Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SpanishUruguay

SpanishUruguay reviews

16 reviews
1506 Bartolom̩ Mitre
Montevideo, Montevideo 11000, Uruguay

16 Reviews From Our Community

4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

frankh45
1 review
0 helpful votes
6/19/13

Professional, friendly teachers who keep a lively, informative atmosphere going through every lesson and are always very well prepared. Helpful office staff, that can't do enough for you. A relaxed, informal atmosphere throughout the school helps you settle in immediately when you arrive on your daunting first day. My accommodations were perfect for studying and relaxation plus the people i stayed with were very warm and we had a great time together. I want Spanish Uruguay Spanish School to know that I will recommend your courses to all my friends. Keep up the good work.

arianac1
1 review
1 helpful vote
6/7/13

In a nutshell, the program was everything I heard about them. It was well organized and well managed. If you are serious about learning Spanish, it is definitely the place to go... a good investment, without any doubt!

chavezf
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/24/13

As a bilingual parent, I'm so happy and proud that my son joined the club, and I owe it all to Spanish Uruguay Spanish School. The teachers and students here provide a very supportive and welcoming atmosphere, and challenge them to grow. Spanish Uruguay Spanish School pushes hard to provide everything needed so the students will embrace Spanish in the shortest time. I personally am delighted with the job Marion Torres and Juan Tocci are doing and would recommend this Spanish school and its courses without a doubt.

wenndyd
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/10/13

Learning Spanish with the teachers from Spanish Uruguay Spanish School was a wonderful experience! I work different days every week and college class times were inflexible. With Juan Tocci from Spanish Uruguay Spanish School, I had the freedom to tailor my online lessons. The courses went in all sorts of different directions from describing our favorite actors, countries visited, to explaining a medical procedure. Conversation is the hardest part of learning a language and is impossible with apps and independent study. It is also harder for me to do it in a classroom with dozens of other students trying to learn at their own pace. I truly profited from the personalized teaching plan and continuous flow of conversation that Juan Tocci provided.

margel1
1 review
1 helpful vote
5/2/13

Hi everybody who are lucky to face few wonderful weeks in Montevideo. My name is Marge and I had the great opportunity to be a participant in the wonderful Spanish learning programs of Spanish Uruguay Spanish School. One will hardly find anything like this as the school offers quite unique activities. I had a choice to study with wonderful teachers and within a great bunch of people, the courses are super convenient for those who prefer to relax during vacation and partying not having to wake up early for classes. Groups are smalls so I could freely express myself whenever I wanted (not those ridiculous lessons when you say one phrase during the whole class). Also, the teachers are so charming. I got to know so many people and so many ways of living it was a problem when I had to leave Montevideo. Well, guys, you made my vacation in Montevideo really special!!

victorian4
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/19/13

Excellent teachers, classes and I learned a lot, accommodations were as described very welcoming and the people were very friendly and opened! Rooms were perfectly equipped for studying, very warm atmosphere and very calm, state of the art bathroom and kitchen. You could obviously see that they spend a lot of money on their facilities! I would recommend Spanish Uruguay Spanish School to anyone interested in learning Spanish, they are totally worth it.

danav7
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/12/13

I have had the privilege to be a student at Spanish Uruguay Spanish School, under the teacher Marion Torres and I can't believe what a difference it has made for me and my Spanish. The expertise of the instructor was phenomenal and not only was he knowledgeable but he was also a great person. I came to Montevideo Uruguay knowing a bit of Spanish, a little pronunciation, mostly stuff I heard in movies. They helped me hone my listening skills, improve my pronunciation and expand my vocabulary incredibly! I can't compliment them all enough. While I was living in the US, the director of Spanish Uruguay Spanish School personally called me to check on my visa status, to guide me, to calm me and to reassure me that I wasn't alone in this process. Once here I found that they were not just talking to get students, they were genuinely interested in me as a person. I compliment all of the people working at Spanish Uruguay Spanish School; they took time to help me every time I had some issues that were school related, and off classes we debated a lot over dinners, beers etc. thanks to them I met lots of people and educated myself quite a bit. 100% recommended.

garyh43
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/5/13

I arrived in Montevideo in November 2012 and came to study at Spanish Uruguay Spanish School as an ex BBC reporter seeking a language sabbatical. I arrogantly believed my Advanced level Spanish exam from the UK meant that my Spanish was of a high quality!! Then Mario Torres showed me the C2 DELE Diploma exam paper and it scared the life out of me!! It is a SERIOUSLY tough exam but it is the single best achievement I have ever managed (and I have done two University courses...)....Spanish Uruguay Spanish School were very supportive throughout the whole time I was in Montevideo and the mixture of impressive grammar, knowledge, video and film meant that I strove to pass that exam as best as I could. It is thanks to them that I got that diploma; I would have never succeeded on my one.

olgas3
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/8/13

Really good Spanish school. I'm going to join their online program now that I left Montevideo. The teaching is great and there is a good mix of listening and speaking. Juan Tocci makes it fun by talking about video games, about movies, about ideas and philosophy which really helps me to enjoy and learn. All in all Spanish Uruguay Spanish School provided a wonderful learning opportunity for me and my husband. Recommended.

angelao4
1 review
0 helpful votes
3/1/13

Spanish Uruguay Spanish School fulfilled my ambition to learn Spanish. I first thought that it will be a boring experience and it will cause headaches but after the first Spanish course I realized that it might be fun after all. Our Spanish instructors were very good, Spanish being their first language I had no doubt about their knowledge but what impressed me was the teaching technic which was amazing, it kept me focused the whole time, and I'm a person that loses interest very quickly. I was also satisfied with the accommodations they put at our disposal, clean quiet in walking distance from the school, a perfect environment for study.

mitchelln1
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/22/13

I think that the Spanish learning program is very good at Spanish Uruguay Spanish School. Only 5 weeks with the guys from Spanish Uruguay Spanish School and I can now describe people, cities, myself, I can count and speak about my family, even had a conversation in Spanish with my grandma with is from Madrid and she was very impressed by my progress. I think that I made the right choice when I choose to learn Spanish with them, I like the Program C very much, and I will continue to study Spanish with them even when I'll get home.

dianav3
1 review
2 helpful votes
2/15/13

Marion Torres is really nice, qualified and I enjoy the Spanish courses he thought us. You can approach him with any issue and he will do his best to explain it so you would understand it and in the same time he won't make you feel less of a student for asking which is very important when studying abroad. The facilities that Spanish Uruguay Spanish School provides if you opt for accommodations while you study are very good and in walking distance from the school.

nickyb4
1 review
0 helpful votes
2/1/13

I spent 4 weeks with Spanish Uruguay Spanish School. The teachers Juan Tocci and Marion Torres and the auxiliary staffs and homestay program and activities gave me a lot and provided me with a life experience and a new perspective I will never forget. My experience with them was so delightful that I wanted to in increasing my stay in Montevideo a couple of weeks! Spanish Uruguay Spanish School it's a perfect spot for learning Spanish, making friends, and last but not least - learning more about Uruguay's history and culture. I will for sure visit again when time allows it!

nicoled11
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/14/12

Just finished my 4th week of Spanish courses at Spanish Uruguay Spanish School, I`m very happy with their courses and very impressed by the teachers. Juan Tocci is a high skilled teacher no doubt about it, his teaching technique is very effective, I especially love the practical part where my colleagues and have to talk Spanish with the local people of Montevideo. These people certainly know how to mix fun and studying, I have studied Spanish in school, but the teacher I had had no idea how to make it interesting. Although I have to leave Montevideo next week, i have decided I would continue my Spanish studies with them online. I recommend this Spanish school with all my heart.

lilyp3
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/7/12

My husband learned Spanish with them last year but online. It was quite cheap. He studied for a couple of months I think and his went from not speaking any Spanish to being almost a fluent speaker. Seeing this I decided to follow his example and studied with him for a while and I have to say it was quite captivating, and from what my husband said, they are very professional and passionate about their students.

pacp1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/16/12

Worked with these people in the past when I first started to lean Spanish. I knew a little Spanish but with their help in a couple of weeks my Spanish improved a lot. Their native Spanish speaking people, so learning from them really had a dramatic impact on our pronunciation and accent, not to mention the practical side of their classes when we were asked to speak with the local people. Amazing teachers definitely recommended.

Customer Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from the SpanishUruguay staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
SpanishUruguay?
Post Review