Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of theCHIVE

theCHIVE reviews

Is this your business?
10 reviews
90266
submit@thechive.com

10 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

claytonr10
61 reviews
164 helpful votes
3/13/18

Look, I don't have a problem turning off my adblocker for sites - as long as the ads don't make my computer run slower. But the reason I use an adblocker is because it makes sites cleaner and faster. I'm a clean freak at heart. I don't wanna see a big diarrhea fest of ads when I just wanna read an article. But some ads can be harmless and the site still runs fine on its own. Then there's the Chive. Yeah the ads make the site almost completely unusable. It runs smoothly until I turn off my adblocker as it requests.

Leave adblocker alone. We don't care if you make money from ads. You can find some more CPU-friendly ads that don't hog up my CPU and make the page unreadable. If you can't do that, find another way to invest in your site. It's the 2018 not 1995. Get creative. But forcing us to turn off our adblockers? Not good. That's how you REALLY lose visitors.
More and more people are using adblockers and are passionate about such. I'm not advocate for the global population but I'm pretty sure most people who unpack a new computer aren't opening their browser and racing over to log onto thechive.com to see what's new there. But I'm sure a lot of people will go right on over to install adblocker. That's the first thing I do in my web browser when I get a new computer.

To the people at TheChive.com - you can make us dismantle our adblockers. But we will find another site to go to. Ad-block will be a thing whether you go out of business or not, and whether you wage war on it or not.

I suggest letting the user visit it for 30 seconds to see if it's worth whitelisting it or not. After 30 seconds of being on the site, ask us to whitelist it. But don't force it. This turns off more visitors than you think.

Just my 2 cents.

laurat28
25 reviews
89 helpful votes
7/28/17

Yet another site waging war on ad-block. This site blocks you out completely if you have adblock. I hate how I can't even look at the site to see if I like their content enough to white list them. Instead you get a splash screen telling you to white list them or remove adblock, which isn't going to happen.

erinb71
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/24/17

I have gone to the site occasionally because some of it is funny. Unfortunately, by going to the site you are automatically "signed up" for their daily e-mail newsletter. Now I am getting daily e-mails full of trash and soft porn that I can't get to stop. I have "unsubscribed" at least a dozen times with no resolution, I have e-mailed the "help desk" and asked to be removed. The only suggestion I got from that was that I should "set-up an account on the website, log-in with your e-mail, and then go to manage e-mail preferences". They did inform me that if I do that, they can sell my information. Such crap! I just want the e-mails to stop.

chazl
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/2/16

The chive used to be great but now it's simply a daily photo collection of the founder and his crap products mixed with Trident ads...sell out

joek72
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/17/16

See a cool article? Click on it and thechive will take you to the app store to download something totally unrelated! Already have the uber app? Well that does not matter because thechive will redirect you to the app store to download it again and again! How awesome is that?! These guys make money by having tracking software embedded into their site to redirect you. If you think thechive is awesome then wait until you try their next product, herpes.

sm803
1 review
5 helpful votes
2/14/16

Was almost ran off the road with our two kids in the car by a driver in the KCCO company truck. License plate KVG 4989 from Rockdale County in GA. He was up on our tail and could have hit up. I shined the light on the Baby on Board sign and he sped up and shined a light in my husband's face while he was driving. The guy was driving erratic and nearly ran into another car ahead of us. The people had to swerve out of the way. This happened tonight around 8tish on Feb 14, 2016.,Get this punk ass off the road before he hurt someone, or someone hurts him.

jackw92
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/27/15

I have a different opinion than everyone else apparently about this site. I like maybe 10% of it but the rest is smut! There are to many sites with smut crap on them and here we are with another site with more smut on it. How ingnorant that someone can't create a site without smut and whores on it. Leave that crap to porn sites not a site that is easily accessible to children to see people who have no respect for themselves just put it out for all to see. We have enough of this crap that gets shown on television and with the stupid celebrities that I don' t feel we need another site that has this $#*! on it. Come on people are you that hard up that we need to put this crap on every site out there. And people wonder why kids have sex at such an early age or dress like whores for attention. Look at the crap they see and view. Women have more respect for yourself, show you have some morals. Leave that crap for the bedroom and your man or girlfriend not for the kids coming up in this world who feel oh hey if I want attention I should do this because she is. Shame on you all for being selfish and not thinking about what your kids will say one day should they God forbid come across your whore moments.

robertd58
6 reviews
24 helpful votes
4/15/13

Might be the best site in the world. Absolutely love the chive.

ivanp11
5 reviews
3 helpful votes
10/1/12

theChive is equal parts beauty and comedy. More open-minded than most sites, theChive has been able to create a loyal following worldwide.

karac3
9 reviews
14 helpful votes
1/7/12

the funniest site in the world, in my opinion has something for men and women. Only down side is they are always out of chive shirts

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the theCHIVE staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
theCHIVE?
Post Review