Developed in part with a grant from
the National Science Foundation
Review of Shazam

Shazam reviews

23 reviews
26-28 Hammersmith Grove
New York City, NY 10017, US
Tel: +1-208-742-6820
northamericasales@shazam.com

23 Reviews From Our Community

Service
0
Value
0
Shipping
0
Returns
0
Quality
0

All Reviews

ronh255
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/26/18

I used to enjoy being able to link to Google play after listening to a song. Now it's just stupid iTunes. Does anybody still use that? I have to find an alternative. This sucks bad.

emilyb241
76 reviews
82 helpful votes
8/10/18

I really like Shazam if I don't know the name of a song and I like it. It connects to my Spotify also so I can add it to one of my playlists.

omryo
1 review
2 helpful votes
7/20/18

No matter what's wrong with your Shazam app, you wouldn't have anyone from there teems to help you...

Situation in which you find answers at there FAQ's or you Screwed.

Thanks for nothing

cozettes
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/27/18

I LOVE SHAZAM AND I WANT TO SHARE IT WITH THE WORLD! you can just listen to any song you want and it will just save right on to your spotify its remarkable i love you

lorenzop16
1 review
1 helpful vote
1/12/18

I was very happy when my son showed me this app.It is amazing how this app helps you to find out about any kind of music it's playing.I couldn't believe .Thank you.

kasrats
3 reviews
37 helpful votes
2/9/17

I think Shazam is not bad at all, but it could be better at the time to listen from a far away distance

nicholek1
5 reviews
6 helpful votes
12/27/16

Shazam can pick up songs from my neighbors next door! And they're behind a thick wall! And they play music at normal volume, not like it's roaring all over the place! I think Shazam is one of the best app ideas ever.

katiey9
8 reviews
10 helpful votes
12/22/16

Siri can recognize songs better than Shazam! Like, I was in a bar and there was thi ages-old song by Avril Lavigne, and Shazam couldn't ick it up. What can I say? I'm disappointed.

johnn997
1 review
0 helpful votes
10/19/16

I thought this app might be really useful in identifying some tracks I'd heard. Forget it. Unless you're into mainstream pop Shazam is completely dumb. It even struggles with well known hits from the recent past. As for old blues songs or movie themes etc. No chance. In other words it can only recognise stuff that is screamingly obvious anyway. Deleted it and got on with my life.

nancyd87
1 review
0 helpful votes
7/15/16

Has never identified one song yet I have tried over and over and over with the music loud and it still says cannot identify it doesn't work worth a damn

karlh17
1 review
1 helpful vote
11/14/15

Was watching a football game today and an ad came on to shazam this ad to get a free coke zero. Of course the app says cannot record another app is using the microphone. Powered down, restarted. No other apps running. The Speedway by my house sends me coupons for stuff the don't stock. It's cheap to give away stuff you don't have! Uninstalled shazam.

Response from Shazam S., Shazam Representative
Hi Karl, I'm sorry to hear you had trouble with our app when trying to shazam for a free coke zero. I do hope you've not already uninstalled the app and if you haven't could you please let me know which device you were using?
maryh140
1 review
0 helpful votes
11/11/15

I remember 10 years ago holding my phone up in a loud restaurant and impressing my friends with the way Shazam could identify a song. Now I can stand two feet away from the speakers and after a minute of waiting I get the Sorry we couldn't quite get that message....and this is on artists like Lucinda Williams, Richard Thompson, and dozens of other artists. 75 percent of the time the song isn't recognized by Shazam. There's no way I would pay for that service. It's apparent they're just trying to sell their little games, etc. The actually, from a technological standpoint, they suck.

Response from Shazam S., Shazam Representative
Hi Mary, I'm sorry to hear you've had trouble with our app and are no longer have faith in us to provide you with the right info. If you'd be interested we'd love to hear your feedback - support@shazam.com
simonp22
1 review
1 helpful vote
4/2/14

Shazam is so great, anytime I listen to a new song I need to shazam it. Thumps up.

mikes155
11 reviews
45 helpful votes
3/28/13

This site is so cool, one of the best ideas for a site ever!
It made my life so much easier

cathym19
5 reviews
10 helpful votes
11/15/12
tn1
270 reviews
1,587 helpful votes
2/21/11

I recently returned from nearly 4 years of living abroad and was excited to have access to updated music again. A friend of mine told me about Shazam as a tool to use for identifying music I hear in public. Oftentimes I find myself hearing a good song in a sushi bar or hipster clothing store and trying to remember the lyrics to go home and google - so this seemed like a good solution since I now own modern technology - a phone.

Shazam is okay, but it's not as useful as SoundHound, which can identify all the songs that Shazam can't. Out of the last 10 songs I've wanted to identify, Shazam could only do 6 of them, while Soundhound picked up the rest of the work. I'll probably just do away with Shazam and stick to Soundhound.

jennifera
5 reviews
15 helpful votes
5/27/10

This application is amazing. Ever heard a song in a bar that reminded you of good times?? This is such a cool app.

aaronh2
10 reviews
41 helpful votes
5/26/10

Just picked up an ipad and the first app I downloaded was of course Shazam. Very well done and they make great use of the additional screen real estate. Still works as well as it does on the iphone.

ralphb
15 reviews
50 helpful votes
1/7/10

I switched from the pathetic service of AT&T and my crappy iPhone to verizon and droid and the one app that I wanted droid to have was Shazam. It works even better on android than the iPhone. Even if you are not a music lover, you will find a use for shazam at some point, just download it cause it is free.

hopem
38 reviews
168 helpful votes
12/20/09

Cool site. I don't have an iphone but I can see the appeal of doing this. I just got an android phone so hopefully they will build shazam for droid phones too! If you shazam people are reading this, build for droid!!!

heathers3
39 reviews
221 helpful votes
12/20/09

This is what got me to buy an iphone....too cool. you go to a club, you don't know the song, you take out your iphone and in 30 seconds you have figured out what song it is and can download it to your phone. I have used it about 100 times and I think only once has it ever failed to identify the song. The only drawback I wish they had a way to keep a list of all of the songs you had analyzed. Here that Shazam...go add that feature :)

homermo
1 review
1 helpful vote
10/24/09
michaell
66 reviews
414 helpful votes
8/8/08

Currently the best iPhone application available - Shazam is the application I've always dreamed of building, but never thought possible. Just hold your iPhone up to any streaming music and it will instantly tell you the title and the artist of the song that is playing. It works whether you're in your car or in a club, and the results are amazingly accurate. I'm not sure how they do it, but I think it has something to do with the beat/bass patterns, because it seems to work even when the music is not very clear or when there's a lot of ambient noise.

Shazam is truly a technological breakthrough. I've never seen anything this accurate before. Eventually, I'd like an application that can identify any song you for which you can recite the lyrics or hum the tune, but this is definitely good enough for the times I hear a song I like at a bar. And as an added bonus, after Shazam identifies your song, you can turn your phone on its side and it will start playing the music video on youtube!

Customer Questions & Answers

Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Helpful answer 0
Votes
Thanks for voting!
Not as helpful
Question:
Answer:

No answers yet. Answer this question
Questions? Get answers from the Shazam staff and other customers.
Note: this is not for reviews - click here to write a review
Get notified about new answers to your questions.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • How long does shipping take?
  • What is the return policy?
  • Where is the company located?

Did You Find This Page Useful?

Sites You Might Also Like

×
Have a question about
Shazam?
Post Review