Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of SmallWorlds

SmallWorlds reviews

Is this your business?
26 reviews
22 Stable Lane, Newton
Auckland, Auckland 1010, NZL
info@smallworlds.com

26 Reviews From Our Community

Service
2
Value
2
Shipping
1
Returns
1
Quality
2

All Reviews

ss335
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/1/18

i already registering an hour. after put all correct info i couldnst log in, after i sent 2 emails to reset my password, more than an hour... still waiting. it ridiculous.. Great begging.. or ending with this company.

swtgg
1 review
0 helpful votes
4/9/18

So Yeah Smallworlds Scammed us all
and sue them
please
so we can have our money back
So Yeah Smallworlds Scammed us all
and sue them
please
so we can have our money back

cm244
1 review
1 helpful vote
2/26/18

If you are considering letting your child(ren) play smallworlds and they're black, they may feel excluded from the smallworlds community due to the lack of black representation by smallworlds. There's discrimination by smallworlds towards blacks, they rarely include black looking avatars(esp. with dark skin) in their advertisements and when they do, it's stereotypical racist. For example, actual advertisements by smallworlds of a black looking, brown skin avatar with cornrows advertised in a prison inmate uniform and a black looking, brown skin avatar in an Escalade looking truck with big rims. Your black child(ren) may feel excluded by the exclusion of ethnic textured hair and styles provided to them by smallworlds. There's only 3 ethnic textured hair and styles and more than 4 times as much european straight hair and styles. This exclusion is unfair and wrong to smallworlds' black players. "Smallworlds the game you belong" excluding blacks yeah they left that part out. Your child(ren) may be subjected to racial slurs made by players opposed to black ethnic looking avatars. A lot of bullying takes place on smallworlds and chances of your child(ren) being bullied and having racial slurs directed at them due to their black ethnic looking avatar (esp dark skin) is even greater. reporting these issues to smallworlds for the most part falls on deaf ears. They could care less. Other reasons smallworlds is crap and that I feel this game should be 17 and up, is the sexual explicit language by players, sexual suggestive dance movements created by players, music provided by smallworlds through soundcloud and youtube that contain sexually explicit content, drug use, cursing, and violence. There's alot of cursing that goes on, homophobic slurs made, harassment both sexual and non sexual made by many players on Smallworlds. Smallworlds monthly wears rares etc. suck because they lack creativity, many of them contain glitches and many of them, you can't properly wear like they were designed to wear. The wears may not remain on and will will come off as you change spaces and smallworlds doesn't fix those issues nor do they refund. Earning gold through the advertisements they provide can put viruses on your computer, it actually happened to me. Smallworlds security is weak they leave bugs unfixed, technical issues unresolved, make it easy for hackers to create fake gold and use the fake gold to buy items on smallworlds including your own that you have for sale then you're out of your gold and your items. Smallworlds then will demand you to reimburse them if your account goes into the negative due to the hackers and will restrict you access to your account till your account is in the positive. Smallworlds will not take responsibility for their weak security system. They make it easy for hackers phishers to possibly get your personal information. Smallworlds will lock players out of their account for no real valid reason. Spending real money on smallworlds is a waste and I wouldn't advise it. they're all about just taking your money and not about the players. Their communication is poor and they take an unreasonable amount of time to get back with you especially urgent matters having to do with the security of your account. You'd think they'd speed up with their response when having to do with security of your account

Service
Value
Quality
amberh82
1 review
3 helpful votes
2/20/18

I went to support to report that my account was compromised. After a month of trying to prove my identity, I was permanently banned for "selling" my account, which I didn't do. Apparently it's too difficult for this company to actually help their players. They would rather accuse and ban. Their newest update is a campaign begging players for money. If they didn't ban the innocent, maybe they would be financially stable. Invest your money elsewhere, not Smallworlds!

kaciec1
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/7/17

When i add a character to my account for eg (1/3 avatars on one account) the others cant get the free spaces anymore! Why?

ursulap2
1 review
0 helpful votes
12/28/15

Smallworlds is a game were you can chat, play and design, although there is pedo's and bullys. Members bully Non-Members because of their looks. Adults ask younger users to have s*x. Smallworlds is fun but children should be supervised by an adult whilst playing.

kikim3
1 review
3 helpful votes
11/21/15

Smallworlds is a peice of $#*! and unprotected like non sercurity!

dylana15
1 review
3 helpful votes
8/18/15

I started playing this virtual world a while back, and needless to say it was quite the experience interacting with new people and earning virtual currency to obtain cool and rare items, but there is a few downsides to this New Zealand based game.
-Non VIP's get bullied and abused regularly: VIP members often bully non VIP members because of the reason that they're not VIP, alot of the time they think they are better and gives them the right to bully lower 'citizen level' players.
-Moderators are untrained and unhelpful: Got hacked? Got scammed? Need help from a member of the Smallworlds team? Well you're out of luck i'm afraid. Moderators and rude, unhelpful and disrespectful, they ban when they feel like it and steal and lie to regular players. They don't do their jobs and it's quite frankly disgusting.
-Exploits and glitches: Even currently there is a gold exploit crisis going on... Smallworlds security is near enough non existent which makes me worried for people paying thousands on this game and getting hacked due to Smallworlds poor security. There are many glitches and fake gold and items going around.

Now that's some of the negatives gone, what about the positives?
-Sense of accomplishment: Nothings better than getting your dream item on Smallworlds, hours upon hours of grinding to get the right amount of currency for the item all paying off, the 2008 Snowfox, 8,500,000 gold, only 270 in the game. Imagine buying one of those?
-Interacting with other players: We all make loads of friends on the internet, what better place to do it than on Smallworlds? With most of the community being friendly and helpful, there's endless amounts of people to meet and to play with!
-Hours of fun!: Believe it or not, i've been on Smallworlds for just over 4 YEARS and haven't got bored until now, I had fun earning gold and making friends and ultimately my end goal for Smallworlds: The bare bones suit! I had a blast playing Smallworlds and I recommend it for loads of younger people wanting a game where you can customize, play and create!
AGES: 13+

Pros:
-End goal
-Fun and excitement
-Customization
-Interaction
Cons:
-Moderators
-Servers
-Exploits
-Bullies

Overall: 3/5

mollyc12
1 review
0 helpful votes
5/12/15

My friend wants to become a moderator/helper, but she needs somebody to recommend her of being one, i'm not sure how to tho, because i was going to do it for her, but again, i don't know how to, so i'd appreciate it if you guys could tell me how. Orr, to make it a little bit easier you could do it. If your a generous person you could do whatever you need to do to recommend an in world avatar to become a moderator/helper, you could help Luna Moon The 104th out by doing it for her or telling her how to do it~ Thanks guys, hope you can help

vickyv2
3 reviews
8 helpful votes
1/30/15

Smallworlds... where do I start?
My stay on this site was short and unpleasant. DO NOT USE THIS SITE! PARENTS, IF YOU SEE YOUR KIDS ON THIS SITE, ASK THEM TO GET OFF OF IT IMMEDIATELY!
Some reasons why Smallworlds is not a good website:
1. Most people are rude and there is a HUGE bullying issue.
2. People are biased towards VIPs, if you have VIP and a huge Citizen Level, you are more likely to get friends. On the other hand, most, if not all non VIPs are harassed daily.
3. The moderators on the game are only people who apply for the position, and are unpaid. Most of these moderators are biased, steal from people and band whoever they want to ban.
4. They do not reimburse you for items that you buy (with real money) that don't show up or disappear.
5. If you spend over $100 at a time on it, you will get banned for "scamming", even if the payment went through.
6. If you use Paypal, Smallworlds will steal money from your paypal account.
7. It is very easy to get hacked/compromised. Even if you tell somebody the email that you log in with, they can still gain access to your account.
8. Smallworlds is very unoriginal. they steal clothing items such as the "Kitty Stockings", "Rainbow Striped Socks", "Wrap Around tights", etc.

If you want to play a good virtual game, try Meez.

Tip for consumers: DO NOT USE PAYPAL

Service
Value
Shipping
Returns
Quality
samanthab31
1 review
2 helpful votes
12/26/14

I Can't believe all of these bad reviews! I have been playing Small Worlds for 6 years. No one ever stole my money I only got hacked because i agreed to share my account and gave out my username and password (SO I DEFINITELY DESERVED IT). Yes I agree there are strangers coming up to you to ask you out. All you have to do is simply say no. If they don't listen report and block that's all. The swear words are no problem. It's not like your kids never heard of bad words let it go! My small worlds girl is Cameron Flepey.

marcusr24
1 review
11 helpful votes
7/17/14

This game is not good at all, the staff are rude and pick favorites. They ban you for no reason, steal your money and leave you hanging with no advice etc, they are all a bunch of fakes. Dont go there you will regret it for life. It takes years to get your account back services are poor and the quality overall is $#*!.

concernedm1
1 review
11 helpful votes
6/26/14

Smallworlds.com is a virtual game based around 13 years of age and older, complete with cyber bullying, virtual sex, swearing and violence. Moderation are not official employees of Outsmart and are handpicked average players. Moderation abuses players IP addresses in order to spy on playing accounts, chat conversations and transactions for their own amusement. Moderators have also been known to steal from players accounts. Smallworlds.com is unsafe and unsecure. Since the cyber bullying, virtual sex, swearing and violence has got so severe, they now place an official Outsmart Staff member in a known popular space called Town Center. I have witnessed this particular Staff member belittle their very own paying customers and players who are most likely teenagers. Below are screenshots. I do not, nor will I ever, recommend this game to any parent let alone any human being. Just say NO to Smallworlds.com! Screen 1: http://i57.tinypic.com/2jbjgiu.png Screen 2: http://i59.tinypic.com/517qme.png

amandat25
1 review
11 helpful votes
5/21/14

Company steals money from players and does not deliver goods purchased.

Been playing for years and have had two easter baskets and two bunny ears disappear from my inventory. I bought these items directly from smallworlds as packages. When I contacted them about my lost items, I was told I was basically S.O.L.

Sunny Daze is a vile monstrosity of a mod that needs to be reprimanded and fired. I've seen her actually attack people on the Bug Report forum for asking a question. If you have a problem with Smallworlds, it is your fault...not Smallworlds. Smallworlds doesn't make mistakes. All you get told to do is 'dump your cache and delete cookies and switch to another avatar'. Well, Sunny...I hope your day comes soon enough.

The amount of sexual talk and swearing in this game is ridiculous. Reporting in world does absolutely nothing. 8 year olds are preyed upon by sexual predators, and people have 'cyber sex' in public spaces.

emilye7
1 review
10 helpful votes
5/7/14

Well, i spent a lot of money, time and effort on my character, and just yesterday i got banned for no reason at all!! I was actually playing it and i was at my house and then after a while i went to go to a place to buy new items, then the screen wasn't loading and then i refreshed and it brought me to the smallworlds home screen, and then i tried to log back in and it said this account has been locked? I tried again today and it still wasn't working? I never ever scammed, spammed or anything so i don't know why that happened. All they want is your money, DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS GAME! YOU WILL REGRET IT! I actually got banned on my other one too for no reason at all, and now i am never playing this get EVER again. It sucks.

lailar1
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/15/14

Small worlds is aGREAT website if your VIP, or have alot of gold. If you don't then its still fun, but not AS fun. But, beware scammers are everywhere, I was just scammed today by either Ruby Arthur or smallworldsgold.webn.com! DONT USE ANY WEBSITES FOR FREEGOLD OR VIP ITS A SCAM. MY DADS CREDIT CARD NUMBER WAS IN THERE!!!

sarahb78
1 review
2 helpful votes
1/26/14

I have been playing this game for 5 years off and on. I've never had an issue with any of my purchases (I have made several different purchases over the 5 year period), I have had VIP with no issues. There is lag sometimes, but its worth it to play the game. Players of the game can create missions (missions range widely there are SO many) which is amazing because the game is being added to daily. No download required to play, and you can even play for fee. There is an art community (painting, sculpting), the buy/sell community, etc. So many different facets of this game that others do not have. 5 stars.

rorol
1 review
3 helpful votes
10/21/13

Well, why is everybody saying bad things? I love this website and I have been on it almost a year now. I have bought VIP two times, no problem. What is it with all of these bad comments? I LOVE this website loads! (I'm on it right now on a different tab!) Smallworlds are human they also make mistakes. Just don't buy anything over 10 euro or so and you'll be FINE!

andread15
1 review
6 helpful votes
8/28/13

So, I dont know about this website anymore... I have been saving up my gold for over 2 months to get vip. so today I finally had enough money to get it and I was really excited... so then I purchased the 1,500 gold "one month vip" and just after that I went to change my look and clicked on a vip hair, and it said "your vip has expired, renew it now to continue using vip features" and I had only JUST bought vip like 3 seconds before! Has anyone else had this happen to them?

smallworldsd
1 review
9 helpful votes
8/11/13

Most Corrupt Game Ever! Despite repeated attempts to get staff to fix space searching, they allowed one player to have exclusive access to search results for spaces for sale for a year. They refuse to take steps to mitigate the damages caused and won't respond to repeated posts in the forums. Worst support in the history of online games. Don't waste your time and especially don't waste your money.

chingad
1 review
6 helpful votes
6/28/13

This website is 101% unsafe. I used to play all the time, I got really addicted, and I was V.I.P , I had recently bought the 12 month pckage for £50! Which is like $75 (i think) and I was just playing one day when it came up 'Smallworlds has loaded in another view'. So , I reloaded and there was someone on my account. I changed my password but they didn't log off. They took all of my things, including gold, items, places, tokens of course, which all together I have paid around... £250 for and i THINK that is around $375. So I was heartbroken because I had so many friends on this game and I was really addicted and then in 10 minutes everything was gone. So, then I logged off and logged back on in 3 days after because I was bored, and it said ' this account is banned'. I checked my email and it said I was banned for 'phishing' , and guess what? This exact same thing happened to my brother around 1 year before me. I ignored it when it happened to him because I was so addicted but of course I wish I had been cautious. And also, 2 years before I was hacked and banned aka scammed, I had purchased a package and used paypal. Months later my mum realised chunks of money coming out of her account. Until one day, when £5000 WAS TAKEN OUT HER ACCOUNT. She couldn't stand this and went to check with her bank, and her bank said the money was taken out from 'Smallworlds.com'. It may have been paypal because after that nothing like that happened with Smallworlds, but there is a good chance it was SmallWorlds, seeing how far they can go with scamming. So long story short, this website is very unsafe, DO NOT USE IT!

katies12
1 review
8 helpful votes
6/15/13

It's dreadful! You get banned for no reason and all they want is your money! Beware everyone, don't use this website.

caitlynb1
2 reviews
3 helpful votes
9/17/12

well i started in 2010 i was 10 yearsold my brother was 13 at that time i think and so yeah i started playing lol totally got addicted and when i was 12 which i still am now i got scammed cuz on my cindi cutie account i had a villa and clothes i was already on that account when i was at home i tried to see if i could send my clothes off to my other avatar but i had logged out of that account and i couldnt get back in and im glad that was after i became vip and it expired and when i was on sw on my old account my clothes was still there don't know if they there now but anyway the villa was gone boy was i sad and depressed but i still kept on playing then when my mom and dad found out they were angry lol and i was addicted and they took me off and onetime while my dad was at work i got on and he saw i was on it i got punished for a few days then he let me back on no smallworlds saw i found meez ehh its lamee but i play it alilbit i miss sw plus on my other account i had created i spelled cindi diffrent i spelled it cinde cutie and i was off of sw im already tired of meez lol its not the same all you do is walk and sit in chairs and jam to music you can't even eat food plus the emotions are not free and they just started creating that wow meez wow so boring and if you guys have any suggested websites put them up and anything similar to smallworlds id liked that bye ttyl ;)

bryans3
1 review
10 helpful votes
7/18/11

#1 I WOULDNT RATE THIS SITE AT ALL! THEY ARE RIPOFF ARTISTS THAT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF KIDS PLAYING A GAME. MY SON SPENT OVER $150 ON THIS SITE THEN THEY BANNED HIM FOR "PHISHING". AS THEY SAID IN AN EMAIL TO HIM. HE DIDNT EVEN KNOW WHAT IT WAS AND HAD TO ASK ME WHAT IT WAS. THERE WAS NOTHING THAT HE COULD HAVE DONE ON THIS SITE THAT COULD HAVE BEEN PHISHING. I HAVE SENT SEVERAL EMAILS TO THIS COMPANY AND THERE IS NO RESPONSE. THERE IS NO ADDRESS OR PHONE NUMBER ON THE SITE. ANY SITE THAT TAKES MONEY FROM PEOPLE SHOULD HAVE AN ADDRESS OR PHONE NUMBER.

2 ratings were submitted through the Sitejabber Browser Extension

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

It depends, if you pish once your'll probably get banned for a week, but if you do it over and over again your account will get banned forever.

By Ursula P.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

I played for 3 years,i had nothin gonit then but now i had so much things a mansion some expensive clothes some expensive furniture i had so much friends onit.Then the next day i came onit and it said you have been locked.They never sent an email to me.All they do is take your things scam you !

By misty S.
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the SmallWorlds staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

Business owners: What’s your side of the story?

Register now for free – get notified of new reviews, respond to consumer feedback, add new photos to your page and much more.

Manage your business
×
Have a question about
SmallWorlds?
Post Review