Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of FileHippo

14 Reviews From Our Community

3 stars
1 star
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

milliep3
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/3/17

FILE HIPPO INSTALLS ADWARE AND COOKIES ON YOUR COMPUTER FOR THE PRIVILEDGE OF DOWNLOADING FROM THEM, RIGHT?

https: //davescomputertips.com/beware-filehippo-now-pushing-adware/
It appears yet another once trusted source for downloads has succumbed to the dark side. FileHippo has decided to join the ranks of CNET Download.com and others, and is now offering software downloads via its own Download Manager, which includes adware offers.

This story first came to light a couple of months ago but until now Ive not seen any firsthand indication that FileHippo had actually implemented the new system. Ive been checking the site every few days or so with no sign of any changes. Then, yesterday, I came across numerous downloads on FileHippo involving the Download Manager or, more accurately, adware wrapper.

Not all downloads on FileHippo are associated with the Download Manager as yet, but there are enough now to warrant a warning, and I suspect implementation might be ongoing. I hasten to add that FileHippo does provide an alternate Direct Download link which bypasses their Download Manager and, of course, its 3rd party offerings:

Advertisement
gulmahadk
3 reviews
1 helpful vote
1/10/17

This website fulfills all my software requirements. now i am able to download any software of my need and that is for free. yesterday i needed vlc player and i downloaded it from Filehippo.com and it works amazingly and am using this website from now on all the time.

artsaim
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/19/15

One of the best download sites. Fast reliable and secure.

However, if you are unexperienced user be careful to only click the correct 'download' buttons as there are some ads on the site that may trick you click to other sites and you may end up somewhere else than what you intended.

edwards65
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
8/4/15

I am regular user of filehippo. I downloaded many software from it for many times. I am still using it for software downloading.

henryf19
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
7/4/15

FileHippo provides free software to everyone. I use it software regularly

kennyt5
3 reviews
15 helpful votes
12/11/14

FileHippo.com is a fantastic source to get downloads from. All of it's programs are free.

monirujjamanm
3 reviews
2 helpful votes
4/5/14

Download all necessary software. I always refer this site other.

sophians
11 reviews
12 helpful votes
1/20/13

I am giving 4stars to this website because we can download free software from this arena.

jonc18
5 reviews
13 helpful votes
10/14/12

Great site I was leery at first. Howeve, after using it for the last 8 months, It allows you to upload virus free software. On this site you can get actually free versions of software that is no longer offered on company's website, where you are forced to get a "free trial" of some professional version when you press upload free version.

tracye1
53 reviews
126 helpful votes
9/27/11

Excellent site!! Agian, like other reviewers I thought it was too good to be true.

My father pointed me at this site -- he runs a pc update and fix-it business! He recommended I remove an older program that cleans up the system (deleted cookies, tracking software, etc.) He not only recommended certain programs but highly recommend to get them through filehippo.

Free, dependable, and no registering!! 100% recommended!

ianm11
143 reviews
589 helpful votes
6/27/11

FileHippo.com is a fantastic source to get downloads from. All the programs on this site are 100% free and don't contain viruses, malicious software or spam. Don't even have to register! It even comes with a 'FileHippo Update Checker' which will check and inform you when they're updates available.

redj
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/21/10

EXCELLENT!!! I think I came to know about this website about three years ago. At first glance, I thought this was yet another fake and annoying site, trying to pour down virus into your PC. But after using it for a couple of times, I really started to love it. The special thing about this site is that it would be the first one to grab any updates released by any kind of software. And the other thing is that you don't need to go through the "Sign Up" and other crappy things. Its just beautiful. Even ESET NOD32 prompts you to provide your email address to their official site for just to download a trial version. But File Hippo doesn't. Just go through and download even the older versions of a software. Direct link with resume capabilities, just in case if you need it. Very useful for everyone. I strongly recommend this site for free softwares.

henryr
5 reviews
22 helpful votes
7/19/10

Everything on this site is free and it has some excellent programs and utilities such as ccleaner ( gets rid of temporary internet files, cookies, etc), AVG Antivirus, file compression and back up utilities, etc. The site is secure and it is free. I have used the site for over 6 years and never been disappointed.

1 rating was submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer
0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the FileHippo staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
FileHippo?
Post Review