “employer” now wanted to use the second account to offer me 44 US-Dollars (remember: is was Euros first...) to pay me the first milestone.

As far as I remember – at least when I joined – USING FREELANCERs SERVICES WITH MULTIPLE ACCOUNTS FOR THE SAME ENTITY IS A VIOLATION OF THEIR TOS

I told him to wait till his original account is either back open or deleted, because I would not work for him until I got my original, first milestone. Because – what is an agreement good for, if it is not kept.

I also used the FL ticket system to inform them about the case, the multiple accounts, and told them, I want the project to be cancelled WITHOUT A NEGATIVE EFFECT TO MY STATS.
My good right, I think, as I was not the one who did not deliver – the “employer” was the one who did not pay as agreed. I even told them, they could keep the 8.80EUR they took from me.

I received a canned response, mainly telling me: We are unable to discuss any information regarding your employer's account.
I didn't want to discuss any accounts: I wanted the project to be cancelled, remember?

During some unwanted “chat” with the employer, he now offered to pay me outside Freelancer. THIS IS A VIOLATION OF FREELANCERs TOS.
He also tried to lure me in additional (probably unpaid?) work and gave me a link to a website, where he and his partner (with a near-east migration background like my original contact) openly offer the delivery of fake scientific work for schools and academical institutions. IN GERMANY, THIS IS A CRIME, and not long ago it costed two German politicians their jobs.
So before continuing with discussions with FL and the “employer”, I took appropriate actions. As of now, I am not allowed to talk about those, I will do so, when I get the green light from the authorities.

Again, I wrote to FL, and explained (again) that I want the project to be cancelled. Again, I got a canned text back, containing, if anything, the same information I already had. And Freelancer RE-OPENED THE “EMPLOYERS” ACCOUNT. This makes me believe, that the service personal either did not have the time to read my eMail, or wasn't able to by other reasons.

To the “employer” I insisted to get my first payment. And he (now, after first accepting the work) wanted additional work to be done to “even be able to accept it” - two days, after he got the first delivery and liked it.

Because the “employer” saw his prey swim away, they filed a dispute.

Again, I wrote to FL, letting them know that I won't accept any negative effects to my reputation.
FL made their job easy this time – they did not respond.

The “employer” RE.-POSTED THE PROJECT (OF COURSE ONLY THE SECOND HALF, AS HE OBVIOUSLY WANTS TO USE MY WORK FOR THE FIRST HALF – GOOD LUCK WITH THIS...)

This time, he writes right into the projects headline, “Hausarbeit” (homework, a term for an academical paper to be done by a student, personally...) to make clear that he not only wants somebody to help him break the law, but also that
THIS IS AGAIN A PROJECT WHICH IS ***INVALID***, AS EXPLAINED IN FREELANCERS TOS.

So, obviously, an “employer” requesting criminal activities for Freelancer is more important than a competent freelancer with obvious success and and also obvious very high quality of work.

Quo vadis, Freelancer.com?


For me, the problem will be quickly solved: if the “dispute” is not solved exactly the way I want it, means, with no negative outcome for me, just a cancellation of the project, this was it. I don't need Freelancer.com, but they urgently need more honest people on both sides of the cash-flow.

(typo edited)

Ask Herm about Freelancer
abdulq
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/30/15

people get money back through reversal after completing the project, if we report to freelancer , they don't take any action against them, we lost lot of money regarding this issue. if freelancer can't control this then they need to shut his website.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Abdul about Freelancer
ranat
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
4/30/15

They gave zero security of website, and no security for freelancers. People can easily reverse their money and all efforts done by freelancer are meaningless. I faced this problem many times, and I asked to their support desk to resolve this issue but they did nothing for me.

Ask Rana about Freelancer
sejlad
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/29/15

I was scammed too. I gave tham proof that my money missing and as reward got account closed

Ask Sejla about Freelancer
danielad5
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/29/15

I recently opened an account on www.freelancer.com for expand my visibility. I was happy to had found a work provided from a user nearby my working place. I completed the the first milestone, the user unlocked the money and freelancer took their fee. When i tried to move the money in my bank account, they delayed the transfer of 20 days. At the end of the 20 days they blocked my account telling me i need to explain my situation. After 4 days of continuos questions they said: its better if you ask for the money directly to the user, outside freelancer.com. I lost 1 month working to the project, freelancer gave me no insurance to get paid and now i must go directly to the customer for get paid!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Daniela about Freelancer
unhappyj
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/29/15

I was scammed by a freelancer hired on freelancer.com who did not provide me with original design work (they copied it from the net). Upon reporting this to their help desk, they encouraged me to try and sort of out with the freelancer. The freelancer refused to give the money back and closed their account. I then contacted the help desk asking what to do next. They again told me to try and contact the freelancer off site and that there's nothing they can do. An utter disgrace!! Freelancer do not take responsibility for fraudulent activity or copyright infringement. The freelancer clearly breached the sites code of conduct and the site takes no accountability. Run a mile from these crooks!

Ask unhappy about Freelancer
angelinaa1
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/28/15

Hi All,
I recently placed a review about Freelancer and not being paid for services; to date I have still not heard back from Freelancer staff (and Lara I immediately replied to both Miguel and Joe's emails regarding NON PAYMENT OF SERVICES) and of course have heard nothing back! I am still missing $1680 payment and the Freelance Employer who scammed me has a total of 9 active projects on the site and has 14 past projects under the name Kathleen Cloeffle!!! Although I have done several other projects on the site and been paid for all of them I cannot sit idly by while I know that this person is still thinking that "FREE" in FREElancer means they get people to work for them at no charge!! ELANCE at least protects their users from scum like this!!! Truly annoyed!!!

Ask Angelina about Freelancer
markl117
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/27/15

Lara, by the way what the f** is tier 2 support. Just like people have lever 2 technicians in Bpo's wherein, another person will be sitting next to you of the same level still will say that we are level 2 technicians. Also I have one question is it only you which gives answers to all the questions of people facing issues with your website. Stop playing with people. Please do something in order to make this website more happening and trustworthy. Or else I might have to report this to Ombudsman.

Ask Mark about Freelancer
varuna1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes
4/27/15

Sir,
Freelancer is a big and famous website that offers freelancer services to hire for business purposes. I had hired a freelancer to Design a logo for my company. I hired him and had to pay him ₹1500($25 approx). I selected the payment method as Paypal which was accepted on their website, a receipt was generated for ₹1500($25 approx) and I paid. After the payment was successful suddenly I realised that ₹100000($1534.80) were debited from my account instead of ₹1500($25 approx).

I immediately emailed and chatted with the customer service of Freelancer and they said they will refund, but after 2 days had passed nothing happened. I again contacted them and they said that they have refunded the amount back to my Paypal account and even gave me a receipt for the refund. After another 2 days the balance dint show on my Paypal account, I again contacted Freelancer and they said that the fault is because of the Paypal service. I contacted Paypal and they said that no refund was initiated from Freelancer and if they do have refunded they(Freelancer) have to call Paypal and sort the matter. I told the incident to Freelancer and they then agreed that they had held up my payment and wont give it back until I called Paypal and tell them that I dont want a refund as it makes 'matter complicated'. I called Paypal again letting them know that Freelancer wants to me close the dispute. Paypal strictly advised not to close the dispute as then refunding my money will be next to impossible.

I have till now mailed Freelancer over 25 times and every time they blackmail me by saying closed the dispute and then we will see how much and when to refund. I gave them a warning that Ill go to court and still they dint agree, after I was adamant that I will not close the dispute and will move to court, they are now for over 4 days keep replying me the message saying that my case has been transferred to another department and I will hear from them within 48hours. Its been many days now and since the start I have been jumping from talking to their department to department (chat, refund, Verification, billing and more).

Freelancer has now even limited my account and are threatening to block it and not refund the money at all. After searching on the net I found thousands of other similar cases where Freelancer debits money or doesnt refund the left balance of a customer back to them. Freelancer even agreed to the mistake of by fault debiting $1500 instead of ₹1500, but isnt refunding.

Iam a very small man compared to this billion dollar company and I dont know what to do. These guys dont have any phone number\email of management\Address in my country. Please help me, I can provide with any proof you like. I even have saved all the chats and emails.



Thank You
Varun Anand

Tip for consumers: Never ever trust this site.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Varun about Freelancer
marcusj16
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/26/15

i been stolen from 40 or 45 dollar i not remember exactly because i was so angry that time that support could not send me back my money i have to wait at least 2 or 3 weeks she says... i that i try to get back from freelancers money account money that i was get back from a not finished project. i was talk with same girl on this support and she tell me i have to wait long time before i get my money they can not send me them quickly. and still after 2 month i was never get them back to my pay pal account that i was use to pay for all projects with. this site is a totaly scam and the women in support disapear when she feels she no have any good answer back to her customers, and i know now this site only have people from india and bangladesh like 90% and they have friends in other countrys like usa and england and make accounts from thoes countrys or they use VPN and look same as it is not from bangladesh or india. and they always tell this big india team and bangladesh team they experts.let me tell more and when you talk with one of these experts it is always same person they send for chatting the customer for make the deal and he to busy sometimes talk with many people same time. i no stupid but i understand freelancer business it is use poor countrys people for make money experts or not they not care they will get there money. and they make big networks give them good reviews to each other look same he have many good reviews it is to easy fake this reviews on freelancer. and if you no happy with the project they can tell you i give you money back if you give me a good review i heard this at least 3 or 5 times when i did project on freelancer. i would say 90% i scam people work on there site and try look experts with they big network and freelancer help them...why not help them they get money from people make projects on the website ....my last word is the not care anything they just care money and see now how many people start complaining about there site and i wish i could tell police about my money i never get back but i live in norway and they live in australia and safe from justice there and i think they would never do that to a australin man or girl because they now that to big risk to do. stay away from this australian scam company if you have money in they account get back from not finished project freelancer will never pay you back them. i wait 2 month i was never get any and now my account stands 0 like i have no money on freelancer so now i can not tell them again send me back my money i never see something like this in my life its totaly scam ....now they make a good story to protect they website but i not lie i no reason to do that i just want people see it is many who have bad experience about this website...i would call it bangladesh and india big network site bee careful he looks like he from usa but he not from usa or annother country look he or she review if bangldesh review him or she or india review him then he is a scam and no expert they will do the work but they no experts and they like make fake facebook likes and profiles bee careful this to if you want marketing you site or seo it they know exactly how scam people on seo marketing this big bangladesh network and india network look reviews see any india or bangladesh man give them good reviews they are scam last thing this poor country team is alwasy try to get higher bid after they bid they put a low bid for you project then when you start talk with them they want more money. this is they daily work so they know how to try get money from normal people and freelancer get rich from this people to but in long time i think freelancer will lose and short time they win ok that would bee my last words shame on this site shame shame

Ask Marcus about Freelancer
cliveh6
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
4/25/15

I am just reading the reviews for this website. 4/25/15 got nervous and decided to check my bank account. And to my surprise there was a pending charge from freelancer, Im really shocked as I only checked my account just now after reading these reviews.

I had just joined the website a few days ago merely not more than 3 and posted for a freelancer. I did not award or do anything.

I have never been so nervous about a website before after reading these reviews and what I can say, that if a website will make you feel this way, it might not be worth using and dealing with the headache.

There is a saying when I'm from says, "once bitten, twice shy" and it means when you got caught in a bad dealing the first time, never make it happen a second.

A note to customer service your replies seems to be somewhat a like to the over 400 one star reviews.

It's a suggestion of mine to review your business model of trying to nickel and dime your members for every action they take. I have been in online business for a long time and have never read so many bad reviews about a company. Trying to reply to each of these concerns one by one long after the damage as been done is not helping. I think I will close my account in fear of being charged, further I will ask my friends to approach this website with severe caution.

Ask Clive about Freelancer
delphined
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/22/15

Freelancer refuses to resolve my problem. Instead, I keep getting messages from Freelancer that my account has been 'temporarily suspended' because they allege I owe them money. Here's what happened. I responded - first experience with a major project - to ghostwrite a book for a client. I thought I followed the instructions but apparently I failed. The client accepted my proposal, we had a limited exchange and then she dropped off the face of the earth. Then Freelancer asked for money from me, based on a percentage of what I would have earned on the project. I responded that the project never happened. Their response was that I should have checked whether the client had paid a milestone amount into their account. I checked then, no, no money. I tried to contact her - she said something had gone wrong with Freelancer accepting her payment. I got nowhere with the client or with Freelancer.

It's too bad because I used to pick up a fair amount of work from them - in fact, it was the beginning of a new ghostwriting career. I don't believe it is incompetence or procrastination or anything like that. I believe it is their business model - to create bizarre constraints in the process of obtaining work and payment and then to thumb their noses at you when you complain.

It is my view that I owe them nothing because the contract never materialised. I've repeatedly requested that we attempt to resolve this issue and have been resoundingly ignored.

There are plenty of fish in the sea - who needs them. Offering this feedback in the hopes that they'll learn something about maintaining relationships with the people who represent their income stream, and as a warning to others - if they can find a way of getting money for nothing they will.

Ask Delphine about Freelancer
nealek
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/22/15

I had one project the client will not pay ne for, but I still get Charged 10%. Then another which was cancelled by the client 20% complete, you guessed it they charged be 10% on the whole project(not the bit I was paid for), so after completing 2 jobs I now have $3 which I cannot even withdraw because of a minimum

Avoid Freelancer, use Elance, Guru or Odesk - there I get paid......

Ask neale about Freelancer
codrutb
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/20/15

Hello,

I've been working as a freelancer since 2011, and the first website I've used was VWorker (that was bought by Freelancer). VWorker was like 1000 times better. They would take care of their users by holding the money until the job was done, and if the freelancer delivered, and the employer was happy, the money was released.
But with Freelancer, that's another story. You don't have any kind of security that you will get paid for your job. I did a small project for 100$. Freelacer withdraw from my balance 25$, because I've accepted the project. I did the job, deliver it, but the employer did not paid me. In fact he just ignored me. I've tried to talk with someone from Freelancer, because I don't think it was normal for me to pay the acceptance fee, for a project I was not paid for. But nothing!

So bottom line is that I've PAID 254 do work for free!
Also, they have a habbit of withdrawing money from your paypal balance, and if you don't have money in your paypal balance, they will charge your credit card that is linked to your paypal accout, so you might want to cancel your Preapproved payments to Freelancer from your paypal account.

Later Edit: here is the username of the employer that scamed me: FoxScully

Ask Codrut about Freelancer
johns875
1 review
3 helpful votes
4/20/15

Freelancer is just awful. They have no respect for your privacy, they charge you money if you want to cancel a job (that no one is doing) and the customer service is appalling.

I so regret to have posted a job on Freelancer.

Ask John about Freelancer
jonathanc42
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/20/15

Hi All,

Of all the tech services I've used online Freelancer.com has by far the worst customer service. Here is why:

I put on a bid, and then spent 1 week to do due diligence on all the bids. I then find a decent freelancer, and when I try to pay the milestone their checkout system fails. This has happened 4-5 times earlier, and after a couple of emails front and back they can normally resolve it. This is not ideal, but I find it okay for a growing tech company.

Just after I solved the payment issue they closed my account without warning, and without any reason. I send them an email, and this is what I get back.:

"Thank you for contacting our Support Desk.

Your account has been closed by Freelancer.com administrator. We offer no recourse or rebuttal for this penalty.

It is stated in our Terms & Conditions that Freelancer.com may terminate the participation of a user if we think that they are creating problems, legal liabilities (actual or potential), infringing someone else's intellectual property rights, engaging in fraudulent, immoral or illegal activities, or for other similar reasons. See the Section 23 of the Terms & Conditions for your reference.

To view our Terms and Conditions, you may visit this link:

- User Agreement for Freelancer.com
http://www.freelancer.com/page.php?p=info/terms"

As most people can tell this is just copy pasted to everyone that asked why their account is closed down. I sent another email and I get the same copy pasted answer again.

I decide to create a new account, and repost the project. After 3 days, they close my new account. Again, without any reason. I send them a 1,5 page email to understand what I'm doing wrong, and I get this back:

"Thank you for contacting Freelancer.com Support.

We appreciate your feedback regarding our website and support. However, the closure of your account is due to the violation of our Terms and Conditions. Having said this, the option for us to lift the account closure is not available anymore."

This time, it's not a completely copy and pasted answer, but still another wage confusing answer. I find the last sentence interesting since I wrote them an email a couple of minutes after they canceled my account.

Since they cancel accounts left, and right without reason, and don't treat their customers with any respect, I'd recommend anyone reading this to use other services such as odesk.com, and elance.com.

I find freelancer.com a great example of a tech company that is growing too fast, and completely neglected the quality of their customer support.

Ask Jonathan about Freelancer
leonv7
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/19/15

Having used this website both to do freelance work and to get work done, here's what I have to say:

They don't charge anything for posting a gig there, and do not vet what gets posted so all kind of crap appears there daily. Roughly 90% of projects are just noise ranging from "develop a clone of amazon.com, budget $30" to solicitation of prostitution.

If you're willing to wade through this pile of rubbish to find what appear to be real projects you'll quickly find at least half of them are either 1. Run by a scammer or 2. A fake, in all likelihood posted by freelancer.con itself.

Projects run by a scammer are real, in the sense you'll have to do real work. Sadly you'll never see a cent from them. Beware! This website is scammer central, plenty will award you a project, just to revert charges after completion or just paying a small milestone and leaving the projects open indefinitely, cheating you out of most of your money. In either case freelancer.con won't do a thing to help recover your money. Just read how many cases are documented in this review website alone. This kind of thing happens every single day there, and no matter how careful you are sooner or later you'll get bitten. Some of the scammers are amateurs trying their first hustle, others are professional criminal networks that have been doing for years. And some seem to be in cahoots with freelancer.con themselves.

Fake projects are there just to make the website look more attractive and enticing new users to sign-up. When you apply to them you'll never hear back from the poster and the projects will eventually expire and close themselves. They are only there to make it look like freelancer.con has good gigs up for grabs. Not so! I'm willing to bet this company has an offshore team of people posting fake projects 24/7. If you spend enough time on their website you'll start noticing the patterns.

So are there any legit projects on freelancer.con? Yes, they exist. I've done a few and I've got paid for them. I've also posted gigs there, paid fairly and got rave reviews for doing so. You can find gigs there on a daily basis, unfortunately most are paid at rates than make even Asian sweatshops cringe in disgust. From time to time real projects, run by honest people and with realistic budgets get posted. Been there, done that. Sadly, they generally get spammed to death by the aforementioned Asian sweatshops driving the poster away, usually to never go back.

Just banning India, Pakistan and Bangladesh would probably cut 90% of the issues with this site. Ban also Indonesia, Sri Lanka, Vietnam, Thailand and China and you cut 99% of the troublemakers. If you're looking for work just look for projects originating from first world countries, same thing if you're looking for freelancers although I would also consider Eastern European and South Americans, I've had nothing but positive experiences with the latter.

Beware, though. Some crafty ones have proxies and verified identities in countries such as the UK, the US or Canada to fly under the radar.

As many others before me, I've been overcharged by freelancer.con, scammed out of project fees, and have had my withdrawal requests cancelled. Fortunately when that happened I was still in contact with the company that posted the project, which is run by a pretty cool guy, and he said his account had been suspended and showed a negative balance. They literally emptied their PayPal account with their hidden fees. This was on a project I was being paid £600 (minus 10% freelancer.con cut) and they had over £750 in their account at the time and still owed them money. Furthermore they demanded a huge amount of documentation ranging from passport scans to public utility bills to prove their identity, things that are against the law in all EU countries, but apparently are tolerated in Australia. Needless to say, they didn't want to keep doing business with freelancer.con. On the other hand, we have continued doing business together, they pay directly to me and we both couldn't be any happier. Although I never got paid for the first gig, freelancer.con pocketed £750.

Online freelancing sites are a race to the bottom, and freelancer.con has won the race hands down.

Tip for consumers: If instead of using freelancer.con you can get a ticket to hell, go meet the Devil instead. I think it would be far more enjoyable.

Service
Value
Returns
Quality
Ask Leon about Freelancer
kamalmultaib
1 review
4 helpful votes
4/19/15

freelancer.com is worst website in world
he behave like bank, freelancer.com only interpreter not bank
but he verify identity, he hold your money, he need fee for convert money.
he close your account, he eat your hard work money.
he will cut fee when you accept project, if you not complete project or this project is fraud in any situation freelancer need his fees.
freelancer.com anytime limit your account, anytime reverse your payment and multiple type verification process like they have bank you deposit your money.
actual this is not freelancer duty even freelancer have not any power to hold people earning or close accounts for poor reason. but they have threaten people for each and every time.
I want leagally action against freelancer.com and punish freelance admin.
and in future it is sure if continue freelancer eating people hard work money.
Money is only Employer and Worker not freelanacer and he have no any right to hold or reversal money if both agree.
freelancer.com had doing much more illegal things need to punish for that, he palying with user money.

Ask Kamalmultai about Freelancer
johns873
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/18/15

Disgusting outfit.
Confusing online terminology, confusing possesses, hide behind corporate bureaucracy - all designed to take money from you - in any shape, way or form.
Only used them once - NEVER AGAIN

Stay away!

Ask John about Freelancer
kapilk
1 review
9 helpful votes
4/15/15

Hi,

I was working on a project at freelancer.com, i was awarded a project by an employer, i before accepting the project saw the employer's profile and each and everything on his account was verified not a single thing was not left unverified on his account, so what next i accepted the project after he created full milestone on the site, amount was $200, so i worked for 7 days on the project everything moved smoothly and then the employer closed the project and released the money to me. I withdrew the money from my account to bank account. I got my money in my hand. The problem started after 7 days after withdrawing the amount, when i logged in my account i was surprised to see my account as limited, wrote atleast 10 mails to support, three mail where replied with lame and stupid replies like we understand your problem etc etc, after that verification team asked docs for verification i gave and got verified for 4 days this verification continued, then today when i logged in and saw another surprise, my funds showed -$180 ( $20 was project fee that i was refunded, total project was of $200), on seeing dashboard i see that project got deleted, how does that matter if a completed project is deleted?? How can a person with sense and brain charge money for the project that was deleted after it was completed and whose payment was completed. I am a serious and professional programmer, cannot accept this foolishness. If you people look at my problem it is a total scam website, even if the project is deleted for some problem in employer then freelancer.com should bear the charges because i accepted the project from a 100% verified employer, guys do not waste on this scam website, i faced many other issues on this website that i did not mention here, so i will say that freelancer will have to bear all the charges of any mistake of employer or site administrator.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask kapil about Freelancer
sourabbs
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
4/14/15

Hi everyone,
I was working on a project with my profile name sourabb on the freelancer.com website, i worked for an employer and the project was nearly 10 days old (time enough to verify anyones account either employer or freelancer), the total milestone was done by the employer, after he was happy with my work he released the milestone i withdrew nearly $180 (after paying the project fee) from my freelancer.com account. I was happy that i will be able to pay my bills as it was my month ending, but after 2 or 3 days when i logged into my account i was suprised to see nearly -$180 in my account, after contacting the support they told me that employer did not verify his account so they send back money to his credit and i need to full fill the negative balance with the project fee i.e -$200.
What the hell did i work for nearly 15 days so after withdrawing the amount i will need to work to full fill the negative balance, just can't these people allow employer to create project once they verify everything. Guys i can tell only one thing this site is so unreliable, you can never be sure when and what time this site will create an issue for you. I am still using this site a bit, but i am totally unsatisfied with the service, so be carefull if you are planing to make this site as your major source of income. I need my balance back to zero as it was not my fault to work on a project, verification is the job of freelancer admin not mine.

Ask sourabb about Freelancer
jayj40
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/13/15

I signed up for freelancer 3 days ago. I quickly found this was a mistake. Hidden fees for every action. Post a job, pay a fee. hold your money from PayPal, pay a fee. Have a dispute and want your money back? $5 fee! Then they tried getting $100 extra dollars out of my PayPal. I called PayPal and they quickly resolved the matter. Every dime Freelancer took from me was restored. They made it where Freelancer could no longer charge me for anything, and I will never deal with them again. I urge everyone who is on freelancer to take your money and run! Do no deal with these scam artists!

Ask Jay about Freelancer
stefanc20
1 review
11 helpful votes
4/12/15

Hello , a few days ago i have finished a project that had 4 milestones ,2 of 30$ and 2 of 60$ ,all good and nice , the employer paid up /released all the milestones ,i got that money 180$ withdrew ,transferred them to may paypal and to my credit card , so far so good . Three days later meaning the day on which i posted this i find my freelancer.com account with a -180$ balance , WTF !!!, spoke with the dorks from support ,they said "there is a problem with the my employer's account " i asked "ok , then if the problem is with the employer why am i being charged ?" Response "There is a problem with your employer's account it was marked as fraud and banned ? " of course i asked them again and also asked the to show me why is this my fault why do you(freelancer.com) taking money from my account without even announcing it via email or something ? Then i saw i was talking to myself and left it be . I only hope that it happens to them to in a different circumstance . THIEVES !!!

Tip for consumers: If you choose to work on freelancer as a freelance worker or employer and if you get a project first ask the employer if he want's to pay you via paypal or wire transfer directly , DON'T USE FREELANCER.COM to transfer your funds !

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Stefan about Freelancer
chrisr102
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/11/15

I decided to use freelancer for one project, during which went terribly the user was only able to complete one of the two tasks but insisted for the final milestone payout then got really annoyed he did not get the final payment.

I find the freelancers on the site are conners and beggers the task I gave was two very simple tasks all could be solved with CSS, not really worth the $30 work, many where asking for $50+ to do one line of CSS complaining that the work would be complex and hard, even though the solution was one line.

Freelancer them selves are theives, hidden fees everwhere, you award a freelancer for work, pay us. You release a milestone, pay us. You start challenge, pay us. You delete a project, pay us. all of this is without notice and automatic making you easily lose a lot of money on a single project.

Not worth a single penny and I can assure you after this I will never use my account again lets hope closing an account does not cost anything.

So if you are thinking of using freelancer my suggestion is DON'T you will not get the desired work, reliable freelancer at a cheap cost as promised, it will be undesireable incompleted work with an unreliable and untrustworthy freelancer and will cost you an arm and a leg.

Hope this helps you if you are thinking of using freelancer and it is not just me look at all the other one star reviews on here.

Ask Chris about Freelancer
tomj62
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/9/15

I put in a withdraw request 15 days ago. Today I got another job, and they took a $60 fee for that (which is completely outrageous), automatically canceled my withdraw that I'd been waiting 15 days for, told me i had insuffiecent funds because of this which will cause me to have to wait another 15 days apparently since it's my first withdraw. Now my question is: WHY ON EARTH WOULDN'T YOU GIVE ME THE OPTION TO PAY WITH MY DEBIT CARD, MY BANK ACCT, ECT RATHER THAN SCREW ME OVER AND MAKE ME HAVE TO WAIT AN ADDITIONAL 2 WEEKS TO GET THE FUNDS??? From what I gather from other comments on here it's because you love to screw people over and hold their money freelancer.

The support:
I just got done talking to freelancer support for about 30 minutes. In this 30 minutes the live chat person answered maybe 2 of my 15+ questions, and blatently ignored all the others. I asked questions about why my money was being held. I was told (after maybe 15 minutes of asking) that your first withdraw takes 15 days to process for security reasons. I than asked what security reasons and got no response even when I asked multiple times. I asked the person if I could speak to their supervisor, and again this question was ignored. I asked if they would be mad if they didn't get money they were expecting to get for an entire month after initially withdrawing it? Again, no response. I asked where I could rate them and they told me a rating survey would appear when I exited the conversation. Well, I did this and there was no rating survey. It was probably the worst live chat experience I've ever had in my life. I am not going to leave my username below because this horrible company will probably just screw me over again and again.

Another note, the fees are so outrageous on there I don't see why anyone would ever use them. Have some dignity and self-respect and don't fall for this scammy site people.

Ask tom about Freelancer
mubashira1
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
4/6/15

this is Awesome guy great work

Ask Mubashir about Freelancer
mosers
1 review
5 helpful votes
4/6/15

Do not work there , they will charge your account from nowhere , also if you pass 500$ as payments they will ask a tons of documents to verify your account , i was paid more than 2,500 $ , i managed with luck an withdraw of 400 $ and rest of the money are beeing held by them , they dont have phone number and in the chat support that is 24/7 is like you are talking alone , they give you vague answers and info. that you already know , so dont get there they will steal you .

Ask moser about Freelancer
thaip1
1 review
6 helpful votes
4/2/15

I just started today with freelancer.com and found out that they are charging for all sorts of ridiculous fees: tests for Basic grammar test (US), Basic grammar test (UK), basic arithmetic, advanced arithmetic treating us like little kids. Worse part is you have to pay them $10 per month to be eligible to bid on some of these projects. Customer service is nonexistent as they don't give phone numbers and is relayed via a robot.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Thai about Freelancer
shirsendus
1 review
8 helpful votes
4/2/15

My Freelancer account was closed without any prior warning. One of my clients had given some amount at the initial stage of the project as it was a big budget project. Then before deadline, he marked it "incomplete". My client did not ask for any refund from me as I worked almost more than 50% of that project. Then all of a sudden Freelancer deducted that amount from my account.And create it as pending milestone. When I spoke with their customer support on chat, they asked me to create one dispute for that milestone. Accordingly, I created one dispute. And just before one day of the dispute deadline, Freelancer suddenly closed my account saying that I have violated their terms and conditions.And yes client didn't respond on that 7 days time period. I have been working there since August 2007. Why should I violate their terms??? They did not even give me any notice or warn me for that.They don't have any proper terms and conditions.This is really ridiculous.

Tip for consumers: Don't go with that site. Elance is better.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Shirsendu about Freelancer
staceyl13
1 review
7 helpful votes
4/1/15

After opening a contest and awarding a designer, the designer then couldn't deliver my work and canceled the project. Freelancer.com said bad luck my money is gone, even though I don't have the design I paid for.... I opened a paypal dispute regarding this since the designer did not want payment and freelancer.com then blocked a 2nd contest I had going on which resulted in me losing my money AGAIN! Their reason for this? "you did not choose a winning entry within 14 days from when your contest closed", my contest was open for 3 days and still had another 2 days to go before ending!!!! See the screenshot attached. They've now stolen over $60 of my money in 2 days. Stay far far away!!!!

Tip for consumers: Just don't do it!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Stacey about Freelancer
rajendrad1
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/25/15

I CANT EVEN GIVE A ZERO STAR RATING I WAS ABLE TO I WOULD GIVE ZERO STAR

I gave project and they guy has advance $170 and now the rest of the money is stuck in limo with dispute he docent even respond and company dosent even take responsibility or act on it and he is still taking projects the user name is ECOSITE i would suggest do not give any projects to any on this site as they are just stealing peoples money and company dosent care they don't do any thing some one needs to find a company who can law sue this free lancer company

company need to take steps against bad review people or who are not doing their project they should implement 100% satisfaction guarantee for developers as big company do Ebay

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE THIS SITE KEEP THE MONEY IN BANK BELIEVE ME DO NOT USE THIS SITE OR YOU WILL CRY LIKE ME

FOR WASTED MONEY PEOPLE here KNOW HOW TO TAKE YOUR MONEY AND NOT DO ANY THING AND YOU WILL NOT BE ABLE TO DO ANY THING

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask rajendra about Freelancer
akpana
1 review
7 helpful votes
3/25/15

Everything you do on this site, they try to take money from you. For someone who wants to be a freelancer, this is not a friendly site at all. I try to bid on a project and they wont allow until i pay for something. STUPID SITE.

Tip for consumers: Dont use this site. Use other sites. STUPID SITE.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Akpan about Freelancer
scammedb1
1 review
5 helpful votes
3/23/15

We hired a logo designer to create a logo. Their website indicates that any material which is not original will be pulled off their website and within the actual handover agreement, it highlights that any IP associated to the concept, the designer forfeits ownership upon exchange of money for the design.

Designer has used many attributes of my logo design with many other logo designs subsequently, and when this issue has been presented to Freelancer.com, they have highlighted to address with designer. Then when questioned further, they have advised to again go back to the designer. Further questioning, they have indicated that they will investigate. Response was, yes its clear that the designer has used similar attributes of my design in other designs and can be found all over the internet....apparently, i then questioned why aren't they taking any responsibility in removing or taking greater action in protecting intellectual property.

DON'T TRUST THESE SCAMMERS, THE MONEY YOU ARE SPENDING IS A WASTE OF TIME FOR UNORIGINAL MATERIAL AND NO PROTECTION WHATSOEVER.

BUYER BEWARE.!!!!

Tip for consumers: DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY, NO PROTECTION WHATSOEVER!!!!

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Scammed about Freelancer
poppyh1
1 review
6 helpful votes
3/22/15

Their support is akin to robots. Incapable of answering simplest questions and simply blocking your account and taking all your funds.

Their complains department (Marcus or Lara or whatever names these Nepal/ India based support wishes to take) are as useless. Don't believe their answers like "Your issue has been addressed in ticket X142526"; all that happens is that they refer you back to your original ticket that was the problem in the first place.

The website stole over $1,300 from my account and blocked it with no reason whatsoever. I am lodging a complaign against them and will take them to court if required. Otherwise BEWARE.

They will not refund your cash, they will not accept any proof you can provide. They will just block and strip you dry of your funds.

Tip for consumers: Do not deposit funds, do not put your payment details. They will start charging you without your knowledge or approval. Move to Elance or Odesk.

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
Ask Poppy about Freelancer

11 Questions & Answers

Below are questions from consumers with answers from the Freelancer staff and other consumers. Do not write reviews in this section - click here to write a review
Ask a question
Q: is it worth to appear in tests ?? is it safe to pay test fees through debit card?
4/16/15
Answer
chandans
A: I think , here the question is how to get Varun money first , there are 100s of things to be discussed but let us all try to find solution
1 month ago
Helpful answer
1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Q: I registered on the website under free membership, and was just about to upgrade the membership but thankfully i saw these reviews. At first instance, I was very happy and excited to see the projects on the site.

Can you please explain the feedbacks and also Can i still trust on you and upgrade my membership.
4/17/15
Answer
brendab19
A: Rabbit , PayPal DO NOT refund you!
5 hours ago
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Add your answer
Posting guidelines
Questions? Get answers from the Freelancer staff and other consumers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • From where do products ship?

37 Photos for Freelancer

From reviewers
×
Have a question about
Freelancer?
Post Review