Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of ThaiCupid

ThaiCupid reviews

35 reviews
Level 5 2502 / 5 Lawson Street
Southport, QLD 4215, Australia
Tel: 011 61 7 55711181
team@ThaiCupid.com

35 Reviews From Our Community

Service
4
Value
2
Shipping
2
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

matthewm443
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/16/19

What is the point of signing up to a dating app/ website if you can't even message the women you get matched with?!
Honestly do not waste your time with the $#*! website.

jons327
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/13/19

My account was hacked within 30 hours of being established. The parties accessed both financial information and my account verification information (in my case, a driver's license). I notified ThaiCupid immediately. And... no response. I followed up. And no response. I would not recommend this site to anyone until they secure their site.

frankk162
2 reviews
1 helpful vote
5/11/19

I have been on this site on two occasions about 3 years apart. If they ask for money tell them, "only If we chose each other and get married I will take care of you and your bills but not before that." If they keep forgetting, then keep reminding them. They come up with all kind of things to ask for money every week because Thailand is a very poor country and unemployment is very high. And government does help people or elderly. On top of that they think all western-foreigners are richer compared to them. But I met a lady which told me from start she has no job but seemed serious. Since she had a house and family at home, she was able to get a tourist visa for the first time to come to US. I paid for her ticket and told her it is none refundable, and you have to go to American Airline in Bangkok Airport to pick it up. It all worked out she got Visa for 3 months and came stayed with me in US. Then she made second trip a year later and they extended her visa for 10 years this time. It was good but I did not marry her. Now I am back on this website again. First week on website I texted and showed interest to as many as I thought I liked with no kids, education and good looks. Usually 5 out of 12 responded. I had good luck, there was a lot of good looking girls this time. After chatting on the web site for two to four days, I asked them we go to Line App to chat. Line App is very popular in Thailand everyone has it. From there I narrowed it to 5 women that I really like. And at the same time, I deactivated my ThaiCupid account, so they know I am serious about them and are not looking for any other girls on the website. But did not tell anyone I am talking to 5 women. Now I am talking to 5 beautiful girls which eventually drop down to 3. If I get serious with any of them then I will go visit one of them and bring them here with a fiancé Visa or see if they can get tourist visa and come to stay with me in US. But I highly recommend using your common sense and not limiting your self to one girl at the beginning there are some bad apples, but time will tell which ones or which ones you do not like to be with. Till you get the one you want.

robertc1288
6 reviews
10 helpful votes
4/8/19

Scammers everywhere! Infested with scammers! Got messages from fake women with pretty pictures and I am required to upgrade just to respond. No way!

rickarda1
1 review
8 helpful votes
2/8/19

I was a free member so I couldn't read or see any messages I received. Then a really hot girl sent me a message I really wanted to see her message so I paid for a month.

As soon as I paid, she stopped responding. She didn't answer for a whole month. When my membership ended after a month and I became a regular member who could not send or read messages, she sent a message immediately. REALLY REALLY STRANGE

However, I met other women through thaicupid. They weren't so beautiful but I'm not beautiful myself so I can't make demands. The women on thaicupid are a bit like us who register us there. Nobody really wants them so they see the internet as a last resort to meet someone.

patricku10
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/17/19

The site itself has warnings so not sure it's their fault but beware of scammers. Red flags are getting you to migrate off the site(eg to Hangouts), early declarations of love, and more. When these occur be careful there's a train coming and it will run you over. The pressure to "help"is bound to happen just before some liason, try & stay detached emotionally

peern
1 review
3 helpful votes
12/8/18

Not perfect but only reliable site together with Thaigirls4u. At least here in Sweden, not sure how they work in other countries. Use your common sense to avoid scammers and you will be fine.

jarmoa1
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/7/18

I stayed on this site few weeks and carefully picked 3 woman aged 37, 39, 44 {i am 50}

I started communicating with these ladys i Skype and LINE. 2 wimin had Master degrees, 1 high school. My experience
after know ing these ladies for 5 months:

1 lady was clearly after money so i stopped
with her after 2 months. 2 ladies were real thing. I had to choose on of them and i have visited her 2 times In north of Thailand. She is warm attractive funny
and caring woman. Never talks about money. My salary is 10 times bigger than hers so i give her some money, that is part of the relationship from my point of view.

One more thing: When selecting girl friend from Thai cupic, make sure that girl do not
live or stay In areas which are known of turist traps such as Pattaya, Phuket...

Look also very carefully the profile of the woman. If she speak good english with low education be careful. Also make sure that lady has a Job to earn her own money.

ksuras
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/19/18

My account was suspended because they wanted to verify my identity for credit card purchase. They asked me to upload my passport copy I declined for security reason. It was just a waste of time for me.

edwardp121
1 review
5 helpful votes
9/28/18

If you are 40-50 years old expat looking for a wife then you are good to go because most of the girls on this website are looking for sugar daddy who can provide them some kind of financial security.

But but, if you are young guy between 25-30 years then you should stay far away from this website. Believe me, you'll lose your self-esteem and develop trust issues. They are not looking for a good looking and honest boyfriend, they are looking for a financier.

Yes its true that they will nicely chat with you and make you feel special, but believe me when you'll be feeling butterfly in your stocmach due to love emotions, its a sign that somekind of hospital/accident or financial issue is around the corner.

Pros:

- Get a virtual feeling of love/affection because you can't get it in your real life.

- If you have nothing to do, it's a great website to kill your time.

- if you have plenty of money and you are looking for a way to sepnd it, join the premium membership and spend on girls.

- If you are an expat in Thailand and looking for a wife, then go for it. You'll get a lovely young wife. Of course only until you have sufficient money in your bank account.

Cons:

- You'll develop the trust issues and become anxious(depends on the type of person you are)

- Even if you get your perfect match, don't get too emotional and be ready when the reality strikes you. (it can strike in several ways like sudden block, financial request, hospital bills, accidents etc.)

- You never know if the 20-year-old girl you are talking to, already have 2 kids.

- Their English speaking/understanding ability is so poor that you'll often have to use google translator(even for simple words and sentences)

- Loss of peace of mind is guaranteed.

geoffreyg16
1 review
1 helpful vote
8/28/18

I've been a paid member, on and off, for 8 years. For 3 of those years, I lived in Thailand. I've met about 30 Thai women through this website. Some great women, genuine, who wanted a committed relationship. Online, and in person, I met a few who immediately asked for money. I took screen shots of online conversations, and reported them. THAICUPID responded quickly, and usually informed me that the members had been blocked.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hi Geoffrey,

Thank you for the positive feedback!
phhp
3 reviews
9 helpful votes
8/6/18

ThaiCupid is utterly useless. Consists primarily bots and scammers. Three hits out of thousands of fakes. One of those turned funny, so I blocked her, the other played shy, before finally deciding it was time her mother needed an operation. Sure honey.

That left me with exactly ONE contact. Thus far she's talking and behaving like a charming, kind person would. Zero fuzz regarding bills or hospital fees. Pity, she's not exactly my type, but we get along well, she's funny, and a real human being. Fair enough.

If you are serious about finding a decent; and honest; Thai wife, don't even think about wasting time and money on this site or anything else foo-bar-cupid. Instead, learn some basic Thai, get your butt over there, and stay a month -- preferably as far away from Bangkok, Phuket, etc, as possible.

Summary: This is a hoax! Fraud, if you prefer.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hi Phh,

We have zero tolerance towards members of the nature you described. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a suspicious profile, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
jackh207
1 review
5 helpful votes
7/1/18

Regardless of the type of personality, shared interests, values, goals that you seek you will likely only waste time and money on any cupid media site.

I agree with other reviewers that the ThaiCupid leverages automated technology or "bots" that interact with paid and non-paid customers to either entice paid membership or are intended to keep paying members from walking away from the site or not renewing.

Fake profiles: there are many, there is usually an exchange of two or three emails, then the woman that expressed interest suddenly disappears, pay close attention to the similarities in the profiles that practice this hot and cold technique, there are many, the same favorite movies, same two or three word sentence in the "what they are looking for" section.

Another reviewer guess at a 10% to 90% real profile to fake profile ratio, I think it is lower, with the real profiles being somewhere around 5% or less. Ask yourself, what regulations apply to these site, who is policing their practices? No one, the people running the site manipulate their customers to maximize their profit.

Note how many profile pictures have an overexposed look to them or are modified in other ways to look differently than they appear on the legitimate website they are stolen from.

Find a legitimate site or travel to the country you are interested in meeting women from, that is what I am going to do. Don't waste your money on any cupid media site, they are dishonest and amoral.

I am currently on three of their sites and see the same practices used over and over again, I won't be back.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
We are sorry that you have encountered non-genuine members on our site. We have zero tolerance towards bots and scammers. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a suspicious profile, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
brucey4
1 review
5 helpful votes
5/1/18

I got a bunch of mail and message but went to check who view my profile and it was empty. Good thing i didnt pay for any service or that would be $#*!.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
ThaiCupid is the largest Thai dating site with over 1.5 million members. We have zero tolerance towards bots and scammers. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a suspicious profile, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
jdl
11 reviews
101 helpful votes
3/18/18

I find Thai women very attractive, but those are mostly not what i see on this site. Also, a very large percentage of the women here know no English. I love languages, but Thai is very difficult for speakers of Indo-European languages like English.

If you see a picture of a Thai girl with large breasts, assume it is a fake aimed at presumed Western male tastes. If you want women with large breasts, don't waste your time on Thai, or most any Asian website.

anthonyg58
2 reviews
11 helpful votes
1/4/18

In my opinion, Thai Cupid is no different from many of the mainstream dating websites. They have some real profiles, but many abandoned profiles or even dummy profiles, and push them off as active members.

They often send interests and messages to the basic members, but after you pay and upgrade, it all ceases. The women who were messaging you and liking your pics are now non-responsive, after you've paid and have access to their messages, which are all similar to each other, with great punctuation in the right places. Translation tools don't punctuate for these women, some who can barely speak English, per their admission, but some higher entity can.

I know these are dummy profiles generated from the site, because how can the women send messages and likes, but not view the profile. Yes, there is a listing of who has viewed your profile and it does not match with the sent messages and flirts, because you have to click on the profile to send a message.

The U.S. mainstream dating sites are the same, but they've gotten more creative and taken it a bit further, because they impose fake cell numbers on pics, which we know are inspected before they allow you to post.

I did not have issues with billing, as I had read some others did.

It's all about the green, or whatever color the currency is of who is cashing in.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
ThaiCupid is the largest Thai dating site with over 1.5 million members. Please be assured that we do not send fake messages to our members. Our fraud prevention team works 24/7 to remove non-genuine profiles. If you would like to report a member, please submit a ‘report abuse’ form or contact us at www.thaicupid.com/en/help/helpdesk
michaels637
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/25/17

I have had an old profile on that page which i tired to delete. Then i after some time i made a new one. To message members you have to pay otherwise this page is useless, so i decide i will make a 3 month premium account. After the payment was finished i could write messages and after a short moment my profile was suspended. Then i wrote and wrote many many messages and ask why? They said always because of payment of my old profile, i answer to them always i dont have anything to do with my old account and i can not even open it anymore because it was suspended after switch it off. Then i told them again and again, that i want to use this webpage and my profile this weekend. But even after 10 emails they always say the same and i tried to explain them again and again, i want to use only this profile and please activated it again so i can use my account on my off days. But nothing happened, now i ask them to stop the payment and bring back my money. I hope i will get it back, i send already an email to paypal. I can only warn all people, dont pay for three month, the servive of the support is very bad and very slow. Now i will try an other page thaifriendly and i hope its an other owner and i will make better experiences. This page i cant advise to anyone.

Tip for consumers: better check some other pages with better service

Service
Value
Shipping
Quality
Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hello Micheal,
Thai Cupid does not steal money from our members. Please email teamThaicupid.com with your full name and email address about this issue so we can investigate and assist you further.
normands6
3 reviews
10 helpful votes
12/28/16

There aren't that many scam profiles here on this site. By scam profiles I mean sexy photoshopped "ladies" wearing the bare minimal and one photo with a serial number after their names, their were words written on the profiles descriptions, albeit how few words their were, and I didn't get a "hey sexy your look good~~~want to send me your contacts so we can ..." you get the idea right? So again, if your going to buy subscriptions for this site, get the three months platinum or gold subscriptions plan max. Cause your not going to stay and look for dates for an entire year if you get one in less than a month right? Right....(no cheating right~~~:))

johnw554
1 review
14 helpful votes
10/16/16

This is a very dishonest site. I won't bore you with the finite detail but want to say that customer service is non existent.
Please do not trust this site with your personal details. Would you give your bank account details to a site which has no security and which refuses to remove them from itself?
I hope that you read the many reviews and take good care - signing up can be costly and frustrating at least in my experience.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Hello John

Cupid Media is a large online dating company based in Australia that has been operating since 1999. We take the safety of our members seriously: we employ a dedicated Fraud Prevention Team and take extensive steps to educate consumers and prevent fraud.

To find out more about our company please feel free to visit our website: http://www.cupidmedia.com
fa1436
3 reviews
24 helpful votes
10/3/16

Once you sign up for the site your only option is to hide your profile if you wish to quit the site. Unable to delete my profile unless that option is hidden in some remote obscure nook. Sent an email to customer service inquiring about deletion and was promptly ignored.
Just like all date sites you have your share of legitimate users and fake ones trying to scam you out of something.

Response from Cupid M., ThaiCupid Representative
Dear F A,

It is possible to permanently delete your profile. If you wish to permanently remove your profile, please send us an email to team@thaicupid.com and advise us the reason and we will do it for you.

Please also note that if you have a paid membership, you may lose the unused membership time if you choose to terminate your profile.
jamesp88
2 reviews
20 helpful votes
5/4/16

From minute 1 I was getting slammed with messages about how my photo was. Thing is... I never uploaded a picture.
Stay away from this site

billb154
1 review
38 helpful votes
3/24/16

I live in thailand now and you need a stick to beat the girls off . It doesn't matter how old or ugly or what nationality you are. There are so many beautiful Thai girls who want you to be their boyfriend, you will kick yourself for wasting money on any dating site. As soon as you get off the plane here, the dream is real and just gets better and better. Forget western women, they dont even rate a second thought anymore. Forget dating sites for Thai girls, there is someone for everyone here. This is paradise for men on earth, just get your ass on a plane and come see for yourself. Dating sites...phhttt . For what!!!!

samm591
1 review
20 helpful votes
3/15/16

I have been trying to find Thai women online and I have rotated the membership between ThaiGirls4u, ThaiCpid and a few "mail order" sites. I think ThaiGirls4u is pretty much the best I have used but this site also seems pretty legit. I was not lucky on Asian "Mail Order" Sites and they all seem to be a rip off.

So my advise: Use ThaiCupid or ThaiGirls4u or both sites and be patient! It is all about patience. It is pretty clear that you don't meet your "Thai Dream Lady" within 14 days.

Just my two cents to comment on all the negative reviews on here. ThaiCupid is NO scam!!!

geeg1
1 review
16 helpful votes
3/8/16

Was a non-paying member for months. I would just visit the site to see if anything interesting and worth paying a membership for. One day I received 2 emails out of the blue from women that were within reasonable distance (not in another country). They were both attractive so I decided wtf. Sure enough within a few hours of replying back to these women BOTH profiles were no longer online.
These are called "SHILL" profiles. Almost like bait and switch but in this case of shills there is only bait. Sometimes auction sites will use shill bidders to run up the bidding price.
Stay away from this fake site. Even if you're a non-paying member this site already has the odds in their favor that sooner or later you will dump your hard earned money into a membership. Or they will use shill profiles to entice you. Don't do it. There are plenty of free dating sites to find local women.

ronb64
3 reviews
30 helpful votes
1/13/16

***UPDATE ALERT***

3 hours after posting this review and sending an email to the same address I did over the last few days, WWWAAAMMM my profile showed up and so did my photos, but still did not receive any email response from the site explaining why this had happened. So for no response from the website staff, my previous review stands. STAY AWAY.

This site thaicupid.com is a 100% complete scam. How is my experience. I signed up 3 days ago as a standard member meaning I did not buy a subscription. I wanted to check it out and see what it was like first. I have tested Asian dating sites because I have read many reviews and men complaining about how fake these sites are. So I signed for 3 days.

1. Uploaded 5 photos and received an email back saying the photos were approved and would take a few hours for them to show up. Waited 3 days and I noticed that my profile had no photo on my main login page. The content I wrote was there, but no photos. I then checked my photo section and I saw 2 of my photos, but they showed as hidden. Why hidden? I never selected to hide my photos.

2. I have sent multiple emails to team@ThaiCupid.com and no reply. I have sent like 15 emails over the past few days, and yet not one reply.

3. Here is the kicker. So I did a search. I selected I am a female searching for male. I put in my country, my city, my state and within 50 miles of my home. I am logged into the site, hit the search feature and I am not even showing up in the search results. How is that even possible. How is it possible that I am receiving interest and likes from members when my profile and photos are not even displaying in a search area.

If someone can explain this to me, I will take back everything I said and apologize.

I swear, there is a photo listed from the search that the guy looks like Dennis Rodman.

I am warning any male that is thinking about using this site. I have only tested this site so far and I am telling you it is a complete 100% SCAM. If you want to give away your money, just send it to me.

Actually, one moment. I am also testing Internationalcupid.com. Okay, my photo shows up there, but I am only guessing because I am a gold member.

Tip for consumers: Do not waste your money. 100% fake

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Yes, all dating site automatically renew, which is not good and no where they tell you that. As soon as you pay the bill for one month or 3 months go back to billing in your profile and trun off auto billing pay. Because even if you do not use the site after a month or whever you paid you will be charged.

By Frank K.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

Hi Nima, Please email us on team@thaicupid.com with your member I.D and we can assist you further.

By Cupid M., RussianCupid Representative
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the ThaiCupid staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

1 Photo for ThaiCupid

From reviewers

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
ThaiCupid?
Post Review