Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of wikiHow

wikiHow reviews

25 reviews
Palo Alto, CA 94301, US
Tel: +1-252-227-7013
wiki@wikihow.com

25 Reviews From Our Community

Service
3
Value
3
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
1

All Reviews

lindak395
1 review
1 helpful vote
12/21/18

I have come across this site haphazardly on occasion, but I never realized how all encompassing it is!! How to do.....just about ANYTHING you can think of!! And in a way that is UNDERSTANDABLE!!!! I can't believe there are negative reviews! YES there are answers to simple questions..they are needed. BUT there are instructions on how to begin speaking a foreign language and other more complicated answers also !!

jimmyd94
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/3/18

I love wikiHow. They offers some of the best and most thoughtful content on the Internet for any how-to type of site.

elizabethd292
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/27/18

wikiHow is a site that I love! It is always so helpful. The site provides really great information that is well researched and well sourced. Most of the articles are reviewed by experts. I trust wikiHow to teach me how to do things.

jordans147
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/27/18

TONS of great and useful articles on how to do things. I go to wikiHow first when I want to learn how to do something

ae35
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/1/18

Coming at this from a reader's perspective. wikiHow's become my go-to because of how empathetic and authentic the site is, especially in such a clickbait-y world. It's apparent that wikiHow is a place where people care to help each other.

Overall, I feel like I'm asking a friend for their advice or their personal experience with the security of knowing that a lot of the articles are verified by experts or tested by real people. I really appreciate that a lot of the solutions range from simple and straightforward to a little quirky to pretty complex and niche. It's a great mix of helpful, authentic, and trustworthy, and makes everything that much more accessible.

oscarl33
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/26/17

Looks good, sometimes you get valuable content, but after all it's a website aimed at "likes and clicks" rather than quality.. sad, it could have been much better

rickm131
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/4/17

I really like the range of content that wikiHow offers. Ive been able to rely on wikiHow pretty equally for things like career development, fixing stuff around the house and iPhone problems. Love the illustrations.

johnt392
1 review
4 helpful votes
5/3/17

I mostly use wikiHow for cooking and home improvement tasks. The site does a good job of making technical processes feel easy understand using different forms of media without sacrificing specificity or completeness. One of the articles I've come back to multiple times is about how to tie a tie, and it's been cool to see the changes the page has undergone since the first time I visited it - it now has multiple methods and each step has a detailed illustration with annotations. I appreciate that the wiki format allows wikiHow to get better over time.

Service
Value
Quality
jr239
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/4/17

I think another user hit the nail on the head when they pointed out that the site is WAY over-moderated. You can't submit legitimate changes to an article without some power tripping idiot changing it back less than 15 hours later. The moderators aren't experts on a lot of the subjects, yet they're more than happy to leave information up (or out) that could have serious legal or health ramifications.

If you want how to information on simple things like how to boil an egg, this site is a good resource. If you're looking to get information on anything that could be dangerous, has anything to do with running a business, or any matter that could leave you open to litigation; I wouldn't rely on the site for information that is accurate or complete.

johnj355
4 reviews
4 helpful votes
2/22/17

Whenever I want to learn how to do anything, I turn to wikiHow first. wikiHow seems to cover every topic and cover it well. I've used them for countless things, and I've found all their advice to be reliable, accurate, and easy to follow. Plus I love their illustrations and short videos!

Service
Value
elizabethd106
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/20/17

wikiHow is a super helpful site that I love visiting. The content is always well written, comprehensive, and I've noticed it is quite often reviewed by experts. I love that there are often multiple suggestions for how to get something done. This is helpful if one of the suggestions doesn't work for my own personal case. I also love the question and answer section. There is always great information to be found there.

jenniferh148
14 reviews
24 helpful votes
8/6/16

Very good avice

Service
Value
karend98
3 reviews
4 helpful votes
5/4/16

I found that wikihow is not only better at explaining how to do things step by step, the site itself is much more user-friendly than most others. Not a bunch of ads bogging down load time and pushing content down. There is not much you can't find on wikihow. If not, Youtube probably has it.

jasont60
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
6/24/15

I really like this site this is the so many unique perspectives and so many useful tips. I love the content and the theme of the site as well.

copacetici
6 reviews
15 helpful votes
9/5/14

Wow its so good although some searches may be obscure and somewhat useless other searches are really effective, including cures for sore throats

johnj147
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/24/14

This is the best site on the web to learn how to do something. Articles are helpful, accurate, comprehensive and formatted in an easy to follow step-by-step format. Because so many people edit wikiHow, the articles become very authoritative.

dorad5
7 reviews
17 helpful votes
7/10/14

So many unique perspectives and so many useful tips. I love the content and the theme of the site.

camelitah
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/16/14

I think this site is useful and can be very effective in providing comprehensive information for all its users, however their seems to be a handful of crazed "superusers" (one person who has "patrolled" over 100k articles in the last 2 years, i mean who even has time for that) who take it upon themselves to reedit or delete what other people.

clarissat
2 reviews
2 helpful votes
1/8/14

You obviously can't find everything here but if you need specific answers for everyday mundane questions then I guess this site is right for you.

donm53
1 review
4 helpful votes
12/27/13

This is the most useless bunch of crap on the internet.
"How to pet a cat"
"How to snap your fingers"
"How to blink"
"How to Bite Your Lip Seductively" (under health)
"How to determine if you are tall"

REALLY?

joshw33
4 reviews
81 helpful votes
8/31/13

So many unique perspectives and so many useful tips. Really is a goldmine of how-to's. I can read it for hours for entertainment - even topics I have no real interest in or no need to solve.

chriso1
660 reviews
3,068 helpful votes
2/6/11

A self-editable guide to everyday life - and the not so everyday - Wikihow's current iteration is attractively designed, pretty easy to navigate and full of information of both the useful and useless kind. As with any user-centered site, quality is variable. But then, so is real life and if everything here was always reliable and uncontroversial I'd assume at least half the correspondents were making it up.

Controversial opinions will be challenged in the comments, though I don't know to what extent the chooses to censor what it regards inappropriate. I've seen heated debates going on and they seem to pass without undue editing.

The most fascinating aspect for a passer-by is the list of the most popular pages, or at least, the most viewed, which is not quite the same but does imply that these are topics that people want to read about.

Curiously, up there at the four-and-a-half million view mark or thereabouts, pages on how to get girls or boys to like you, or know whether or not they already do, share popularity with the page on how to take a screenshot in Microsoft Windows. The thought that these all have equal significance in modern life is one to ponder, and I'll leave you to do that, now.

jesses
7 reviews
20 helpful votes
3/16/10

I think this site is useful and can be very effective in providing comprehensive information for all its users, however their seems to be a handful of crazed "superusers" (one person who has "patrolled" over 100k articles in the last 2 years, i mean who even has time for that) who take it upon themselves to reedit or delete what other people add based on their judgement calls. While i do feel it is necessary for reasonable moderation of the content, I think that some users take it one step too far acting as if they're Cerberus at the gates of Hade, preventing others from doing much of their own content building which truly detracts from the community experience.

2 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

In the State of California, all requests to be excused from jury service that are granted must show the court undue hardship or (recent) previous jury service All requests to be excused from jury service that are granted for undue hardship must be put in writing by the prospective juror, reduced to writing, or placed on the court's record. The prospective juror must support the request with facts specifying the hardship and a statement why the circumstances constituting the undue hardship cannot be avoided by deferring the prospective juror's service. Reasons for excusing a juror because of undue hardship An excuse on the ground of undue hardship may be granted for any of the following reasons: (1) The prospective juror has no reasonably available means of public or private transportation to the court. (2) The prospective juror must travel an excessive distance. Unless otherwise established by statute or local rule, an excessive distance is reasonable travel time that exceeds one-and-one-half hours from the prospective juror's home to the court. (3) The prospective juror will bear an extreme financial burden. In determining whether to excuse the prospective juror for this reason, consideration must be given to: (A) The sources of the prospective juror's household income; (B) The availability and extent of income reimbursement; (C) The expected length of service; and (D) Whether service can reasonably be expected to compromise the prospective juror's ability to support himself or herself or his or her dependents, or so disrupt the economic stability of any individual as to be against the interests of justice. (4) The prospective juror will bear an undue risk of material injury to or destruction of the prospective juror's property or property entrusted to the prospective juror, and it is not feasible to make alternative arrangements to alleviate the risk. In determining whether to excuse the prospective juror for this reason, consideration must be given to: (A) The nature of the property; (B) The source and duration of the risk; (C) The probability that the risk will be realized; (D) The reason alternative arrangements to protect the property cannot be made; and (E) Whether material injury to or destruction of the property will so disrupt the economic stability of any individual as to be against the interests of justice. (5) The prospective juror has a physical or mental disability or impairment, not affecting that person's competence to act as a juror, that would expose the potential juror to undue risk of mental or physical harm. In any individual case, unless the person is aged 70 years or older, the prospective juror may be required to furnish verification or a method of verification of the disability or impairment, its probable duration, and the particular reasons for the person's inability to serve as a juror. (6) The prospective juror's services are immediately needed for the protection of the public health and safety, and it is not feasible to make alternative arrangements to relieve the person of those responsibilities during the period of service as a juror without substantially reducing essential public services. (7) The prospective juror has a personal obligation to provide actual and necessary care to another, including sick, aged, or infirm dependents, or a child who requires the prospective juror's personal care and attention, and no comparable substitute care is either available or practical without imposing an undue economic hardship on the prospective juror or person cared for. If the request to be excused is based on care provided to a sick, disabled, or infirm person, the prospective juror may be required to furnish verification or a method of verification that the person being cared for is in need of regular and personal care. Excuse based on previous jury service A prospective juror who has served on a grand or trial jury or was summoned and appeared for jury service in any state or federal court during the previous 12 months must be excused from service on request. The jury commissioner, in his or her discretion, may establish a longer period of repose. Source: http://www.courts.ca.gov/cms/rules/index.cfm?title=two&linkid=rule2_1008

By J R.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the wikiHow staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for wikiHow

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
wikiHow?
Post Review