Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ThaiCupid

ThaiCupid reviews

29 reviews
Level 5 2502 / 5 Lawson Street
Southport, QLD 4215, Australia
Tel: 011 61 7 55711181
team@ThaiCupid.com

29 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

peern
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/8/18

Not perfect but only reliable site together with Thaigirls4u. At least here in Sweden, not sure how they work in other countries. Use your common sense to avoid scammers and you will be fine.

jarmoa1
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/7/18

I stayed on this site few weeks and carefully picked 3 woman aged 37, 39, 44 {i am 50}

I started communicating with these ladys i Skype and LINE. 2 wimin had Master degrees, 1 high school. My experience
after know ing these ladies for 5 months:

1 lady was clearly after money so i stopped
with her after 2 months. 2 ladies were real thing. I had to choose on of them and i have visited her 2 times In north of Thailand. She is warm attractive funny
and caring woman. Never talks about money. My salary is 10 times bigger than hers so i give her some money, that is part of the relationship from my point of view.

One more thing: When selecting girl friend from Thai cupic, make sure that girl do not
live or stay In areas which are known of turist traps such as Pattaya, Phuket...

Look also very carefully the profile of the woman. If she speak good english with low education be careful. Also make sure that lady has a Job to earn her own money.

ksuras
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/19/18

My account was suspended because they wanted to verify my identity for credit card purchase. They asked me to upload my passport copy I declined for security reason. It was just a waste of time for me.

edwardp121
1 review
1 helpful vote
9/28/18

If you are 40-50 years old expat looking for a wife then you are good to go because most of the girls on this website are looking for sugar daddy who can provide them some kind of financial security.

But but, if you are young guy between 25-30 years then you should stay far away from this website. Believe me, you'll lose your self-esteem and develop trust issues. They are not looking for a good looking and honest boyfriend, they are looking for a financier.

Yes its true that they will nicely chat with you and make you feel special, but believe me when you'll be feeling butterfly in your stocmach due to love emotions, its a sign that somekind of hospital/accident or financial issue is around the corner.

Pros:

- Get a virtual feeling of love/affection because you can't get it in your real life.

- If you have nothing to do, it's a great website to kill your time.

- if you have plenty of money and you are looking for a way to sepnd it, join the premium membership and spend on girls.

- If you are an expat in Thailand and looking for a wife, then go for it. You'll get a lovely young wife. Of course only until you have sufficient money in your bank account.

Cons:

- You'll develop the trust issues and become anxious(depends on the type of person you are)

- Even if you get your perfect match, don't get too emotional and be ready when the reality strikes you. (it can strike in several ways like sudden block, financial request, hospital bills, accidents etc.)

- You never know if the 20-year-old girl you are talking to, already have 2 kids.

- Their English speaking/understanding ability is so poor that you'll often have to use google translator(even for simple words and sentences)

- Loss of peace of mind is guaranteed.

geoffreyg16
1 review
0 helpful votes
8/28/18

I've been a paid member, on and off, for 8 years. For 3 of those years, I lived in Thailand. I've met about 30 Thai women through this website. Some great women, genuine, who wanted a committed relationship. Online, and in person, I met a few who immediately asked for money. I took screen shots of online conversations, and reported them. THAICUPID responded quickly, and usually informed me that the members had been blocked.

phhp
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/6/18

ThaiCupid is utterly useless. Consists primarily bots and scammers. Three hits out of thousands of fakes. One of those turned funny, so I blocked her, the other played shy, before finally deciding it was time her mother needed an operation. Sure honey.

That left me with exactly ONE contact. Thus far she's talking and behaving like a charming, kind person would. Zero fuzz regarding bills or hospital fees. Pity, she's not exactly my type, but we get along well, she's funny, and a real human being. Fair enough.

If you are serious about finding a decent; and honest; Thai wife, don't even think about wasting time and money on this site or anything else foo-bar-cupid. Instead, learn some basic Thai, get your butt over there, and stay a month -- preferably as far away from Bangkok, Phuket, etc, as possible.

Summary: This is a hoax! Fraud, if you prefer.

jackh207
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/1/18

Regardless of the type of personality, shared interests, values, goals that you seek you will likely only waste time and money on any cupid media site.

I agree with other reviewers that the ThaiCupid leverages automated technology or "bots" that interact with paid and non-paid customers to either entice paid membership or are intended to keep paying members from walking away from the site or not renewing.

Fake profiles: there are many, there is usually an exchange of two or three emails, then the woman that expressed interest suddenly disappears, pay close attention to the similarities in the profiles that practice this hot and cold technique, there are many, the same favorite movies, same two or three word sentence in the "what they are looking for" section.

Another reviewer guess at a 10% to 90% real profile to fake profile ratio, I think it is lower, with the real profiles being somewhere around 5% or less. Ask yourself, what regulations apply to these site, who is policing their practices? No one, the people running the site manipulate their customers to maximize their profit.

Note how many profile pictures have an overexposed look to them or are modified in other ways to look differently than they appear on the legitimate website they are stolen from.

Find a legitimate site or travel to the country you are interested in meeting women from, that is what I am going to do. Don't waste your money on any cupid media site, they are dishonest and amoral.

I am currently on three of their sites and see the same practices used over and over again, I won't be back.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
We are sorry that you have encountered non-genuine members on our site. We have zero tolerance towards bots and scammers. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a suspicious profile, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
brucey4
1 review
2 helpful votes
5/1/18

I got a bunch of mail and message but went to check who view my profile and it was empty. Good thing i didnt pay for any service or that would be $#*!.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
ThaiCupid is the largest Thai dating site with over 1.5 million members. We have zero tolerance towards bots and scammers. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a suspicious profile, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
jdl
11 reviews
99 helpful votes
3/18/18

I find Thai women very attractive, but those are mostly not what i see on this site. Also, a very large percentage of the women here know no English. I love languages, but Thai is very difficult for speakers of Indo-European languages like English.

If you see a picture of a Thai girl with large breasts, assume it is a fake aimed at presumed Western male tastes. If you want women with large breasts, don't waste your time on Thai, or most any Asian website.

anthonyg58
2 reviews
7 helpful votes
1/4/18

In my opinion, Thai Cupid is no different from many of the mainstream dating websites. They have some real profiles, but many abandoned profiles or even dummy profiles, and push them off as active members.

They often send interests and messages to the basic members, but after you pay and upgrade, it all ceases. The women who were messaging you and liking your pics are now non-responsive, after you've paid and have access to their messages, which are all similar to each other, with great punctuation in the right places. Translation tools don't punctuate for these women, some who can barely speak English, per their admission, but some higher entity can.

I know these are dummy profiles generated from the site, because how can the women send messages and likes, but not view the profile. Yes, there is a listing of who has viewed your profile and it does not match with the sent messages and flirts, because you have to click on the profile to send a message.

The U.S. mainstream dating sites are the same, but they've gotten more creative and taken it a bit further, because they impose fake cell numbers on pics, which we know are inspected before they allow you to post.

I did not have issues with billing, as I had read some others did.

It's all about the green, or whatever color the currency is of who is cashing in.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
ThaiCupid is the largest Thai dating site with over 1.5 million members. Please be assured that we do not send fake messages to our members. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a member, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
michaels637
1 review
9 helpful votes
6/25/17

I have had an old profile on that page which i tired to delete. Then i after some time i made a new one. To message members you have to pay otherwise this page is useless, so i decide i will make a 3 month premium account. After the payment was finished i could write messages and after a short moment my profile was suspended. Then i wrote and wrote many many messages and ask why? They said always because of payment of my old profile, i answer to them always i dont have anything to do with my old account and i can not even open it anymore because it was suspended after switch it off. Then i told them again and again, that i want to use this webpage and my profile this weekend. But even after 10 emails they always say the same and i tried to explain them again and again, i want to use only this profile and please activated it again so i can use my account on my off days. But nothing happened, now i ask them to stop the payment and bring back my money. I hope i will get it back, i send already an email to paypal. I can only warn all people, dont pay for three month, the servive of the support is very bad and very slow. Now i will try an other page thaifriendly and i hope its an other owner and i will make better experiences. This page i cant advise to anyone.

Tip for consumers: better check some other pages with better service

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hello Micheal,
Thai Cupid does not steal money from our members. Please email teamThaicupid.com with your full name and email address about this issue so we can investigate and assist you further.
normands6
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
12/28/16

There aren't that many scam profiles here on this site. By scam profiles I mean sexy photoshopped "ladies" wearing the bare minimal and one photo with a serial number after their names, their were words written on the profiles descriptions, albeit how few words their were, and I didn't get a "hey sexy your look good~~~want to send me your contacts so we can ..." you get the idea right? So again, if your going to buy subscriptions for this site, get the three months platinum or gold subscriptions plan max. Cause your not going to stay and look for dates for an entire year if you get one in less than a month right? Right....(no cheating right~~~:))

johnw554
1 review
11 helpful votes
10/16/16

This is a very dishonest site. I won't bore you with the finite detail but want to say that customer service is non existent.
Please do not trust this site with your personal details. Would you give your bank account details to a site which has no security and which refuses to remove them from itself?
I hope that you read the many reviews and take good care - signing up can be costly and frustrating at least in my experience.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hello John

Cupid Media is a large online dating company based in Australia that has been operating since 1999. We take the safety of our members seriously: we employ a dedicated Fraud Prevention Team and take extensive steps to educate consumers and prevent fraud.

To find out more about our company please feel free to visit our website: http://www.cupidmedia.com
fa1436
3 reviews
23 helpful votes
10/3/16

Once you sign up for the site your only option is to hide your profile if you wish to quit the site. Unable to delete my profile unless that option is hidden in some remote obscure nook. Sent an email to customer service inquiring about deletion and was promptly ignored.
Just like all date sites you have your share of legitimate users and fake ones trying to scam you out of something.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Dear F A,

It is possible to permanently delete your profile. If you wish to permanently remove your profile, please send us an email to team@thaicupid.com and advise us the reason and we will do it for you.

Please also note that if you have a paid membership, you may lose the unused membership time if you choose to terminate your profile.
jamesp88
2 reviews
18 helpful votes
5/4/16

From minute 1 I was getting slammed with messages about how my photo was. Thing is... I never uploaded a picture.
Stay away from this site

billb154
1 review
31 helpful votes
3/24/16

I live in thailand now and you need a stick to beat the girls off . It doesn't matter how old or ugly or what nationality you are. There are so many beautiful Thai girls who want you to be their boyfriend, you will kick yourself for wasting money on any dating site. As soon as you get off the plane here, the dream is real and just gets better and better. Forget western women, they dont even rate a second thought anymore. Forget dating sites for Thai girls, there is someone for everyone here. This is paradise for men on earth, just get your ass on a plane and come see for yourself. Dating sites...phhttt . For what!!!!

samm591
1 review
20 helpful votes
3/15/16

I have been trying to find Thai women online and I have rotated the membership between ThaiGirls4u, ThaiCpid and a few "mail order" sites. I think ThaiGirls4u is pretty much the best I have used but this site also seems pretty legit. I was not lucky on Asian "Mail Order" Sites and they all seem to be a rip off.

So my advise: Use ThaiCupid or ThaiGirls4u or both sites and be patient! It is all about patience. It is pretty clear that you don't meet your "Thai Dream Lady" within 14 days.

Just my two cents to comment on all the negative reviews on here. ThaiCupid is NO scam!!!

geeg1
1 review
15 helpful votes
3/8/16

Was a non-paying member for months. I would just visit the site to see if anything interesting and worth paying a membership for. One day I received 2 emails out of the blue from women that were within reasonable distance (not in another country). They were both attractive so I decided wtf. Sure enough within a few hours of replying back to these women BOTH profiles were no longer online.
These are called "SHILL" profiles. Almost like bait and switch but in this case of shills there is only bait. Sometimes auction sites will use shill bidders to run up the bidding price.
Stay away from this fake site. Even if you're a non-paying member this site already has the odds in their favor that sooner or later you will dump your hard earned money into a membership. Or they will use shill profiles to entice you. Don't do it. There are plenty of free dating sites to find local women.

ronb64
3 reviews
17 helpful votes
1/13/16

***UPDATE ALERT***

3 hours after posting this review and sending an email to the same address I did over the last few days, WWWAAAMMM my profile showed up and so did my photos, but still did not receive any email response from the site explaining why this had happened. So for no response from the website staff, my previous review stands. STAY AWAY.

This site thaicupid.com is a 100% complete scam. How is my experience. I signed up 3 days ago as a standard member meaning I did not buy a subscription. I wanted to check it out and see what it was like first. I have tested Asian dating sites because I have read many reviews and men complaining about how fake these sites are. So I signed for 3 days.

1. Uploaded 5 photos and received an email back saying the photos were approved and would take a few hours for them to show up. Waited 3 days and I noticed that my profile had no photo on my main login page. The content I wrote was there, but no photos. I then checked my photo section and I saw 2 of my photos, but they showed as hidden. Why hidden? I never selected to hide my photos.

2. I have sent multiple emails to team@ThaiCupid.com and no reply. I have sent like 15 emails over the past few days, and yet not one reply.

3. Here is the kicker. So I did a search. I selected I am a female searching for male. I put in my country, my city, my state and within 50 miles of my home. I am logged into the site, hit the search feature and I am not even showing up in the search results. How is that even possible. How is it possible that I am receiving interest and likes from members when my profile and photos are not even displaying in a search area.

If someone can explain this to me, I will take back everything I said and apologize.

I swear, there is a photo listed from the search that the guy looks like Dennis Rodman.

I am warning any male that is thinking about using this site. I have only tested this site so far and I am telling you it is a complete 100% SCAM. If you want to give away your money, just send it to me.

Actually, one moment. I am also testing Internationalcupid.com. Okay, my photo shows up there, but I am only guessing because I am a gold member.

Tip for consumers: Do not waste your money. 100% fake

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
fredw43
1 review
10 helpful votes
1/7/16

They say the service is free yet they "lock" all messages sent to me or by me because I'm not "upgraded" (Meaning I haven't paid) So you are GD liars to say it's free.

markr154
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/22/15

Pretty good no problems. any unorthodox behavior they shut the profile down! Can not complain.

adamw65
1 review
12 helpful votes
10/18/15

This website is just a waste of time. Period. I signed up and created a profile, which turned out to be just as convoluted as signing up to eHarmony. I then spent 90 mins setting up my profile, after which I logged out to wait for my profile/photos to be approved. Two hours later, I went to log back on, and was notified that my account was terminated and could not be reactivated. All that time for nothing.
After several emails, and being patient, I have still heard nothing. It's obvious they don't care about their members, but based on all of the negative reviews I've read on this page, I'm actually glad I was not able to continue using their site. It's a shame.

kevint56
1 review
9 helpful votes
10/16/15

This company allows you to sign up for a short period of one month but then takes a much longer auto renewal if you forget to cancel. I signed up for one month and then they auto-renewed me for 3 months and took £49.99 from by bank account without my permission and refused to refund even 2 months of it. This kind of practise is widespread but never seen it where they take a longer period - shocking!

petere26
1 review
14 helpful votes
9/2/15

Is it ethical and acceptable to use a web based dating site for the specific purpose of finding a life companion. I believe so. Is it ethical and acceptable to use such people to make money from. Yes if you provide as service that fulfills that requirement. When it fails is when people focused on the service offered are missled and greed prevails. I have attempted to close my account with thaicupid for 8 months to no avail. They still find it necessary to take payments every couple of months stating that I may go to some part of their website and untick something that I never ticked. I feel that it is deception and dishonesty in every sense of the word. I think that this level of deception needs to be tested in a court of law.

thimothyb
1 review
9 helpful votes
5/13/15

hello
please have i been scammed by your company? i paid online but cant access the site any longer. you demanded for my id cards, which i have available but cant send message to you, why? This is what i keep seeing, okay after clicking on contact us, there is no box to send a message to cupid. ThaiCupid.com
Account Suspended - Pending on Payment Verification
In order to prevent fraudulent payments on our websites, our billing department reviews certain transactions. Unfortunately, for some transactions we require additional verification to prove that the person making the transaction is authorized to do so.

CREDIT CARD PAYMENTS: we request that you fax or email us proof that you are in possession of your credit card.

To do this, please send us a fax or scanned copy of your credit card (front and back) or your card statement AND a copy of your government issued photo ID to the following international number:

+ 61 7 3103 4000 (NOTE: replace + with the international access code in your country). You may alternatively scan and email these documents.

We must clearly see your name, the expiry date and the first 6 numbers and last 4 numbers on the front of your card. You should censor the middle digits on the front of the card and the CCV (the last 3 digits) on the back of the card for your protection. If sending your card statement we must clearly see the name and billing address, you should censor the transaction details.

Remember to also include the following details:

- Member ID or email address

- Site Name

If you used another person's credit card to make your payment, you must ALSO include a signed letter of authorization from the card holder, stating that you are authorized to use their card for your payment.

PAYPAL PAYMENTS: we request that you fax or email us a copy of your photo ID that matches the name on your PayPal account.

To do this, please send us a fax or scanned copy of your government issued photo ID to the following international number:

+ 61 7 3103 4000 (NOTE: replace + with the international access code in your country). You may alternatively scan and email these documents.

Remember to also include the following details:

- Member ID or email address

- Site Name

If you used another person's PayPal account to make your payment, you must ALSO include a signed letter of authorization from the account holder, stating that you are authorized to use their account for your payment.

Please note that you will only be required to verify your payment once. However if you use a different credit card or PayPal account in future, our system may require verification for some transactions.

Once we receive your verification, we will confirm that your verification is acceptable and begin your membership. We apologize for any inconvenience caused, however we have been forced to introduce additional verification steps due to payment from some of our members.

If you do not wish to do this, please advise us and we will cancel your membership and issue a full refund to your account. We also offer alternative payment methods such as Check, Money Order, Cash, Online Bank Transfer, etc. Please contact us if you wish to use or need help using one of these payment methods.

Please contact us if you need help using one of these payment methods.

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Nima, Please email us on team@thaicupid.com with your member I.D and we can assist you further.

By Cupid M., RussianCupid Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the ThaiCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ThaiCupid?
Post Review