Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation

Rory C.

  • 1 Review
  • 1 Helpful Vote
  • 0 Thank Yous

Experience: Shopping

Member since November 2018

  • Review


  • First Reviews


  • Thank Yous


  • Fans


  • Profile Views


Review Distribution

1 Review by Rory

I bought a $35 piece of artwork from NZSale on Sep 3.

I received the wrong one on Sep 30 and contacted NZSale that same day. I said I was happy with either a replacement or refund.

After exchanging a few messages, I was told that NZSale could not provide a replacement and instead would send me a postage bag to return the item at their expense. They assured me that after receiving the package at their warehouse, they would issue a refund.

Almost a month later, this postage bag still had not arrived.

I messaged NZ Sale on Oct 31 and they replied on Nov 1 telling me to organise the return of the artwork directly with Castle Parcels myself.

After several emails back and forth with Castle Parcels, the local branch called me on Nov 12 and agreed to pick up the package the next day.

NZSale confirmed their receipt of the artwork on Nov 22 and gave me $35 store credit.

I messaged them that afternoon and asked for a refund instead. I also mentioned that the Consumer Guarantees Act 1993, Section 23.3, states "The obligation to refund cannot be satisfied by permitting the consumer to acquire goods from the supplier".

NZSale replied on Nov 23 with this message: "Based on your reason for return, you have not been eligible for a refund as per our Return Policy. Nevertheless, I'd be happy to assist you with a refund in this instance as an exception as I can see you are a valuable customer of ours."

I responded by quoting Section 2 of NZSale's Return Policy: "If the item you have received is so different from the description that you would not have bought it, you are entitled to a refund under the Law". I referred once again to the Consumer Guarantees Act 1993 as well as the Fair Trading Act 1986, and mentioned that my next point of contact would be the Commerce Commission if a refund did not occur.

I received an email from PayPal on Nov 27 saying that a refund of $35 had been actioned. This appeared in my bank account the next day.

NZSale replied to my last message on Nov 28. They said they were "extremely sorry" and "will speak with the warehouse team to find out if this is a genuine mistake".

All in all, my experience with NZSale has been arduous and frustrating. It took two months from the date I received the wrong item to finally get a refund.

NZSale's message sent Nov 23, which called me a "valuable customer" and implied providing a refund was a generous offer beyond their legal obligations, was simply insulting. It should not have required reference to trading legislation and mention of contacting the Commerce Commission for NZSale to finally acknowledge their error and credit a refund.

I never intend to shop with NZSale again and I recommend nobody else does. It just is not worth the risk given the many other websites available, such as AliExpress, for cheap clothing and other products.

Tip for consumers: Don't.

Blake S. – Rep
Hello Rory, I apologise for the delayed reply. I am sorry to hear about your experience with our team. We do not have a free postage bag. I am sorry for the misinformation. In the event that an item arrives incorrect, we'd be able to organize for the item to be picked up at our cost and we would issue you with a refund. I am sorry that you had been provided with a credit as opposed to a refund once it had been returned. I'd send this feedback to our team to ensure these are not repeated and I am sorry that we have lost you. Please do let me know if there is anything we can do.

Rory Has Earned 1 Vote

Rory C.'s review of earned a Very Helpful vote

Rory hasn’t received any thanks yous.

Rory doesn’t have any fans yet.

Rory isn’t following anybody yet.

Similar Reviewers on Sitejabber


These people are rip off, sometimes selling products over 10 times the price of actual market...


Have tried to email them multiple times with no response, as it has been nearly 3 weeks and they...