Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of WeBuyDVDs

WeBuyDVDs reviews

Is this your business?
8 reviews
enquiry@webuydvds.co.uk

8 Reviews From Our Community

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
Service
1
Value
1
Shipping
1
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

johnb671
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/19/16

Avoid Like the Plague

Like others on here, I appear to have been taken for a ride by this shoddy company. They received my DVDs on the 14 June 2016 and to date I still have not received any payment for the DVDs that I sent them in good faith.

They just keep informing me that my cheque is waiting to be printed. I will be contacting Trading Standards today to ensure that every step is taken to close down their business and if necessary, I will seek redress through the small claims court.

They are clearly not honest and will just keep you waiting and waiting for your money.

Do not be fooled by the offer of better prices like I was because the chances of you seeing your money is very slim.

You have been warned - Avoid like the plague.

dannij1
1 review
1 helpful vote
7/20/16

I used 3 online companies to recycle just over 300 DVDs; Momox, Zapper and WebuyDVDs. I chose these companies because they offered the best prices. About 200 were sent to Momox and Zapper. They were efficient, and paid fairly promptly. Out of these DVDs, 6 were declined due to scratches, cover damage, ect. Fine, no big deal. Just under 100 were sent to Webuydvds. After waiting for a ridiculously long amount of time, nearly all of them so far have been rejected, despite the fact that they were in the same condition as the other DVDs, and I am still waiting. These people are con artists. Do not use!

craigl35
1 review
2 helpful votes
6/13/16

My complaint pretty much echoes everybody else's. The company eventually paid my cheque after three months and it was not for the amount they promised, they stated that 30 of my items were not fit for resale which is rubbishy as my wife and I inspected them all before they were sent. The company is clearly run by sharks who endeavour to make a living from ripping good people off. (USE AT YOUR PERIL)

sylwiam1
1 review
2 helpful votes
4/3/16

....avoid avoid avoid...

They dont pay for all dvds if they pay at all. I have been waiting 2 months now. As they saying they still printing my cheque.

Total scam

S

ianr39
1 review
2 helpful votes
3/12/16

I have a large collection I want to sell so decided to test webuydvds with a small amount of items (40 DVDs). They offered slightly more then Music Magpie but I had never heard of them.

It only took them a couple of days to process the items I sent and tell me one had failed its QC, not too bad I thought. The problem was they never sent me the cheque, a month went by, nothing, two messages sent via their website and two emails, I only received one, 'by the numbers' response telling me they were busy and I should wait longer.

Music Magpie may offer slightly less but they at least pay you and their service is fantastic compared to this bunch of thieves.

Tip for consumers: Do yourself a favour and just stick with Music Magpie.

Service
Value
Shipping
mecheller1
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/5/16

Well, I thought I'd try a new company instead of Magpie as this company seemed to pay over the odds - well they do because they don't pay you for all of them. Was quoted £20+ and when I eventually got my cheque (and I had to chase for that!) they deducted over £7. Ironically the discs they deducted were the highest price ones - highlighting that they were damaged or scratched even though we look after our discs and I checked them all before being sent. Don't use - they make you feel you are going to get more - but they make sure you don't through their 'quality checks'!

kathrynd8
1 review
2 helpful votes
11/19/15

Most expensive items rejected despite knowing that some of them had just been taken out of the shrink wrap. I initiated the recycle on the 9/9/15. I have still not received payment on the 20/11/15. Their website said my cheque was posted on the 5/11/15. They have sent out the same standard reply several times now, that it demands on the amount of post Royal Mail have.......Royal Mail are not always the greatest but I've never known them take 15 days to send a standard letter. In fact I think at 15 days Royal Mail themselves consider items to be lost. Avoid avoid avoid. Awful beyond all belief. I doubt I'll ever get paid !

chrisr122
1 review
4 helpful votes
9/26/15

This company are a bunch or rip off merchants. I sent my DVD's in early End of July what a palaver that was. Instructions say put into 2 boxes. However they have a max load per box of 10kg. I needed 3 boxes but they only sent a label for 2. So I had to traipse al the way home with one box await another label (which came quick) Then go back and post the other box. DVD's received 5th August. As per usual DVD's which where perfect condition suddenly found themselves damaged. The fact that they where the most expensive ones was not a coincidence at all.

I found myself doing the "Payment is made within 9 days" dance by sending an email requesting my cheque with the "where having trouble printing cheques" reply. Then lo and behold my cheque has been sent on the 17th September.

Really did you really send the cheque? I think not. The auto response to email does not happen, they are very slow to reply (unless they want you to send your DVD's then you get one before you send it)

No wonder they have no phone number on their website.

I think that most of the good reviews on here could be made up some are decidedly dodgy. A quick one line to say "the company is great". "They sent my cheque the next day" Please do you thinke we are all stupid WEBUYDVDs.co.uk? Oh sorry you do because we did send you our DVD's and foolishly expected a payment.

Luckily I had sent the majority of my DVD's to ZIFFIT who conducted themselves in a very business like manner and paid monies into my account within about 10 days from start to finnish.

It's only £40 but it's not the point it's the principle. Now I am going to join a long list of complaints to the Sunderland area trading standards.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the WeBuyDVDs staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
WeBuyDVDs?
Post Review