Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Intertel

Intertel reviews

9 reviews
3 Bree Street, City Bowl
Cape Town, Western Cape 8001, South Africa
Tel: 0861262275
info@intertel.co.za

9 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

claytonm31
2 reviews
0 helpful votes
8/20/17

Been stalked by an ex for almost 3 years. The police said they couldn't do anything without proof. Even the courts couldn't help. Intertel helped, bottom line. It wasn't cheap but they helped me get a protection order and open a case of harassment plus they worked with the investigating officer to get the evidence i needed to get my day in court. Thank you to Mike and Helene for all your help. My kids and I can never repay you for what you've done to help us. Thanx a million.

Advertisement
jenniferh256
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/17

Truth be told I hadn't heard of Intertel until I searched Google and found their profile on sitejabber.com. I was impressed with how the company answered a question along the same lines as my issue so I made contact. The service was of a very high standard and I'm very pleased with the work that they've done. Thank you also to the other who wrote reviews because I wouldn't have used their services otherwise - and i'm very glad I did.

Tip for consumers: Getting through to Intertel by telephone can be frustrating at times. It seems like their lines are continuously busy for periods at a time. I found email got a quick enough response to make calling unnecessary. Besides, they called me often enough to give me updates. Maybe its something they should look into because it can be frustrating when you can't get through.

Service
Value
Quality
Response from Brett P., Intertel Representative
Hi there Jennifer. Thank you for your great review, and also for your tip regarding telephones. We have now supplemented our existing fixed line phone numbers with additional VoIP numbers (087 numbers) which are redirected to various staff members' office lines or cellphones (we pay the cost of redirecting the call so for the caller it will be the standard call charge). When the switchboard is overloaded, new calls should automatically redirect to someone who is available - or if no one is available, it will ring through on a manager's cellphone. We hope that this will prevent the switchboard from being engaged, and again, we thank you for bringing this to our attention.
lylel12
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/4/16

I've been getting disturbing messages from a number I don't know and until now nobody could help me. The service provider sent me to the police. The police said they couldn't help because I hadn't been threatened. I then found the tracing service on Intertel's website. I submitted the number, made a payment and got the details I needed. All within a few minutes. Thank you for the awesome service.

Response from Brett P., Intertel Representative
Hi Lyle. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the world. Being shuffled from pillar to post by service providers and police officers is a frustration shared by many customers who'd tried to resolve similar issues themselves. Its the very reason we wanted to offer this service in the first place. We're happy that we could help you in your situation and hope that the information has enabled you to get closure (or justice, or both). Regards, Brett
kerryanneh
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/6/16

This is an investigation company that seems to do a lot of different things. I was referred to them by a friend who raved about their service about a year ago when they helped him locate a stolen laptop. I was robbed at knifepoint and get in touch with Intertel to help track the phone down. They were quick to respond and ever quicker to get into action. I never got my phone back because its now evidence but the person that robbed me has been caught and at least i'll get some justice. I thought that things like this were only possible in the movies, but clearly there are some people that can work technological miracles. Thank you Intertel for all your efforts.

Response from Brett P., Intertel Representative
Hi Kerry-Anne. Thank you for your kind words, they are much appreciated, but you've left out one person that was key to solving this case: YOU. After having been through such a terrifying ordeal you were able to provide a detailed (and accurate) description of the suspect and the weapon, you convinced witnesses at the scene to remain there so that the police could get statements, and you secured and pointed out physical evidence from which fingerprints were recovered (which led directly to the identification of the suspect). As you know, the suspect plead guilty to all charges and will be sentenced in June. Sgt Myeza said he would arrange to have your belongings returned to you quite soon. Keep your chin up and take care. Brett.
debbiel14
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/1/13

I was receiving some very unpleasant texts from a number but whenever I tried to call the number back it would go straight to voicemail. I contacted intertel and clicked their live chat button and spoke to a really lovely lady Reagan who explained all that they could do. While I was on the chat she checked the number and confirmed that it was registered to a person and gave me different pricing options depending on how much information I needed about the person. I paid with credit card and the information was given to me while I was chatting and send to my email. You cannot believe how this has made my day, my week, darn, my year. I'm off to the police station to report this pervert that has been harassing me, and i'm going to have a fantastic weekend. Thank you Reagan, and thank you Intertel.

andrewl33
3 reviews
5 helpful votes
9/23/13

I'm happy to see South African sites on sitejabber.com and in particular, sites of companies i've dealt with. Intertel is quite a well known company in South Africa and i've seen them on TV. They are private investigators and as long as I can remember they've been in business. I give them 5 stars because almost a year ago in November I had my laptop and cell phone stolen from my office and Intertel assisted me. I did get my laptop and cell phone back but the laptop was formatted and my data was gone, but I was the most happy about getting my cel phone back because it had pictures of my father that passed away that I didn't have anywhere else. I am really glad to see they are keeping up with their high standards and they truly deserve 5 out 5 in my book.

joshw33
4 reviews
75 helpful votes
8/31/13

I had a person email my employer a few times with some ridiculous claims like I was stealing from the company and I had a good idea who was behind them but obviously I needed some proof. I contacted a company in Gauteng and they referred me to intertel.co.za, I dealt with a lady Angela who is top of her game and super sweet. The long and short is that thanks to Intertel I have the proof I need and I have opened a case of crimen injuria against the person. I don't know how they are with other types of work, but for this they deserve 10 out of 5 ;-)_

gustavm20
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
8/22/13

I've been a customer for over 2 years and I highly recommend intertel.co.za for anyone in Cape Town that needs assistance with harassment or stalking. My company has referred many clients to Intertel as well and the feedback we get is always excellent.

jasonm80
2 reviews
4 helpful votes
7/27/13

This is an investigation company who are quite unique in that they're almost fanatical about the customer's experience. I've called into their support service on a number of occasions and they have always given honest advice that is sound (I've only been a paying customer of theirs once, almost a year ago, and hopefully I won't ever have the kind of issue I had then that i'll need an investigator in the future, but if I do, i'd definitely go back to them). What impresses me most really is that they still greet me by name and spend time and effort helping me, and i'm a past customer that isn't spending.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi James. Yes, we can check whether spyware is installed on your phone. The first thing we'd ask you is what make/model phone it is, and that is because some phone types are impervious to spyware (for example, "cheapie" non-smartphones). Whether or not you need to send the phone to us depends entirely on what you need us to do. Basically, just to tell you whether you have spyware installed and then to remove that spyware wouldn't require us to physically have the phone in our hands. We can use remote access software like Team Viewer to remotely access your phone, examine it and take appropriate action to secure it. This usually takes no longer than 15-30 minutes. We also wouldn't necessarily need the phone if you wanted us to investigate any discovered spyware. We could remotely identify the spyware, determine when and how it was installed, what data it may have had access to, where any compromised data may have been sent to, and more. This could take well over an hour depending on exactly what is discovered. If, however, you wanted the phone examined so that evidence of the use of spyware could be used in civil or criminal action against those responsible then we'd need the phone. A proper chain of custody would need to be established, and forensically sound methods would be used in handling and examining the phone, identifying, acquiring and preserving digital evidence, analyzing that evidence and arriving at our conclusions. Normally, this sort of examination will take 2-3 days, but can be expedited if a report is required urgently for court. You're welcome to email debug [at] intertel [dot] co [dot] za for more information or give us a call on 0861262275.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 1
Vote
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Every active cellphone number can be traced back to the person or persona (if not an actual person) to whom the SIM card was registered. Every SIM card that is in use on our mobile networks must be registered in terms of the RICA Act or it would not be able to make use of the cellular network at all (except to call 112 emergency services and possibly the network operator's customer care number). "Illegal SIM cards", or ones that are not registered to anyone at all, are a fallacy. They cannot be used on our networks. All SIM cards will be registered to someone. That isn't to say that all SIM cards are registered using the bona fides of the person that is actually using that SIM card. "Already registered" SIM cards can be borrowed, stolen, found or otherwise obtained from people that we have access to; or they can be bought for less then R100 from many street vendors and cell phone shops. Times are tough and strangers could even be approached with a reasonable cash offer to either sell their SIM card or to register one in their name. Then there's the RICA terminals themselves and the people who have access to them. I've registered a number of SIM cards and on a few occasions I wasn't even asked for documentation - I was simply asked for my name, ID number and address - all of which I gave verbally despite having had the required documents with me. Criminals would probably make approaches to people with access to those terminals and could have SIM cards registered using bogus or stolen identities that would be virtually (but not entirely) untraceable. You can check phone number ownership using various databases here: https://www.intertel.co.za/trace - the price is between R100 and R350 depending on the source, and you'd get at least the person's name, an identifier (like passport number, date of birth or ID number) and an address. If that info turns out to be outdated or false then one could look at tracking the location of the number or linking other handsets, SIM cards and numbers with the one in question to find a point of entry for an investigation. There's much that can be done, but tracing ownership is the first (and cheapest) step.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi George, you're welcome to send me the information that you have and i'll assess the cost. Email brett@intertelgroup.com.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is normal considering the turnaround time is advertised as 48 hours and the weekend took up 2 of those days.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, it is normal considering the turnaround time is advertised as 48 hours and the weekend took up 2 of those days.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, certainly. Email the information you have regarding the "someone" in question to trace@intertel.co.za and we'll assess whether there is sufficient information to identify and trace the person.

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Amy, There are a number of ways to trace emails back to the original sender. Not enough is known about your specific situation to offer any concrete advice, but here's a general guide (assuming that you are based in South Africa): 1. if the emails are being sent from a local email address (.co.za,.org.za,.ac.za,.za.net,.gov.za,etc), and (i) if the nature of the communication or content of the messages constitutes harassment, stalking or bullying then (a) exercise your rights in terms of the Protection from Harassment Act and apply for an interim protection order (b) the Court can direct the email service provider to furnish the senders particulars in terms of Regulation 7 (ii) if the emails are of such as nature that they're likely to impair your dignity or cause serious damage to your reputation then (a) you may be able to open a case of crimen injuria or criminal defamation against the sender (b) you could then have the email service provider subpoena'd in terms of Section 205 of the Criminal Procedure Act (iii) Similarly, if the emails are designed to intimidate you or are part of an effort to extort or blackmail you then (a) opening a police case would be the best option. The police will be able to advise which charges are most appropriate. (b) as above the senders details could be obtained by means of a Section 205 subpoena 2. if the emails are being sent from a foreign email address, including gmail.com, yahoo.com, hotmail.com, etc, and (i) if the content or the sending of the emails would constitute a criminal offense in the email service provider's jurisdiction then (a) open a police case locally and request assistance through a Mutual Legal Assistance or other Treaty with that country (if applicable) or (b) open a police case locally and request assistance through Interpol (via the Interpol Liaison office in South Africa) (ii) if the emails are a violation of the email services providers T&C's, the country's common or other law then (a) try a Freedom of Information Act (or similar) application for as much information as the email service provider is willing to provide and (b) contact a lawyer in that jurisdiction to petition the Court for a subpoena, court order or search warrant as appropriate to get the rest 3. if you'd prefer to have professionals handle it for you then get in touch with us and we'll assess your situation and circumstances to find the best solution for you. Regards, Angela (angela@intertel.co.za)

By Brett P. [Intertel Rep]
Questions? Get answers from the Intertel staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Intertel?
Post Review