We’re in this together! Stay safe with our COVID-19 guide

View
×
Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
  • Bookmark

    WebSleuths

Corporate Values

Overview

WebSleuths has a consumer rating of 1.52 stars from 48 reviews indicating that most consumers are generally dissatisfied with their purchases. WebSleuths also ranks 155th among Forum sites.

  • Service
    1
  • Value
    1
  • Quality
    1
Positive reviews (last 12 months): 15%
Positive
3
Neutral
0
Negative
17
View ratings trends
See all photos

What reviewers want you to know

Positive highlights

No positive highlights yet

Critical highlights

  • They shut people up, and doing so in this situation could put lives at risk.
  • and tell filthy lies about victims, their family members, and suspects.
How would you rate WebSleuths?
Top Positive Review

“Amazing experience”

Carrie M.
5/14/20

It is so great to listen to and! I enjoy the chat because they are respectful and factual. She covers all types of subjects and interacts with the chat. I have been to other channels and it was awful. I found websleuths and would watch when I have free time. Than the stay at home Covid. Her and the subs have helped me through the stay at home. It's a amazing experience. If you blue she will chat with and the amazing people who are in the chat will as well. The websleuths community over all is a positive experience!

See positive reviews
Top Critical Review

“Moderators and owner DO NOT allow discussions that mention race stats or the death penalty”

tim m.
2/21/20

Lots of rumor and speculation. It should be encouraged for members to back up statements with sources or links. Moderators will remove comments referring to the death penalty Moderators will remove comments mentioning race in regards to statistics whether it is white, black, brown etc Tricia lacks credibility. She is an opportunist that purchased the website at the right time.

See critical reviews

Reviews (48)

Rating

Timeframe

Other

Reviews that mention popular keywords

people (20) family members (4) crime forum (3)
timm843
1 review
23 helpful votes
February 21st, 2020
Lots of rumor and speculation. It should be encouraged for members to back up statements with sources or links.
Moderators will remove comments referring to the death penalty Moderators will remove comments mentioning race in regards to statistics whether it is white, black, brown etc

Tricia lacks credibility. She is an opportunist that purchased the website at the right time.
angelab671
1 review
48 helpful votes
January 4th, 2020
I've been a member of WebSlueths for years. I've mainly read, but have also contributed to case threads.
Let's see...
Favoritism? Check. Biased Moderation? Check. Owner begging for money? Check? There is a ridiculously biased, uneducated Moderator who goes by the use-name "Silly Billy" ( I kid you not!), who is just intolerably bad at moderation.
I have given up all hope for WBS's The new platform is a nightmare of "issues", an only serves to amplify the already poor quality of moderation, The posters are made up primarily of elderly women, one of which the owner, Trisha Griffen, is fast becoming.

So, If you don't work, are retired and elderly, you might fit right in. Provided you have no common sense and you like to moan and wail over the death of small children
If, however, your middle age or younger, and analytical, plan on being placed on "Time Out" or banned!
laurac795
1 review
46 helpful votes
January 26th, 2020
I have to agree with ALL the negative other reviews of this site. The moderators are all on a power trip (especially silly billy, you only need to read their posts to realise what a complete fool this moderator is). Considering it's supposed to be a sleuthing site, bizarrely, on the threads you are not allowed to sleuth anything. Everything must be backed up by news media articles and if they are not you get put on a time out. Your not allowed to post any rumours that you've heard, sleuth any of the families or friends, pretty much everything is banned.
The moderators are completely biased also towards certain members, and they seem to hate the brits for some reason? Honestly don't bother. Awful site.
jenniferj682
1 review
15 helpful votes
June 5th, 2020
What is crazy about this site, is that they literally drive people away with their inconsistent moderation while begging for money. It's very strange and counterintuitive. It is also very cliquey. This makes no sense, as if the clique drives off new members, she will never make the money she is begging for. Ridiculous.
michig3
1 review
15 helpful votes
June 14th, 2020
Moderator Sillybilly is one of the worst moderators I've ever experienced. S/he censors people's posts based on individuals she's targeting at any given time. She <modsnips> all day, every day, inserting herself into a high number of comments. Sarcasm isn't allowed on WS, nor any hint of what they think it might be. You have to keep your comments to thoughts & prayers, unicorns, praying hands, and kissing the ass of any mod. If you don't write IMO or MOO 10 times they can't figure out you're writing your opinion and will delete a comment. $#*! for brains. This site should be avoided by anyone who wants an actual discussion. Every single post is monitored and once Sillybilly gets a bug up her ass she will look for reasons to give timeouts.
middlea1
1 review
11 helpful votes
June 4th, 2020
Moderation on current cases involves restricting discussion just to things that have already been published in the mainstream media. Links to social media source material or any other useful unearthed information will mostly be banned unless LE have announced that person as a suspect, making sleuthing by then a largely pointless exercise.

The entire website is therefore largely irrelevant circular chatter and is unhelpful for any serious sleuthing by those with sharp minds and attention to detail. The only smart conversations happen between members in private chat and not in the public forum where it will be swiftly deleted. Forum posts tend towards expressing emotion and feelings rather than clinical assessment of evidence, gathering new insights, and informed theorizing. Virtue signalling for "likes" abounds. Moderators tend to invoke their Terms of Service against anyone who adopts anything other than the accepted herd mentality view on a case which longtime members constantly direct according to their "years of experience following these sorts of cases on here" - never mind the real world experience of others or the different era of crime that we're in.
johnw2820
1 review
15 helpful votes
May 28th, 2020
You may only contribute/post a video to the conversation/forum that was produced by Main Stream Media or Law Enforcement. You can't sleuth the web with that policy - so everything is very surface-level with a common denominator approach.

There are so many excellent true crime outlets that are not mainstream but are doing the best work. MODERN DAY SOCIETY doesn't get their news from mainstream media anymore, so to limit the convo to that is, well...

This website is not a serious true crime forum and is severely outdated in its approach. I understand now WHY Websleuth's owner appealed to their users for money to keep the company alive. It's a shame.
janicet148
1 review
25 helpful votes
May 13th, 2020
The moderators are controlling in the extreme. They leap to conclusions that a poster is criticizing moderation and punish posters. They end discussion on motives they disagree with, then hijack the conversation back to their preferred theory. They overlook remarks by some posters, and punish others for comments the criticize as rude when they are anything but. If they disagree with you about 3 times, they freeze you out, putting you on a ban, or a "time out" with no word as to how long that is for, and no discussion. Controlling and dictorial. Not worth your time to try to make a contribution, and certainly not worth a "donation" to participate.
lisad1013
1 review
7 helpful votes
June 19th, 2020
Site is supposed to be anti victim blaming... unless the victim is black. The same members will post 10 times in the span of a day about how a black victim deserved what they got. They don't say it flat out, instead they think they are being cute with their subtle jabs. The hate some black victims exceeds the hate some of the killers get. Then there's a thread about the Royal Family and it's literally the same 10 members trashing Megan Markle endlessly. Again the hate directed at baby killers doesn't even come close to the hate she gets. But if you dare call anyone out on their BS you'll get banned for making a personal attack. I decided I just couldn't take anymore. Too many crazies and generally nasty people.
carriem220
1 review
1 helpful vote
May 14th, 2020
It is so great to listen to and! I enjoy the chat because they are respectful and factual. She covers all types of subjects and interacts with the chat. I have been to other channels and it was awful. I found websleuths and would watch when I have free time. Than the stay at home Covid. Her and the subs have helped me through the stay at home. It's a amazing experience. If you blue she will chat with and the amazing people who are in the chat will as well. The websleuths community over all is a positive experience!
oneo5
1 review
69 helpful votes
February 10th, 2019
Those handful old timers are outrageously intolerant of any new member disagreeing with their theories. If you have more brain cells than them, you are an enemy and will soon find yourself unwelcome, complained about, and eventually banned (it doesn't take long). They keep it their own littler paradise.
sherryt248
1 review
2 helpful votes
May 28th, 2020
You are given only accurate and verified information on this forum. The community that has began growing feels more like family than your actual family. You speak w/them nightly.

Tip for consumers: Join into the community that is made up from all walks of life and from everywhere. They are there to talk with and give advice or just listen as needed.

ellea19
1 review
56 helpful votes
August 28th, 2019
It is impossible to even make a comment without someone else jumping down your throat if it doesn't match their own opinion/theory.
New users are treated like $#*! by the admins and the long time users.
Nobody follows the facts. They all just take whatever little bit of rumor they can find and run with it.
Many will try to start arguments rather than have a normal conversation.
It's an ugly ugly website full of $#*!s and morons.
I have only given 1 star because I can't give any less than that, however this place deserve no stars at all.
sandym350
1 review
7 helpful votes
July 3rd, 2020
Websleuths has a rule that makes absolutely no sense. You will be removed and banned if you speak about race or politics. I understand keeping religion out of the discussion which is another rule. But race and politics are intertwined
I was removed discussing racial profiling in regards to various police departments and the politics surrounding it. These are legit questions when discussing crime. The moderators are bullies. Jerseygrilll and SILLYBILLY are really awful in their treatment to others who disagree with them. If you do not agree with them or the old dinosaur members who were there from day one, you will be treated terrbly and eventually removed without anyway to contact websleuths. They NEVER rerspond to emails. I have screenshots of over 23 emails they never responded to regarding my account. My roommates have the same issue. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME.
observerh
1 review
52 helpful votes
July 1st, 2019
Don't even dream of voicing your own intelligent opinions. Here is a quote from a recent post by a member there, verbatim:

"Much like the usual few WS members on every thread, who post against the stream, and ignore evidence to arouse emotions and responses."

Self-explanatory? State an opinion that does not agree with the crowd, and you are guaranteed to be told you don't belong there.
susanh755
1 review
53 helpful votes
August 27th, 2019
If your comment is intelligent, accurate, truthful and promotes critical thinking then websleuths is not for you. Power tripping at its worst.
trustm24
1 review
65 helpful votes
October 18th, 2018
Tricia Griffith asks for contributions from members to run the website via gofundme. The numbers she quotes for server fees and operations are VERY inflated, in fact, Websleuths generates an income through ad sales.

DO NOT FALL FOR TRICIA'S SCAMS
trishac27
1 review
51 helpful votes
August 15th, 2019
Attached images are the screenshots of the final alerts and the notice of permanent ban that followed. Real reason for the post removals and the ban: being too intelligent and logical to blend in. Quote:
"
Your post in the thread Closing Arguments- Chase Merritt Charged W/Murder of Joseph, Summer, Gianni and Joe Jr McStay #2 was deleted. Reason: no time given for what you are claiming
7:22 PM

Your post in the thread Closing Arguments- Chase Merritt Charged W/Murder of Joseph, Summer, Gianni and Joe Jr McStay #2 was deleted. Reason: Your example is wrong: they were laughing about an alternate way of saying "digging in the dirt"
7:20 PM

Your post in the thread Closing Arguments- Chase Merritt Charged W/Murder of Joseph, Summer, Gianni and Joe Jr McStay #2 was deleted. Reason: no link to attached files
7:17 PM
"
pdinaneb
2 reviews
35 helpful votes
May 1st, 2017
I like to follow True Crime (past and present) strictly for informational purposes, and I thought Websleuths would be an interesting and informative site to either learn about some cases I was unaware of, and or search for others I had some knowledge of. I eagerly registered with the site but once I began searching, I found the site's over all design to definitely not be user friendly in the slightest. The interface looks 20 years out of date, and the site navigation is clunky, among other faults. This site has potential if it could be brought up to current web design standards but until then, I'm probably not going to waste my time here.
pattys150
1 review
48 helpful votes
September 12th, 2019
Beware the only motivation behind the owner and the site is to scam as much money as possible out of gullible groupies. I know for a personal fact that this broad is in debt up to her eyeballs. If it were not for the kindness of others she would be living in a cardboard box! A sucker is born every second!
hannahb344
1 review
6 helpful votes
June 12th, 2020
First of all, DO NOT DONATE any money to this site, the mods will beg you for paypal tips or patreon tips. DON'T DO IT. Why? Because its a majorly biased and unfair site to be on, you are quite literally stepping on eggshells around the mods permanently. Sillybilly is the worst mod of all time, i really don't understand how she keeps her job as quite frankly i would donate (as i like the idea of the site in general) but she makes the site so AWFUL to use i wouldn't dream of ever donating a penny towards her wages. I know plenty of other people feel the same towards her too. She puts you on time outs, thread bans, deletes your post for literally just stating an opinion, its as simple as that. Yet the people that actually start an argument she never seems to punish? Only the people that respond trying to defend themselves in the first place. Makes no sense and just another sign of the favoritism on here, sign up and you'll know what i mean... thats all i can say.
danoc1
1 review
33 helpful votes
November 26th, 2019
I've been a member for a few months after a local case became national news. There are many great posters at the site but unfortunately you have moderation policies that aren't evenly applied and moderators differ their moderation from thread to thread. A discussion forum should have high standards of moderation that are evenly applied. Instead, you have a bunch of power hungry, nazi style inconsistent moderation that makes what could be a great site into a joke. For example, each forum has moderators assigned but it's not uncommon for the site owner to jump in and "take over" with her bullish tactics and marginalizing the actual moderator of that thread or category. She under minds her moderators with a god complex. Want to give an opinion? Fugetaboutit. The mods will not only put you in time out but you could be banned very quickly. No, I'm sorry folks but this is the last place where sleuthing is encouraged. It's simply a collection of news media posts that do nothing to further a cause and finding criminals. After enduring several months and trying to be a good contributor I found myself dumbfounded by the idiotic policies of this site. Don't waste your time.
julier23
4 reviews
17 helpful votes
April 22nd, 2019
I have been a member of Websleuths for over a year. I find most of the other members to be caring, intelligent people who write interesting commentary on cases. They frequently bring relevant life and job experience to bear on the discussions. For example, members come from all sorts of occupations that can be relevant to a case under discussion: attorneys, teachers, nurses, psychologists, social workers, members of law enforcement, etc.

I don't understand why so many of the reviews on this site are negative, but it looks like many of the people commenting here violated Websleuths' terms of service. The TOS stipulate a variety of rules that keep the site informative and civil: information must come from a mainstream media source; victim-shaming is not tolerated; family members of victims or suspects are not to be sleuthed; etc. I comment quite often and I've never had a "time out."

If you are interested in Websleuths, check it out. With over 150,000 Websleuth members, the reviews on this site are not representative of most members. Judge for yourself.
inspectord
1 review
52 helpful votes
March 8th, 2019
Join, watch, listen. If you choose to comment, then expect the ego's to reply with dribble and ridiculousness, it's a competition to attempt badly to come up with better ideas than the police, to justify their presumably sorry lives. Ok for a giggle and it will certainly make you appreciate yourself, but, then delete...
langleyl1
1 review
4 helpful votes
August 22nd, 2019
So many hurting victims of crimes.
So many children are abused and murdered.
So many families shattered because of Crime.
So many missing.
So many unidentified.
Websluths forum is not for the faint hearted. Websluths is for JUSTICE.
A caring community who embraces all aspects of true evidence. TOS is a boundary that enables all to be treated with respect.
I have been a member over a year. So much heart goes into cases even putting words into action to make this a better world. People care People help. Victims have a voice. Cold cases are worked on and missing victims are not forgotten. If you have a loved one involved in a crime. And you just can not sleep or get help. Please check out webslueths. You might just be in the right place.
The owner and mods run a tight ship. One that sails and does not sink. Very welcoming. Best true crime forum ran effectively to make a difference not just a chat room off topic. No trolls or narcissism need apply.

Q&A (8)

Answer:

Actually, it's not that easy. You only really hear from them when they censor you.

By Jillian M.
See more answers (5)
Answer:

At one time Websleuths actually did provide a space for good investigatory endeavours. If you look at archives from 2006 era of the site, there was some great research done. But in the last five or six years all the intellect has been banned and you are left with primarily very very old people, who do no research, barely know the facts of the cases they are discussing, and who babble and are annoyed by anyone who interrupts their babble with facts.

By Jillian M.
See more answers (5)
Answer:

I don't know. I suspect they are just not very intelligent people and resent those who are.

By Jillian M.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

It's legitimate in that is is a chat-room blog, it is illegitimate in that what transpires on this blog is the farthest thing from "sleuthing" or crime solving that I can think of. Most people on the site are unfamiliar with detailed facts of the cases, or with forensics. There are regulars who roam from forum to forum in zombie-like fashion, espousing the exact same thoughts over and over again, regardless of the case or topic. There is also a lot of claim to expertise or relevant profession that is supposedly vetted by Websleuths, claims that seem doubtful. If someone says they are an attorney, that alone does not make them qualified to speak to just any legal issue. And any attorney not afraid of a law suit would make this full disclosure upfront. Yet none of the so-called attorneys on the site do this. And if someone presents themselves as an expert or practicing professional, why aren't others on the forum allowed to know what actual qualifications they have and who they are. It's one thing to remain anonymous when you are simply giving an opinion-but when you claim your opinion is based on experience or education, I do believe at that point you should be prepared to reveal yourself, so that people can know the quality of the information they are relying on. Websleuths is a real chatroom blog, but it is a sham as a place of fact and substantiation.

By Jillian M.
See more answers (4)
Answer:

It's their personal fiefdom and imagined source of power. The original intention was probably honorable but in practice it is to prevent anyone daring to question unfair applications of policy or highlighting bias. They like conformists.

By Middle A.
See more answers (2)
Answer:

Yes, but some discussion forums are viewable only to registered members.

By Middle A.
Answer:

Because the owner and the moderators are very biased and set in their ways. They don't want their life narrative or world view questioned. If you go out of your way and post scholarly journal articles and back your sources like I often did, you get demonized by old crows and hens. The entire rule system is screwed. To block, ban, or put members in 'time out' is so childish especially if you break their rule on not discussing "religion, race or politics" If you even mention the world "US government" you will get a point deduction, whatever that means. A rational intelligent individual would understand that on a crime forum one can not avoid race or politics when discussing crime. They are correlated. I understand removing posts like " Trump is the best " Or "Biden is the best" But when people post in intelligent ways and avoid being biased with politics, you still get punished.

By adam l.

Can’t see your question? Ask to get answers from the WebSleuths staff and other customers.

Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Sitejabber for Business

Gain trust and grow your business with customer reviews

About the business

How do I know I can trust these reviews about WebSleuths?

  • Sitejabber’s sole mission is to increase online transparency for consumers and businesses
  • Sitejabber has helped over 100M consumers make better purchasing decisions online
  • Suspicious reviews are flagged by our algorithms, moderators, and community members
Have a question about WebSleuths?

Is this your business?

Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and manage your listing.

Claim Your Business